DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-12, 14, and 17-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz et al. (US 2019/0125990 A1), hereafter Holtz, in view of Jewett (US 5544647), hereafter Jewett, in view of Alizoti et al. (US 2017/0333645 A1), hereafter Alizoti, in view of Krasnow (US 20200147327 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Holtz discloses an attachment for use with an inhaler (Fig. 1D, 1E, label 200 is attached to inhaler 100; par. 0063 ln 1-4) having a metal spray canister storing a pressurized drug (Fig. A, annotated below; a metered dose inhaler would have been well understood in the art as comprising a metal canister and storing a drug in the canister in a pressurized way) and an electrically non-conductive actuator that ensures the drug is received from the metal spray canister in an aerosol form (Fig. A, annotated below; a metered dose inhaler would have been widely understood as being manually activated to deliver a drug in an aerosol form), the attachment comprising: a self-capacitance sensor [attachment has at least one capacitive sensor, par. 0064 ln 14-17; Applicant’s specification (clean version, page labeled 27, ln 14) defines “self-capacitance” is a capacitance sensor that is used alone] located on the electrically non-conductive actuator (Fig. 1E, attachment 200 mounted on inhaler actuator 100), the self-capacitance sensor being configured measure a capacitance and detect a user contact with the metal spray canister based on the measured capacitance (the capacitive sensor detects changes in capacitance when the user grasps or activates the inhaler, par. 0064 ln 18-24; examiner notes: activating the inhaler would involve contacting the metal spray canister. The capacitive sensor would be capable of detecting the metal spray canister as it is capable of detecting anything that is conductive or has a dielectric constant different from that of air, par. 0064 ln 18-21).
Fig. A, adapted from Fig. 1D of Holtz
Holtz does not disclose wherein the measured capacitance changes when the user contact includes changing a distance between the metal spray canister and the self-capacitance sensor.
Jewett teaches an inhaler (Fig. 1; abstract ln 1) wherein the measured capacitance changes when the user contact includes changing a distance between the metal spray canister and the self-capacitance sensor (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16”; Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31) for the purpose of counting the number of inhaler actuations (col. 3 ln 11-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to additionally detect the capacitance change of the metal spray canister caused by a change in distance between the metal spray canister and a self-capacitance sensor as taught by Jewett for the purpose of counting the number of inhaler actuations (See Jewett: col. 3 ln 11-14).
The modified Holtz does not explicitly disclose wherein the self-capacitance sensor turns off if there is no increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Alizoti teaches a medication delivery system (abstract) wherein the circuitry turns off if the device is idle for a time period (par. 0279) for the purpose of minimizing battery drain (par. 0279).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Holtz to turn off if there is no contact as taught by Alizoti for the purpose of minimizing battery drain (Alizoti par. 0279).
The modified Holtz discloses that if the capacitance sensor detects contact, a sampling rate of the sensor increases until the actuation event concludes (Holtz par. 0097).
The modified Holtz does not explicitly disclose the self-capacitance sensor continues measuring the capacitance without turning off if there is an increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Krasnow teaches an inhaler device (abstract) wherein the sensor can either continuously or periodically monitor contact event data to detect when the contact event has ended (par. 0068).
The only difference in the prior art and the claimed device is the substitution of how the contact event is monitored. The substituted components and their functions are well known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted Holtz’s periodic measurement with the continuous monitoring taught by Krasnow and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Holtz such that the self-capacitance sensor continues measuring the capacitance without turning off if there is an increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister as taught by Krasnow as the courts have held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 2, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above), wherein the self-capacitance sensor is configured to detect the capacitance change occurring due to a change of a position of the metal spray canister while moving relative to the actuator (Jewett col. 9 ln 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above), wherein the self-capacitance sensor is configured to: detect a change of an outer form of the metal spray canister (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the changing form of the metal spray canister; Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31); and detect the capacitance change occurring due to the change of the outer form of the metal spray canister while the metal spray canister moves relative to the actuator (Jewett col. 9 ln 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 2 (shown above), further comprising a self-capacitance sensor array (Holtz par. 0066 ln 22-25; Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c), wherein the self-capacitance sensor array includes plural self-capacitance sensors (Holtz Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c), and the self-capacitance array is configured to detect the change of the position of the metal spray canister during a movement of the metal spray canister relative to the actuator (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the change in position of the metal spray canister, Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31; a practitioner in the art would have understood that an array of self-capacitance sensors could perform the same function as a single self-capacitance sensor).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 3 (shown above), further comprising: a self-capacitance sensor array (Holtz par. 0066 ln 22-25; Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c) wherein the self-capacitance sensor array includes plural self-capacitance sensors (Holtz Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c), the self-capacitance array is configured to detect the change of the outer form while the metal spray canister is moving relative to the actuator (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the changing form of the metal spray canister, Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31; a practitioner in the art would have understood that an array of self-capacitance sensors could perform the same function as a single self-capacitance sensor).
