Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 01/30/2026 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 10-11, 13, 15 and 17-19 has /have been amended, claim 20 has /have been added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. An action on the merits for claims 1-20 are as follow.
The previous 112 (b) Claim Rejections, Objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the claims, the drawings and the specification with no new matter added.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a heating element”, “a plurality of heating elements”, “a first heating element” and “a second heating element” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “component” coupled with functional language “generating or receiving different user input” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 15 and 20 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. page 17 line 6, two triangular heating elements 20 and 22… two triangular heating elements 24 and 26, Figs. 3-6.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “at least three induction coils as heating elements” in line 3 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “heating elements” and a heating element as mentioned in claim 1 line 9 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “at least four induction coils as heating elements, and at least two power units, each heating element of said heating elements being associated with a respective power unit” in line 2 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “heating elements” and a heating element as mentioned in claim 1 line 9 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camli Ugur et al. (WO2016134779 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (EP 3 509 399 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Camli Ugur et al. disclose a cooking hob for a domestic or an industrial appliance, wherein:
the cooking hob comprises a heating area (flexible zone 3-5, [0016], Fig 1);
the heating area comprises a plurality of heating zones including a first heating zone and a second heating zone (side-by-side subzones 9, [0016], Fig 1), wherein:
in a first operation mode, the first heating zone and the second heating zone are configured for being operated separate from each other (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008]), and
in a second operation mode, the first heating zone and the second heating zone are configured for being operated as a first joint heating zone (the user can select in one of the flexible zones with four side-by-side subzones, the two rear side-by-side subzones and a respective common power level and independently therefrom the two front side-by-side subzones and another respective common power level, [0008]);
each of the plurality of heating zones includes a heating element (induction coils (11) which are arranged under the subzones (9) respectively, [0017]);
the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operable or operated to heat a particular cookware in such a way that foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware is heated when the particular cookware is placed above one of the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the first operation mode, and in such a way that the foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware is heated when the particular cookware is placed at least partially above both the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the second operation mode (cooking zones which can be flexibly combined to match with various cookwares having different sizes and shapes… the control unit generally allows, in the flexible mode, a user to combine the two subzones so as to jointly heat a comparatively large cookware and to select a preset power level, [0002]; see large cookware 6-8 with multiple heating zones and small cookware 10 with single heating zone in Fig 1);
Camli Ugur et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: the cooking hob further comprises an automatic temperature control for controlling a temperature of the particular cookware or for controlling a temperature of the foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware; and
the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first separate temperature related to the first heating zone and to control a second separate temperature related to the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as separate heating zones in the first operation mode (invention the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.), and the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first common temperature related to the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as the first joint heating zone in the second operation mode (in the flexible modes, the user can select in one of the flexible zones with four side-by-side subzones, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.).
Ogawa et al. further teach a cooking hob (induction heating cooker, Title), and the cooking hob further comprises an automatic temperature control (controller 9, [0034], Fig 3) for controlling a temperature of the particular cookware or for controlling a temperature of the foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware (Heating coil units 5A, 58 are disposed below top plate 1 and configured to inductively heat pot 2 placed on top plate 1. Controller 9 controls heating coil units 5A, 5B, [0036], Fig 1); and
the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first separate temperature related to the first heating zone and to control a second separate temperature related to the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as separate heating zones in the first operation mode (invention the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, [0008], taught by Camli Ugur et al.), and the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first common temperature related to the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as the first joint heating zone in the second operation mode (in the flexible modes, the user can select in one of the flexible zones with four side-by-side subzones, [0008], taught by Camli Ugur et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Camli Ugur et al. with Ogawa et al.’s further teaching of the cooking hob further comprises an automatic temperature control for controlling a temperature of the particular cookware or for controlling a temperature of the foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware; and the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first separate temperature related to the first heating zone and to control a second separate temperature related to the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as separate heating zones in the first operation mode, and the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first common temperature related to the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the case that the first heating zone and the second heating zone are operated as the first joint heating zone in the second operation mode; because Ogawa et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent induction heating cooker with a size of a heating zone can be changed as appropriate according to a size of a placed pot for operational convenience during processing.
Claim 2, wherein the cooking hob enables a user to select if the first heating zone and the second heating zone shall be operated in the first operation mode or in the second operation mode (allow a user to select two or more than two side-by-side subzones (9) in the same flexible zone (3, 4, 5), [0017]).
