DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 6/20/2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1 and 5. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/20/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are based on new amendment. New ground of rejection has been made and applicant's arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
The Applicant amended independent claims 1 and 5 and argues “no combination of Misaiji and Huizen describes or suggests a housing mounted on a lateral portion of a vehicle and holding a mirror, and an attachment member, on which at least one internal unit is fitted, the internal unit being an image pickup device that acquires image light, a floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light, and which is attached to a lower portion of the housing so that the internal unit is put between the attachment member and the housing, wherein the attachment member is fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Misaiji in Figs. 1-2 teaches a housing mounted on a lateral portion of a vehicle and holding a mirror. A new ground of rejection has been made using a new combination of references which teaches the amended limitations and applicant's arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaiji et al. (US 2003/0098908, of record) in view of Huizen et al. (US 2020/0122631, of record) and further in view of Fuchs (WO 2017067750, Examiner provided machine translation of WO 2017067750).
Regarding claim 1, Misaiji teaches a vehicular mirror apparatus (refer to US 2003/0098908) comprising: a housing (door mirror 1 and housing 2b/2, see Figs. 1 and 7) mounted on a lateral portion of a vehicle and holding a mirror (a door mirror 1 is mounted on a front door D1 of driver seat of a vehicle A, [0039] see Figs. 1 and 7); and
an attachment member (support elements 24, [0044], see Fig. 7), on which an at least one internal unit (camera 20, Fig. 7) is fitted (support elements 24 are provided around the camera 20, [0044]), the internal unit being an image pickup device that acquires image light (camera built-in rearview mirror .. acquired images, [0026], Fig. 7),
a floodlight device that emits light, and an illumination device that emits light (a plurality of luminous bodies 30 such as light emitting diodes, [0054], see Fig. 7), and which is attached to a lower portion of the housing (Figs. 5-7 shows the attachment member, internal unit and the lights attached to a lower portion of the housing 2) so that the internal unit (unit 20) is put between the attachment member (elements 24) and the housing (housing 2/2b; Figs. 4 and 7 show the camera 20 with lens 23 is put between the attachment member 24, and the housing 2/2b).
Misaiji teaches wherein the attachment member 24 is fastened/secured to a first portion, i.e. right portion in Fig. 7, provided on a first side, right side, of the internal unit 20, and
fastened, at a second portion, i.e. left portion, provided on a second side, left side, of the internal unit 20, opposite to the first side (see Fig. 7), to the housing 2, 2b.
Misaiji doesn’t explicitly teach floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light, and wherein the attachment member is fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing.
Misaiji teaches a plurality of luminous bodies 30, but doesn’t explicitly teach floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light.
Misaiji and Huizen are related as Illumination Module for Vehicles.
Huizen teaches floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light (“vehicular illumination module configured for mounting at an exterior portion of a vehicle includes a housing, a printed circuit board accommodated in the housing, and first and second light emitting diodes disposed at the printed circuit board. The first light emitting diode (LED) is operable to emit, when electrically powered, visible light, and the second LED is operable to emit, when electrically powered, infrared light”, [abstract], Fig. 4 a white light-emitting LED 16 and an infrared or near-infrared light-emitting LED 18, [0015]; illumination module may be disposed at a side portion of the vehicle, .... in an exterior sideview mirror assembly, to provide ground illumination, visible and infrared; [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the device that Misaiji teaches to include infrared and visible light emitting diodes, as Huizen teaches for the predictable advantage of minimizing the design complicity and providing visible illumination and infrared light for the operation of a camera, as taught by Huizen in the abstract.
The modified Misaiji doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the attachment member is fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing.
Misaiji and Fuchs are related as camera Module for Vehicles.
