DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
applicant recites “…each of the plurality of grooves comprises multiple discrete support islands disposed in the groove…”, to be consistent with claim language the office recommends amending “the groove” to “in each of the plurality of grooves” or “…in a corresponding groove of the plurality of grooves” or any variation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao CN 110062077 (provided in the IDS; English machine translation provided by the office. For citation purpose use paragraph number indicated in the translation) in view of Min US Patent 11915625 further in view of Ai et al. US Patent 10020462.
Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches,
A display panel (figs 1-4b, 8d, 9a-d), comprising:
a display panel body (element 1, figure 3a-c) comprising at least a bending part (area corresponding to axis O and where element 3 and 4 are indicated in figure 3a) and a non-bending part (figure 3a, the two opposite sides of where the bending part is indicated); and
a rigid support layer (at least figures 3a-c, element 2; paragraph 145 support plate is stainless steel) disposed on a backside of the display panel body (figure 3a) and comprising a patterned part (element 3 and 4 in figures 3a-c shows patterned part corresponding to bending part) corresponding to the bending part, and a smooth part (figure 3b, smooth part corresponding to non-bending parts as described above and seen in figure 3a-c) corresponding to the non-bending part;
wherein the patterned part comprises a plurality of grooves (grooves being element 3), and each of the plurality of grooves comprises multiple discrete support islands (islands being element 4, at least figure 3b and figure 7b such that each groove element 3 at least comprises two adjacent islands, see annotated figure 4b below to clearly show the side view of figure 3b of Liao; also as shown in figure 7b, which is similar to figure 6 of present application) disposed in the groove, and surfaces of the support islands are flush with a surface of the smooth part away from the display panel body (as seen in figure 3a-c, and clearly in figure 3b, the surfaces of the support islands are flush with a surface of the smooth part away from the display panel body, similar to present application),
the plurality of grooves are provided on a side of the rigid support layer facing away from the display panel body (as seen in at least figure 4b, the groove element 3 away, similar to present application), a depth of the plurality of grooves are smaller than a thickness of the rigid support layer (figure 4b, the depth of the groove 3 is less than the thickness of the rigid support layer element 2).
Liao does not teach when the display panel is folded, the bending part is bent towards a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer. However, Liao provides suggestion that various in-fold and/or out-fold could occur (figures 4a-4d). Furthermore, Liao does not teach the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots, and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves. However, Liao in figures 6-7 teaches that the plurality of groove and support islands can be in various configuration (i.e. shapes, size, and arrangement).
Min in similar filed of display panel teaches a display panel body (240, which includes displaying element 230, figure 6c) comprising at least a bending part and a non-bending part (fig 1-2); a rigid support layer (element 670, which is back plate and backplate is a stainless steel material) disposed on a backside of the display panel body (fig 6c); Furthermore, Min teaches when the display panel is folded (figure 6c, Col. 11, lines 45-50, figure 6c such that the display device is inner-fold and groove patterns formed in the back plate as shown in figure 6c) , the bending part is bent towards a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer (as described in col. 11, lines 45-50 the display panel body facing away from the rigid support (i.e. inner fold)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Min to have an in-folding display device such that when the display panel is folded, the bending part is bent toward a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer with the display panel of Liao such modification will provide inner folding of Liao and thereby protecting the display panel from external environment.
Ai in similar field of flexible display teaches a layer (Fig. 8, 12, and 24) comprising a patterned part (figure 12, grooves 30 and islands where element 24b is indicated; in figure 24, similar to figure 6 of present application), wherein the patterned part comprise plurality of grooves (element 30) and each of the plurality of grooves comprises multiple discrete support islands disposed in the groove (figure 24, grooves comprises multiple islands); and wherein the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots (see annotated figure 24 below, such that the connection slots are provided between the grooves connecting similar to element 2011 of present application) and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves (Figure 24 and figure 12 - the depth of the connection slots are the same since are part of the groove extending and the islands are extending between the grooves, similar to present application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made modify the patterned part of Liao such that the patterned part of the plurality of grooves comprising multiple discrete support islands disposed in the groove and the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots, and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves as taught by Ai, such modification will provide the desired flexibility to the display panel, since the control the grooves and support islands are adjusted based on the desired need of the flexibility.
