DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
An amendment, filed 1/21/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-4 are amended. No new matter is present. Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
The rejection of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and (d) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s statements on the record. (see Remarks, dated 1/21/2026). Specifically, the claim 1 preamble recitation of “a current collector consisting of a ferritic stainless steel sheet” only limits the current collector to a ferritic stainless steel sheet, whereas the composition of the ferritic stainless steel sheet is interpreted using the open transitional phrase “comprising” and therefore, may comprise additional elements not recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujino et al. (JPH09293516A)(machine translation provided) in view of Morita et al. (JP 2010033782A)(of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Fujino teaches a solid-state battery with a sulfide-based electrolyte, wherein the battery has a steel current collector. (pgs. 1-2 of translation). In particular, the reference teaches that the steel current collector preferably contains less than 1 wt% of Mo to prevent corrosion, including stainless steel examples such as SUS304, and teaches that the steel current collector composition “is not limited to the alloys described” in the disclosure. (pgs. 2-4 of translation). Thus, Fujino teaches a sulfide-based solid-state battery comprising a stainless steel current collector, but is silent as to a specific stainless steel current collector composition, as instantly claimed.
Morita teaches a ferritic stainless steel current collector in the form of a plate (i.e. sheet) for use in a battery, the steel having a composition, by mass%, as follows (p. 1, 3-5 of translation):
Claim 1
Morita
C
0.001-0.050
≤ 0.015
Si
0.01-2.00
≤ 0.5
Mn
0.01-1.00
≤ 2
P
≤ 0.050
≤ 0.05*
S
≤ 0.010
≤ 0.03*
Cr
18.0-32.0
12-32
Ni
0.01-4.00
≤ 2*
Al
0.001-0.150
≤ 0.5*
N
≤ 0.050
≤ 0.025*
Fe
Balance with inevitable impurities
Balance with incidental impurities
Other
-
Ti: ≤ 0.4*
Mo: ≤ 2*
Cu: ≤ 2*
Nb: ≤ 0.8*
B: ≤ 0.3*
V: ≤ 0.3*
Zr: ≤ 0.3*
*optional element
Compositional ranges including zero (e.g. the claimed ranges of P, S, and N) are interpreted as optional elements. Therefore, Morita teaches a ferritic stainless steel sheet current collector with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required compositional ranges.
Fujino and Morita are thus, both drawn to stainless steel alloys useful as a current collector in a battery, wherein the composition is selected to improve corrosion resistance. (see Morita, p. 4 of translation, disclosing addition of Cr for corrosion resistance properties; Fujino, abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sulfide-based solid-state battery of Fujino, to substitute the stainless steel sheet current collector for a ferritic stainless steel current collector having the composition of Morita, in order to obtain a battery having a current collector with excellent corrosion resistance. Furthermore, as Fujino teaches the substitutability of stainless steel alloys (providing 1 wt% or less of Mo) for the current collector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one stainless steel current collector for another, with the same function and desired properties, with a predictable result of success.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Morita further teaches that the stainless steel sheet has a thickness of 3 to 100 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range. (p. 5 of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a sheet thickness from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 2, Morita teaches a ferritic stainless current collector further optionally comprising Mo and/or Cu in ranges overlapping those claimed. (see rejection of claim 1). Fujino teaches that up to 1 wt% of Mo may be present in the steel current collector to obtain desired corrosion properties. (pgs. 2-3 of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an amount of Mo and/or Cu in the steel current collector selected from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claims 3-4, Morita teaches a ferritic stainless current collector further optionally comprising one or more of Ti, Nb, V, Zr, and B in ranges overlapping those claimed. (see rejection of claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Morita in view of Oku and over Mizutani in view of Oku and Morita have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Specifically, Morita, Oku, and Mizutani fail to teach a sulfide-based solid-state battery, as required by the amended claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fujino in view of Morita, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735