Claim 3, wherein the cooking hob is configured or can be configured by user input: to operate the first heating zone and the second heating zone in the first operation mode, or
to operate the first heating zone in the first operation mode and to operate other heating zones of the plurality of heating zones as a second joint heating zone at the same time, or
to operate the first joint heating zone and at least one other joint heating zone at the same time in the second operation mode (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, [0008]).
Claim 4, wherein at least two heating zones of the plurality of heating zones and/or at least two joint heating zones can be operated at set temperatures different from each other, wherein each of the at least two heating zones of the plurality of heating zones and/or the at least two joint heating zones is subject to the automatic temperature control, wherein each of the set temperatures is controlled separately by the automatic temperature control (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.; controller controls all inverters and all relays. Each inverter drives one or two heating coils included in each heating coil unit, [0086], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.).
Claim 5, wherein the cooking hob enables a user to switch on or off the automatic temperature control for one or more heating zones of the plurality of heating zones and/or one or more joint heating zones (the ON/OFF routines in the flexible/single modes can be defined in many different ways… in the flexible modes some or all of the corresponding driving units can be turned in various intervals of the predetermined period simultaneously ON or OFF, [0010]).
Claim 6, wherein: the cooking hob enables a user to couple specific heating zones of the plurality of heating zones and/or specific joint heating zones in such way that set temperatures of the specific heating zones and/or specific joint heating zones are jointly adjustable by means of only one user input or by means of only one input element (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.; controller controls all inverters and all relays. Each inverter drives one or two heating coils included in each heating coil unit, [0086], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.), and
a difference between set temperatures of the specific heating zones and/or the specific join heating zones is between 10°C and 80°C (Clearly, the user can set “a difference between set temperatures of the specific heating zones and/or the specific join heating zones is between 10°C and 80°C” as claimed).
Claim 7, wherein the automatic temperature control comprises separate closed loop controls for controlling the first separate temperature, the second separate temperature, or the first common temperature (the flexible mode for gentle cooking is activated when the user selects a common power level which is close to, [0009]; the ON/OFF routines in the flexible/single modes can be defined in many different ways. During the ON/OFF routines in the flexible modes some or all of the corresponding driving units can be turned in various intervals of the predetermined period simultaneously ON or OFF, [0010]).
Claim 8, wherein the cooking hob comprises at least one temperature sensor for each said heating element (thermistor 6A, thermistor 68, thermistor 6C, and thermistor 6D are respectively provided at centers of heating coils 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, [0057], Fig 2, Ogawa et al.).
Claim 9, wherein: the automatic temperature control comprises at least one temperature measurement unit (thermistor 6A, thermistor 68, thermistor 6C, and thermistor 6D are respectively provided at centers of heating coils 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, [0057], Fig 2, Ogawa et al.), at least one control unit (controller 9 are provided inside housing 3, [0034], Fig 3, Ogawa et al.), and at least one power unit (first inverter is configured to supply a high frequency current to the first and second heating coils. The second inverter is configured to supply a high frequency current to the third and fourth heating coil, [0012], Fig 3, Ogawa et al.),
the at least one temperature measurement unit is configured to receive and/or transfer to the control unit a signal or signals representative of temperature parameters detected by a temperature sensor associated to a specific heating zone of the plurality of heating zones and/or a specific joint heating zone (Induction heating cooker 20A has a plurality of temperature sensors (thermistors, infrared sensors) for directly or indirectly measuring a temperature of pot 2, [0056]; heating coil unit 5C has heating coil 4E, heating coil 4F, an inverter (not illustrated), and two relays (not illustrated). The inverter and two relays are controlled by controller 9. [0068], Figs 1 and 3, Ogawa et al.), and
the control unit outputs a control signal based on the temperature parameters detected by the temperature sensor to the power unit such that the power unit controls an amount of energy supplied to the specific heating zone and/or the specific joint heating zone in order to constantly maintain a set temperature for the specific heating zone and/or the specific joint heating zone (thermistor 6A, thermistor 68, thermistor 6C, and thermistor 6D are respectively provided at centers of heating coils 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, [0057]; controller controls all inverters and all relays. Each inverter drives one or two heating coils included in each heating coil unit, [0086], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.).
