DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11, 13 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugan et al. (US 2023/0135465 A1) in view Huang (WO 2020220792 A1, please see the machine translation attached in the office action mailed on 09/12/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Murugan et al. teach a display panel (display device 30; Fig. 4, [0021]), comprising a first base plate (100/104/106/102A/102B; Fig. 4, [0040, 0050]), wherein the first base plate (100/104/106/102A/102B) comprises: a first substrate (100; Fig. 4, [0021]); a plurality of light-emitting components (102As/102Bs; Fig. 4, [0021, 0050]) disposed on a side (top side) of the first substrate (100); and a plurality of reflective parts (104; Fig. 4, [0021]), one of the reflective parts (104) being disposed between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs; see Figs. 3 and 4), wherein each of the reflective parts (104) comprises a polymer matrix (epoxy, a polymer material, [0030]); the display panel (30) further comprises a second base plate (120/116/114; Fig. 4, [0021]) opposite to the first base plate (100/104/106/102A/102B), the second base plate (120/116/114) comprises a second substrate (120; Fig. 4, [0021]) and a color filter layer (116; Fig. 4, [0021]) disposed on a side (the bottom side) of the second substrate (120) facing the first base plate (100/104/106/102A/102B), the color filter layer (116) comprises a plurality of color filter parts (116-1, 116-2, 116-3; Fig. 4, [0021]) spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 4) and a plurality of light-shielding layers (114; Fig. 4, [0021]) apart from each other (see Fig. 4), one of the light shielding layers (114) is disposed between every two adjacent ones of the color filter parts (116-1, 116-2, 116-3; see Fig. 4), each of the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs) is covered by a corresponding one of the color filter parts (116-1, 116-2, 116-3; see Fig. 4), and each of the reflective parts (104) is covered by a corresponding one of the light-shielding layers (114).
Murugan et al. do not teach a plurality of liquid crystal microcapsules (LCMs) disposed in the polymer matrix, and a plurality of cholesteric liquid crystals disposed in the LCMs.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Huang et al. teach a plurality of liquid crystal microcapsules (LCMs) (340, polymer membrane vesicles encapsulating the cholesteric liquid crystal, where the size of the vesicles is 0.5-5 μm; Fig. 6, [0129, 0068, 0070]) disposed in the polymer matrix (301 of transparent resin layer, the resin is a polymer layer; Fig. 6, [0133]), and a plurality of cholesteric liquid crystals disposed in the LCMs (cholesteric liquid crystals disposed in the polymer membrane capsule; Figs. 3A-3F, [0073]).
Murugan et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Murugan et al. are using TiO2 particles ([0030]) for the reflective particles in the reflective layer (104; [0030]) rather than the liquid crystal capsules.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Huang et al. teach using the liquid crystal capsules (polymer membrane vesicles/capsules encapsulating the cholesteric liquid crystal; Fig. 3A-3F, [0073]) for providing the reflective particles (340; Fig. 6, [0133]) in the reflective layer (340/301; Fig. 6, [0133]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that TiO2 particles and the liquid crystal capsules are known equivalents for providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (TiO2 particles) for another known equivalent element (the liquid crystal capsules) resulting in the predictable result of providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 3, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1.
Murugan et al. do not teach wherein the cholesteric liquid crystals are a plurality of planar cholesteric liquid crystals.
In the same field of endeavor of display devices, Huang teaches wherein the cholesteric liquid crystals are a plurality of planar cholesteric liquid crystals (Figs. 3A-3C, 3E-3F, [0073]; for each layer, the cholesteric liquid crystals are aligned in a plane).
Murugan et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Murugan et al. are using TiO2 particles for the reflective particles in the reflective layer rather than the liquid crystal capsules encapsulating the planar cholesteric liquid crystals.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Huang et al. teach using the liquid crystal capsules encapsulating the planar cholesteric liquid crystals (polymer membrane vesicles/capsules encapsulating the planar cholesteric liquid crystal; Fig. 3A-3F, [0073]) for providing the reflective particles (340; Fig. 6, [0133]) in the reflective layer (340/301; Fig. 6, [0133]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that TiO2 particles and the liquid crystal capsules encapsulating the planar cholesteric liquid crystals are known equivalents for providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (TiO2 particles) for another known equivalent element (the liquid crystal capsules encapsulating the planar cholesteric liquid crystals) resulting in the predictable result of providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 4, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1.