Regarding claim 10, Holtz discloses an attachment for use with an inhaler (Fig. 1D, 1E, label 200 is attached to inhaler 100; par. 0063 ln 1-4) having a metal spray canister that stores a pressurized drug (Fig. B, annotated below; a metered dose inhaler would have been well understood in the art as comprising a metal canister and storing a drug in the canister in a pressurized way) and an actuator that ensures the drug is received from the metal spray canister in an aerosol form (Fig. A, annotated below; a metered dose inhaler would have been widely understood as being manually activated to deliver a drug in an aerosol form), the attachment comprising: a mutual capacitance sensor [attachment can have multiple capacitive sensors, par. 0064 ln 14-17; when two capacitance sensors are used together they can form a mutual capacitance sensor as defined by Applicant specification (clean version of specification, page labeled 35, ln 1-3)], the mutual capacitance sensor being configured to detect a user contact with the metal spray canister and measure a capacitance value resulting from the user contact (the capacitive sensor detects changes in capacitance when the user grasps or activates the inhaler, par. 0064 ln 18-24; examiner notes: activating the inhaler would involve contacting the metal spray canister. The capacitive sensor would be capable of detecting the metal spray canister as it is capable of detecting anything that is conductive or has a dielectric constant different from that of air, par. 0064 ln 18-21).
Fig. B, adapted from Fig. 1D of Holtz
Holtz does not disclose wherein the measured capacitance changes when the user contact includes changing a distance between the metal spray canister and the mutual capacitance sensor.
Jewett teaches an inhaler (Fig. 1; abstract ln 1) wherein the measured capacitance value changes when the user interaction includes adjusting a distance between the metal spray canister and the mutual capacitance sensor (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitance sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16”; Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31) for the purpose of counting the number of inhaler actuations (col. 3 ln 11-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to additionally detect a change in capacitance value of the mutual capacitance sensor caused by a change in distance between the metal spray canister and the mutual capacitance sensor as taught by Jewett for the purpose of counting the number of inhaler actuations (See Jewett: col. 3 ln 11-14).
The modified Holtz does not explicitly disclose the mutual capacitance sensor turns off if there is no increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Alizoti teaches a medication delivery system (abstract) wherein the circuitry turns off if the device is idle for a time period (par. 0279) for the purpose of minimizing battery drain (par. 0279).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Holtz to turn off if there is no contact as taught by Alizoti for the purpose of minimizing battery drain (Alizoti par. 0279).
The modified Holtz discloses that if the capacitance sensor detects contact, a sampling rate of the sensor increases until the actuation event concludes (Holtz par. 0097).
The modified Holtz does not explicitly disclose the mutual capacitance sensor continues measuring the capacitance without turning off if there is an increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Krasnow teaches an inhaler device (abstract) wherein the sensor can either continuously or periodically monitor contact event data to detect when the contact event has ended (par. 0068).
