DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6, 10, 14-15, 18, 20, and 23 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-6, 10-16, and 18-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and a majority of 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 1, 2025. However, an unaddressed 112(d) rejection is maintained and is as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 3, Examiner notes amendments were made without appropriate markings showing changes, i.e. “through hole” was “through-hole”; for the purpose of compact prosecution, Examiner understands claim amendments and will examine as is, however, the Examiner respectfully requests addressing such issues for all claims in future responses; see MPEP 714
In claims 1 and 15, lines 40 and 36, respectively, Examiner suggests amending “differ” to “different” for clarity
In claim 12, line 5, “the annular-groove- like deepening” should read “the annular-groove-like deepening”
In claim 15, line 5, “through- hole” should read “through-hole”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 10-16, and 18-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 40, the claim recitation of “the annular disc of claim 1” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear how the claim recitation in claim 1 of “the annular disc of claim 1” depends from claim 1. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be examined as best understood.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. With respect to claim 2, the Examiner respectfully notes the claim limitations of claim 2, lines 1-4, appears to recite similar claim limitations as set forth in claim 1, lines 31-34, in which claim 2 depends from. Further, with respect to claim 16, the Examiner respectfully notes the claim limitations of claim 16, lines 1-3, appears to recite similar claim limitations as set forth in claim 15, lines 27-30, in which claim 16 depends from. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, 14-16 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford (US5056208A), hereinafter "Stafford".
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Stafford teaches a method for producing a connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8, Abstract, Examiner notes a method for forming a captive panel fastener assembly as a method for producing a connection unit), wherein the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) comprises a connector (Fig 1, bolt 10), said connector (10) being with a connector shank (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a shank of bolt 10 as being with a connector shank) which comprises a connection structure (Fig 1, threaded portion 16) and with a connector head (Fig 1, head 12) which is arranged (see Fig 1) on the connector shank (see Fig 1) and projects radially beyond (see Figs 4-8) the connector shank (see Fig 1), and wherein the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) further comprises an annular disc (Fig 1, retaining ring 22) which comprises a plastically deformable annular disc body (see Figs 1-2, Col 3, lines 1-17, Examiner notes crimp the ring and deform it to an oval shape and the ring retains the deformed oval shape after installation as comprises a plastically deformable annular disc body) and a through-hole (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a through-hole of retaining ring 22 as a through-hole) which is framed (see Fig 1) by the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) and through which the connector shank (see Fig 1) passes (see Fig 2), wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) has an outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer surface of retaining ring 22 as has an outer peripheral surface) which defines an outer contour (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer shape and size of retaining ring 22 as defines an outer contour) of the disc body (see Fig 2) and an inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of retaining ring 22 as an inner peripheral surface) which peripherally delimits (see Fig 1) the through-hole (see Fig 1) and defines an inner contour (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner shape and size of retaining ring 22 as defines an inner contour) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2), wherein for a captive fixation (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) of the disc (22) which is seated (see Figs 4-8) on the connector shank (see Fig 1), the inner contour (see Fig 1) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) in a state (see Figs 4-8) of the disc (22) in which it is seated (see Figs 4-8) on the connector shank (see Fig 1) and starting from a preliminary inner contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a preliminary inner shape and size of retaining ring 22 as a preliminary inner contour) which permits (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, lines 40-63) a prior sticking (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, lines 40-63) of the disc (22) onto the connector shank (see Fig 1) is reshaped by way of plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes retaining ring 22 now substantially oval in shape and with the tangs 40 engaged in slots 20 and unable to clear abutments 60 as is reshaped by way of plastic reshaping) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) into a final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a final inner shape and size of retaining ring 22 as a final inner contour) which effects a captive fixed holding (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) of the disc (22) on the connector shank (see Fig 1) and which differs (see Figs 1-2) from the preliminary inner contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6),
- wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2), before (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8), is put onto (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the connector shank (see Fig 1),
- wherein the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a preliminary outer shape and size of retaining ring 22 as the preliminary outer contour) is defined by the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) and the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) comprises surface sections (see Fig 1, Examiner notes surfaces of the outer surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. outer surfaces of rounded tab portions 42 and outer surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding rounded tab portions 42 as comprises surface sections) of different radial distances (see Figs 1 and 4-6) to a centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) which successively alternate (see Fig 1) in a circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1),
- wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) which creates the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is carried out by way of radial deformation forces being introduced (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes the handles of the tool are then squeezed firmly to crimp (deform) the retaining ring 22 as is carried out by way of radial deformation forces being introduced) into the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which has the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6), of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) which is seated on (see Figs 4-8) the connector shank (see Fig 1),
- wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured such that the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) differs (see Figs 1-2) from a circular shape (see Fig 2, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes substantially oval in shape as differs from a circular shape) and simultaneously a final outer contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a final outer shape and size of retaining ring 22 as a final outer contour) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) which differs (see Figs 1-2) from the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6) and which is at least essentially circular (see Figs 1-2) is also shaped (see Figs 1-2),
- wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured such that the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which defines the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) comprises surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of tangs 40 and inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as comprises surface sections) of different radial distances (see Figs 2 and 7-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) which successively alternate (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1),
- wherein a position (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the surface sections (see Fig 2, Examiner notes the surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of tangs 40 and inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as the surface sections) with radial distances (see Figs 2 and 7-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) of the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) correspond (see Figs 4-8) to a position (see Figs 1 and 4-6) of the surface sections (see Fig 1, Examiner notes surfaces of the outer surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. outer surfaces of rounded tab portions 42 and outer surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding rounded tab portions 42 as the surface sections) of radial distances (see Figs 1 and 4-6) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) of the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6), and
- wherein in both (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) an initial state (see Figs 1 and 4-6) and a deformed state (see Figs 2 and 7-8), the inner contour (see Fig 1) and the outer contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc (22) of claim 1 are differ in shape (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8, Examiner notes an initial state and a deformed state of the inner contour and an initial state and a deformed state of the outer contour having different shapes and sizes as in both an initial state and a deformed state, the inner contour and the outer contour of the annular disc of claim 1 are differ in shape).
Stafford fails to teach wherein the annular disc body, before the plastic reshaping, is provided with a polygonal preliminary outer contour or with a trilobular preliminary outer contour or with an oval or elliptical preliminary outer contour.
However, Stafford in Col 4, line 64 - Col 5, line 6, teaches other variations of the assembly shown in the figures can be utilized and still be encompassed by the teachings of the present invention. For example, Stafford indicates retaining ring 22 could be crimped from an original oval shape ring into a substantially circularly or round shaped ring during installation.
Therefore, as evidenced by Stafford in Col 4, line 64 – Col 5, line 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adequately size and shape the annular disc body of Stafford, before the plastic reshaping, to be have a polygonal preliminary outer contour or with a trilobular preliminary outer contour or with an oval or elliptical preliminary outer contour as taught by Stafford in Col 4, line 64 – Col 5, line 6. Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the preliminary outer contour to be polygonal, trilobular, oval, or elliptical as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide a desired shape based on application and requirements, e.g. optimizing deforming/crimping effort, improving packaging of components within an assembly such as clearances, tolerances, interferences, etc.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured such that the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which defines the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) comprises surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of different radial distances (see Figs 2 and 7-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) which successively alternate (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured such that the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which defines the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) comprises concavely curved and convexly curved surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 and inner surfaces of tangs 40 as comprises concavely curved and convexly curved surface sections) which successively alternate (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured such that the final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8) is concavely curved throughout (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as is concavely curved throughout), wherein surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as surface sections) of the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) of different curvatures (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes each inner surface of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as different curvatures) alternate (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) before a plastic deformation (see Fig 1) is provided with a round preliminary inner contour (see Fig 1) and put onto (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the connector shank (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) before the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8), is provided with the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6) which is convexly curved all around (see Figs 1 and 4-6), wherein surface sections (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Examiner notes surfaces of the outer surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. outer surfaces of rounded tab portions 