DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/29/2025 has been entered. Support is found in at least Figs. 1, 5, 7 and specification [0051].
The objections to claims 1, 9, 17, and 20 are overcome by the amendment and are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 7-9, filed 09/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, 17, 20 and their dependent claims under 35 USC 103 relying on at least Boville and Haluska have been fully considered and are persuasive, because the amendments require ceiling structure/trusses as the supports, and Boville and Haluska both teach structures supporting batteries from their bottoms and thus cannot read on ceilings. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments to the instant claims which necessitated further search and consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kissinger (US 1904620 A) in view of Narita et al. (US 6045398 A, cited in 12/13/24 action) and Kale et al. (US 20110244292 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kissinger teaches an energy storage device storage system (battery support, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1; for a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34), comprising: an energy storage device enclosure (uprights 1 holding battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2) configured to be disposed between a first adjustable longitudinal support structure and a second adjustable longitudinal support structure (portions 3 of battery frame of vehicle, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.40-41; shown at left and right in Fig. 1; support may be adjusted in three ways, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.13-14; supports that can be adjusted to fit batteries of different lengths/heights/depths, p.2 c.1 l.6-8),
the energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (space between uprights 1 for receiving battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2; “A” is a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34),
and a pair of hangers fixed to the energy storage device enclosure and located on opposite ends of the energy storage device enclosure (hooks 2 at upper ends of uprights 1, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.37-40 and Fig. 2), the pair of hangers each having an inverted U-shape (hook shape of 2, Kissinger Fig. 2) configured to receive the first adjustable longitudinal support structure and the second adjustable longitudinal support structure therein (hooked over portion of supports 3 of battery frame, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.38-41 and Fig. 1) and suspend the energy storage device enclosure from the first adjustable longitudinal support structure and the second adjustable longitudinal support structure (holds battery level, Kissinger p.1. c.2. l. 90 through p.2 c.1 l.2 and Fig. 1).
Kissinger fails to teach:
the one or more slots each comprising one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device;
the first and second adjustable longitudinal support structures configured to extend between first and second ceiling trusses.
Narita is analogous in the art of energy storage device enclosure and teaches energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (10, battery accepting unit; Narita Fig. 2), the one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (20, battery pack; Narita Figs. 6 and 8), the one or more slots (10) each comprising one or more ports (10-a, 10-b, 10-c, 10-d, or 10-e, terminals/contact elements; Narita Figs. 5,8,10) configured to provide an electrical connection (Narita Col. 8 Lines 19-52, regarding terminals and electric circuit – see also Narita exemplary Fig. 3) to the energy storage device (20). Narita (col. 10, lines 20-42) teaches the configuration of said slots allowing for ease of replacement of energy storage devices within the enclosure as needed, and teaches (at col. 9, lines 2-3) that contact elements of the batteries are able to electrically communicate with the electric circuit of the end-user.
Kissinger similarly teaches toward the battery support being especially adapted for replacement purposes or in repair jobs (Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1-6) and teaches the end-user being an automobile that utilizes the storage battery (p.1. c.1 l.33-35). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kissinger in view of Narita to include (within the receiving slots) one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device in order to achieve easy battery replacement and electrical connection to provide battery power to the end-user.
Kale is analogous in the art of battery supports and teaches an embodiment in which a frame support surface 100 may include the ceiling 14 of telecommunication shelter 10, for example, when frame 85 is suspended, hung, or otherwise supported by the ceiling (Kale [0033] and Figs. 1A and 3). Here, frame 85 reads on longitudinal support structures and surface 100 reads on ceiling trusses.
Since Kale teaches that the ceiling of a telecommunications shelter is a suitable support surface for a stack of batteries (see also Kale [0028]), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the end-user of the storage battery of Kissinger to be a telecommunications shelter instead of an automobile and still predict functionality of the batteries to deliver power to the end-user (see MPEP 2143 I B). Thus, the support structures would be ceiling support surfaces instead of an automobile frame.
Thereby, claim 20 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 12, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kissinger (US 1904620 A) in view of Narita et al. (US 6045398 A, cited in 12/13/24 action), Kale et al. (US 20110244292 A1), and Cloran et al. (US 7173185 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kissinger teaches an energy storage device storage system (battery support, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1; for a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34), comprising: an energy storage device enclosure (uprights 1 holding battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2) configured to be disposed between a first longitudinal support and a second longitudinal support (portions 3 of battery frame of vehicle, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.40-41; shown at left and right in Fig. 1), the energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (space between uprights 1 for receiving battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2; “A” is a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34),
Kissinger fails to teach:
the first and second longitudinal supports are supports “of a ceiling structure”;
the one or more slots each comprising one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device; and
one or more jammers pivotally attached to outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure, the one or more jammers configured to hold the energy storage device enclosure between the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure support structures,
wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges that are configured to interface with the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure.
