DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 8/4/26 is acknowledged. Claims 20, 22-34, 37-40, 42, 45, 46, and 48-54 are pending. Claims 26, 29-34, 38, 40, 42 and 52 have been withdrawn. No claims have been amended. Claim 54 is new. Claims 20, 22-25, 27, 28, 37, 39, 45, 46, 48-51, 53 and 54 are under consideration
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claim 44 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent is withdrawn in view of the amended claim.
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/4/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-25, 27, 28, 37, 39, 45, 46, 48-51, 53 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2015/0080353) in view of Wick et al. (US 5,662,926).
Singh et al. teach compositions and methods useful for the in vivo delivery of substantially water-insoluble drugs (e.g. abstract). Singh et al. teach that the drug may be aripiprazole (e.g. paragraph 0076; Claim 49). As evidenced by the instant Specification ad species election, aripiprazole has a water solubility of less than 10 mg/mL. Singh et al. teach that the active agent of the present invention may be combined with pharmaceutical carriers or excipients which may serve to improve the stability and/or dispersibility of the powder including cyclodextrins, such as 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin (e.g. paragraph 0137).
Singh et al. teach that the formulation may be in the form of a tablet or a transdermal device for absorption through the skin or mucous membranes (e.g. claim 51), but do not teach the specifics of the transdermal device. This is made up for by the teachings of Wick et al.
Wick et al. teach devices for the controlled release of an active agent to the skin or mucosa of a host are disclosed, which devices are laminates of a backing layer, a monolithic carrier layer (i.e. thin solid tablet) of an active ingredient selected from active agent, active agent enhancers and mixtures thereof, melt-blended with a thermoplastic matrix polymer capable of controllably releasing the active ingredient, wherein the active ingredient is heat stable at the melt temperature of the matrix polymer, together with means for affixing the laminate to the skin or mucosa of the host so that the active ingredient is continuously released from the carrier layer thereto (e.g. abstract). Wick et al. exemplify a drug carrier film of 10 cm2 in area and 242.3 mg of weight, which is equivalent to a density of approximately 24.23 mg/cm2, which is slightly below the claimed range of more than 30 mg/cm2 and less than 400 mg/cm2 (e.g. Example 1). Wick et al. exemplify drug carrier films of 9.6 mil (i.e. 0.24 mm), which is within the claimed range (e.g. Example 1). However, Wick et al. more broadly teach “the rate of permeation of the active agent through the rate-controlling polymer layer depends on factors such as the affinity of the active agent for the polymer layer, molecular size of the active agent, polymeric structure of the carrier layer and the thickness of the layer. Therefore, the appropriate rate-controlling polymeric material and its thickness depend on the active agent used and the desired rate of permeation. The selection of a polymer layer and its thickness provides a means, if desired, for controlling the dosage rate to the skin or mucosa (e.g. column 20, lines 48-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to vary the tablet thickness and density in order to achieve the desired rate of permeation.
Regarding Claims 20, 22, 37, 39, 44-46, 48, 53 and 54, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the transdermal patch of Wick et al. for use with the drug formulation of Singh et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success because Singh et al. suggest the form of transdermal delivery device and one would have been motivated to seek out an appropriate transdermal patch, as in Wick et al.
Regarding Claim 23, Wick et al. teach the inclusion of a backing layer and a release liner layer (e.g. Claim 1; Example 1).
Regarding Claim 24, Wick et al. further teach the inclusion of a rate-controlling polymer layer between the carrier layer and the host’s skin (e.g. column 2, lines 20-62).
Regarding Claims 25, 27, and 28, Wick et al. further teach a spacer layer between the backing layer and the release liner layer, the spacer layer being laterally adjacent to the carrier layer and configured to maintain a separation distance between the backing layer and the release liner layer (e.g. Figures 8-12), wherein the separation distance appears to be in the range of about 50% to about 150% of the thickness of the thin solid tablet.
