DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 16 July 2025 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the leading dashes should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2018/176137 A1; Pub. Date: Oct. 4, 2018) (“Chen”) and Kawamura et al. (JP 2017-12415 A) (“Kawamura”). Chen discloses:
Claim 1: a reference surface (FIG. 8D, 1130);
electric energizer comprising at least one electric coil (“work body” of various embodiments has coils within 1130; p. 53, line 25 to p. 54, line 7) associated with said reference surface and configured to selectively generate one or more magnetic fields;
at least a first moving member and a second moving member (1116I/1116II; p. 47, lines 11-28), each comprising a magnet configured to interact with said one or more magnetic fields to move independently, without contact or directional constraint, on said reference surface between one or more working stations;
wherein each of said first and second moving members is equipped with a respective support arm, the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said [component] collectively during transport (portion of 1117 contacting 1193 and portion of 1117 not supporting 1193; transport within FIG. 8D); and
a controller (“controllably moving” implies a controller; p. 47, line 26) configured to selectively and coordinately energize said electric energizer to cause independent, controlled movement of said first and second moving members between the one or more working stations on said reference surface;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members, and to control the energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective
Claim 3: wherein said reference surface is selected from the group consisting of horizontal, vertical, inclined, flat, curved, undulating, or a combination thereof (flat);
Claim 8: wherein each support arm projects from a supporting wall (parts between 1116X and 1192X; p. 43, lines 30-32, “(1091A through 1091C) extending substantially in the Zs [sic; perpendicular Zm] direction”) of the respective moving member, and is positioned to maintain said [component] spaced apart from the reference surface (ending surface of 1117; it is construed that the gripper “includes a gripping seating”) during movement between the one or more working stations (FIG. 8D);
Claim 14: a reference surface (FIG. 8D, 1130);
electric energizer comprising at least one electric coil (“work body” of various embodiments has coils within 1130; p. 53, line 25 to p. 54, line 7) associated with said reference surface and configured to selectively generate one or more magnetic fields;
at least a first moving member and a second moving member (1116I/1116II; p. 47, lines 11-28), each comprising a magnet that interacts with said one or more magnetic fields to move independently, without contact or directional constraint, on said reference surface between one or more working stations; and
a controller (“controllably moving” implies a controller; p. 47, line 26) configured to selectively and coordinately energize said electric energizer to cause independent, controlled movement of said first and second moving members between the one or more working stations on said reference surface;
said method comprising:
gripping said [component] by cooperation of a first support arm of said first moving member and a second support arm of said second moving member, wherein the support arms are movable relative to each other to collectively and temporarily support said [component] (p. 43, lines 10-20),
transporting said [component] supported by the support arms from one working station to another working station on said reference surface, and
wherein, during transport, said [component] are maintained spaced apart from the reference surface, and
the method further comprising:
controlling (p. 47, lines 11-28) a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members by acquiring positional information and adjusting the energizing of the electric energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective U-shaped supports or projection elements (p. 47, lines 11-28; “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611.”; “coordinated feedback” limitations; English translation), such that the U-shaped support or the projection elements of one support arm cooperate with those of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding either a nest or tray accommodating vials, or the vials individually, throughout transport (FIG. 8D).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 1: plurality of components;
wherein each of said first and second support arms comprises a comb-type support having a plurality of aligned seatings;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members, and to control the energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective comb-type supports, such that the seatings of one comb-type support cooperate with the seatings of the other comb-type support to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
Claim 8: plurality of components;
Claim 13: wherein said first and second support arms are removably attached to their respective moving members;
Claim 14: plurality of vials;
wherein each of the first and second support arms comprises at least one of: a U-shaped support or a plurality of spaced apart projection elements at a distal end.
Kawamura shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: plurality of components;
wherein each of said first and second support arms comprises a comb-type support having a plurality of aligned seatings;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members, and to control the energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective comb-type supports, such that the seatings of one comb-type support cooperate with the seatings of the other comb-type support to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport (figure 6);
Claim 8: plurality of components (figure 6);
Claim 13: wherein said first and second support arms are removably attached to their respective moving members (figures 6-9);
Claim 14: plurality of vials (vials transported);
wherein each of the first and second support arms comprises at least one of: a U-shaped support or a plurality of spaced apart projection elements at a distal end (figure 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner (paragraph [0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Kawamura and include Kawamura’s similar device having:
Claim 1: plurality of components;
wherein each of said first and second support arms comprises a comb-type support having a plurality of aligned seatings;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members, and to control the energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective comb-type supports, such that the seatings of one comb-type support cooperate with the seatings of the other comb-type support to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
Claim 8: plurality of components;
Claim 13: wherein said first and second support arms are removably attached to their respective moving members;
Claim 14: plurality of vials;
wherein each of the first and second support arms comprises at least one of: a U-shaped support or a plurality of spaced apart projection elements at a distal end;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner.