Narita is analogous in the art of energy storage device enclosure and teaches energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (10, battery accepting unit; Narita Fig. 2), the one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (20, battery pack; Narita Figs. 6 and 8), the one or more slots (10) each comprising one or more ports (10-a, 10-b, 10-c, 10-d, or 10-e, terminals/contact elements; Narita Figs. 5,8,10) configured to provide an electrical connection (Narita Col. 8 Lines 19-52, regarding terminals and electric circuit – see also Narita exemplary Fig. 3) to the energy storage device (20). Narita (col. 10, lines 20-42) teaches the configuration of said slots allowing for ease of replacement of energy storage devices within the enclosure as needed, and teaches (at col. 9, lines 2-3) that contact elements of the batteries are able to electrically communicate with the electric circuit of the end-user.
Kissinger similarly teaches toward the battery support being especially adapted for replacement purposes or in repair jobs (Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1-6) and teaches the end-user being an automobile that utilizes the storage battery (p.1. c.1 l.33-35). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kissinger in view of Narita to include (within the receiving slots) one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device in order to achieve easy battery replacement and electrical connection to provide battery power to the end-user.
Kale is analogous in the art of battery supports and teaches an embodiment in which a frame support surface 100 may include the ceiling 14 of telecommunication shelter 10, for example, when frame 85 is suspended, hung, or otherwise supported by the ceiling (Kale [0033] and Figs. 1A and 3).
Since Kale teaches that the ceiling of a telecommunications shelter is a suitable support surface for a stack of batteries (see also Kale [0028]), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the end-user of the storage battery of Kissinger to be a telecommunications shelter instead of an automobile and still predict functionality of the batteries to deliver power to the end-user (see MPEP 2143 I B). Thus, the support structures would be ceiling support surfaces instead of an automobile frame.
Cloran is pertinent to the problem of supporting/mounting housings on surfaces and teaches a housing 55 of an electrical device mounted on surface 54 of a supporting panel 50 (Cloran Figs. 3-5 and C4L43-47). Cloran teaches one or more jammers (panel clamp 95, Cloran Figs. 3-5) pivotally (spring-loaded and self-actuating, Cloran C5L38 and Figs. 5-7; rotation of panel clamp heads, C6L33-34 and 66-67) attached to outer sidewalls of the device enclosure (housing 55 includes panel clamps 95, Cloran C4L564-65 and Figs. 3-4), the one or more jammers configured to hold the device enclosure between the supports (housing 55 held between left and right segments of panel 50, Cloran Fig. 4), wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end (cam surface 120, Cloran Figs. 5-7) that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges (teeth 125, Cloran Figs. 5-7 and C5L46-48) that are configured to interface with the supports (subsequent teeth 125 engage the panel 50; Cloran C6L18-19, C6L67-C7L1, and Figs. 5-7). Cloran teaches this connection technique is easy to install with needed access to only on side of the support surface (Cloran C6L61-62) and achieves quick securement of the device enclosure to the support via compression by the sawtooth edges of the rotatable jammers (Cloran C4L64-66 and C7L1-7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify Kissinger to include the jammers pivotally attached to the support surfaces and secured by sawtooth edges of claw ends, since this connection structure and technique taught toward by Cloran provides motivation of easy, quick, and secure connection.
Thereby, all limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious
Regarding claim 4, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage system of claim 1 wherein the ports are configured to provide an electrical interconnection to the energy storage device (ports of Narita – as applied above to modified Kissinger – provide electrical interconnection of battery cells within the overall energy storage device, Narita Figs. 8 and 13).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage system of claim 1 wherein each slot (between uprights 1 of Kissinger Fig. 2) includes a partition (base made of parts 6 and 7, Kissinger p.1. c.1. l. 43-45) to guide and maintain the energy storage device in position (two halves of base moved together or separated to accommodate batteries of different sizes, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.60-66; portions 6 and 7 inclined to meet angle of battery frame supports, p.1 c.2 l.75-78; holds battery level, p.1 c.2. l. 89-90; see also Kissinger Fig. 1 where 6/7 maintains position of “A”).