Regarding Claims 49 and 50, Wick et al. exemplify a drug carrier film of 10 cm2 (e.g. paragraph 0154).
Regarding Claim 51, Wick et al. exemplify a drug carrier film of 10 cm2, which is above the claimed range (e.g. Example 1). However, Wick et al. more broadly teach “the width (i.e., surface area) and thickness of the permeable adhesive layer for contact with the skin or mucosa is that width and thickness which provides sufficient permeability to the active agent or active agent enhancer and a suitable surface area to allow the dosage rate desired to the skin or mucosa. These widths and thicknesses are conventional in the art and therefore need not be discussed in detail here” (e.g. column 18, lines 10-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to vary the tablet size in order to achieve the desired rate of permeation and total drug delivered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, beginning on page 7, that Wick’s monolithic carrier is not a “thin solid tablet” as claimed. Applicant argues that the flexible materials, thermoplastic composition, and melt-blending preparation of Wick produce a polymeric film or matrix layer, not a discrete solid body such as a tablet.
This is not found persuasive. While Wick do not use the term “tablet” the structure of their monolithic carrier renders obvious the claimed “tablet”. Wick describe the monolithic carrier layer “having a first surface and a second surface, the monolithic carrier layer being an active ingredient melt-blended with a thermoplastic matrix polymer capable of controllably releasing the active ingredient, wherein the active ingredient is heat stable at the melt temperature of the matrix polymer and is selected from active agents, active agent enhancers and mixtures thereof”. The claimed dimensions of the thin solid tablet are met by the teachings of Wick. It is unclear how the structure of the claimed tablet differs from the monolithic carriers of Wick as they comprise the claimed density and thickness. Therefore, it appears that the dosage forms of Wick et al. meet the limitation of a “thin solid tablet”. It further appears that Applicant is arguing the method of making the carrier of Wick versus the instant thin solid tablets. The claims are directed to a final product and not to a method of making. The prior art need not form the structure in the same way as Applicant. It is further noted that the claims do not require any particular method of making the product.
Applicant further agues, beginning on page 8, that the cited references do not provide any motivation to modify the aripiprazole formulation of Singh with the patch structure taught by Wick. Applicant argues that Wick teaches that its patch structure is only appropriate for use with active agents that can withstand exposure to high temperatures for melt-blending in the range of 170-200 °C. Applicant argues that the curcumin of Singh is susceptible to heat-induced degradation.
This is not found persuasive for the following reasons: a) it is not required that the complementary agent be curcumin or a curcuminoid; and b) even if a temperature sensitive ingredient was required by Singh, such as curcumin, one of ordinary skill in the art would still be able to process the active using the disclosure of Wick.
Regarding (a), while Singh teach the inclusion of a complementary agent, the complementary agent is not required to be curcumin or a curcuminoid. Singh teach that the complementary agent may have multiple properties like antioxidant, antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergic, cox-2 inhibitors, etc. (e.g. abstract; paragraphs 0023-0025). Singh further teach that the dosage forms may be processed by methods including extrusion and melting (e.g. paragraph 0163). Given the process requirements of Wick, it appears that it would be within the level of skill of an ordinary artisan to select a complementary agent for aripiprazole which would be able to withstand the required temperature.
Regarding (b), Wick teaches that “as with the active agents, the active agent enhancers can first be dispersed with a compatible heat-resistant liquid carrier to compatibilize the enhancer with the polymer or adhesive or to improve the heat resistance of the enhancer” (e.g. column 21, lines 18-30). The article cited by Applicant does not appear to recite a specific temperature and is directed to a suspension of curcumin in water, which is not the preparation used in Wick, which comprises the active agents and a thermoplastic matrix polymer, and further may include a heat-resistance liquid carrier to improve the heat resistance of the active. Applicant has not demonstrated that if curcumin was selected as the complementary agent and processed using the methods of Wick that it would not possess the required thermal stability.
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619