Murugan et al. do not teach wherein a reflective wavelength of the cholesteric liquid crystals ranges from 380nm to 780nm.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Huang et al. teach wherein a reflective wavelength of the cholesteric liquid crystals ranges from 380nm to 780nm (450-480 nm; [0006]).
Murugan et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Murugan et al. are using TiO2 particles ([0030]) for the reflective particles in the reflective layer (104; [0030]) rather than the liquid crystal capsules.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Huang et al. teach using the liquid crystal capsules (polymer membrane vesicles/capsules encapsulating the cholesteric liquid crystal; Fig. 3A-3F, [0073]) for providing the reflective particles (340; Fig. 6, [0133]) in the reflective layer (340/301; Fig. 6, [0133]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that TiO2 particles and the liquid crystal capsules are known equivalents for providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (TiO2 particles) for another known equivalent element (the liquid crystal capsules) resulting in the predictable result of providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 11, Murugan et al. teach wherein the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs) are mini light-emitting diodes (LEDs) or micro LEDs (micro LEDs; [0021]).
Regarding claim 13, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1.
Murugan et al. do not teach wherein the LCMs are circular or elliptical.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Huang et al. teach wherein the LCMs (polymer membrane vesicles encapsulating the cholesteric liquid crystal; [0073]) are circular or elliptical (circular; Figs. 3A-3F).
Murugan et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Murugan et al. are using TiO2 particles for the reflective particles in the reflective layer rather than the circular LCMs.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Huang et al. teach using the circular LCMs (circular polymer membrane vesicles/capsules encapsulating the cholesteric liquid crystal; Fig. 3A-3F, [0073]) for providing the reflective particles (340; Fig. 6, [0133]) in the reflective layer (340/301; Fig. 6, [0133]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that TiO2 particles and the circular LCMs are known equivalents for providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (TiO2 particles) for another known equivalent element (the circular LCMs) resulting in the predictable result of providing the reflective particles in the reflective layer (KSR rationales B).
Regarding claim 21, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein one of the reflective parts (the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) disposed between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs) comprises a first sidewall (the left sidewall of the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) and a second sidewall (the right sidewall of the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) opposite to each other (see Fig. 4), wherein the first sidewall (the left sidewall of the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) is in contact with a sidewall (the right sidewall) of an adjacent one of the light-emitting components (the leftmost 102A in Fig. 4), and the second sidewall (the right sidewall of the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) is in contact with a sidewall (the left sidewall) of another adjacent one of the light-emitting components (the leftmost 102B in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein a surface (the bottom surface) of one of the reflective parts (the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) disposed between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs) faces the first substrate (100) and is attached to the first substrate (100; see Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugan et al. and Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2020/0019019 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs; Fig. 4, [0050]) comprise a first light-emitting component (the leftmost 102A in Fig. 4; [0050]) and a second light-emitting component (the leftmost 102B in Fig. 4; [0050]), a color of light emitted from the first light-emitting component (the leftmost 102A in Fig. 4 emitting blue light; [0050]) and a color of light emitted from the second light-emitting component (the leftmost 102B in Fig. 4 emitting green light; [0050]) are different, the reflective parts (104) comprise a first reflective part (the second leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) disposed between the first light-emitting component (the leftmost 102A in Fig. 4) and the second light-emitting component (the leftmost 102B in Fig. 4).
Murugan et al. do not teach the first reflective part comprises a first cholesteric liquid crystal and a second cholesteric liquid crystal, the first cholesteric liquid crystal is configured to reflect light emitted from the first light-emitting component, and the second cholesteric liquid crystal is configured to reflect light emitted from the second light-emitting component.