Claim(s) 2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Kawamura, and Wang et al. (US 4132318) (“Wang”). Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 2: wherein the positional information comprises a measurement of a gripping force exerted between the first and second support arms;
Claim 4: wherein at least one support arm includes an elastic end portion configured to compensate for dimensional tolerances of the component and to ensure a secure grip on the component;
Claim 5: wherein the elastic end portion of one comb-type support is shaped to mate with a corresponding gripping seating of the other comb-type support;
Claim 6: wherein the elastic end portion tapers toward its free end.
Wang shows a similar device having:
Claim 2: wherein the positional information comprises a measurement of a gripping force exerted between the first and second support arms (10/11; FIG. 11);
Claim 4: wherein at least one support arm includes an elastic end portion configured to compensate for dimensional tolerances of the component and to ensure a secure grip on the component (FIG. 1A, elements A-G; all materials have modulus of elasticity);
Claim 6: wherein the elastic end portion tapers toward its free end (FIG. 1A, elements A and D; all materials have modulus of elasticity);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of holding a component with sensitivity so it is not damaged by the machine during transfer (column 1, lines 25-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Kawamura as taught by Wang and include Wang’s similar device having:
Claim 2: wherein the positional information comprises a measurement of a gripping force exerted between the first and second support arms;
Claim 4: wherein at least one support arm includes an elastic end portion configured to compensate for dimensional tolerances of the component and to ensure a secure grip on the component;
Claim 6: wherein the elastic end portion tapers toward its free end;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of holding a component with sensitivity so it is not damaged by the machine during transfer.
Kawamura shows a similar device having:
Claim 5: wherein the elastic end portion of one comb-type support is shaped to mate with a corresponding gripping seating of the other comb-type support (figure 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner (paragraph [0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Wang as taught by Kawamura and include Kawamura’s similar device having:
Claim 5: wherein the elastic end portion of one comb-type support is shaped to mate with a corresponding gripping seating of the other comb-type support;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kawamura and Narvekar et al. (US 2018/0134423) (“Narvekar”). Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 15: providing a nest or tray having a plurality of seats, each configured to accommodate a respective vial, wherein, in said gripping step, said first support arm cooperates with said second support arm to grip said nest or tray at a lateral side.
Narvekar shows a similar device having:
Claim 15: providing a nest or tray having a plurality of seats, each configured to accommodate a respective vial, wherein, in said gripping step, said first support arm cooperates with said second support arm to grip said nest or tray at a lateral side (FIG. 10);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of feeding the nest or tray in a precise manner for reducing the chance of damaging the nest or tray (paragraph [0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Kawamura as taught by Narvekar and include Narvekar’s similar device having:
Claim 15: providing a nest or tray having a plurality of seats, each configured to accommodate a respective vial, wherein, in said gripping step, said first support arm cooperates with said second support arm to grip said nest or tray at a lateral side;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of feeding the nest or tray in a precise manner for reducing the chance of damaging the nest or tray.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Kawamura, and Kim et al. (KR 10-2017-0033652) (“Kim”). Chen discloses:
Claim 18: a reference surface (FIG. 8D, 1130);
electric energizer comprising at least one electric coil (“work body” of various embodiments has coils within 1130; p. 53, line 25 to p. 54, line 7) associated with said reference surface and configured to selectively generate one or more magnetic fields;
at least a first moving member and a second moving member (1116I/1116II; p. 47, lines 11-28), each comprising a magnet configured to interact with said one or more magnetic fields to move independently, without contact or directional constraint, on said reference surface between one or more working stations;
wherein each of said first and second moving members is equipped with a respective support arm (portion of 1117 contacting 1193 and portion of 1117 not supporting 1193), the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said [component] collectively during transport; and
a controller configured to selectively and coordinately energize said electric energizer to cause independent, controlled movement of said first and second moving members between the one or more working stations on said reference surface;
wherein each of said first and second support arms comprises a
wherein the controller (“controllably moving” implies a controller; p. 47, line 26) is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members, and to control said energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 18: plurality of components;
U-shaped support; the U-shaped support of one support arm cooperate with the U-shaped support of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding a nest or tray at a lateral side throughout transport, the nest or tray having a plurality of seatings, each seating being configured to accommodate one component of said plurality of components.
