DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Formal Matters
Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments in the reply filed on 09 July 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered due to the entered request for continued examination. Claims 1, 3-20 and 24-25 are pending. Claims 1 and 24-25 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 3-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Claims 2 and 21-23 are canceled.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous office actions are hereby withdrawn as are those rejections and/or objections expressly stated to be withdrawn.
Moot Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 24-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 24-25 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser (U.S. Patent No. 3,859,331) in view of Choubey (Development and evaluation of PEGylated Enoxaparin: A novel approach for enhanced anti-Xa activity,” Bioorganic Chemistry 54 (2014), 1–6).
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a compound of formula I:
Elected Species: Applicant elected the compound of Formula I where:
The instant claim is examined to the extent it reads on the elected species wherein R1 is polyethylene glycol, specifically PEG2000; R2 is hydrogen; and R3 and R4 are each –C(=O)CH2CH3 (propionyl).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Kaiser teaches it has been found that compounds of the formula
Kaiser teaches O,O′-diesters of L-DOPA and L-DOPA esters useful, inter alia, as anti-Parkinson agents (see abstract). Kaiser et al. expressly state that its contemplated alkanoyl groups include acetyl, propionyl, butyryl, valeryl, hexanoyl, heptanoyl, and isobutyryl (see column 2, lines 6-26). Kaiser further teaches that the disclosed DOPA derivatives possess anti-Parkinson properties and may be formulated and administered as medicaments. More particularly, Example 10 teaches preparation of an O,O′-dipropionyl-L-DOPA derivative. Kaiser reacts N-carbobenzoxy-L-DOPA methyl ester with propionyl chloride to produce N-carbobenzoxy-O,O′-dipropionyl-L-DOPA methyl ester. Kaiser subsequently removes the N-protecting group. Example 29 expressly identifies O,O′-dipropionyl-L-DOPA methyl ester hydrochloride among the resulting products. Moreover, Kaiser expressly claims the species. Claim 14 recites: “The compound of claim 12 wherein said compound is O,O′-dipropionyl-L-dopa methyl ester.” Accordingly, Kaiser teaches the presently elected L-DOPA stereochemical core wherein the amino substituent corresponding to R2 is hydrogen and both catechol oxygen substituents corresponding to R3 and R4 are propionyl groups, i.e., –C(=O)CH2CH3.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Kaiser therefore teaches a compound corresponding structurally to the elected species except that the carboxyl group of the L-DOPA moiety is present as a methyl ester, rather than being esterified with the claimed PEG2000 polymeric moiety. Kaiser does not specifically teach esterification of the DOPA carboxyl group with PEG2000. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Choubey.
Choubey teaches the preparation of a pharmaceutical polymer conjugate by esterifying the carboxyl groups of a drug with the hydroxyl group of mPEG2000. Specifically, Choubey reports preparation of PEGylated enoxaparin using poly(ethylene glycol) methyl ether having a molecular weight of 2000 (mPEG2000). Choubey on p. 2, “Results and discussion,” states that P-ENX was synthesized by: esterification of the carboxyl groups of the ENX moiety with the hydroxyl group of mPEG using EDAC as a carbodiimide coupling agent and DMAP as a catalyst. Choubey further reports that the free-acid form of enoxaparin was conjugated with mPEG2000 by formation of an ester linkage using EDAC and catalytic DMAP. The FTIR analysis showed the carbonyl stretching peak shifting from 1622 cm⁻¹ to 1633 cm⁻¹, which Choubey identifies as indicating formation of the ester bond. Choubey teaches under Materials used (p. 5) specifically identifies poly(ethylene glycol) methyl ether (mPEG 2000) among the materials employed. Choubey under “PEGylation of ENX,” on p. 5, provide the actual reaction conditions. A solution containing mPEG2000 and EDAC in DMF was treated with DMAP followed by enoxaparin, and the mixture was refluxed for 12 hours. Most significantly, Figure 8, p. 5, depicts the reaction of enoxaparin free acid with mPEG2000/EDAC and DMAP to form the enoxaparin-PEG conjugate. Thus, Choubey expressly demonstrates that the terminal hydroxyl functionality of mPEG2000 can be used to esterify a pharmaceutical carboxylic-acid functionality to produce a: Drug–C(=O)–O–PEG2000 conjugate.