Claim 10, wherein the cooking hob comprises:
at least three induction coils as heating elements (see Fig 2, Ogawa et al.), and
one power unit comprising a power circuit board, wherein the power unit is operably coupled to each of the heating elements, wherein the power unit can drive each of the heating elements separately and can drive the heating elements in combination such that all said heating elements associated to joint heating zone are driven by the power unit in a way that a temperature set for the joint heating zone can be constantly maintained (temperature sensor may be provided between heating coil units 58 and 5C. Due to the temperature sensors, even when pot 2 is placed across heating coil units 58, 5C, the temperature of pot 2 can more accurately be detected, [0072], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.).
Claim 11, wherein the cooking hob comprises at least four induction coils as heating elements (see Fig 2, Ogawa et al.), and at least two power units, each heating element of said heating elements being associated with a respective power unit, each power unit of said at least two power units comprising a power circuit board (details see Fig 3, Ogawa et al.), wherein each power unit of the at least two power units is operably coupled to respective ones of said heating elements and can drive the respective ones of said heating elements separately (details see Fig 3, Ogawa et al.) and in combination such that a temperature set for a joint heating zone of the respective ones of said heating elements can be constantly maintained (induction heating cooker 20C can respectively heat two pots using heating coil units 5A, 5C, [0074]; When one of two pots is placed across heating coil units 5A, 58, for example, induction heating cooker 20C can heat this pot by driving heating coil units 5A, 58 together, [0075] , Ogawa et al.).
Claim 13, wherein: the cooking hob is an induction cooking hob (Induction cooking appliance, See Title), wherein the heating element of each of the plurality of heating zones is an induction coil (induction coils 11, Abstract, Fig 1), or
the cooking hob is a radiant cooking hob, wherein the heating element of each of the plurality of heating zones is a radiant heating element, or
the cooking hob is a gas cooking hob, wherein the heating element of each of the plurality of heating zones is a gas burner assembly.
Claim 18, wherein: each of the plurality of heating zones (sections 1A, 1B… Section 1 A is located above heating coil unit 5A, and section 18 is located above heating coil unit 5B [0038], Figs 1-2, Ogawa et al. Note: “the plurality of heating zones” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) includes a temperature sensor (1A including thermistor 6A, 6B and infrared sensor 7A, 1B including thermistor 6C, 6D and infrared sensor 7B, [0057-0058], Fig 2, Ogawa et al.), such that the first heating zone comprises a first temperature sensor and the second heating zone comprises a second temperature sensor (details see Fig 2, Ogawa et al.),
the automatic temperature control is configured to control the first heating zone and the second heating zone as the first joint heating zone (Controller 9 controls heating coil units 5A, 5B, [0036], Fig 2, Ogawa et al. Note: “the first joint heating zone” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) in the second operation mode using parameter values from one of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor, and disregarding parameters values from the other of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor (controller 9 controls heating coils… based on detection values of infrared sensors 7 A to 7F, [0184], Ogawa et al. Note: “the second operation mode” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already).
Claim 19, wherein: each of the plurality of heating zones (sections 1A, 1B… Section 1 A is located above heating coil unit 5A, and section 18 is located above heating coil unit 5B [0038], Figs 1-2, Ogawa et al. Note: “the plurality of heating zones” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) includes a temperature sensor (1A including thermistor 6A, 6B and infrared sensor 7A, 1B including thermistor 6C, 6D and infrared sensor 7B, [0057-0058], Fig 2, Ogawa et al.), such that the first heating zone comprises a first temperature sensor and the second heating zone comprises a second temperature sensor (details see Fig 2, Ogawa et al.),
the automatic temperature control is configured to control the first heating zone and the second heating zone as the first joint heating zone (Controller 9 controls heating coil units 5A, 5B, [0036], Fig 2, Ogawa et al. Note: “the first joint heating zone” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) in the second operation mode using parameter values from both the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor to calculate a mean value (controller 9 controls heating coils… based on detection values of infrared sensors 7 A to 7F, [0184], Ogawa et al. Note: “the second operation mode” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Camli Ugur et al. disclose a cooking hob comprising:
a first heating zone including a first heating element (induction coils (11) which are arranged under the subzones (9) respectively, [0017]);
a second heating zone including a second heating element (induction coils (11) which are arranged under the subzones (9) respectively, [0017]); and
a control unit (a control unit (12), Abstract, Fig 1),
wherein the cooking hob is configured to be operated in a first operation mode in which the control unit operates the first heating zone and the second heating zone separate from each other (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.; controller controls all inverters and all relays. Each inverter drives one or two heating coils included in each heating coil unit, [0086], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.).
