DETAILED ACTION
The previous prior art rejection Hattori et al (US 20170306134) maintained and therefore it is proper to make this rejection FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11-12, 18, and 22-24. are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (US 20170306134) ) cited in the previous Office Action as evidences by Cambridge polymer group
(CPG).
Hattori teaches an ethylene - based ionomer , comprising : 99 . 9 to 70 . 0 mol % in total of units derived from at least one selected from the group consisting of
ethylene and - olefins having 3 to 20 carbon atoms ; and 0 . 1 to 30 . 0 mol % in total of units derived from at least one selected from the group consisting of an unsaturated carboxylic acid and unsaturated carboxylic acid ester , wherein at least a part of polar groups in at least one of the ethylene / unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer and the ethylene / unsaturated carboxylic acid ester copolymer having the following features ( a ) to ( c ) is converted into a metal - containing carboxylate containing a metal ion of Group 1 , 2 , or 12 of the periodic table and where ( b ) the phase angle d at the absolute value G * = 0 . 1 MPa of a complex elastic modulus measured using a rotary rheometer is 45 degrees to 75 degrees (see claim 12).
Note that Applicant and Hattori use the same or analogous copolymer. In particular, Applicant’s ionomer comprises ethylene, butyl acrylate and Ni complex B27DM (see Table 1, page 20 Production examples 1 and 3 at printed publication). In turn, Hattori discloses the same copolymers (see Table 1, page 20 Production examples 1-5).
Hattori discloses tensile impact strength within the range of 913 kJ/m2 (see Example 9 at Table 5 at page 22).
Note that Hattori does not teach claimed melt flow rate values. However, the reference disclose very wide Molecular weight range, i.e., Mw within the range of 1 000 to 2000000, positively covering claimed MFI range of 1.9 g/10 min or more.
In addition CPG provides a formula connecting MFI and Mw (see previous Office Action)
Hattori does not a claimed formula for melting point determination cited in claim 9.
However, Applicant (see Table 3 at page 21) and Hattori (see Table 3 at page 20) teach the same melting point range of 100-120C.
In reference to claims 11 and 12, Hattori teaches such comonomers as dienes, trienes, aromatic vinyl monomers , and cyclic olefins (see 0067).
Regarding such processing as injection or compression molding, Hattori teaches that the polymer is melt-processed with press forming a sample of a circular shape (see 0283).
In reference to claims 18 and 22-24, Hattori fails to teach haze values.
However, since Applicant and Hattori use the same or analogous copolymers, processed by the same method (see printed publication at 0154 and Hattori at 0283) physical properties of the final articles are expected to be equal.
The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property, which is inherently present in the prior art, does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect the same properties (i.e., particularly haze and melting point) from Applicant’s and Hattori’s articles, since they have the same structure and obtained by the same processing method.
The rejection can be found in the NON-FINAL office action mailed 1/30/2026 and is herein incorporated by reference
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Examiner’s assumption that molecular weight range of 1000-2000000 covers MFI range of 1.9 g/10 min or more.
This is incorrect. Both Applicant and Hattori disclose a polymer processable by injection molding and compression molding.
Hattori’s disclosure covers the entire range from low molecular weight oligomer to ultra-high molecular weight polymer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765