Regarding claim 4, Liao as modified teaches,
Wherein the support islands are uniformly arranged (as seen in figures 3a-c the support islands are uniformly arranged, similar to present application; also figure 24 of Ai).
Regarding claim 5, Liao as modified teaches,
wherein each of the grooves penetrates through the rigid support layer in a direction parallel to a bending axis (as seen in figure 3b clearly that the grooves penetrates through rigid support layer element 2 in a direction parallel to the bending axis O).
Regarding claim 6, Liao as modified teaches,
wherein a cross-sectional shape of the groove comprises one or a combination of multiple ones of a square, a rectangle (as seen in figure 3a-c and 4a at least shape of groove comprises one rectangle), a triangle, a trapezoid, a semi-circle or a semi-ellipse (furthermore figures 5a-l shows various different shapes and size of the groove including trapezoid fig 5g and semi ellipse figure 5k).
Regarding claim 16, Liao teaches,
A display terminal (Figs. 1-3, Title), comprising a main terminal body (the housing of the mobile phone or any other devices described in paragraph 64 of translation) and a display panel (figure 3a), wherein the main terminal body and the display panel are combined together as a whole (the entire structure of the devices as described in paragraph 64 and the display panel as seen in at least figure 3a), and
A display panel (figs 1-4b, 8d, 9a-d), comprising:
a display panel body (element 1, figure 3a-c) comprising at least a bending part (area corresponding to axis O and where element 3 and 4 are indicated in figure 3a) and a non-bending part (figure 3a, the two opposite sides of where the bending part is indicated); and
a rigid support layer (at least figures 3a-c, element 2; paragraph 145 support plate is stainless steel) disposed on a backside of the display panel body (figure 3a) and comprising a patterned part (element 3 and 4 in figures 3a-c shows patterned part corresponding to bending part) corresponding to the bending part, and a smooth part (figure 3b, smooth part corresponding to non-bending parts as described above and seen in figure 3a-c) corresponding to the non-bending part;
wherein the patterned part comprises a plurality of grooves (grooves being element 3), and each of the plurality of grooves comprises multiple discrete support islands (islands being element 4, at least figure 3b and figure 7b such that each groove element 3 at least comprises two adjacent islands, see annotated figure 4b (under claim 1) to clearly show the side view of figure 3b of Liao; also as shown in figure 7b, which is similar to figure 6 of present application) disposed in the groove, and surfaces of the support islands are flush with a surface of the smooth part away from the display panel body (as seen in figure 3a-c, and clearly in figure 3b, the surfaces of the support islands are flush with a surface of the smooth part away from the display panel body, similar to present application),
the plurality of grooves are provided on a side of the rigid support layer facing away from the display panel body (as seen in at least figure 4b, the groove element 3 away, similar to present application), a depth of the plurality of grooves are smaller than a thickness of the rigid support layer (figure 4b, the depth of the groove 3 is less than the thickness of the rigid support layer element 2).
Liao does not teach when the display panel is folded, the bending part is bent towards a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer. However, Liao provides suggestion that various in-fold and/or out-fold could occur (figures 4a-4d). Furthermore, Liao does not teach the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots, and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves. However, Liao in figures 6-7 teaches that the plurality of groove and support islands can be in various configuration (i.e. shapes, size, and arrangement).
Min in similar filed of display panel teaches a display panel body (240, which includes displaying element 230, figure 6c) comprising at least a bending part and a non-bending part (fig 1-2); a rigid support layer (element 670, which is back plate and backplate is a stainless steel material) disposed on a backside of the display panel body (fig 6c); Furthermore, Min teaches when the display panel is folded (figure 6c, Col. 11, lines 45-50, figure 6c such that the display device is inner-fold and groove patterns formed in the back plate as shown in figure 6c) , the bending part is bent towards a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer (as described in col. 11, lines 45-50 the display panel body facing away from the rigid support (i.e. inner fold)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Min to have an in-folding display device such that when the display panel is folded, the bending part is bent toward a side of the display panel body facing away from the rigid support layer with the display panel of Liao such modification will provide inner folding of Liao and thereby protecting the display panel from external environment.