42 and outer surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding rounded tab portions 42 as surface sections) of the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which are of different curvatures (see Figs 1 and 4-6) alternate (see Figs 1 and 4-6) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2), before the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8), is provided with the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, line 64 - Col 5, line 6) and preliminary inner contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6) that it has ring segments (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ring segments of retaining ring 22, i.e. tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 and segments of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 as ring segments) with a radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of retaining ring 22 as a radial thickness) which differs (see Fig 1) from one another (see Fig 1) which alternate successively (see Fig 1) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), so that ring segments (see Fig 1) of a minimal radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of the segments of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40/rounded tab portions 40 as a minimal radial thickness) alternate (see Fig 1) with ring segments (see Fig 1) of a maximal radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of the tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 as a maximal radial thickness) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), wherein the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is carried out (see Figs 4-8) such that the disc body (see Figs 1-2) after the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) continues to have ring segments (see Fig 1) of a minimal radial thickness (see Fig 1) and ring segments (see Fig 1) of a maximal radial thickness (see Fig 1) which successively alternate (see Fig 1) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), wherein surface sections (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) of the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) and surface sections (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) of the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) formed on the ring segments (see Fig 1) of maximal radial thickness (see Fig 1) have a smaller distance (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) after the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) than before (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2), given the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8), is pressed radially (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes the handles of the tool are then squeezed firmly to crimp (deform) the retaining ring 22 as is pressed radially) onto the connector shank (see Fig 1) in a manner (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) such that it is fixed (see Figs 4-8) at the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) on the connector shank (see Fig 1) with a radial press fit (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes tangs 40 engaged in slots 20 and unable to clear abutments 60 as with a radial press fit).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) is produced as a screw unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8, Examiner notes bolt 10 with retaining ring 22 as is produced as a screw unit), wherein the connector (10) is configured as a screw (see Fig 1, Examiner notes bolt 10 as is configured as a screw) and the connector shank (see Fig 1) is provided with the connection structure (16) which is configured as an outer thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threaded portion 16 as is configured as an outer thread).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Stafford teaches a connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8, Abstract, Examiner notes a captive panel fastener assembly as a connection unit), with a connector (Fig 1, bolt 10) which comprises a connector shank (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a shank of bolt 10 as a connector shank) which is provided with a connection structure (Fig 1, threaded portion 16) and a connector head (Fig 1, head 12) which is arranged (see Fig 1) on the connector shank (see Fig 1), wherein the connector head (12) projects radially beyond (see Figs 4-8) the connector shank (see Fig 1), and with an annular disc (Fig 1, retaining ring 22) which comprises an annular disc body (see Figs 1-2, Examiner notes a body of retaining ring 22 as comprises an annular disc body) which consists of a plastically deformable material (see Figs 1-2, Col 3, lines 1-17, Examiner notes crimp the ring and deform it to an oval shape and the ring retains the deformed oval shape after installation as consists of a plastically deformable material) and which frames (see Fig 1) a through- hole (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a through-hole of retaining ring 22 as a through- hole) through which the connector shank (see Fig 1) passes (see Fig 2), said through-hole (see Fig 1) being peripherally delimited (see Fig 1) by an inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of retaining ring 22 as an inner peripheral surface) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) which defines an inner contour (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner shape and size of retaining ring 22 as defines an inner contour) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) **which is produced by the plastic material reshaping (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes retaining ring 22 now substantially oval in shape and with the tangs 40 engaged in slots 20 and unable to clear abutments 60 as is produced by the plastic material reshaping) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2)**, wherein this inner contour (see Fig 1) is configured such that the disc (22), by way of interaction (see Figs 4-8) with the connector shank (see Fig 1), is captively held (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) on the connector shank (see Fig 1), and wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 4-8) has an outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer surface of retaining ring 22 as has an outer peripheral surface) which defines an outer contour (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an outer shape and size of retaining ring 22 as defines an outer contour) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2), and
wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is **configured as a reshaping part (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23), wherein the inner contour (see Fig 1) is based on a radial plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2), said disc body (see Figs 1-2) being provided in a holed form (see Fig 1) and said radial plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) having been created by the introduction of radial deformation forces (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23, Examiner notes the handles of the tool are then squeezed firmly to crimp (deform) the retaining ring 22 as having been created by the introduction of radial deformation forces) into the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2)**, and
wherein the inner contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured in a non-circular manner (see Fig 2), and
wherein the inner contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is concavely curved (see Figs 1-2) throughout (see Figs 1-2) in a circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), wherein surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of tangs 40 and inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as comprises surface sections) of the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) of different curvatures (see Figs 1-2) alternate (see Figs 1-2) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), and
wherein the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) **before (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8)**, and is put onto (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the connector shank (see Fig 2), and
wherein **the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a preliminary outer shape and size of retaining ring 22 as the preliminary outer contour) is defined by an outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) and the outer peripheral surface (see Fig 1) comprises surface sections (see Fig 1, Examiner notes surfaces of the outer surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. outer surfaces of rounded tab portions 42 and outer surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding rounded tab portions 42 as comprises surface sections) of different radial distances (see Figs 1 and 4-6) to a centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) which successively alternate (see Fig 1) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), and
wherein a position (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the surface sections (see Fig 2, Examiner notes the surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of tangs 40 and inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as the surface sections) with radial distances (see Figs 2 and 7-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) of a final inner contour (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Col 4, lines 40-63, Examiner notes a final inner shape and size of retaining ring 22 as the final inner contour) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) correspond (see Figs 4-8) to a position (see Figs 1 and 4-6) of the surface sections (see Fig 1, Examiner notes surfaces of the outer surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. outer surfaces of rounded tab portions 42 and outer surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding rounded tab portions 42 as the surface sections) of radial distances (see Figs 1 and 4-6) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) of the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6)**, and
wherein in both (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8) an initial state (see Figs 1 and 4-6) and a deformed state (see Figs 2 and 7-8), the inner contour (see Fig 1) and the outer contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc (22) of claim 1 (see claim 1) are differ in shape (see Figs 1-2 and 4-8, Examiner notes an initial state and a deformed state of the inner contour and an initial state and a deformed state of the outer contour having different shapes and sizes as in both an initial state and a deformed state, the inner contour and the outer contour of the annular disc of claim 1 are differ in shape).
Stafford fails to teach wherein the outer contour of the annular disc body is configured at least essentially circularly, and wherein the annular disc body **before the plastic reshaping was provided with a preliminary outer contour with a polygonal preliminary outer contour or with a trilobular preliminary outer contour or with an oval or elliptical preliminary outer contour**.
However, Stafford in Col 4, line 64 - Col 5, line 6, teaches other variations of the assembly shown in the figures can be utilized and still be encompassed by the teachings of the present invention. For example, Stafford indicates retaining ring 22 could be crimped from an original oval shape ring into a substantially circularly or round shaped ring during installation.
Therefore, as evidenced by Stafford in Col 4, line 64 – Col 5, line 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adequately size and shape the annular disc body of Stafford to have wherein the outer contour of the annular disc body is configured at least essentially circularly, and wherein the annular disc body **before the plastic reshaping was provided with a preliminary outer contour with a polygonal preliminary outer contour or with a trilobular preliminary outer contour or with an oval or elliptical preliminary outer contour** as taught by Stafford in Col 4, line 64 – Col 5, line 6. Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer contour of the annular disc body to be configured at least essentially circularly and the preliminary outer contour to be polygonal, trilobular, oval, or elliptical as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide a desired shape based on application and requirements, e.g. optimizing deforming/crimping effort, improving packaging of components within an assembly such as clearances, tolerances, interferences, etc.
**Examiner notes that even though a product-by-process claim is limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 15 and further teaches wherein the surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of tangs 40 and inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 as comprises surface sections) of different radial distances (see Figs 2 and 7-8) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) alternate successively (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 15 and further teaches wherein the inner contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) is configured in an oval (see Fig 2, Col 5, lines 8-23, Stafford indicates oval in shape) or elliptical manner.