DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/29/2026.
Claims 10, 15-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHENG et al. Chinese Journal of New Drugs 2009 vol 18(5) (hereinafter “ZHENG”; original article and English translation provided), as evidenced by LIU et al. Food Chemistry 2009 vol 112 (hereinafter “LIU”).
Claim 10 is drawn to a method for treating an ADP-ribosyl cyclase-mediated disease, comprising administering an inhibitor against the activation of an ADP-ribosyl cyclase comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO 1 or a naturally occurring variant thereof as an active ingredient to a subject in need thereof, wherein the inhibitor is a compound selected from the group consisting of 2-(1,3-benzoxazol-2-ylamino)-1-methylquinazolin-4(1H)-one and dicaffeoylquinic acid.
Claim 15 is drawn to the method according to claim 10, wherein the ADP-ribosyl cyclase-mediated disease is a renal disease.
Claim 16 is drawn to the method according to claim 15, wherein the renal disease is renal failure, nephropathy, nephritis, renal fibrosis or nephrosclerosis.
ZHENG teaches that total saponins from Kuding tea (Ilex kudingcha C.J. Tseng) protects against kidney injury induced by hypercholesterolemia in apolipoprotein E knockout mice (e.g., see Title, Abstract, etc.). Zheng teaches that Kuding tea saponins reduced plasma cholesterol and alleviated renal interstitial hyperplasia caused by hypercholesterolemia and decreased the concentration of oxidative products in the blood and kidneys, providing a protective effect on lipid-induced kidney damage (e.g., see abstract). ZHENG explicitly teaches that renal fibrosis was significantly reduced (see page 432, top of right column). ZHENG teaches that Ilex kudingcha saponins have an effect similar to atorvastatin on lowering plasma total cholesterol, but is superior to atorvastatin in its anti-lipid peroxidation function, thus making Ilex kudincha saponins superior to atorvastatin at improving renal damage (see page 433, right column).
Although AHENG does not teach that Ilex kudingcha tea comprises dicaffeoylquinic acid, LIU provides evidence that Ilex kudingcha D.J. Tseng contains large amounts of caffeoylquinic acid, including dicaffeoylquinic acid (e.g., see abstract).
Therefore, ZHENG teaches a method of treating an ADP-ribosyl cyclase mediated disease comprising administering dicaffeoylquinic acid to a subject in need of treatment, wherein the ADP-ribosyl cyclase-mediated disease is a renal disease, including renal fibrosis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. Chinese Journal of New Drugs 2009 vol 18(5) (hereinafter “ZHENG”; original article and English translation provided), as evidenced by LIU et al. Food Chemistry 2009 vol 112 (hereinafter “LIU”) as applied in the rejection above, in view of MORADI et al. Semin. Dial. 2018 July vol 31(4) (hereinafter “MORADI”).
ZHENG teaches that saponins from Ilex kudincha (which comprises dicaffeoylquinic acid as evidenced by LIU) reduces renal fibrosis, and has an effect similar to atorvastatin on lowering plasma total cholesterol, but is superior to atorvastatin in its anti-lipid peroxidation function, thus making Ilex kudincha saponins superior to atorvastatin at improving renal damage, as indicated in the rejection above. LIU provides evidence that Ilex kundincha comprises saponins, including dicaffeoylquinic acid, as indicated in the rejection above.
ZHENG does not teach using saponins from Ilex kudincha to treat other renal diseases including chronic renal failure and nephropathy syndrome.
However, MORADI teach saponins from Ilex kudincha
“In contrast to patients being treated with hemodialysis, there is accumulating evidence that statin therapy in patients with non-dialysis dependent CKD [Chronic Kidney disease] and those with ESRD [End Stage Renal Disorder] treated with PD [peritoneal dialysis] may result in improved outcomes. The SHARP study as well as various meta-analyses have found that statin therapy in patients with mild to moderate CKD can be associated with reduced major cardiovascular events, cardiovascular death and all-cause mortality. Based on these findings, major dialysis guidelines have recommended lipid lowering therapy with statins in patients with predialysis CKD. In addition, as described earlier, patients with ESRD being treated with PD have been noted to have increased levels of serum cholesterol and cholesterol-rich lipoproteins (LDL-c) in a pattern of dyslipidemia similar to that observed in patients with nephrotic syndrome. There are observational studies which have found that the use of lipid-modifying medications including statins is associated with improved mortality in PD patients.” (See page 8, second full paragraph, references omitted, emphasis added).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the date the claimed invention was filed to treat chronic renal failure as well as nephrotic syndrome with saponins from Ilex kudincha which includes dicaffeoylquinic acid, with a reasonable expectation of success. The fact that MORADI teaches major dialysis guidelines have recommended lipid lowering therapy with statins in patients with predialysis CKD and that patients with ESRD being treated with PD have been noted to have increased levels of serum cholesterol and cholesterol-rich lipoproteins (LDL-c) in a pattern of dyslipidemia similar to that observed in patients with nephrotic syndrome provides explicit teaching to use statins to treat predialysis CKD and nephropathy and ZHENG’s teaching that Ilex kudincha saponins treatment is superior to atorvastatin treatment in improving renal damage provides the motivation to substitute saponins from Ilex kundincha for statin treatment. Furthermore, the positive results demonstrated/reported by ZHENG and MORADI also provide the basis for a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and in view of the amendment to the claims are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of the amended claims, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 as indicated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
J. E. Angell
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1637
/J. E. ANGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637 2026