The only difference in the prior art and the claimed device is the substitution of how the contact event is monitored. The substituted components and their functions are well known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted Holtz’s periodic measurement with the continuous monitoring taught by Krasnow and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Holtz such that the self-capacitance sensor continues measuring the capacitance without turning off if there is an increase in the measured capacitance due to the user contact with the metal spray canister as taught by Krasnow as the courts have held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 11, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 10 (shown above), wherein the mutual capacitance sensor is configured to detect the capacitance change occurring due to a change of a position of the metal spray canister while moving relative to the actuator (Jewett col. 9 ln 5-7).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 10 (shown above), wherein the mutual capacitance sensor is configured to: detect a change of an outer form of the metal spray canister (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the changing form of the metal spray canister; Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31); and detect the capacitance change occurring due to the change of the outer form of the metal spray canister while the metal spray canister moves relative to the actuator (Jewett col. 9 ln 5-7)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 11 (shown above), wherein the change of the position of the metal spray canister is monitored by a mutual capacitance sensor array including plural mutual capacitance sensors (Holtz par. 0066 ln 22-25; Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c) when the metal spray canister moves relative to the actuator (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the change in position of the metal spray canister, Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31; a practitioner in the art would have understood that an array of capacitance sensors could perform the same function as a single capacitance sensor).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 12 (shown above), further comprising: a mutual capacitance sensor array (Holtz par. 0066 ln 22-25; Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c) wherein the mutual capacitance sensor array includes plural mutual capacitance sensors (Holtz Fig. 2a-b, capacitive sensing areas 272a-c) configured to detect the change of the outer form while the metal spray canister is moving relative to the actuator (proximity sensor 42” is a capacitive sensor which can detect movement of the canister 16” due to a change in capacitive coupling which results from the changing form of the metal spray canister, Jewett Fig. 10, col. 8 ln 53-col. 9 ln 31; a practitioner in the art would have understood that an array of self-capacitance sensors could perform the same function as a single self-capacitance sensor).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above), wherein the self-capacitance sensor is configured to measure the capacitance for a first time period, and wherein when the measured capacitance is unchanged during the first time period, the self-capacitance sensor turns off for a second time period (circuitry turns off if idle for a period of time; Alizoti par. 0279).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above), wherein the self-capacitance sensor is configured to measure the capacitance for a first time period, and wherein when the measured capacitance increases during the first time period, the self-capacitance sensor is configured to continue measuring the capacitance for a second time period (if the capacitance sensor detects contact, a sampling rate of the sensor increases until the actuation event concludes, Holtz par. 0097; this measurement can be periodic or continuous as taught by Krasnow par. 0068).
Claims 6, 8, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz in view of Jewett, in view of Alizoti, in view of Krasnow, and further in view of Biswas et al. (US 2016/0144141 A1), hereafter Biswas.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above).
Holtz does not disclose a pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor monitors a pressure drop around the metal spray canister to monitor breathing of the user.
Biswas teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 7; par. 0064 ln 1-4) comprising a pressure sensor (Fig. 7, pressure sensor 8), wherein the pressure sensor monitors a pressure drop around the metal spray canister to monitor breathing of the user (par. 0064 ln 1-8; par. 0065 ln 1-18) for the purpose of confirming whether the medication was inhaled by the patient (par. 0066 ln 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to further comprising a pressure sensor as taught by Biswas for the purpose of confirming whether the medication was inhaled by the patient (See Biswas: par. 0066 ln 3-8).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according claim 1 (shown above), wherein the self-capacitance sensor is configured to detect the user contact with the metal spray canister (Holtz par. 0064 ln 18-24).
The modified Holtz does not disclose the self-capacitance sensor activates a pressure sensor or a microphone or a vibration sensor and electronic circuit elements controlling the pressure sensor or the microphone or the vibration sensor.
Biswas teaches a capacitive sensor (Fig. 3, capacitive touch film 17; par. 0069 ln 1-2) which activates a pressure sensor or a microphone or a vibration sensor and electronic circuit elements controlling the pressure sensor or the microphone or the vibration sensor (capacitive sensor initiates activation of the board which includes a pressure sensor; par. 0069 ln 6-17) for the purpose of saving power (par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of Holtz to have the self-capacitance sensor activate the pressure sensor for the purpose of saving power (See Biswas: par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 10 (shown above).
The modified Holtz does not disclose a pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor tracks a pressure drop around the metal spray canister to monitor a breathing of the user.