and a second operation mode in which the control unit operates the first heating zone and the second heating zone as a joint heating zone (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008], Camli Ugur et al.; controller controls all inverters and all relays. Each inverter drives one or two heating coils included in each heating coil unit, [0086], Figs 1-3, Ogawa et al.),
wherein in the first operation mode, the control unit is configured to operate the first heating zone according to a first set temperature for the first heating zone, and the control unit is configured to operate the second heating zone according to a second set temperature for the second heating zone that is different from the first set temperature (Clearly, “wherein in the first operation mode, the control unit is” capable of “configured to operate the first heating zone according to a first set temperature for the first heating zone, and the control unit is configured to operate the second heating zone according to a second set temperature for the second heating zone that is different from the first set temperature” as claimed), and wherein in the second operation mode, the control unit is configured to operate the first heating zone and the second heating zone as the joint heating zone according to a common set temperature (Clearly, “wherein in the second operation mode, the control unit is” capable of “configured to operate the first heating zone and the second heating zone as the joint heating zone according to a common set temperature” as claimed).
Claims 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camli Ugur et al. in view of Ogawa et al. as applied to claim 1, further in view of Meider et al. (EP 3 445 134 B1).
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, Camli Ugur et al. in view of Ogawa et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 12 and 14.
Meider et al. further teach a cooking hob (induction hob, [0001]), and Claim 12, wherein the cooking hob comprises at least one memory for storing an adjustment of temperatures on the plurality of heating zones, wherein the memory is adapted to store the adjustment of temperatures on the plurality of heating zones related to the particular cookware (usually is provided for conducting a cooking process… dependent of the type of food or cooking liquid to be heated, a cooking container or cookware item, e.g. a cooking vessel such as a pan or a pot, optionally closable with a lid, may be advantageously used, [0025]). Claim 14, wherein the cooking hob comprises at least one glass ceramic panel covering the heating area (it is known to provide a cooking support, for example in the form of a cooking surface in case of a hob… particularly a glass or glass ceramic plate, [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Camli Ugur et al. in view of Ogawa et al. with Meider et al.’s further teaching of Claims 12 and 14; because Meider et al. teach, in Para. [0001], of providing an excellent induction heating cooker with plurality of cooking zones, means for detecting whether cookware is present in the cooking zones, and a user interface for setting a power level for each of the cooking zones and for selecting whether at least two cooking zones are operated independently or as a combined cooking zone.
Claims 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camli Ugur et al. (WO2016134779 A1) in view of Meider et al. (EP 3 445 134 B1).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Camli Ugur et al. disclose a cooking hob comprising:
a plurality of heating elements (induction coils (11) which are arranged under the subzones (9) respectively, [0017], Fig 1);
a control unit (a control unit (12), Abstract, Fig 1) configured to:
operate said plurality of heating elements according to a first operation mode and a second operation mode, wherein according to the first operation mode said control unit operates one or more of said plurality of heating elements independently of one another and of any other ones of said plurality of heating elements, to yield one or more separate heating zones (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008]), and wherein according to the second operation mode said control unit operates two or more of said plurality of heating elements together in one or more groups to yield one or more joint heating zones (the user can select in one of the flexible zones with four side-by-side subzones, the two rear side-by-side subzones and a respective common power level and independently therefrom the two front side-by-side subzones and another respective common power level, [0008]);
accept one or more user inputs to configure the cooking hob to operate the plurality of heating elements in said first operation mode and/or said second operation mode (the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, if desired, concurrently in another flexible zone, [0008]),
wherein said one or more separate heating zones and said one or more joint heating zones may be selected to operated simultaneously on said cooking hob, said one or more separate heating zones and/or said one or more joint heating zones being operable to cook food within said cookware at different user-selected temperatures (cooking zones which can be flexibly combined to match with various cookwares having different sizes and shapes… the control unit generally allows, in the flexible mode, a user to combine the two subzones so as to jointly heat a comparatively large cookware and to select a preset power level, [0002]; see large cookware 6-8 with multiple heating zones and small cookware 10 with single heating zone in Fig 1);
a temperature control unit configured to control respective temperatures of the one or more separate heating zones and/or one or more joint heating zones according to their respective user-selected temperatures (driving a corresponding induction coil at one of a plurality of preset power levels… the control unit generally allows… to select a preset power level, [0002]); and
wherein a temperature adjustment for food cooking in said cookware can be achieved by repositioning said cookware from a first heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or a first joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, user-configured to operate according to a first user-selected temperature, to a second heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or a second joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, user-configured to operate according to a second user-selected temperature, without readjusting temperature settings for the associated heating zones and/or joint heating zones (cooking zones which can be flexibly combined to match with various cookwares having different sizes and shapes… the control unit generally allows, in the flexible mode, a user to combine the two subzones so as to jointly heat a comparatively large cookware and to select a preset power level, [0002]; see large cookware 6-8 with multiple heating zones and small cookware 10 with single heating zone in Fig 1).