Kawamura shows a similar device having:
Claim 18: plurality of components (figure 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner (paragraph [0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Kawamura and include Kawamura’s similar device having:
Claim 18: plurality of components;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner.
Kim shows a similar device having:
Claim 18: U-shaped support (figure 1); the U-shaped support of one support arm (figure 1) cooperate with the U-shaped support of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding a nest or tray (intended use) at a lateral side throughout transport, the nest or tray having a plurality of seatings (each support arm has a seating in the C-shape; therefore, there are two seatings), each seating being configured to accommodate one component of said plurality of components (plurality of components accommodated over the life of the machine);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of more efficiently gripping an object to ensure that it is not dropped and damaged (paragraph [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Kawamura as taught by Kim and include Kim’s similar device having:
Claim 18: U-shaped support; the U-shaped support of one support arm cooperate with the U-shaped support of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding a nest or tray at a lateral side throughout transport, the nest or tray having a plurality of seatings, each seating being configured to accommodate one component of said plurality of components;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of more efficiently gripping an object to ensure that it is not dropped and damaged.
Claim(s) 19 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Kawamura, and Sanekata (JP 2001-79789 A). Chen discloses:
Claim 19: a reference surface (FIG. 8D, 1130);
an electric energizer comprising at least one electric coil (“work body” of various embodiments has coils within 1130; p. 53, line 25 to p. 54, line 7) associated with said reference surface and configured to selectively generate one or more magnetic fields;
at least a first moving member and a second moving member (1116I/1116II; p. 47, lines 11-28), each comprising a magnet configured to interact with said one or more magnetic fields to move independently, without contact or directional constraint, on said reference surface between one or more working stations (portion of 1117 contacting 1193 and portion of 1117 not supporting 1193);
wherein each of said first and second moving members is equipped with a respective support arm, the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said [component] during transport; and
a controller (“controllably moving” implies a controller; p. 47, line 26) configured to selectively and coordinately energize said electric energizer to cause independent, controlled movement of said first and second moving members between the one or more working stations on said reference surface;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members (p. 47, lines 11-28; “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611.”; “coordinated feedback” limitations; English translation).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 19: plurality of components;
temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport;
wherein each support arm comprises a plurality of projecting elements that are parallel and spaced apart;
the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
control said energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective plurality of projecting elements, such that the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding [a component] throughout transport;
Claim 11: wherein the first support arm includes at one end a rack support formed by a central elongated body with a plurality of gripping segments branching out, and the second support arm includes a forked support with a plurality of gripping segments extending inwardly from the fork, said rack support and said forked support cooperating to define a plurality of seatings to accommodate said plurality of components.
Kawamura shows a similar device having:
Claim 19: plurality of components;
temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport (figure 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner (paragraph [0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Kawamura and include Kawamura’s similar device having:
Claim 19: plurality of components;
temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport;
wherein each support arm comprises a plurality of projecting elements that are parallel and spaced apart;
control said energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective plurality of projecting elements, such that the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding [a component] throughout transport;
the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner.
Sanekata shows a similar device having:
Claim 19: wherein each support arm comprises a plurality of projecting elements that are parallel and spaced apart;
the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
control said energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective plurality of projecting elements, such that the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding [a component] throughout transport (figures 1, 4, and 6);
Claim 11: wherein the first support arm includes at one end a rack support formed by a central elongated body with a plurality of gripping segments branching out, and the second support arm includes a forked support with a plurality of gripping segments extending inwardly from the fork, said rack support and said forked support cooperating to define a plurality of seatings to accommodate said plurality of components (figures 1, 4, and 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of clamping a plurality of components with uniform clamping force (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Kawamura as taught by Sanekata and include Sanekata’s similar device having:
Claim 19: wherein each support arm comprises a plurality of projecting elements that are parallel and spaced apart;
the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
control said energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the respective plurality of projecting elements, such that the plurality of projecting elements of one support arm cooperate with the plurality of projecting elements of the other support arm to form a secure gripping structure for holding [a component] throughout transport;
Claim 11: wherein the first support arm includes at one end a rack support formed by a central elongated body with a plurality of gripping segments branching out, and the second support arm includes a forked support with a plurality of gripping segments extending inwardly from the fork, said rack support and said forked support cooperating to define a plurality of seatings to accommodate said plurality of components;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of clamping a plurality of components with uniform clamping force.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Kawamura, and Narvekar et al. (US 2018/0134423) (“Narvekar”). Chen discloses:
Claim 20: a reference surface (FIG. 8D, 1130);
electric energizer comprising at least one electric coil (“work body” of various embodiments has coils within 1130; p. 53, line 25 to p. 54, line 7) associated with said reference surface and configured to selectively generate one or more magnetic fields;
at least a first moving member and a second moving member, each comprising a magnet configured to interact with said one or more magnetic fields to move independently, without contact or directional constraint, on said reference surface between one or more working stations (portion of 1117 contacting 1193 and portion of 1117 not supporting 1193);
wherein each of said first and second moving members is equipped with a respective support arm, the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said [component] during transport; and
a controller (“controllably moving” implies a controller; p. 47, line 26) configured to selectively and coordinately energize said electric energizer to cause independent, controlled movement of said first and second moving members between the one or more working stations on said reference surface;
wherein the controller is further configured to acquire positional information regarding a relative arrangement of the first and second moving members and to control the energizer to maintain a predefined orientation and distance between the first and second support arms (p. 47, lines 11-28; “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611.”; “coordinated feedback” limitations; English translation), such that one support arm cooperates with the other to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding [a component] throughout transport (p. 47, lines 11-28).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 20: plurality of components;
the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport;
one support arm cooperates with the other to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
wherein said reference surface comprises a vertical wall having at least one aperture, through which said plurality of components, received from a feed zone, are collectively gripped and transported by the first and second support arms.
