DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS’s submitted on 12/28/2021 and 9/25/2023) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 “an end portion of the conducting wire” the feature is not numerated;
Claim 1 “an inlet of the wire hole” the feature is not numerated;
Claim 7 “a concave-convex structure” the feature is not discloses;
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the sealing piece" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Connolly (US 5558311); Claims 1-3, 11 (in the alternative) and claims 8-10 (as indefinitely understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly and further in view of Fuchs (US 5890928);
Claim(s) 4, 12 ,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly (or in view of Fuchs) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Just (US 6164266);
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly in view of Fuchs as applied to claims 1-3 above;
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly in view of Fuchs as applied to claims 1-3 and 6 above, and further in view of Just;
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly (or in view of Fuchs) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Wilson (US 2004/0262558.)
Connolly discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 4 below)
A solenoid valve (16 figure 9) coil (at 140), comprising: a solenoid valve coil body (at 100/1420; and a lead wire assembly (at 80 figure 3-5), which comprises a connector (at 106) and a conducting wire (at 40/64/108/110), wherein the connector comprises a wire hole (best seen at 1002), an end portion (at 1004) of the conducting wire extends into the wire hole and is electrically connected (via 108/110 and 148/150) of 142) with the solenoid valve coil body, and the conducting wire and an inlet of the wire hole are sealed (via the nylon resin material of the body 106, Col 4 ln 60-Co 5 ln 5.); If it could be persuasively argued at some future unforeseen date that Connolly does not explicitly disclose: a separate sealing box-like junction housing surface that is molded about the lead wire assembly; Fuchs teaches: a separate sealing box-like junction housing surface (16 figures 1-3) that is molded about the lead wire assembly (11, 12, 14, 17 with multi-conductor cable Col 2 ln 33-38, all for the purpose of reducing moisture and debris entrainment into the assembled electrical connection Col 1 ln 30-35);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Connolly as taught in Fuchs with a separate sealing box-like junction housing surface as taught in Fuchs that is molded about the lead wire assembly of Connolly as taught in Fuchs, all for the purpose of reducing moisture and debris entrainment into the assembled electrical connection.
Connolly discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 2: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a sealing surface (at 111) that is in seal fit with the solenoid valve coil body (when plugged into the socket), the sealing surface is provided with a mounting hole (at 1006 is a sealed hole where if the terminals are removed, the holes remain) communicating with the wire hole, and a conducting piece (108/110 and 148/150) is arranged in the mounting hole, such that the conducting wire is electrically connected with the solenoid valve coil body (when connected.)
Connolly discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 2, wherein the conducting piece comprises a first plug-in unit (108/110) and a second plug-in unit (148/150), which are plugged with each other, wherein the first plug-in unit (108/110) is electrically connected with the end portion of the conducting wire, and the second plug-in unit is electrically connected with a coil in the solenoid valve coil body (for the purpose of providing electromotive force to the solenoid armature in axial reciprocal fashion.)
Connolly discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 4, 12 and 13: wherein the connector is [in-situ] molded (Connolly/Fuchs Col 2 ln 33) on a circumferential outer side of the conducting wire, or, (the use of alternative language invoking an alternative grouping under MPEP 2131) the conducting wire and the inlet of the wire hole are sealed by glue filling. Connolly/Fuchs does not explicitly disclose: injection molding, but Just certainly teaches: using injection molding to create a fluid tight electrical connection to a solenoid valve, Col 4 ln 56-58; Col 6 ln 23-28.)
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to form the connector of Connolly/Fuchs as taught in Just by using injection molding as taught in Just above, for the purpose of creating a fluid tight electrical connection part to a solenoid valve as taught in Just, thus for example reducing the chance of fluid entrainment into the electrical parts and avoiding for example a short.