Additionally, Narita teaches toward each slot (the slots having ports, as applied to modified Kissinger above) having partitions (e.g., 10-1/10-2/10-3/10-4 in Narita Fig. 2) to guide and maintain each energy storage device in position (Narita Figs. 14, 12, 14, 18 showing guided replacement of battery cell).
Thus, when modified by Narita above and since Kissinger and Narita both teach toward easy replacement of batteries within their enclosures (as cited in rejection of claim 1 above), it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to ensure that the partition(s) of the slot(s) of modified Kissinger functioned to guide and maintain the energy storage device in position.
Regarding claim 9, Kissinger teaches an energy storage device storage system (battery support, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1; for a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34), comprising: an energy storage device enclosure (uprights 1 holding battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2) configured to be disposed between a first longitudinal support and a second longitudinal support (portions 3 of battery frame of vehicle, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.40-41; shown at left and right in Fig. 1), the energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (space between uprights 1 for receiving battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2; “A” is a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34); and one or more spacers extending from outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure (hooks 2 extending from uprights 1, Kissinger Fig. 1).
Kissinger fails to teach:
the first and second longitudinal supports are supports “of a ceiling structure”;
the one or more slots each comprising one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device;
one or more jammers pivotally attached to outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure, the one or more jammers configured to hold the energy storage device enclosure between the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure support structures,
wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges that are configured to interface with the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure.
Narita is analogous in the art of energy storage device enclosure and teaches energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (10, battery accepting unit; Narita Fig. 2), the one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (20, battery pack; Narita Figs. 6 and 8), the one or more slots (10) each comprising one or more ports (10-a, 10-b, 10-c, 10-d, or 10-e, terminals/contact elements; Narita Figs. 5,8,10) configured to provide an electrical connection (Narita Col. 8 Lines 19-52, regarding terminals and electric circuit – see also Narita exemplary Fig. 3) to the energy storage device (20). Narita (col. 10, lines 20-42) teaches the configuration of said slots allowing for ease of replacement of energy storage devices within the enclosure as needed, and teaches (at col. 9, lines 2-3) that contact elements of the batteries are able to electrically communicate with the electric circuit of the end-user.
Kissinger similarly teaches toward the battery support being especially adapted for replacement purposes or in repair jobs (Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1-6) and teaches the end-user being an automobile that utilizes the storage battery (p.1. c.1 l.33-35). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kissinger in view of Narita to include (within the receiving slots) one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device in order to achieve easy battery replacement and electrical connection to provide battery power to the end-user.
Kale is analogous in the art of battery supports and teaches an embodiment in which a frame support surface 100 may include the ceiling 14 of telecommunication shelter 10, for example, when frame 85 is suspended, hung, or otherwise supported by the ceiling (Kale [0033] and Figs. 1A and 3).
Since Kale teaches that the ceiling of a telecommunications shelter is a suitable support surface for a stack of batteries (see also Kale [0028]), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the end-user of the storage battery of Kissinger to be a telecommunications shelter instead of an automobile and still predict functionality of the batteries to deliver power to the end-user (see MPEP 2143 I B). Thus, the support structures would be ceiling support surfaces instead of an automobile frame.
Cloran is pertinent to the problem of supporting/mounting housings on surfaces and teaches a housing 55 of an electrical device mounted on surface 54 of a supporting panel 50 (Cloran Figs. 3-5 and C4L43-47). Cloran teaches one or more jammers (panel clamp 95, Cloran Figs. 3-5) pivotally (spring-loaded and self-actuating, Cloran C5L38 and Figs. 5-7; rotation of panel clamp heads, C6L33-34 and 66-67) attached to outer sidewalls of the device enclosure (housing 55 includes panel clamps 95, Cloran C4L564-65 and Figs. 3-4), the one or more jammers configured to hold the device enclosure between the supports (housing 55 held between left and right segments of panel 50, Cloran Fig. 4), wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end (cam surface 120, Cloran Figs. 5-7) that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges (teeth 125, Cloran Figs. 5-7 and C5L46-48) that are configured to interface with the supports (subsequent teeth 125 engage the panel 50; Cloran C6L18-19, C6L67-C7L1, and Figs. 5-7). Cloran teaches this connection technique is easy to install with needed access to only on side of the support surface (Cloran C6L61-62) and achieves quick securement of the device enclosure to the support via compression by the sawtooth edges of the rotatable jammers (Cloran C4L64-66 and C7L1-7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify Kissinger to include the jammers pivotally attached to the support surfaces and secured by sawtooth edges of claw ends, since this connection structure and technique taught toward by Cloran provides motivation of easy, quick, and secure connection.