Figure A
Fuchs teaches wherein the attachment member is fastened (attachment member 3 and 2.1 is fastened with screw 5) to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit (first portion of camera 6 is labeled on Fig. 2; captioned Fig. A) with a unit fastening member (see captioned Fig. A; a first portion of camera with lens 6/6.1 provided on a first side of 6, right side in Fig. 2, of the camera 6 with a unit fastening member screw 5), and fastened, at a second portion (see label on captioned Fig. A; a 2nd portion of camera with lens 6/6.1) provided on a second side of the internal unit (2nd side is left side of camera 6 in captioned Fig. A), opposite to the first side (captioned Fig. A shows 2nd side is opposite to the first side), to the housing (4) and the internal unit (6) with a housing fastening member (screw 5) such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing (captioned Fig. A shows second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of Misaiji to include wherein the attachment member fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2, for the predictable advantage of securing the internal unit with screw connection with the screw dome and minimizing a gap between a camera mounting aperture and the camera lens and at the same time guarantees protection of the camera lens from lateral or transverse forces, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2 and page 2 of machine translation.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Misaiji teaches the vehicular mirror apparatus according to claim 1 (see above). Fuchs teaches the attachment member includes a positioning part that effects positioning with respect to the second portion of the internal unit (a positioning sleeve 2.5 of the camera carrier and is inserted with the positioning sleeve 2.5 into a camera mounting opening C in the motor vehicle-side component 4).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Misaiji teaches the vehicular mirror apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the internal unit includes two out of the image pickup device, the floodlight device diodes, and the illumination device (Figs. 7 show includes two, the image pickup device and plurality of luminous bodies 30 such as light emitting diodes) and wherein the attachment member (10) is: fastened to the first portion of a first internal unit (attachment member 10 fastened to the first portion of camera 20 through elements 9, 10a, 24; [Fig. 7]; as one internal unit (Fig. 7 as camera is one internal unit) and the first portion of a second internal unit (end portion of 24, projection 9 and ridge 10a of the illumination devices 30) as another internal unit (Fig. 7, luminous bodies 30 are as an another internal device, Fig. 7) with the unit fastening member (with the unit fastening member 24, 9, 10a);
fastened to the housing (2) and the second portion of the first internal unit (top of the camera camera) with a first housing fastening member (screws and support 5) that is the housing fastening member (camera 20 is fastened to the support element 5 in the mirror housing 2, [0048]); and fastened to the housing and the second portion of the second internal unit (left portion of 24 above illumination devices 30) with a second housing fastening member (member 24 extending to left over 30 and “support elements 24 is in contact with the support projection 9 and interposed between the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a; 9 attached to housing 2) that is the housing fastening member (see Fig. 7) and is different from the first housing fastening member (figure 7 shows they are different).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Misaiji teaches the vehicular mirror apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the internal unit includes the image pickup device (camera 20 and LEDs 30) and floodlight device (light of the luminous bodies irradiates an imaging area taken by a camera through a transparent cover, [0025], a plurality of luminous bodies 30 such as light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided [0054], see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Misaiji teaches a method for manufacturing a vehicular mirror apparatus (refer to US 2003/0098908, rearview mirror device) comprising:
fastening a first portion provided on first side of an internal unit that is an image pickup device that acquires image light (Fig. 7, internal unit is image pickup device 20 and fastening a first portion provided on first side is equivalent to fastening a first portion provided on right side of the internal unit 20, that is a camera, fastened by support elements 24 and screw 7; camera acquires image light, [0039; 0044]),
a floodlight device that emits light and an illumination device that emits light (a plurality of luminous bodies 30 such as light emitting diodes, [0054], see Fig. 7), to an attachment member with a unit fastening member (support elements 24, [0044] with a unit fastening screw 7, see Fig. 7),
putting the internal unit between a housing (putting camera 20, between a housing 2/2b, see Fig. 7) which is mounted on a lateral portion of a vehicle and holds a mirror (Figs. 1-2; show door mirror 1 mounted on a lateral portion of a vehicle, and Fig. 7 shows internal unit in the door mirror, Fig. 7 shows housing holds a mirror) and the attachment member (24) to which the internal unit is fastened (Fig. 7, support elements 24 are provided around the camera 20 … [0044]) to support the internal unit (support elements 24 are provided around the camera 20 … 24 is inserted through the opening 8 to be in contact with the support projection 9 and interposed between the support projection 9 and the ridge 10a of the transparent cover 10 when the opening 8 is closed with the transparent cover 10, [0044])), and
fastening, at a second portion provided on a second side of internal unit, (Fig. 7, internal unit 20 and fastening a second portion provided on second side is equivalent to fastening a second portion provided on left side of the internal unit 20, that is a camera, fastened by support elements 24 and screw 7; [0039; 0044]),
Misaiji teaches wherein the attachment member 24 is fastened to a first portion, right portion in Fig. 7, provided on a first side, right side, of the internal unit 20, and
fastened, at a second portion, left portion, provided on a second side, left side, of the internal unit 20, opposite to the first side (see Fig. 7), to the housing 2, 2b.
Misaiji doesn’t explicitly teach floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light, and
fastening a first portion provided on first side of an internal unit that is an image pickup device
Misaiji and Huizen are related as Illumination Module for Vehicles.
Huizen teaches floodlight device that emits infrared light, and an illumination device that emits visible light (“vehicular illumination module configured for mounting at an exterior portion of a vehicle includes a housing, a printed circuit board accommodated in the housing, and first and second light emitting diodes disposed at the printed circuit board. The first light emitting diode (LED) is operable to emit, when electrically powered, visible light, and the second LED is operable to emit, when electrically powered, infrared light”, [abstract], Fig. 4 a white light-emitting LED 16 and an infrared light-emitting LED 18, [0015]; illumination module may be disposed at a side portion of the vehicle, .... in an exterior sideview mirror assembly, to provide ground illumination, visible and infrared; [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the device that Misaiji teaches to include infrared and visible light emitting diodes, as Huizen teaches for the predictable advantage of minimizing the design complicity and providing visible illumination and infrared light for the operation of a camera, as taught by Huizen in the abstract.
The modified Misaiji doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the attachment member is fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing.
Misaiji and Fuchs are related as camera Module for Vehicles.