Connolly discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 5 and 14: wherein the connector comprises a junction box (Connolly 106 is a junction box) and a junction box housing (Connolly/Fuchs 16), wherein the junction box housing is provided with the wire hole (Connolly/Fuchs 27 figure 1) and an accommodating groove (inside of 16 at 13/24 that forms a grooved surface for the junction box and wires to be so encased…) communicating with the wire hole, the junction box is arranged in the accommodating groove (as seen Connolly/Fuchs, 11 is surrounded by 16 and is accommodated therein at 24), the mounting hole is arranged on the junction box (as shown at Connolly 1002), and an end face of the junction box housing (at 13/23 of Connolly/Fuchs) provided with the accommodating groove and an outer end face of the junction box (outer end face of 11 along with 18) form the sealing surface (as modified for the purposes as discussed above.)
Connolly discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 5, wherein the junction box housing is [in-situ] molded on a circumferential outer side of the conducting wire and the junction box, or, (MPEP 2131) the junction boxes is plugged into the junction box housing, and the conducting wire and the inlet of the wire hole on the junction box housing are sealed by glue filling. Connolly/Fuchs does not explicitly disclose: injection molding, but Just certainly teaches: using injection molding to create a fluid tight electrical connection to a solenoid valve, Col 4 ln 56-58; Col 6 ln 23-28.)
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to form the junction box housing of Connolly/Fuchs as taught in Just by using injection molding as taught in Just above, for the purpose of creating a fluid tight electrical connection part to a solenoid valve as taught in Just, thus for example reducing the chance of fluid entrainment into the electrical parts and avoiding for example a short.
Connolly discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 1, wherein the conducting wire comprises an electric wire, a portion of the connector is a transition portion, wherein an outer surface of the transition portion gradually shrinks inward in a direction from the solenoid valve coil body to the lead wire assembly, or, (MPEP 2131) an outer surface of the transition portion is provided with a concave-convex structure; Connolly does not disclose: a wire sleeve surrounding a circumferential outer side of the electric wire, portion of the connector connected with the wire sleeve is a transition portion; but Wilson discloses: a wire sleeve (at 30/69 figure 5) surrounding a circumferential outer side of the electric wire (90), a portion of the connector (that of 30) connected with the wire sleeve is a transition portion (i.e. transitions narrowly to the lower portion of the sleeve, for the purpose of providing a buttress for stiffness and reduction of material of the part);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Wilson for that of Connolly, a wire sleeve as taught in Wilson that surrounds the circumferential outer side of the electric wire as taught in Wilson with a portion of the connector of Connolly as taught in Wilson connected with the wire sleeve as a transition portion, which transitions narrowly to the lower portion of the sleeve, all for the purpose of providing a buttress for stiffness and reduction of material of the part.
Connolly discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 2, wherein a sealing member (Connolly/Fuchs 18 figure 3) is arranged between the sealing surface of the connector (23 of Connolly/Fuchs) and the solenoid valve coil body (when the contact is made), and the sealing piece is located on a circumferential outer side of the conducting piece (18 is radially outer of the conducting pieces, the radius providing a delimited circumference that is outside the connector.) If it could be persuasively argued at some future unforeseen date that Connolly/Fuchs do not disclose: a cylindrical/circumferential shaped connector; considering that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider providing a circumferential cylindrical shape to fit in a round hole for the purpose of assembly of parts, as a matter of design choice,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide a cylindrical connector with cylindrical sealing piece to fit into a round hole, for the purpose of providing an assembly of parts that meets socket design requirements and especially, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Connolly discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 9: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 8, wherein the sealing member is a sealing ring (18 as modified is a sealing ring), or, (MPEP 2131) the sealing member is a sealing sheet (18/23 is a elastomeric sheet), and the sealing sheet is provided with an avoidance hole (at 27) for avoiding the conducting piece (12/14.)
Connolly discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 10: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 8, wherein the sealing member comprises a body portion (at 23) and a waterproof rib (at 22), wherein the waterproof rib is arranged on an end face of the body portion facing the solenoid valve coil body (as shown), and/or, (MPEP 2131) the waterproof rib is arranged on an end face of the body portion facing the lead wire assembly.
Connolly discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 11: The solenoid valve coil as claimed in claim 1, wherein the solenoid valve coil body and the connector are connected by a fastener (112/114 per Col 5 ln 7-16 of Connolly where the connector can fasten/latch onto the solenoid valve body.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753