Camli Ugur et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: a pot detection device configured to determine where on the cooking hob said cookware is placed; said control unit being further configured to activate each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, when said cookware is detected therein by said pot detection device, and to deactivate each said heating zone and/or each said joint heating zone, when said cookware is not or is no longer detected therein by said pot detection device;
Meider et al. further teach a cooking hob (induction hob, [0001]), and a pot detection device configured to determine where on the cooking hob said cookware is placed (means for detecting whether cookware is present in the cooking zones, [0005]);
said control unit (the inventive appliance comprises at least one control unit, [0043]. Note: “said control unit” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) being further configured to activate each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones (the inventive appliance comprises at least one control unit for controlling the energy power units, [0043]. Note: “said one or more separate heating zones”, “said one or more joint heating zones” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already), when said cookware is detected therein by said pot detection device, and to deactivate each said heating zone and/or each said joint heating zone, when said cookware is not or is no longer detected therein by said pot detection device (the cooking appliance automatically detects in which of the cooking zones cookware is present and thus presents respective input means for individually selecting a power level for each of the adjacent cooking zones, [0011], program options such as timer functions, automated cooking functions, [0044]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Camli Ugur et al. with Meider et al.’s further teaching of a pot detection device configured to determine where on the cooking hob said cookware is placed; said control unit being further configured to activate each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, when said cookware is detected therein by said pot detection device, and to deactivate each said heating zone and/or each said joint heating zone, when said cookware is not or is no longer detected therein by said pot detection device; because Meider et al. teach in Para. [0001], of providing an excellent induction heating cooker with plurality of cooking zones, means for detecting whether cookware is present in the cooking zones, and a user interface for setting a power level for each of the cooking zones and for selecting whether at least two cooking zones are operated independently or as a combined cooking zone.
Regarding Claim 16, Camli Ugur et al. in view of Meider et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Camli Ugur et al. further disclose:
Claim 16, said control unit and said temperature control unit both being part of a common CPU (the control unit (12) is adapted in the flexible modes, [0017]), the cooking hob further comprising a memory configured to store user-input cooking settings (allow a user to select two or more than two side-by-side subzones (9) in the same flexible zone (3, 4, 5), [0017]) comprising a configuration of the cooking hob into user-defined separate heating zones and/or joint heating zones and associated user-selected temperatures, said control unit being further configured to access said memory and recall and execute the stored user-input cooking settings for subsequent cooking operations (invention the user can initiate one or more than one instances of flexible modes for cooking in a same flexible zone and separately therefrom, [0008]).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camli Ugur et al. (WO2016134779 A1) in view of Meider et al. (EP 3 445 134 B1) as applied to Claim 15, further in view of Ogawa et al. (EP 3 509 399 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Camli Ugur et al. disclosed wherein: said plurality of heating elements are a plurality of induction coils (induction coils (11) which are arranged under the subzones (9) respectively, [0017], Fig 1),
the cooking hob further comprises a power unit (first inverter is configured to supply a high frequency current to the first and second heating coils. The second inverter is configured to supply a high frequency current to the third and fourth heating coil, [0012], Fig 3) configured to supply energy to the plurality of induction coils based on control signals from said control unit,
said temperature control unit is configured to execute closed-loop temperature control for each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones (driving a corresponding induction coil, [0002]), and
upon positioning said cookware in one heating zone of said one ore more separate heating zones, the temperature control unit is adapted to facilitate operation of the power unit to adjust the energy supplied to the one heating zone in order to rapidly adjust and maintain the cookware or contents based on the user-selected temperature for the one heating zone (driving a corresponding induction coil at one of a plurality of preset power levels… the control unit generally allows… to select a preset power level, [0002]).
