DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 01/09/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13, 22, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by PG Pub. US 2012/0234506 – Defenbaugh et al., hereinafter Defenbaugh in view of US Pat. 2,576,160 – Walker.
Regarding claim 1.
Defenbaugh discloses a window treatment (1, fig 1. Examiner notes that the embodiment of fig 23 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustrative purposes.) comprising:
a headrail (18, fig 1) that is elongate along a first direction and is configured to be mounted to a structure (see fig 1);
a weighting element (19, fig 1) configured such that the window treatment hangs down in front of a window (see fig 1);
a plurality of slats (17, fig 1; see also fig 23) between the headrail and the weighting element, each of the plurality of slats comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, and a hole (47, fig 23) extending from the upper surface to the lower surface;
a first ladder cord (28, fig 23) that extends along a second direction between the headrail and the weighting element on a first side of the plurality of slats;
a second ladder cord (30, fig 23) that extends along the second direction between the headrail and the weighting element on a second side of the plurality of slats;
a plurality of ladder rungs (26, fig 2; see also fig 23) that extend between the first ladder cord and the second ladder cord such that the lower surface of each of the plurality of slats rests on a respective ladder rung of the plurality of ladder rungs (See fig 2); and
a clip (49, fig 23) that is configured to extend through the hole to attach a slat of the plurality of slats to a corresponding ladder rung of the plurality of ladder rungs on which the slat rests, the clip comprising:
a curved portion (the “valley” between the two “ears” shown with the ladder rung resting therein, fig 23) that defines a channel (the “valley” between the two “ears” shown with the ladder rung resting therein, fig 23) that is aligned with the hole (47, fig 23) when the clip extends through the hole (See fig 23), the channel configured to receive the corresponding ladder rung therethrough (See fig 23) such that the corresponding ladder rung (26, fig 3) remains proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole when the clip extends through the hole (Examiner notes that the ladder rung may remain “proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole when the clip extends through the hole” as the clip is in the process of being inserted into the hole, and that this interpretation may be overcome by reciting that the ladder rung extends substantially linearly proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole when the clip is installed in the hole, or similar.); and
two compliant members (the “ears” on either side of the ladder rung in fig 23) extending from the curved portion.
Defenbaugh does not explicitly disclose the clip comprising a curved portion that is configured to receive the corresponding ladder rung therethrough and remain proximate to the lower surface of the slat when the clip extends through the hole;
two compliant members extending from the curved portion and through the hole, wherein each of the two compliant members are curved such that the compliant members are proximate to each other within the hole; and
distal portions of the compliant members that abut the upper surface of the slat.
However, Walker teaches a clip (60, fig 6) that is configured to extend through the hole (51, fig 5) to attach a slat (50, fig 6) of the plurality of slats (See fig 5) to a corresponding ladder rung (9a, fig 6) of the plurality of ladder rungs (See fig 5) on which the slat rests, the clip comprising:
a curved portion (Between 60a and 60b, fig 6) that is configured to receive the corresponding ladder rung therethrough (See fig 6) and remain proximate to the lower surface of the slat (See fig 5) when the clip extends through the hole (See fig 5);
two compliant members (60a and 60b) extending from the curved portion and through the hole (See fig 5), wherein each of the two compliant members are curved such that the compliant members are proximate to each other within the hole (the compliant members 60a and 60b are closest to each other at the place they extend through the hole when they are extending through the hole. See figs 5 and 6.); and
distal portions of the compliant members abut the upper surface of the slat (See fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window treatment of Defenbaugh with the clip of Walker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of securely connecting the elements together.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the clip (60, fig 6) is configured to removably attach the slat to the corresponding ladder rung such that the slat can be removed from the window treatment (Column 1, line 52-Column 2, line 8; An important feature of this invention is the providing of a spring clip which can be readily used to convert conventional Venetian blinds having ordinary route holes for the passage of the lift cords through the slats to the removable type of slat construction wherein the lift cord can be changed and run over the edge of the tilt rail 6 with or without a notch in a manner shown in my United States Patent No. 2,200,349 and then down between the ladder rungs at the opposite sides of the ladder tapes to be secured to the bottom rail.).
