DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 22, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat 2,311,716 – Walker in view of PG Pub. US 2012/0234506 – Defenbaugh et al., hereinafter Defenbaugh.
Regarding claim 1.
Walker discloses a window treatment comprising:
a first ladder cord (10, fig 1) that extends along a second direction between the headrail and the weighting element on a first side of the plurality of slats (See fig 1);
a second ladder cord (as at 10, fig 1; see also fig 9) that extends along the second direction between the headrail and the weighting element on a second side of the plurality of slats (See fig 1);
a plurality of ladder rungs (11, fig 3) that extend between the first ladder cord and the second ladder cord such that the lower surface of each of the plurality of slats rests on a respective ladder rung of the plurality of ladder rungs (See fig 1); and
a clip (20, fig 4) that is installed in and extends through the hole (See fig 2) to attach a slat (1, fig 1) of the plurality of slats to a corresponding ladder rung of the plurality of ladder rungs on which the slat rests (See figs 1-3), the clip comprising:
a curved portion (below 11 in fig 2) that defines a channel that is aligned with the hole (see fig 3) when the clip is installed in the hole (See fig 2), the channel configured to receive the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 2) therethrough such that the corresponding ladder rung remains proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole (See fig 3) when the clip is installed in the hole;
two compliant members (21, fig 4) extending from the curved portion and through the hole (See fig 2),
wherein each of the two compliant members are curved such that the compliant members are proximate to each other within the hole (See figs 1 and 3); and
distal portions of the compliant members that abut the upper surface of the slat (See fig 2).
Although Walker discloses a window treatment having a plurality of slats, each of the plurality of slats comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, and a hole extending from the upper surface to the lower surface, Walker fails to further disclose the details of the window treatment. Walker does not disclose a headrail that is elongate along a first direction and is configured to be mounted to a structure;
a weighting element configured such that the window treatment hangs down in front of a window;
the plurality of slats between the headrail and the weighting element;
However, Defenbaugh teaches a headrail (18, fig 1) that is elongate along a first direction and is configured to be mounted to a structure (see fig 1);
a weighting element (19, fig 1) configured such that the window treatment hangs down in front of a window (see fig 1);
a plurality of slats (17, fig 1; see also fig 23) between the headrail and the weighting element, each of the plurality of slats comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, and a hole (47, fig 23) extending from the upper surface to the lower surface;
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window treatment of Walker with the structure of Defenbaugh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of using the clip of Walker in a venetian blind.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the clip (20, fig 4) is configured to removably attach (See fig 3) the slat to the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 3) such that the slat can be removed from the window treatment (See figs 3 and 4; ladder rung may be slid out and the slat removed.).
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Walker further discloses the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 3) remains intact and undamaged when the clip is removed (See figs 3 and 4; ladder rung may be slid out and the clip removed.).
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Walker further discloses a removed clip (See fig 4) is configured to be reattached to the slat or a replacement slat that is installed onto the corresponding ladder rung (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the curved portion (below 11 in fig 2) and the compliant members (21, fig 4) are configured to retain the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 3) within the clip when the compliant members of the clip are received within the hole (See figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the distal portions (Seen in fig 1) of the compliant members (21, fig 4) are configured to be pushed together (at the same time) to enable the clip to be removed from the lower surface of the slat (See figs 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 10.
Walker further discloses the distal portions (Seen in fig 1) of the compliant members (21, fig 4) are configured to be inserted into the hole of the slat from the lower surface of the slat (See figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the hole and the clip (20, fig 1) are hidden on the non-window side of the window treatment when the window treatment is in a closed position (by ladder tape 10, see fig 1).
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 2) is configured to remain between the curved portion (Below 11 in fig 2) and the two compliant members (21, fig 2).
Regarding claim 23.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the two compliant members (21, fig 4) are configured to prevent the corresponding ladder rung (11, fig 2) from extending into the hole (See fig2).
Regarding claim 27.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the two compliant members (21, fig 4) are spaced away from the slat within the hole (at least during installation; see figs 4 and 2).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Walker and Defenbaugh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pat. 2,576,160 – Walker, hereinafter Walker160.
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Walker and Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Walker further discloses the clip comprises metal.
Walker does not disclose the clip comprises a metal wire.
However, Walker160 teaches the clip (60, fig 6) comprises a metal wire (See fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Walker and Defenbaugh with the wire construction of Walker160. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing production cost of the clip.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection. It is noted that there are differences between the applicant’s invention and the prior art of record. Applicant is invited to request an interview to discuss.
Conclusion
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/Johnnie A. Shablack/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634