Thereby, all limitations of claim 9 are rendered obvious
Regarding claim 2 and claim 10, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage systems of claim 1 and claim 9, further comprising an enclosure cover (base supports 6 and 7 connected to side enclosure uprights 1 serve to hold and cover battery “A” from its bottom, Kissinger Fig. 1 and p.1. c.1 l.44-45).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 12, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage systems of claim 1 and claim 9, but fails to yet teach at least one fan configured to introduce air into the energy storage device enclosure or at least one fan configured to remove air from the energy storage device enclosure.
Kale teaches an energy storage device enclosure (exterior panels shown in Kale Figs. 7-10) comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (battery space 45 holding battery stack 5, Kale Figs. 7 and 10), and further comprising at least one fan configured to introduce air into the energy storage device enclosure (First fan 116 blows air into battery space 45 and provides sufficient air flow through and around battery stack 5 to cool batteries 30, Kale [0044, 0046] and Fig. 10) and at least one fan configured to remove air from the energy storage device enclosure (Second fan 117 is positioned and configured to blow exhaust air 145, including air warmed by batteries 30, from battery space 45; Kale [0044] and Fig. 10).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify the battery enclosure of Kissinger to include the first and second fans as taught by Kale with the motivation of keeping the batteries sufficiently cool by introducing cooling air and removing warmed air via the two fans.
Thereby, claims 3 and 12 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 7 and claim 15, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage systems of claim 1 and claim 9 further comprising a biasing member (arrangements may be provided for biasing the panel clamps 95 in an outwardly deflecting position, Cloran C5L52-54 – Cloran as applied to modify Kissinger above) configured to bias the one or more jammers (hinge and an associated leaf spring may be provided to outwardly bias the beam 115, Cloran C5L55-58) with respect to the outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure (hinge formed at the intersection of the beam 115 and the housing 55, Cloran C5L54-55 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Kissinger teaches an energy storage device storage system (battery support, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1; for a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34), comprising: an energy storage device enclosure (uprights 1 holding battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2) configured to be disposed between a first longitudinal support and a second longitudinal support (portions 3 of battery frame of vehicle, Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.40-41; shown at left and right in Fig. 1), the energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (space between uprights 1 for receiving battery “A”, Kissinger Figs. 1-2; “A” is a storage battery per p.1 c.1 l.33-34); and one or more spacers extending from outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure (hooks 2 extending from uprights 1, Kissinger Fig. 1).
Kissinger fails to teach:
the first and second longitudinal supports are supports “of a ceiling structure”;
the one or more slots each comprising one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device;
one or more jammers pivotally attached to outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure, the one or more jammers configured to hold the energy storage device enclosure between the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure support structures,
a biasing member configured to bias the one or more jammers with respect to the outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure;
wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges that are configured to interface with the first and second longitudinal supports of the ceiling structure.
Narita is analogous in the art of energy storage device enclosure and teaches energy storage device enclosure comprising: one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (10, battery accepting unit; Narita Fig. 2), the one or more slots configured to receive an energy storage device (20, battery pack; Narita Figs. 6 and 8), the one or more slots (10) each comprising one or more ports (10-a, 10-b, 10-c, 10-d, or 10-e, terminals/contact elements; Narita Figs. 5,8,10) configured to provide an electrical connection (Narita Col. 8 Lines 19-52, regarding terminals and electric circuit – see also Narita exemplary Fig. 3) to the energy storage device (20). Narita (col. 10, lines 20-42) teaches the configuration of said slots allowing for ease of replacement of energy storage devices within the enclosure as needed, and teaches (at col. 9, lines 2-3) that contact elements of the batteries are able to electrically communicate with the electric circuit of the end-user.
Kissinger similarly teaches toward the battery support being especially adapted for replacement purposes or in repair jobs (Kissinger p.1 c.1 l.1-6) and teaches the end-user being an automobile that utilizes the storage battery (p.1. c.1 l.33-35). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Kissinger in view of Narita to include (within the receiving slots) one or more ports configured to provide an electrical connection to the energy storage device in order to achieve easy battery replacement and electrical connection to provide battery power to the end-user.
Kale is analogous in the art of battery supports and teaches an embodiment in which a frame support surface 100 may include the ceiling 14 of telecommunication shelter 10, for example, when frame 85 is suspended, hung, or otherwise supported by the ceiling (Kale [0033] and Figs. 1A and 3).