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the O,O′-dipropionyl-L-DOPA compound taught by Kaiser by replacing the alcohol-derived methyl moiety of Kaiser’s L-DOPA carboxyl ester with an mPEG2000-derived polymeric ester moiety, as taught by Choubey. Kaiser expressly teaches that the carboxyl functionality of its DOPA derivatives is amenable to esterification and teaches preparation of corresponding esters using alcohols. Choubey, in turn, expressly teaches that a pharmaceutical carboxylic-acid functionality may be esterified with the hydroxyl functionality of mPEG2000, thereby providing the corresponding PEG2000 ester conjugate. One of ordinary skill therefore would have recognized Choubey’s hydroxyl-terminated mPEG2000 as a known polymeric alcohol suitable for use as an ester-forming moiety at the carboxyl functionality that Kaiser already teaches may be esterified. The skilled artisan also would have had an express pharmaceutical reason for making the modification. Choubey teaches in the introduction that PEGylation was known to provide therapeutic agents with extended circulating half-life, increased stability, and improved in-vivo bioactivity. Choubey specifically undertook PEGylation to extend the duration of drug action and thereby reduce administration frequency. The results reported by Choubey confirm the recognized benefit. As shown in Table 3 and Figures 6–7, PEGylated enoxaparin exhibited a half-life of approximately 7.00 h compared with 2.61 h for unmodified enoxaparin and an AUC of approximately 147.65 compared with 35.64 μg·mL⁻¹·h, respectively. Choubey characterizes these results as approximately a three-fold increase in half-life and approximately a four-fold increase in AUC. Choubey concludes on p. 6 that PEGylation with mPEG2000 through an ester linkage may be adopted to enhance drug half-life and develop a long-acting formulation having the potential for decreased dosing frequency. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill seeking to modify Kaiser’s anti-Parkinson L-DOPA ester to obtain a polymer-conjugated pharmaceutical derivative having prolonged systemic exposure would have been motivated to employ the mPEG2000 ester-forming approach expressly taught by Choubey. One of ordinary skill in the art would also have had a reasonable expectation of successfully making the proposed compound. Kaiser establishes that the L-DOPA carboxyl functionality can be esterified with an alcohol to form corresponding DOPA esters. Choubey independently demonstrates successful esterification of pharmaceutical carboxyl groups with the terminal hydroxyl group of mPEG2000 using conventional EDAC/DMAP carbodiimide coupling chemistry. Choubey does not merely propose such PEGylation; it actually performs the reaction, isolates the conjugate, and characterizes the product by FTIR, 1H NMR, and MALDI. Figure 8 expressly depicts the resulting carboxylate-PEG ester connectivity. Choubey further reports that MALDI analysis of mPEG2000 provided Mn and Mw values of approximately 1984.9 and 2021.9, respectively, confirming use of the PEG2000 polymer. Thus, although Kaiser and Choubey concern different pharmaceutical active agents, Choubey is relied upon for the established chemical teaching that the hydroxyl group of mPEG2000 is capable of esterification with a pharmaceutical carboxyl group using conventional coupling chemistry. Kaiser independently establishes that the corresponding L-DOPA carboxyl group is itself amenable to esterification. The combined teachings therefore would have provided a reasonable expectation of success that mPEG2000 could be coupled through its hydroxyl functionality to the L-DOPA carboxyl group to provide the claimed polymeric ester. The resulting compound would correspond to the elected species wherein R1 is PEG2000, R2 is hydrogen, and R3 and R4 are each –C(=O)CH2CH3.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619