In the same field of endeavor of display devices, Liu et al. teach the first reflective part (a portion of 68 between the second and third leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]) comprises a first cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the left half of the portion of 68 between the second and third leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]) and a second cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the right half of the portion of 68 between the second and third leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]), the first cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the left half of the portion of 68 between the second and third leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3) is configured to reflect light emitted from the first light-emitting component (the second leftmost 38 in the bottommost row in Fig. 3), and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the right half of the portion of 68 between the second and third leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3) is configured to reflect light emitted from the second light-emitting component (the third leftmost 38 in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; see Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Murugan et al. and Liu et al., and to substitute the layer of 104 of Murugan et al. with the layer 68 of Liu et al., because the layer 68 of Liu et al. can help reflect light from the diode upward as taught by Liu et al. ([0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 7, wherein the light-emitting components (102As/102Bs) comprise a third light-emitting component (the rightmost 102A in Fig. 4; [0050]), the reflective parts (104) comprise a second reflective part (the third leftmost 104 in Fig. 4) disposed between the second light-emitting component (the leftmost 102B in Fig. 4) and the third light-emitting component (the rightmost 102A in Fig. 4).
Murugan et al. do not teach the second reflective part comprises the second cholesteric liquid crystal and a third cholesteric liquid crystal, the second cholesteric liquid crystal is configured to reflect light emitted from the second light-emitting component, and the third cholesteric liquid crystal is configured to reflect light emitted from the third light-emitting component.
In the same field of endeavor of display devices, Wang et al. teach the second reflective part (a portion of 68 between the third and fourth leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]) comprises the second cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the left half of the portion of 68 between the third and fourth leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]) and a third cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the right half of the portion of 68 between the third and fourth leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]), the second cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the left half of the portion of 68 between the third and fourth leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4, [0040]) is configured to reflect light emitted from the second light-emitting component (the third leftmost 38 in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; see Figs. 3 and 4), and the third cholesteric liquid crystal (the cholesteric liquid crystals of the right half of the portion of 68 between the third and fourth leftmost 38s in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; Fig. 4) is configured to reflect light emitted from the third light-emitting component (the fouth leftmost 38 in the bottommost row in Fig. 3; see Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Murugan et al. and Liu et al., and to substitute the layer of 104 of Murugan et al. with the layer 68 of Liu et al., because the layer 68 of Liu et al. can help reflect light from the diode upward as taught by Liu et al. ([0040]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murugan et al. and Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujino (WO 2020004155 A1, please see the machine translation attached in the office action mailed on 09/12/2025).
Regarding claim 12, Murugan et al. teach the display panel of claim 1, wherein the polymer matrix (epoxy, a polymer material, [0030]).
Murugan et al. do not teach wherein the polymer matrix is selected from one or more of polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene terephthalate, polystyrene, polyethylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyamide, and polycarbonate.
In the same field of endeavor of display, Fujino teaches wherein the polymer matrix (the polymer supporting the cholesteric liquid crystal; [0076, 0078]) is selected from one or more of polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene terephthalate, polystyrene, polyethylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyamide, and polycarbonate (polyethylene terephthalate; [0078]).
Murugan et al. teach all the claimed elements except that Murugan et al. are using epoxy ([0030]) for the material of the polymer matrix (the organic layer of 104; Fig. 4, [0030]) for supporting the reflective particles (reflective nanoparticles; [0030]) rather than polyethylene terephthalate.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Fujino teaches using polyethylene terephthalate ([0078]) for the material of the polymer matrix (the polymer supporting the cholesteric liquid crystal; [0076, 0078]) for supporting the reflective particles ([0076, 0078]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that epoxy and polyethylene terephthalate are known equivalents for providing the material of the polymer matrix for supporting the reflective particles within the semiconductor art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to substitute one know element (epoxy) for another known equivalent element (polyethylene terephthalate) resulting in the predictable result of providing the material of the polymer matrix for supporting the reflective particles (KSR rationales B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 12/11/2025, overcome the objections to figures. The objections to figures have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 4/23/2026