Ai in similar field of flexible display teaches a layer (Fig. 8, 12, and 24) comprising a patterned part (figure 12, grooves 30 and islands where element 24b is indicated; in figure 24, similar to figure 6 of present application), wherein the patterned part comprise plurality of grooves (element 30) and each of the plurality of grooves comprises multiple discrete support islands disposed in the groove (figure 24, grooves comprises multiple islands); and wherein the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots (see annotated figure 24 (under claim 1), such that the connection slots are provided between the grooves connecting similar to element 2011 of present application) and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves (Figure 24 and figure 12 - the depth of the connection slots are the same since are part of the groove extending and the islands are extending between the grooves, similar to present application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made modify the patterned part of Liao such that the patterned part of the plurality of grooves comprising multiple discrete support islands disposed in the groove and the plurality of grooves are connected to each other through connection slots, and a depth of the connection slots is same as the depth of the plurality of grooves as taught by Ai, such modification will provide the desired flexibility to the display panel, since the control the grooves and support islands are adjusted based on the desired need of the flexibility.
Claim(s) 2-3, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao CN 110062077 in view of Min US Patent 11915625 further in view of Ai et al. US Patent 10020462 and Jones et al. US Pub 2020/0150726.
Regarding claim 2,
Liao teaches the display panel of claim 1 including the rigid support layer comprising the plurality of grooves (as described in claim 1) and the connection slots.
Liao does not teach wherein the rigid support layer further comprises a filling part filled into the plurality of grooves and connection slots, a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part, and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer.
Jones in similar field of flexible display panel (title) teaches a rigid support layer (figure 14b, 1400b) comprising at least the plurality of grooves (1404b, figure 14b);
wherein the rigid support layer further comprises a filling part (element 1406b; paragraph 129, filler 1406b flexible, pliable non-rigid material) filled into the groove (as seen in figure 14b), a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part (as seen in figure 14b, the surface of filling part 1406b is flush with the smooth part where element 1412b is indicated), and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer (the rigid support layer is rigid ceramic and the filler is flexible, pliable, non-rigid material thus the elastic modulus of the filling part is less than elastic modulus of the rigid support layer)..
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of filling part filled into the groove and a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part, and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer as taught by Jones such that the plurality of grooves and the connection slots of Liao as modified in claim 1 is filled with the filling part such that filling part is flush with the surface of the smooth part of Liao and thus the elastic modulus of the material of the filling part (flexible material) is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer (stainless steel of Liao), such modification will reduce the stress experience by the substrate when operating between folding and unfolding configuration.
Regarding claim 3,
Wherein a depth of the groove is taught by Liao.
Liao does not teach the specific depth of the groove ranges from 1/3 to 2/3 times of a thickness of the rigid support layer.
Jones teaches the shape and size of the groove can vary based on the particular bend geometry and the bend shape (at least paragraphs 130& 148; figure 14a, 14b, 15, 16, 17, 20a - showing various shapes and size such that the groove can be a through hole or part of the thickness).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Jones of modifying the size and shape of the groove such that the groove of Liao such that the depth of the groove ranges from 1/3 to 2/3 times of a thickness of the rigid support layer such modification will provide the desired bendability and geometry (i.e., bend radius).
Regarding claim 15,
The material of the filling part is a hot melt glue (paragraph 66 of Jones, teaches the filling part is a polymer such that the polymer maybe adhesive or various other material as described in paragraph 66, thus teaching the glue. The office notes in a final product "hot melt" is an intermediate step thus the final product of the filling part is a solidified glue, such as the polymer adhesive taught by Jones).
Regarding claim 17,
Liao teaches the display panel of claim 16 including the rigid support layer comprising the plurality of grooves and the connection slots (as described in claim 1).
Liao does not teach wherein the rigid support layer further comprises a filling part filled into the groove, a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part, and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer.