Figure B
Fuchs teaches wherein the attachment member is fastened (attachment member 3 and 2.1 is fastened with screw 5) to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit (first portion of camera 6 is labeled on Fig. 2; captioned Fig. B) with a unit fastening member (see captioned Fig. B; a first portion of camera with lens 6/6.1 provided on a first side of 6, right side in Fig. 2, of the camera 6 with a unit fastening member screw 5), and fastened, at a second portion (see label on captioned Fig. B; a 2nd portion of camera with lens 6/6.1) provided on a second side of the internal unit (2nd side is left side of camera 6 in captioned Fig. B), opposite to the first side (captioned Fig. B shows 2nd side is opposite to the first side), to the housing (4) and the internal unit (6) with a housing fastening member (screw 5) such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing (captioned Fig. B shows second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of Misaiji to include wherein the attachment member fastened to a first portion provided on a first side of the internal unit with a unit fastening member, and fastened, at a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit, opposite to the first side, to the housing and the internal unit with a housing fastening member such that the second portion is put between the attachment member and the housing, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2, for the predictable advantage of securing the internal unit with screw connection with the screw dome and minimizing a gap between a camera mounting aperture and the camera lens and at the same time guarantees protection of the camera lens from lateral or transverse forces, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2 and page 2 of machine translation.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Misaiji teaches the vehicular mirror apparatus according to claim 1, Fuchs teaches wherein the attachment member (Fig. 2 shows attachment member, a camera support 2 and housing 3, which attaches the camera 6, [see Captioned Figure B]) includes a first receiver (3) that joins to the unit fastening member (joins to screw 5), and a second receiver (attachment sections 2.1) that joins to the housing fastening member (component 4 and the positioning sleeve 2.5), and the second portion (Fig. 2; a second portion provided on a second side of the internal unit 6, opposite to the first side, fastening member 5 screwed to the screw dome, see labeling on Captioned Figure B) includes a locking part that restrains the internal unit from rotational transfer, the locking part being locked to the second receiver (mounting brackets 2.6 are formed on the edge of the camera carrier cantilevered outwards and extend perpendicular to the second mounting direction B. The second mounting direction B extends at an angle W to the first mounting direction A. The mounting tabs 2.6 each have a through hole, wherein the through holes a Diameter, which allows a tolerance compensation between the camera carrier 2 and motor vehicle side component 4 and so accurate positioning of the camera module 10 in the vehicle-mounted component 4 is made possible. The camera module 10 is screwed on the mounting tabs 2.6 of the camera carrier 2 with the screw domes 4.1 of the motor vehicle side member 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of Misaiji to include a first receiver that joins to the unit fastening member, and a second receiver that joins to the housing fastening member, and the second portion includes a locking part that restrains the internal unit from rotational transfer, the locking part being locked to the second receiver, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2, for the predictable advantage of accurately positioning of the camera module in the vehicle-mounted component using the screw and the mounting tabs of the camera carrier with the screw domes, as taught by Fuchs in Fig. 2 and page 2 of machine translation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaiji et al. in view of Huizen et al, and Fuchs as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fujikawa et al. (US 2003/0214733, of record).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Misaiji teaches the vehicular mirror apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the attachment member (support elements 24, [0044]), includes a first receiver (3) that joins to the unit fastening member (joins to screw 5), and a second receiver (attachment sections 2.1) that joins to the housing fastening member (component 4 and the positioning sleeve 2.5),
The modified Misaiji doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the second receiver has a cylindrical outer peripheral face that effects positioning with respect to the second portion of the internal unit, and the second portion includes a locking part that restrains the internal unit from rotational transfer centering by contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face, the locking part being locked to the second receiver with contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face.
Misaiji and Fujikawa are related as Illumination Module for Vehicles.
Fujikawa teaches the attachment member (7) includes a first receiver that joins to the unit fastening member (Fig 1 shows a receiver with screw holes on the top of 7 that joins to the screws), and a second receiver (hole to receive 5B) that joins to the housing fastening member (the hole for 5B joins 7B/7C and sealing 8), and wherein the second receiver has a cylindrical outer peripheral face (the hole for 5B joins 7B/7C and sealing 8 has a cylindrical outer peripheral face) that effects positioning with respect to the second portion of the internal unit (see Figs. 1-3), and the second portion includes a locking part (bends of 2C/2 and 7B) that restrains the internal unit (diode structure) from rotational transfer (Figs. 1-2 show screwed and fixed with bending portions and seals restrains from rotational transfer) centering by contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face (cylindrical outer peripheral face of 5B contacts with sealing through 5A, Figs. 1-3), the locking part (bends of 2C/2 and 7B) being locked to the second receiver (hole to receive 5B which locks 5 with walls and sealings) with contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face (see Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the device that Misaiji teaches wherein the second receiver has a cylindrical outer peripheral face that effects positioning with respect to the second portion of the internal unit, and the second portion includes a locking part that restrains the internal unit from rotational transfer centering by contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face, the locking part being locked to the second receiver with contacting with the cylindrical outer peripheral face, as Fujikawa teaches, for the predictable advantage of decreasing the opening area of the photographing window and raising the rigidity of the mirror housing, as taught by Fujikawa in abstract.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872