DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 32 and 41 are amended. Claims 38-40 and 43 are cancelled. Claim 44-47 are added. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 32, 34-36, 41-42 and 44-47 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 1/20/2026 with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 32, 34-36, 41-42, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14, 32, 35-36, 41-42 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US. Pub. No. 2020/0236677 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0404629 A1) and further in view of Pan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0189628 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cui discloses a detection method for downlink transmission (See Abstract), comprising:
obtaining first configuration information (See Par. [73], [85], [141] and Fig. 17; 1702 of Cui for a reference to the base station generates configuration information including determined channel detection manner. Configuration information includes one or more BW partitions (BWP) for DL transmission. Configuration information is received by the UE); wherein the first configuration information carries n identifiers, the n identifiers are configured to indicate n groups of detection parameters in a detection parameter set (See Par. [63], [73], [111], [116] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information generated by the base station, is obtained by the UE, which includes two identifiers. The first identifier is the carrier indicator that identifies the first group of parameters related to the component carrier based channel detection. The second identifier is that BWP field that identifies the second group of parameters related to the bandwidth part based channel detection), wherein n is a positive integer (See Par. [62]-[65] of Cui for a reference to identifying two groups of detection parameters in the configuration info [2 is a positive integer]), the detection parameter set comprises at least two groups of detection parameters, and the n groups of detection parameters is a subset of the at least two groups of detection parameters (See Par. [65], [67], [69]-[70] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information received includes component carrier based channel detection parameters and BWP based channel detection parameters. The UE determines the channel detection manner/parameter for DL transmission on unlicensed band using both parameters’ groups).
determining , according to the first configuration information, the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission from the detection parameter set; (See Par. [63], [73], [70], [111], [205] and Fig. 18 of Cui for a reference to the UE determines a channel detection manner [Parameter] associated with DL BWP for DL transmission in an unlicensed band according to the configuration information including the channel detection manner from the BS, and determines the carrier indicator field associated with performing the component carrier based channel detection in an unlicensed band); and
detecting the downlink transmission on an unlicensed frequency band according the n groups of detection parameters (See Par. [63], [87], [105], [160] and Fig. 18 of Cui for a reference to the UE is configured to perform channel detection on a DL BWP of the unlicensed band based on the determined channel detection manner [Parameter], and on the sub-carrier number and position parameter configured by the base station), wherein each of then groups of detection parameters further comprises a detection mode (See Par. Abstract, [63], [141] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information that includes the channel detection manner/parameter, includes channel detection mode), wherein n in the n groups of detection parameters is equal to or greater than 2 (See Par. [63] of Cui for a reference to identifying two groups of detection parameters in the configuration info [2 is a positive integer]), and detecting the downlink transmission on the unlicensed frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters comprises: detecting different downlink transmissions on different positions of the unlicensed frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission (See Par. [63], [69], [82], [122], [150] of Cui for a reference to multiple BWPs are configured in each component carrier of multiple CCs. Channel detection is performed in different BWPs receiving DL data in the unlicensed band).
Cui does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the n groups of detection parameters comprises a type of a to-be-detected signal or to-be-detected signaling, and the type of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling comprises a group commonality physical downlink control channel, and the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling.
However Wang discloses wherein each of the n groups of detection parameters comprises a type of a to-be-detected signal or to-be-detected signaling (See Par. [112], [144]-[145], [171] and Fig. 5 & 7 of Wang for a reference to a high layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) or master information block (MIB) information is received, by the UE, including detection parameters that is configure and transmitted by the base station. Parameters include detection timing and service [data] type of the detected signals), and the type of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling comprises a group commonality physical downlink control channel (See Par. [177], [183], [190] of Wang for a reference to the type of the detected signal is a common downlink control channel. In particular, the UE receives and detect the slot position or mini-slot position of the group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang to Cui. The motivation for combination would be to improve the efficiency of the spectrum, by increasing system flexibility and reducing power consumption on the UE side, by determining the detection period. (Wang; Par. [68])
The combination of Cui and Wang does not explicitly disclose the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling.