Jones in similar field of flexible display panel (title) teaches a rigid support layer (figure 14b, 1400b) comprising at least one groove (1404b, figure 14b);
wherein the rigid support layer further comprises a filling part (element 1406b; paragraph 129, filler 1406b flexible, pliable non-rigid material) filled into the groove (as seen in figure 14b), a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part (as seen in figure 14b, the surface of filling part 1406b is flush with the smooth part where element 1412b is indicated), and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer (the rigid support layer is rigid ceramic and the filler is flexible, pliable, non-rigid material thus the elastic modulus of the filling part is less than elastic modulus of the rigid support layer)..
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of filling part filled into the groove and a surface of the filling part away from the rigid support layer is flush with the surface of the smooth part, and an elastic modulus of a material of the filling part is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer as taught by Jones such that the plurality of grooves and the connection slots of Liao is filled with the filling part such that filling part is flush with the surface of the smooth part of Liao and thus the elastic modulus of the material of the filling part (flexible material) is less than an elastic modulus of the rigid support layer (stainless steel of Liao), such modification will reduce the stress experience by the substrate when operating between folding and unfolding configuration.
Claim(s) 7-13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao CN 110062077 in view of Min US Patent 11915625 further in view of Ai et al. US Patent 10020462 and Cao US Pub 2021/0151697.
Regarding claim 7,
Liao teaches the display panel comprising a first bending part (figure 3a where O axis is going through and as described in clam 1), a bending axis of the first bending part (axis O, figure 3a), the pattern part comprises a first sub-pattern part (pattern as described in claim 1, and figure 3a, elements 3-4), the first sub-pattern part corresponds to the first bending part.
Liao does not teach the display body comprises a second bending part, a bending axis of the first bending part crosses a bending axis of the second bending part, the patterned part comprises a second sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part.
Cao in similar field of display panel (abstract, figure 9) teaches the display panel body (figure 9) comprises a first bending part (figure 9, region A) and a second bending part (region B), a bending axis (small "a" going along the x axis of figure 9) of the first bending part crosses a bending axis ((small "b" going along the y axis of figure 9, such that the bending axis of the two bending part crosses ) of the second bending part, the patterned part (A1, A2, B1, B2) comprises a first sub- patterned part (figure 9, A1, A2) and a second sub-patterned part (fig. 9, B1, B2), the first sub-patterned part corresponds to the first bending part, and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part (Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Cao of having two bending parts that cross each other and each bending part including the patterned part as taught by Cao with the display panel comprising at least first bending part of Liao such that Liao comprises the claimed invention of wherein the display panel body comprises a first bending part and a second bending part, a bending axis of the first bending part crosses a bending axis of the second bending part, the patterned part comprises a first sub- patterned part and a second sub-patterned part, the first sub-patterned part corresponds to the first bending part, and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part, such modification will provide the display panel to be able to provide multiple degree of bending and thus attracting various different user's attention; furthermore providing pattern part in multiple region not only provide bending radius in multiple direction but also provide level of heat dissipation characteristic.
Regarding claim 8, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein the bending axis of the first bending part is perpendicular to the bending axis of the second bending part (the modified structure such that as seen in figure 9 of Cao bending axis a is perpendicular to bending axis b).
Regarding claim 9, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
Liao teaches the first sub-pattern part comprises first groove and first support islands (as described in claim 1 and seen in figure 3a-c).
Liao does not teach wherein the second sub-patterned part comprises a second groove and a second support island; and the first groove and the second groove are mutually connected together at an intersection of the first sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part.
Cao teaches wherein the first sub-patterned part (elements A1, A2, figure 9) and the second sub-patterned part (element B1, B2); and sub patterned parts are mutually connected together at an intersection (as seen in at the intersection A1(B1) mutually connected together) of the first sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of providing the first sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part such that the patterned parts are mutually connected together at an intersection as taught by Cao with the teaching of the patterned part comprises groove and support islands of Liao such that as modified in claim 7, the Liao modified display panel comprises the first sub-patterned part comprises a first groove and a first support island, and the second sub-patterned part comprises a second groove and a second support island; and the first groove and the second groove are mutually connected together at an intersection of the first sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part, such modification will provide the display panel to be able to provide multiple degree of bending and thus attracting various different user's attention; furthermore providing pattern part in multiple region not only provide bending radius in multiple direction but also provide level of heat dissipation characteristic. In other words, providing the Liao's first sub-patterned part comprising groove and support islands such that same structure is also running along x and y axis as show in Cao figure 9.