Since Kale teaches that the ceiling of a telecommunications shelter is a suitable support surface for a stack of batteries (see also Kale [0028]), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the end-user of the storage battery of Kissinger to be a telecommunications shelter instead of an automobile and still predict functionality of the batteries to deliver power to the end-user (see MPEP 2143 I B). Thus, the support structures would be ceiling support surfaces instead of an automobile frame.
Cloran is pertinent to the problem of supporting/mounting housings on surfaces and teaches a housing 55 of an electrical device mounted on surface 54 of a supporting panel 50 (Cloran Figs. 3-5 and C4L43-47). Cloran teaches:
one or more jammers (panel clamp 95, Cloran Figs. 3-5) pivotally (spring-loaded and self-actuating, Cloran C5L38 and Figs. 5-7; rotation of panel clamp heads, C6L33-34 and 66-67) attached to outer sidewalls of the device enclosure (housing 55 includes panel clamps 95, Cloran C4L564-65 and Figs. 3-4), the one or more jammers configured to hold the device enclosure between the supports (housing 55 held between left and right segments of panel 50, Cloran Fig. 4),
a biasing member (arrangements may be provided for biasing the panel clamps 95 in an outwardly deflecting position, Cloran C5L52-54) configured to bias the one or more jammers (hinge and an associated leaf spring may be provided to outwardly bias the beam 115, Cloran C5L55-58) with respect to the outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure (hinge formed at the intersection of the beam 115 and the housing 55, Cloran C5L54-55 and Figs. 5-6);
wherein the one or more jammers each include a claw end (cam surface 120, Cloran Figs. 5-7) that defines a plurality of saw tooth edges (teeth 125, Cloran Figs. 5-7 and C5L46-48) that are configured to interface with the supports (subsequent teeth 125 engage the panel 50; Cloran C6L18-19, C6L67-C7L1, and Figs. 5-7).
Cloran teaches this connection technique is easy to install with needed access to only on side of the support surface (Cloran C6L61-62) and achieves quick securement of the device enclosure to the support via compression by the sawtooth edges of the rotatable jammers (Cloran C4L64-66 and C7L1-7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify Kissinger to include the jammers pivotally attached to the support surfaces and secured by sawtooth edges of claw ends, since this connection structure and technique taught toward by Cloran provides motivation of easy, quick, and secure connection.
Thereby, all limitations of claim 17 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 16 and claim 18, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage systems of claims 15 and 17 above, wherein the biasing member (hinge and associated leaf spring, Cloran C5L55-58 – as applied to modified Kissinger above including the jammer/clamp like that of Cloran) comprises a torsion spring (leaf spring may be provided to outwardly bias the beam 115 of clamp/jammer 95 away from housing 55 sidewall, Cloran C5L55-58) disposed between at least one jammer and the outer sidewalls of the energy storage device enclosure (intersection of 55/115, Cloran ClL55-56 and Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kissinger teaches the energy storage device storage systems of claim 17 above, further comprising a biasing retention mechanism (bent end 117, Cloran Figs. 5-6; due to spring nature of clamps 95, Cloan C5L39-42) that is configured to bias an enclosure cover (cantilevered beam 115 extending from the housing 55 at one end 117, Cloran C5L41-42) with respect to the energy storage device enclosure (cantilevered beam 115 extends outwardly with respect to the end walls 85 when in a non-deflected disengaged position, Cloran C5L42-44 and Fig. 4-6).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kissinger (US 1904620 A) in view of Narita et al. (US 6045398 A, cited in 12/13/24 action), Kale et al. (US 20110244292 A1), and Cloran et al. (US 7173185 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grympa (US 2756092 A, as cited in 04/24/2025 action).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kissinger teaches the limitations of claim 9 above but fails to teach the one or more jammers comprise wood beam jammers.
Grympa is analogous in the art of structures connected to motor vehicle batteries (Grympa C1L16-18) and teaches a jammer having a claw end (flat metal stirrup member 15 of generally U-shape, Grympa C3L63-64 and Figs. 13, 15), extending from a battery enclosure (Grympa Fig. 16), which is secured onto a wooden beam (legs of member 15 extend upwardly and are permanently secured to a relatively long handle rod 16 of wood, Gryma C3L66-68 and Figs. 15-16).
Therefore, Grympa teaches that it is possible for an energy storage device enclosure to be affixed to a wood beam to meet certain design requirements, such as to be carried by the wood beam. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07, such that selecting a wood beam/rod as taught by Grympa as the material to which the jammers of modified Kissinger were affixed would have been an obvious choice for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Thus, claim 11 is rendered obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728