DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11 of Remarks, filed 01-14-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12, 19-22, 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38, 40-41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2012/0052375.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12, 19-22, 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0052375 hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson teaches a positive electrode (cathode) comprising: a positive electrode active material that is made of a lithium containing material having spinel-type structure represented by a formula of NayLixNizMn(1-z-z')Mz'Od, (wherein z’ can be 0 and such M is not present) (paragraph 24). Johnson further teaches that the lithium containing material is represented by Na1.0Li0.2Ni0.25Mn0.75Od (paragraph 36, see Examples 1-10).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such positive electrode active material with z’ being 0 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Johnson discloses that such configuration can form a lithium secondary battery having improved capacity and stability in cycles (paragraphs 25-26).
Regarding Claims 7-8, Johnson teaches that the lithium containing material is represented by Na1.0Li0.2Ni0.25Mn0.75Od and has spinel-type structure (paragraphs 24, 36, see Examples 1-10).
Regarding Claim 12, Johnson teaches that the positive electrode active material as shown above is a cobalt-free positive electrode (cathode).
Regarding Claims 19-22, Johnson teaches a method for preparing the positive electrode, and evidence by (US 2018/0316009 hereinafter Park) the method comprising: preparing a slurry containing a solvent, the active material, a conductive additive, and a binder; forming the slurry on a substrate; and drying the positive electrode (cathode) (paragraphs 18-21 of Inamasu). Park further teaches that the solvent is N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone or water; the conductive additive is carbon black; and the binder is polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (paragraph 131).
Regarding Claims 30-31, 33, 35-36, 38 and 40-41, Johnson teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode (cathode) as described above, a negative electrode (anode), and an electrolyte (paragraph 47) and the battery having the claimed characteristics and functions (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752