DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I drawn to a clearing composition and kit in the reply filed on Oct. 11, 2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed clearing composition is a special technical feature, as Constantini et al. does not teach all limitations of the clearing composition. This is not found persuasive because, as explained below, Miyawaki et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2017/0370810) teaches all the limitations of the clearing composition.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 recite "Triton X-100" and “Tween 20”. Additionally, claim 8 recites “Tween 80”. TritonTM is a registered trademark of The Dow Chemical Company. Tween® is a registered trademark of Croda International LLC.
The use of these two terms (TritonTM and Tween®) in the claims renders these claims indefinite, as trademarks are used to identify the source of goods, not a particular material or product. See MPEP 2173.05 (u).
For the purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted as reciting “polysorbate 20,” “polysorbate 80” and “octyl phenol ethoxylate”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the polyol, organic solvent" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 1 does not recite a polyol, organic solvent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyawaki et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2017/0370810), cited in IDS filed on Dec. 28, 2021.
The claims are directed to a clearing composition for rendering a biological material transparent. The composition includes a refractory index (RI) matching material; a permeating agent including a surfactant; a first and second labeling material and a solvent.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 20, Miyawaki et al. teach a clearing composition and a kit (paras. [0167]-[0168]) with the clearing composition that includes a transparency increasing component (“RI matching material”) such as fructose and/or sucrose (paras. [0100], [0203]); a permeating agent including a surfactant, such as octyl phenol ethoxylate (TritonTM X-100) and polysorbate (Tween®) (paras. [0088], [0131], [0178]); and a solvent, with water being preferred as it is easy and inexpensive. (paras. [0107]). Miyawaki et al. teach that their clearing compositions are considerably permeable to fluorescent substances during clearing treatment when ScaleA2 was used. (para. [0216], Fig. 11). ScaleA2 contains glycerol, urea, octyl phenol ethoxylate (TritonTM X-100) and has a pH of 7.7 (Fig. 8). Miyawaki et al. teach that in addition to being permeable to fluorescent substances (“first and second labeling material”), nuclear countering-staining with DAPI (“a labeling material”) was also performed. (para. [0216]).
With respect to claim 2, Miyawaki et al. teach the clearing composition has a preferred pH of 6.5-8.5 (“about 6.5-8.4”).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Miyawaki et al. teach the transparency increasing component (“RI matching material”) can include fructose and/or sucrose (“monosaccharides”) (paras. [0100], [0203]).
With respect to claims 5-9, Miyawaki et al. teach a surfactant, such as octyl phenol ethoxylate (TritonTM X-100) and polysorbate (Tween®), both of which are nonionic detergents (paras. [0088], [0131], [0178]). Additionally, octyl phenol ethoxylate (TritonTM X-100) and polysorbate (Tween®) both have a CMC value in the claimed range.
With respect to claim 10, Miyawaki et al. teach that water is the preferred solvent, as it is easy and inexpensive. (paras. [0107]). As the clearing composition is used in staining tissue, Miyawaki et al. inherently teaches dd water, as not using dd water might interfere with the tissue processing taught by Miyawaki et al.
With respect to claim 11, Miyawaki et al. teach various antibodies as first and second labeling material. (paras. [0189]-[0190]).
With respect to claim 12, Miyawaki et al. teach DAPI (“first labeling material”). (para. [0216]).
With respect to claim 14, Miyawaki et al. teach the transparency increasing component (“RI matching material”) is present at a preferred concentration of more than 20% and less than 40%. (para. [0101]).
With respect to claim 15, Miyawaki et al. teach the surfactant (“permeating agent”) is present at 0.05% - 0.2%. (para. [0091])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 16, 17, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Miyawaki et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2017/0370810, cited in IDS filed on Dec. 28, 2021) as applied to claims 1-12, 14, 15 and 20 above and further in view of Jensen & Berg (Scientific Reports, 2016)
Miyawaki et al. does not teach a second labeling dye that is a lipophilic tracer fluorescence dye, the claimed concentrations of the first and second labeling materials, a third labelling material or that the kit includes an anti-freeze or a humectant.
Jensen & Berg teach Dil, a fluorescent lipophilic dye, is used extensively for labeling neurons and that conventional histotological clearing techniques can remove these. (Abstract). Jensen & Berg further teach that Dil can be modified to allow it to adhere to protein, as well as lipids, to prevent removal by clearing compositions. (Abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the composition and kit taught by Miyawaki et al. to incorporate inclusion of Dil (a lipophilic tracer dye), a first labeling material at a concentration of 100 ng/ml – 1 mg/ml, a second labeling material at a concentration of 1 µg/ml to 1 mg/ml, to include a third labeling material and to have included anti-freeze in a kit including the clearing composition because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Incorporating these modifications would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because both Miyawaki and Jensen & Berg are directed to compatibility of clearing compositions with labeling materials and enhancing the ability to visualize neurons (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TERESA E KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634