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 2.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the corresponding ladder rung (9a, fig 6) remains intact and undamaged when the clip coupling is removed (Column 1, line 52-Column 2, line 8; An important feature of this invention is the providing of a spring clip which can be readily used to convert conventional Venetian blinds having ordinary route holes for the passage of the lift cords through the slats to the removable type of slat construction wherein the lift cord can be changed and run over the edge of the tilt rail 6 with or without a notch in a manner shown in my United States Patent No. 2,200,349 and then down between the ladder rungs at the opposite sides of the ladder tapes to be secured to the bottom rail.) (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 2.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches a removed clip coupling (60, fig 6) is configured to be reattached to the slat or a replacement slat that is installed onto the corresponding ladder rung (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the curved portion (the portion of the clip between 60a and 60b, fig 6) and the compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 6) are configured to retain the corresponding ladder rung (9a, fig 6) within the clip (60, fig 6) when the compliant members of the clip are received within the hole (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the distal portions (the portion of 60a and 60b that protrude above the slat when engaged as in fig 5) of the compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 5) are configured to be pushed together to enable the clip to be removed from the lower surface of the slat (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 10.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the distal portions (the portion of 60a and 60b that protrude above the slat when engaged as in fig 5) of the compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 5) are configured to be inserted into the hole of the slat from the lower surface of the slat (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Modified Defenbaugh does not disclose the hole and the clip coupling are hidden on the non-window side of the window treatment when the window treatment is in a closed position.
However, Walker teaches the hole and the clip coupling are hidden on the non-window side of the window treatment when the window treatment is in a closed position (Walker teaches ladder tapes (9, fig 6) wide enough to hide the hole 15a and clip 25 from view when the window treatment is in a closed position).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Defenbaugh and Walker with the wider ladder tapes of Walker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a cleaner aesthetic appearance.
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the clip (60, fig 6) comprises a metal wire (column 5, lines 3-5; The spring clips as shown in all of the views are very easy to manufacture, may be made of wire or other suitable material).
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the corresponding ladder rung (9a, fig 6) is configured to remain between the curved portion (the portion between 60a and 60b, fig 6) and the two compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 6).
Regarding claim 23.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 21.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the two compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 6) are configured to prevent the corresponding ladder rung (9a, fig 6) from extending into the hole (51, fig 6).
Regarding claim 27.
The combination of Defenbaugh and Walker teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Walker, further teaches the two compliant members (60a and 60b, fig 5) are spaced away from the slat within the hole (during installation. See column 4, lines 58-65; This clip is exceedingly cheap to manufacture, gives a very positive hold 80of the slat for positive lateral stability relative to 6the ladder tape and can be most easily attached to the ladder rungs which being of a flexible nature can be compressed together or one end hooked and one or both sides deflected for hooked engagement to the other side).
Claim(s) 14-16, 18-19, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Defenbaugh in view of US Pat. 3,189,081 – Lorentzen et al., hereinafter Lorentzen.
Regarding Claim 14.