Kawamura shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: plurality of components;
the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport;
one support arm cooperates with the other to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport (figure 6);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner (paragraph [0106]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Kawamura and include Kawamura’s similar device having:
Claim 20: Claim 20: plurality of components;
the first support arm of said first moving member being movably coupled to the second support arm of the second moving member such that the first and second support arms cooperatively and temporarily support said plurality of components collectively during transport;
one support arm cooperates with the other to form a secure gripping structure for individually holding each component of the plurality of components throughout transport;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of completing various tasks with different components in an efficient manner.
Narvekar shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: wherein said reference surface comprises a vertical wall having at least one aperture, through which said plurality of components, received from a feed zone, are collectively gripped and transported by the first and second support arms (FIG. 6a/6b; 5 fits inside 14/etc. in Narvekar; 5 and 14 of Narvekar may be held vertically; Chen FIG. 8D may be in a vertical orientation);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of feeding the nest or tray in a precise manner for reducing the chance of damaging the nest or tray (paragraph [0127]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Kawamura as taught by Narvekar and include Narvekar’s similar device having:
Claim 20: wherein said reference surface comprises a vertical wall having at least one aperture, through which said plurality of components, received from a feed zone, are collectively gripped and transported by the first and second support arms;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of feeding the nest or tray in a precise manner for reducing the chance of damaging the nest or tray.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re. Claim 1, the “coordinated feedback” disclosure of Chen meets the claims. “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611” also implies using positional information as claimed. The teaching of Kawamura is used for the shape of the supports, not their coordination/feedback control.
Re. Claim 2, Chen teaches position detection in the “coordinated feedback” disclosure.
Re. Claim 4, two is a plurality. Further, the limitation “plurality” is not claimed.
Re. Claim 15, Narvekar discloses a nest that is moved. The other prior art is used for the taught specifics for moving said nest in the combination rejection of Claim 15.
Re. Claim 18, Chen discloses the support arm with U-shaped supports in figure 1, and Kim discloses the U-shaped support (both a U and C shape have curves therein). Figures 3 and 4 of Kim were not used in the rejections. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Chen does not discloses a specific shape of the gripping component. Kim’s disclosure is used to show that a specific gripping shape is obvious to be used.
Figure 8D of Chen is a “non- limiting embodiment,” where the support arms may carry first and second movement tools a the right and left support arms in figure 8D of Chen. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Chen does not discloses a specific shape of the gripping component. Kim’s disclosure is used to show that a specific gripping shape is obvious to be used.
Re. Claim 19, the “coordinated feedback” disclosure of Chen meets the claims. “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611” also implies using positional information as claimed. The teaching of Kawamura is used for the shape of the supports, not their coordination/feedback control.
Re. Claim 20, the “coordinated feedback” disclosure of Chen meets the claims. “The robot devicel 1 11 may be configured to carry the workpiece 1193 in the X and Y directions using the its capability to move in 6 directions/DOF, as well as to drop down or lift up the workpiece 1193 in Z-direction by controllably moving the linkage body 1 117 holding the workpiece 1 193 in the Xm-direction in response to relative motion between magnetic bodies 1 1161 and 111611” also implies using positional information as claimed. The teaching of Kawamura is used for the shape of the supports, not their coordination/feedback control.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652