However, Pan discloses the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling (See Par. [54], [66], [97], [98] of Pan for a reference to configuring, by a base station, N basic transmission parameters set, configuring the to-be detected signal. The information about the blind detection mode includes information from which a set of E-CCE aggregation levels of each sub-frame in the predetermined period of time and information about corresponding numbers of times that blind detection is performed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Pan to the combination of Cui and Wang. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by lowering unnecessary overhead power consumption by performing blind detection in the normal sub-frame starting with a high aggregation level. (Pan; Par. [140])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses wherein the each of the n groups of detection parameters further comprises a detection frequency for the downlink transmission (See Par. [63], [88], [141], [169] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information includes BWP based channel detection parameters, including frequency domain positions of multiple BWPs (at least two groups of detection parameters) [For example, BWP1 & BWP2] allocated for receiving DL data in the unlicensed band), and the detection frequency is a frequency at which a terminal detects the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling on a channel of the unlicensed frequency band (See Par. [63], [69], [82], [122], [150] of Cui for a reference to multiple BWPs are configured in each component carrier of multiple CCs. Channel detection is performed in different BWPs receiving DL data in the unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses wherein the detection mode further comprises: time-frequency position information of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling when being transmitted (See Par. [63], [88], [141], [169] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information includes BWP based channel detection parameters, including time-frequency domain positions of multiple BWPs (at least two groups of detection parameters) [For example, BWP1 & BWP2] allocated for receiving DL data in the unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: obtaining the detection parameter set, wherein the detection parameter set is predefined (See Par. [65], [67], [69]-[70] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information received includes component carrier based channel detection parameters and BWP based channel detection parameters. The UE determines the channel detection manner/parameter for DL transmission on unlicensed band using both parameters’ groups); or receiving second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is configured to configure the detection parameter set (See Par. [87], [111], [125] of Cui for a reference to a second configuration included in a DCI is transmitted to the UE, including indications to configure the component carrier of DL transmission and the BWPs indicating frequency domain positions to receive DL data. Component carrier parameters set and BWP parameters set are configured to perform channel detection).
Regarding claim 8, Cui discloses a detection method for downlink transmission (See Abstract), comprising:
transmitting first configuration information (See Par. [65], [67], [69]-[70] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information received includes component carrier based channel detection parameters and BWP based channel detection parameters. The UE determines the channel detection manner/parameter for DL transmission on unlicensed band using both parameters’ groups), wherein the first configuration information carries n identifiers, the n identifiers are configured to indicate n groups of detection parameters in a detection parameter set (See Par. [63], [73], [111], [116] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information generated by the base station, is obtained by the UE, which includes two identifiers. The first identifier is the carrier indicator that identifies the first group of parameters related to the component carrier based channel detection. The second identifier is that BWP field that identifies the second group of parameters related to the bandwidth part based channel detection), wherein n is a positive integer (See Par. [63] of Cui for a reference to identifying two groups of detection parameters in the configuration info [2 is a positive integer]), the detection parameter set comprises at least two groups of detection parameters, and the n groups of detection parameters is a subset of the at least two groups of detection parameters (See Par. [65], [67], [69]-[70] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information received includes component carrier based channel detection parameters and BWP based channel detection parameters. The UE determines the channel detection manner/parameter for DL transmission on unlicensed band using both parameters’ groups), and
and the first configuration information is configured to determine, the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission from the detection parameter set (See Par. [63], [73], [70], [111], [205] and Fig. 18 of Cui for a reference to the UE determines a channel detection manner [Parameter] associated with DL BWP for DL transmission in an unlicensed band according to the configuration information including the channel detection manner from the BS, and determines the carrier indicator field associated with performing the component carrier based channel detection in an unlicensed band);
performing a clear channel assessment on a channel on an unlicensed frequency band (See Par. [70], [80], [87], [134]-[134] and Fig. 7 of Cui for a reference to the base station performs channel detection on the unlicensed bands based on parameters of BWP based channel detection); and transmitting the downlink transmission by occupying the channel on the unlicensed frequency band in response to the channel being in an idle state (See Par. [70], [80], [125], [129] and Fig. 7; S705 of Cui for a reference to that if the result of component carrier detection and/or the result of BWP detection indicates that the channel is idle, the BS performs DL transmission on the idle channel) wherein each of then groups of detection parameters further comprises a detection mode (See Par. Abstract, [63], [141] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information that includes the channel detection manner/parameter, includes channel detection mode), wherein n in the n groups of detection parameters is equal to or greater than 2 (See Par. [63] of Cui for a reference to identifying two groups of detection parameters in the configuration info [2 is a positive integer]), and detecting the downlink transmission on the frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters comprises: detecting different downlink transmissions on different positions of the unlicensed frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission (See Par. [63], [69], [82], [122], [150] of Cui for a reference to multiple BWPs are configured in each component carrier of multiple CCs. Channel detection is performed in different BWPs receiving DL data in the unlicensed band).
Cui does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the n groups of detection parameters comprises a type of a to-be-detected signal or to-be-detected signaling, and the type of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling comprises a group commonality physical downlink control channel, and the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling..
However Wang discloses wherein each of the n groups of detection parameters comprises a type of a to-be-detected signal or to-be-detected signaling (See Par. [112], [144]-[145], [171] and Fig. 5 & 7 of Wang for a reference to a high layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) or master information block (MIB) information is received, by the UE, including detection parameters that is configure and transmitted by the base station. Parameters include detection timing and service [data] type of the detected signals), and the type of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling comprises a group commonality physical downlink control channel (See Par. [177], [183], [190] of Wang for a reference to the type of the detected signal is a common downlink control channel. In particular, the UE receives and detect the slot position or mini-slot position of the group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang to Cui. The motivation for combination would be to improve the efficiency of the spectrum, by increasing system flexibility and reducing power consumption on the UE side, by determining the detection period. (Wang; Par. [68])
The combination of Cui and Wang does not explicitly disclose the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling.