Biswas teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 7; par. 0064 ln 1-4) comprising a pressure sensor (Fig. 7, pressure sensor 8), wherein the pressure sensor tracks a pressure drop around the metal spray canister to monitor a breathing of the user (par. 0064 ln 1-8; par. 0065 ln 1-18) for the purpose of confirming whether the medication was inhaled by the patient (par. 0066 ln 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to further comprising a pressure sensor as taught by Biswas for the purpose of confirming whether the medication was inhaled by the patient (See Biswas: par. 0066 ln 3-8).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according claim 10 (shown above), wherein the mutual capacitance sensor is configured to detect the user contact with the metal spray canister (Holtz par. 0064 ln 18-24).
The modified Holtz does not disclose the sensor activating a pressure sensor or a microphone or a vibration sensor and electronic circuit elements controlling the pressure sensor or the microphone or the vibration sensor.
Biswas teaches a capacitive sensor (Fig. 3, capacitive touch film 17; par. 0069 ln 1-2) activating a pressure sensor or a microphone or a vibration sensor and electronic circuit elements controlling the pressure sensor or the microphone or the vibration sensor (capacitive sensor initiates activation of the board which includes a pressure sensor; par. 0069 ln 6-17) for the purpose of saving power (par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of Holtz to have the capacitance sensor activate the pressure sensor for the purpose of saving power (See Biswas: par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz in view of Jewett, in view of Alizoti, in view of Krasnow, and further in view of Merrell et al. (US 2020/0345588 A1), hereafter Merrell.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 1 (shown above).
The modified Holtz does not disclose a microphone, a piezo crystal or a vibration sensor monitoring a sound or vibrations to monitor breathing of the user.
Merrell teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 1-5, monitor unit 30) comprising a microphone, a piezo crystal or a vibration sensor monitoring a sound or vibrations to monitor a breathing of the user (monitor unit 30 includes a microphone to monitor inhalation sounds, par. 0064 ln 18-33) for the purpose of detecting incorrect usage (par. 0064 ln 25-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to further comprise a microphone as taught by Merrell for the purpose of detecting incorrect usage (See Merrell: par. 0064 ln 25-33).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according to claim 10 (shown above).
The modified Holtz does not disclose a microphone, a piezo crystal or a vibration sensor monitoring a sound or vibrations to monitor a breathing of the user.
Merrell teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 1-5, monitor unit 30) comprising a microphone, a piezo crystal or a vibration sensor monitoring a sound or vibrations to monitor a breathing of the user (monitor unit 30 includes a microphone to monitor inhalation sounds, par. 0064 ln 18-33) for the purpose of detecting incorrect usage (par. 0064 ln 25-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attachment of Holtz to further comprise a microphone as taught by Merrell for the purpose of detecting incorrect usage (See Merrell: par. 0064 ln 25-33).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz in view of Jewett, in view of Alizoti, in view of Krasnow, and further in view of Biswas.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Holtz teaches the attachment according claim 4 (shown above).
The modified Holtz does not disclose the self-capacitance sensor is configured to open the self-capacitance sensor array following the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Biswas teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 7; par. 0064 ln 1-4) wherein a capacitive sensor activates additional sensors following a contact by the user (capacitive sensor initiates activation of the board which includes additional sensors; par. 0069 ln 6-17) for the purpose of saving power (par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the attachment of Holtz to activate the additional sensors, such as the self-capacitance sensor array, following a contact by the user as taught by Biswas for the purpose of saving power (See Biswas: par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Holtz discloses the attachment according claim 14 (shown above).
The modified Holtz does not disclose the mutual capacitance sensor is configured to open the mutual capacitance sensor array following the user contact with the metal spray canister.
Biswas teaches an inhaler attachment (Fig. 7; par. 0064 ln 1-4) wherein a capacitive sensor activates additional sensors following a contact by the user (capacitive sensor initiates activation of the board which includes additional sensors; par. 0069 ln 6-17) for the purpose of saving power (par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the attachment of Holtz to activate the additional sensors, such as the capacitance sensor array, following a contact by the user as taught by Biswas for the purpose of saving power (See Biswas: par. 0069 ln 17-24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785