DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11 of Remarks, filed 01-14-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12, 19-22, 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38, 40-41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of JPH0878009A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12, 19-22, 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JPH0878009A hereinafter Inamasu.
Regarding Claim 1, Inamasu teaches a positive electrode (cathode) comprising: a positive electrode active material that is made of a composite oxide having layer structure represented by a formula of LiaNibM1cM2dO2 (wherein M1 is Mn, and M2 is at least one selected from B, Si, P, Ga, Ge, Sb, Tl, Pb, and Bi) (see Abstract, paragraphs 31-32). Inamasu further teaches that M2 can be Si (paragraph 31, see Examples 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such positive electrode active material composition before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Inamasu discloses that such configuration can form a lithium secondary battery having improved capacity and stability in cycles (paragraphs 31-32).
Regarding Claims 7-8, Inamasu teaches that the positive electrode active material is a composite oxide having layer structure represented by a formula of LiaNibM1cM2dO2 (wherein M1 is Mn, and M2 is Si) (paragraph 31, see Examples 1-3).
Regarding Claim 12, Inamasu teaches that the positive electrode active material as shown above is a cobalt-free positive electrode (cathode).
Regarding Claims 19-22, Inamasu teaches a method for preparing the positive electrode, and evidence by (US 2018/0316009 hereinafter Park) the method comprising: preparing a slurry containing a solvent, the active material, a conductive additive, and a binder; forming the slurry on a substrate; and drying the positive electrode (cathode) (paragraphs 18-21 of Inamasu). Park further teaches that the solvent is N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone or water; the conductive additive is carbon black; and the binder is polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (paragraph 131).
Regarding Claims 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38 and 40-41, Inamasu teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode (cathode) as described above, a negative electrode (anode), and an electrolyte (paragraph 21) and the battery having the claimed characteristics and functions (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752