Regarding claim 10, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein the first sub-patterned part is axisymmetric about the bending axis of the first bending part (as seen in figure 9, similar to present application's figure 11); and the second sub-patterned part is axisymmetric about the bending axis of the second bending part (as seen in figure 9, similar to present application's figure 11).
Regarding claim 11, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein a shape of the first support island is the same as a shape of the second support island (the modified structure as described in claim 9, such that the shapes of the first and second support island is the same).
Regarding claim 12, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein each of the first support island and the second support island both have an axisymmetric shape about the bending axis of the first bending part (figure 3a-c and as described in the shape claim 6, such that the support islands are rectangular which are axisymmetric shape, thus the modified structure is to have first support island and the second support island both having an axisymmetric shape about the bending axis); and each of the first support island and the second support island both have an axisymmetric shape about the bending axis of the second bending part (figure 3a-c of Liao and Figure 9 of Cao).
Regarding claim 13, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein the first sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure, and the second sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure (figure 3a-c as modified by figure 9 of Cao and described in claim 9 and as described in the shape claim 6 teaches the first sub-patterned part and second sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure (i.e., rectangle shape; additionally, Liao teaches various shapes and size can be used as described in at least claim 3).
Regarding claim 18,
Liao teaches the display panel comprising a first bending part (figure 3a where O axis is going through and as described in clam 16), a bending axis of the first bending part (axis O, figure 3a), the pattern part comprises a first sub-pattern part (pattern as described in claim 16, and figure 3a, elements 3-4), the first sub-pattern part corresponds to the first bending part.
Liao does not teach the display body comprises a second bending part, a bending axis of the first bending part crosses a bending axis of the second bending part, the patterned part comprises a second sub-patterned part and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part.
Cao in similar field of display panel (abstract, figure 9) teaches the display panel body (figure 9) comprises a first bending part (figure 9, region A) and a second bending part (region B), a bending axis (small "a" going along the x axis of figure 9) of the first bending part crosses a bending axis ((small "b" going along the y axis of figure 9, such that the bending axis of the two bending part crosses ) of the second bending part, the patterned part (A1, A2, B1, B2) comprises a first sub- patterned part (figure 9, A1, A2) and a second sub-patterned part (fig. 9, B1, B2), the first sub-patterned part corresponds to the first bending part, and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part (Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Cao of having two bending parts that cross each other and each bending part including the patterned part as taught by Cao with the display panel comprising at least first bending part of Liao such that Liao comprises the claimed invention of wherein the display panel body comprises a first bending part and a second bending part, a bending axis of the first bending part crosses a bending axis of the second bending part, the patterned part comprises a first sub- patterned part and a second sub-patterned part, the first sub-patterned part corresponds to the first bending part, and the second sub-patterned part corresponds to the second bending part, such modification will provide the display panel to be able to provide multiple degree of bending and thus attracting various different user's attention; furthermore providing pattern part in multiple region not only provide bending radius in multiple direction but also provide level of heat dissipation characteristic.
Regarding claim 19, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein the first sub-patterned part is axisymmetric about the bending axis of the first bending part (as seen in figure 9, similar to present application's figure 11); and the second sub-patterned part is axisymmetric about the bending axis of the second bending part (as seen in figure 9, similar to present application's figure 11).
Regarding claim 20, Liao as modified by Cao teaches,
wherein the first sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure, and the second sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure (figure 3a-c as modified by figure 9 of Cao and described in claim 9 and as described in the shape claim 6 teaches the first sub-patterned part and second sub-patterned part has a centrosymmetric structure (i.e., rectangle shape; additionally, Liao teaches various shapes and size can be used as described in at least claim 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841