Defenbaugh discloses a window treatment (1, fig 1. Examiner notes that unless otherwise noted, the embodiment of fig 22 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referenced for illustration purposes.) comprising:
a headrail (18, fig 1) that is elongate along a first direction and is configured to be mounted (See fig 1) to a structure (13, fig 1);
a weighting element (19, fig 1) configured such that the window treatment hangs down in front of a window (See fig 1);
a plurality of slats (17, fig 1) between the headrail and the weighting element, each of the plurality of slats comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear surface, and holes in the rear surface on opposed sides of the ladder rung (See fig 22. The slat 17, fig 22 must have holes to receive the legs of the staples 52, fig 22.);
a first ladder cord (28, fig 22) that extends along a second direction between the headrail and the weighting element (See also 20, fig 1) on a first side of the plurality of slats (compare figs 1 and 22);
a second ladder cord (30, fig 22) that extends along the second direction between the headrail and the weighting element (See also 20, fig 1) on a second side of the plurality of slats (compare figs 1 and 22);
a plurality of ladder rungs (26, fig 22. See also fig 1) that extend between the first ladder cord and the second ladder cord such that the lower surface of each of the plurality of slats (17, fig 22) rests on a respective ladder rung of the plurality of ladder rungs (See fig 22); and
a coupling (52, fig 22) that is configured to secure a corresponding ladder rung (26, fig 22) of the plurality of ladder rungs on which the slat rests adjacent to the second ladder cord (30, fig 22) to a rear surface of the slat (See fig 22), the coupling comprising an arm that bridges the ladder rung (as in 52, fig 15) and legs that extend from opposed sides of the arm, each of the legs configured to be received within a respective one of the holes (See fig 22).
The applied embodiment of Defenbaugh does not disclose a notch cut in the respective slat and open at the rear surface of the respective slat,
such that the ladder rung is received within the notch.
However, Lorentzen teaches a notch (38, fig 9) cut in the respective slat (16, fig 9) and open at the rear surface of the respective slat (see fig 9),
such that the ladder rung (3, fig 9) is received within the notch (See fig 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window treatment of Defenbaugh by notching the edge of the slat as taught by Lorentzen, thereby allowing the coupling to secure the ladder rung within the notch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the ladder cords to sit inside the envelope of the slats.
Regarding Claim 15.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified Defenbaugh further teaches the coupling (52, fig 22 of Defenbaugh) is configured to removably attach the slat to the ladder rung (Paragraph [0036]; a pair of staples 52 that engage each end of the rung 26 and slat 17 (FIG. 22)) (Examiner notes that staples can be removed).
Regarding Claim 16.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified Defenbaugh further teaches the arm (horizontally extending component of staple 52, fig 22; see also 52, fig 15) bridges the notch to secure the corresponding ladder rung within the notch (Paragraph [0036]; a pair of staples 52 that engage each end of the rung 26 and slat 17 (FIG. 22).
Regarding Claim 18.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified Defenbaugh further teaches the coupling comprises a bent metal wire (Paragraph [0036]; a pair of staples 52 that engage each end of the rung 26 and slat 17 (FIG. 22) (See also 52, fig 15).
Regarding Claim 19.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified of Defenbaugh does not explicitly disclose the arm is attached to the slat with adhesive.
However, another embodiment of Defenbaugh teaches the use of adhesive (42, fig 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the arm to the slat with the adhesive taught by the alternate embodiment of Defenbaugh One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a secure connection.
Regarding claim 24.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Defenbaugh further discloses the coupling (52, fig 22) is located between the first ladder cord (28, fig 22) or the second ladder cord (30, fig 22) and the slat (17, fig 22) of the plurality of slats when the arm bridges the notch and the legs are received within the holes (See fig 22).
Regarding claim 25.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified Defenbaugh further teaches the corresponding ladder rung (26, fig 22) remains intact and undamaged when the coupling (52, fig 22) is removed (as the legs of the coupling straddle the ladder rung, removing the coupling by pulling straight out will avoid damaging the ladder rung.).
Regarding claim 26.
Modified Defenbaugh teaches all limitations of claim 14.
Modified Defenbaugh further teaches a removed coupling (52, fig 22) is configured to be reattached to the slat (17, fig 22) or a replacement slat that is installed onto the corresponding ladder rung (26, fig 22) (if care is taken when removing the coupling, it is configured to be able to be reinserted.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the ladder rung may remain “proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole when the clip extends through the hole” as the clip is in the process of being inserted into the hole, and that this interpretation may be overcome by reciting that the ladder rung extends substantially linearly proximate to the lower surface of the slat directly below the hole when the clip is installed in the hole, or similar.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634