DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 11-15) in the reply filed on 11/20/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2024.
Newly submitted claims 26-29 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: they are dependent upon claim 16 which was withdrawn from consideration as being a non-elected invention.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 26-29 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to JP 2019-125709 filed 7/5/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 3/29/2022, 9/07/2023 and 5/31/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 11-15 and 21-23 are under examination.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claim 1-10 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 06/20/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Hase (US 2010/0190246 Al)
Rejection to claims 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki (IEEJ Transactions on Electronics, Information and Systems,2009) and in further view of and Ikeya (WO 2014/112633) have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 06/20/2025.
New rejections necessitated by arguments and amendments :
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hase (US 2010/0190246 Al).
Regarding claim 11, Hase teaches a method for obtaining biological tissue (cover page 1, abstract) where the cells are cultured on a surface of a cell adhesion molecule using a cell culture scaffold (page 4 paragraph 0060). Hase teaches the inner bottom surface of the culture vessel is a surface which can be converted into a non-cell-adhesive surface, such as a stimuli-responsive polymer, a detachment operation is carried out in the environment in which a surface can be converted into a non-cell-adhesive surface (page 6, paragraph 0076). Hase teaches detachment may be carried out via a known method, while maintaining tissue configuration. Hase teaches gelatin is first introduced onto the tissue surface formed on a non-cell-adhesive substrate for gelation, gelatin gel is held by a holding substrate, such as a PET film, and tissue is then detached and collected from the noncell-adhesive substrate with gelatin gel (page 6, paragraph 0076). Hase teaches improvement in the interaction between a coating material and a cell culture support is necessary, or adjustment of the hydrophilic/hydrophobic balance of a cell support is necessary (page 5, paragraph 0062). Hase teaches materials physically or chemically crosslinked to each other or bound to substrates, which include dextran and heparin (cell adhesion molecules) (page 3, paragraph 0055). Hase teaches the method to facilitate detachment of a cell sheet, a technique of providing a layer of a temperature-responsive polymer compound on a cell adhesion surface to accelerate cell detachment (page 1, paragraph 0003). Hase teaches the substrate material can be plastics including fluorine resin (page 3, paragraph 0051). Hase teaches a temperature-responsive polymer that can be preferably used in the present invention, which exhibits hydrophobic properties at a temperature at which cells are cultured and exhibits hydrophilic properties at a temperature at which the cultured cell sheet is collected (page 4, paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 12, Hase teaches a solution or dispersion of an extracellular matrix component that was separately prepared and added to a culture solution comprising cells suspended therein (page 6, paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 13, Hase teaches various patterns including a concave-convex pattern comprises a plurality of island-like convex portions and sealike concave portions continuously formed around such convex portions (page 3, paragraph 0045). Hase teaches a vessel for culture was prepared using a concave-convex template coated with resist (page 8, paragraph 0090).
Regarding claim 15, Hase teaches the cells migrate toward the bottom surface and accumulate with the aid of centrifugal or magnetic force, and cells adhere to each other to form tissue, thereby the cells are adherent (page 2, paragraph 0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hase (US 2010/0190246 Al) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ikeya (WO2014/112633).
Regarding claim 14, Hase teaches the method for producing the cell culture product in regard to claim 11 above, but does not teach the cell adhesion molecule is formed in the shape of a dot with a diameter of 100 to 1000 μm.
Ikeya teaches a molecule formed in a dot shape feature having a diameter of 100-1000um. Ikeya teaches the spheroid growth pattern utilizing a cell adhesive material layer that is arranged in a circular shape with a diameter of 50-500um(paragraph 0040). Ikeya achieves this growth pattern indicating the use of a cell adhesive material such as fibronectin or collagen in a desired pattern on a layer of a material in which cells do not adhere(paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Hase for a method for producing the cell culture product with the teachings of Ikeya et al. for a dot shape feature having a diameter of 100-1000 μm. Ikeya provide motivation by teaching that there is no particular restriction on the shape of the microdroplets. Ikeya further teach cell arrays form spheroids of different animal cells, desirable for various applications (paragraph 0040). Ikeya et al. further teach cell arrays have various applications and can relate to a method for producing a substrate for cell sequence culture (paragraph 0001). One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining Hase and Ikeya because both teach 3-dimensional culture methods for cells. Ikeya further teaches polylysine is interchangeable for gelatin which is used in Hase(paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 21, Ikeya teaches the cell adhesive substance are placed in the desired area on the cell non-adhesive material layer to form a cell adhesive material layer partially on the cell non-adhesive material layer. Ikeya teaches the cell adhesive substances can include polylysine (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 22, Hase teaches the cell adhesion molecules can be dextran and heparin (page 3, paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 23, Ikeya teaches the cell adhesive substances can include polylysine (paragraph 0037).
Conclusion
/C.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638