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 15 and further teaches wherein the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) which defines the inner contour (see Fig 1) comprises concavely curved and convexly curved surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Examiner notes surfaces of the inner surface of retaining ring 22, i.e. inner surfaces of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40 and inner surfaces of tangs 40 as comprises concavely curved and convexly curved surface sections) which successively alternate (see Figs 2 and 7-8) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 15 and further teaches wherein the outer contour (see Fig 1) and the inner contour (see Fig 1) of the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) are shaped (see Figs 1-2) in a manner such that the annular disc body (see Figs 1-2) comprises ring segments (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ring segments of retaining ring 22, i.e. tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 and segments of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 as ring segments) with a radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of retaining ring 22 as a radial thickness) which differs (see Fig 1) from one another (see Fig 1) in a successively alternating manner (see Fig 1) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), so that ring segments (see Fig 1) of a minimal radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of the segments of retaining ring 22 excluding tangs 40/rounded tab portions 40 as a minimal radial thickness) alternate (see Fig 1) with ring segments (see Fig 1) of a maximal radial thickness (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a radial thickness of the tangs 40/rounded tab portions 42 as a maximal radial thickness) in the circumferential direction (see Fig 1) of the through-hole (see Fig 1), wherein surface sections (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which are formed (see Fig 1) on the ring segments (see Fig 1) of the maximal radial thickness (see Fig 1) have a lower radial distance (see Fig 1) to the centre (see Fig 1) of the disc (22) than the surface sections (see Fig 1) of the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) which are formed (see Fig 1) on ring segments (see Fig 1) of the minimal radial thickness (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 15 and further teaches wherein the connection unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8) is a screw unit (see Figs 1 and 4-8, Examiner notes bolt 10 with retaining ring 22 as is a screw unit) whose connector (10) is a screw (see Fig 1, Examiner notes bolt 10 as is configured as a screw), wherein the connector shank (see Fig 1) is a screw shank (see Fig 1, Examiner notes the shank of bolt 10 as is a screw shank) which comprises an outer thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threaded portion 16 as comprises an outer thread) as the connection structure (16).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 5 and further teaches wherein the preliminary inner contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6) is configured in an at least essentially circular manner (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the polygonal preliminary outer contour is convexly rounded all around.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the polygonal preliminary outer contour is convexly rounded all around as an obvious change in shape. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide an optimized shape based on application and requirements, e.g. improving manufacturability, handling, etc.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford, in view of Ballenger (US20090232618A1), hereinafter "Ballenger".
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein before mounting (see Fig 1, Col 5, lines 8-23) the disc (22), which is to be captively fixed (see Figs 4-8), the connector shank (see Fig 1) is provided with a groove-like deepening (Fig 1, slots 20) which is delimited (see Fig 1) by a front deepening flank (Fig 1, abutments 60) which faces (see Fig 1) the connector head (12), wherein before (see Figs 1 and 4-6) the plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2), the disc (22) is put onto (see Figs 4-8) the connector shank (see Fig 1) such that it comes to lie axially (see Figs 2 and 7-8) at a height (see Figs 2 and 7-8) of the groove- like deepening (20), wherein the subsequent plastic reshaping (see Figs 4-8) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) is effected in a manner (see Figs 4-8, Col 5, lines 8-23) such that the inner peripheral surface (see Fig 1) of the disc body (see Figs 1-2) immerses at least partially (see Figs 2 and 7-8, Col 5, lines 8-12, Examiner notes tangs 40 engaged in slots as immerses at least partially) into the groove-like deepening (20).
Stafford fails to teach annular-groove-like deepening.
However, Ballenger teaches it is known in the art to provide an annular-groove-like deepening (Fig 3, necked portion 30) which is delimited (see Fig 3) by a front deepening flank (Fig 3, lower shoulder 42) which faces (see Fig 3) the connector head (Fig 3, head 22).
Therefore, as evidenced by Ballenger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped annular-groove-like deepening as taught by Ballenger to modified Stafford. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to aid in providing flexibility in positioning of the retaining ring on the bolt, e.g. limiting movement of the retainer along the shank to within the necked portion (Ballenger, Paragraph 0005) and/or enabling the ring to travel freely along the slot length.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stafford, in view of Law (GB2375380A), hereinafter "Law".
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, modified Stafford teaches the method (see Figs 1 and 4-8) according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the disc body (see Figs 1-2) of the disc (22) with the preliminary inner contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6) and the preliminary outer contour (see Figs 1 and 4-6, Col 4, line 64 - Col 5, line 6) is produced as a punched part.
Law teaches produced as a punched part (Pg 2, lines 32-38)
Therefore, as evidenced by Law, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the disc body of the disc is produced as a punched part as taught by Law to modified Stafford. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide a common manufacturing process resulting in cost effective and efficient production.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to amended claims 1 and 15 on Pgs 9-11 of Applicant’s Remarks filed January 22, 2026, Applicant argues that Stafford fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the features "wherein in both an initial state and a deformed state, the inner contour and the outer contour of the annular disc of claim 1 are differ in shape" as recited in amended claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and as set forth above, Examiner notes an initial state and a deformed state of the inner contour and an initial state and a deformed state of the outer contour having different shapes and sizes as in both an initial state and a deformed state, the inner contour and the outer contour of the annular disc of claim 1 are differ in shape.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675