However, Pan discloses the detection mode comprises a number of detections and an aggregation level corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling (See Par. [54], [66], [97], [98] of Pan for a reference to configuring, by a base station, N basic transmission parameters set, configuring the to-be detected signal. The information about the blind detection mode includes information from which a set of E-CCE aggregation levels of each sub-frame in the predetermined period of time and information about corresponding numbers of times that blind detection is performed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Pan to the combination of Cui and Wang. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by lowering unnecessary overhead power consumption by performing blind detection in the normal sub-frame starting with a high aggregation level. (Pan; Par. [140])
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including a detection device for downlink transmission (See Fig. 22; UE/Smart Phone 1600), comprising: at least one processor (See Fig. 22; Processor 1601); and a memory, having instructions stored thereon that, when being executed by the processor (See Fig. 22; Memory 1602).
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses wherein detecting the different downlink transmissions on the different positions of the unlicensed frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission comprises: detecting different downlink transmissions on different time domain positions of the unlicensed frequency band according to the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission (See Par. [63], [88], [141], [169] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information includes BWP based channel detection parameters, including time-frequency domain positions of multiple BWPs (at least two groups of detection parameters) [For example, BWP1 & BWP2] allocated for receiving DL data in the unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses wherein the detection parameter set further comprises an identifier correspond to a respective detection parameter (See Par. [63], [73], [111], [116] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information generated by the base station, is obtained by the UE, which includes two identifiers. The first identifier is the carrier indicator that identifies the first group of parameters related to the component carrier based channel detection. The second identifier is that BWP field that identifies the second group of parameters related to the bandwidth part based channel detection).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan, specifically Cui discloses wherein the detection parameter set further comprises at least two identifiers respectively corresponding to the at least two groups of detection parameters (See Par. [65], [67], [69]-[70] of Cui for a reference to the configuration information received includes component carrier based channel detection parameters and BWP based channel detection parameters. The UE determines the channel detection manner/parameter for DL transmission on unlicensed band using both parameters’ groups), and determining, according to the first configuration information, the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission from the detection parameter set comprises: determining, according to the n identifiers carried by the first information and the at least two identifiers comprised in the detection parameter set, the n groups of detection parameters for the downlink transmission from the detection parameter set (See Par. [63], [73], [70], [111], [205] and Fig. 18 of Cui for a reference to the UE determines a channel detection manner [Parameter] associated with DL BWP for DL transmission in an unlicensed band according to the configuration information including the channel detection manner from the BS, and determines the carrier indicator field associated with performing the component carrier based channel detection in an unlicensed band).
6. Claims 3, 10 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view of Wang et al. in view of Pan et al. and further in view of Gou et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0280331 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the type of the to-be- detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling further comprises at least one of following signals: a broadband demodulation reference signal; a synchronization signal block; a demodulation reference signal; and a channel-state information reference signal.
However, Gou discloses wherein the type of the to-be- detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling further comprises at least one of following signals: a broadband demodulation reference signal; a synchronization signal block; a demodulation reference signal; and a channel-state information reference signal (See Par. [166], [200], [214] of Gou for a reference to the configuration information received by the UE includes channel detection parameters, including channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and broadband demodulation reference signal (DMRS)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gou to the combination of Cui, wang and Pan. The motivation for combination would be to improve the efficiency of the spectrum, by using the same unlicensed band by multiple systems through efficiently detecting the availability of the unlicensed spectrum. (Gou; Par. [7])
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
7. Claims 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view of Wang et al. in view of Pan et al. and further in view of Yang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0251375 A1).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Cui, wang and Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection mode further comprises at least one of: beam information of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling when being transmitted; or a length of downlink control information corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling.
However, Yang discloses wherein the detection mode further comprises at least one of: beam information of the to-be-detected signal or the to-be-detected signaling when being transmitted; or a length of downlink control information corresponding to the to-be-detected signaling (See Par. [57], [130]-[134] of Yang for a reference to configuring, by a base station, N basic transmission parameters set, configuring the to-be detected signal. The configuration parameters includes blind-detected preamble sequence information [Sequence information of the to-be-detected preamble alternative is cited]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yang to the combination of Cui, Wang and Pan. The motivation for combination would be to improve the efficiency of the spectrum, by efficiently performing a wireless signal transmission/reception process and through applying carrier aggregation method of effectively securing an available resource duration. (Yang; Par. [3])
Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 44.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 44.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al. (US 2019/0043603 A1) discloses a circuit for counting bits. A bit counting circuit can be used in a memory device or other type of circuit.
Noh et al. (US 2018/0249339 A1) discloses a method, device, and system for performing transmission or reception of a signal in an unlicensed band.
Takamine (US 2017/0074833 A1) discloses a detection system, a signal processing device, a detection method, and a computer program product.
/R. F./
Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413