Camli Ugur et al. in view of in view of Meider et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose:
the cooking hob further comprises a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors being associated with a respective heating element of said plurality of heating elements and adapted to detect a temperature parameter value associated with a temperature of a cookware disposed over the respective heating element or a temperature of contents of the cookware; and said temperature control unit is configured to execute closed-loop temperature control for each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, based on signals from the plurality of temperature sensor,
Ogawa et al. teach a cooking hob (induction heating cooker, Title), and the cooking hob further comprises a plurality of temperature sensors (a plurality of temperature sensors, [0056], Fig 2), each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors being associated with a respective heating element of said plurality of heating elements (thermistor 6A, thermistor 68, thermistor 6C, and thermistor 6D are respectively provided at centers of heating coils 4A, 4B, 4C, 4D, [0057], Fig 2. Note: “said plurality of heating elements” taught by Camli Ugur et al. already) and adapted to detect a temperature parameter value associated with a temperature of a cookware disposed over the respective heating element or a temperature of contents of the cookware (Induction heating cooker 20A has a plurality of temperature sensors (thermistors, infrared sensors) for directly or indirectly measuring a temperature of pot 2, [0056]); and said temperature control unit is configured to execute closed-loop temperature control for each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones (taught by Camli Ugur et al. already already), based on signals from the plurality of temperature sensor (controller 9, [0034], Fig 3; Heating coil units 5A, 58 are disposed below top plate 1 and configured to inductively heat pot 2 placed on top plate 1. Controller 9 controls heating coil units 5A, 5B, [0036], Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Camli Ugur et al. in view of Meider et al. with Ogawa et al.’s further teaching of the cooking hob further comprises a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors being associated with a respective heating element of said plurality of heating elements and adapted to detect a temperature parameter value associated with a temperature of a cookware disposed over the respective heating element or a temperature of contents of the cookware; and said temperature control unit is configured to execute closed-loop temperature control for each heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or each joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, based on signals from the plurality of temperature sensor; because Ogawa et al. teach, in Abstract, of providing an excellent induction heating cooker with a size of a heating zone can be changed as appropriate according to a size of a placed pot for operational convenience during processing.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments filed 01/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The same prior art used under the Non-Final Rejection been able to cover all the limitations of the amended claims.
A. The applicant's argument on Remarks, namely regarding Independent claims 1 and 15 respectively: “Camli Uger fails to disclose or suggest any automatic temperature control configured to control temperature of its first and second heating zones 9 as recited in independent claim 1 (i.e., wherein "the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first separate temperature related to the first heating zone and to control a second separate temperature related to the second heating zone ... in the first operation mode, and the automatic temperature control is configured to control a first common temperature related to the first heating zone and the second heating zone ... in the second operation mode")”, “Ogawa likewise fails to disclose controlling temperature of its heating coil units SA, SB as recited in independent claim 1 (i.e., "control[ling] a first separate temperature related to the first heating zone and to control a second separate temperature related to the second heating zone ... in the first operation mode, ... [and] control[ling] a first common temperature related to the first heating zone and the second heating zone ... in the second operation mode"). Although paragraph [0036] of Ogawa discloses that its controller 9 "controls heating coil units SA, SB," paragraph [0036] of Ogawa does not further explain how the heating coil units SA, SB are controlled. It certainly does not teach that the temperatures of the heating coil units SA, SB are controlled as recited in claim 1” and “the Office action has not identified any disclosure in the cited references that teaches controlling temperature of a heating zone. As discussed above, paragraph [0002] of Camli, Uger merely teaches controlling power level, which does not correspond to controlling temperature. Moreover, paragraph [0036] of Ogawa merely discloses "control[ling] heating coil units SA, SB," and does not further explain how the heating coil units SA, SB are controlled. Accordingly, even in combination, these references do not disclose or suggest controlling temperature of a heating zone, particularly as specified in independent claim 1”.
The examiner’s response: Camli Ugur et al. (WO2016134779 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (EP 3 509 399 A1) disclose exactly a cooking hob for a domestic or an industrial appliance as claimed, fully discloses all the recited structural limitations of Claim 1 as set forth in this office action shown above; especially Ogawa et al. further teach a cooking hob (induction heating cooker, Title), and the cooking hob further comprises an automatic temperature control (controller 9, [0034], Fig 3) for controlling a temperature of the particular cookware or for controlling a temperature of the foodstuff disposed within the particular cookware (Heating coil units 5A, 58 are disposed below top plate 1 and configured to inductively heat pot 2 placed on top plate 1. Controller 9 controls heating coil units 5A, 5B, [0036], Fig 1); and Camli Ugur et al. (WO2016134779 A1) in view of Meider et al. (EP 3 445 134 B1) disclose exactly a cooking hob as claimed, fully discloses all the recited structural limitations of Claim 15 as set forth in this office action shown above; especially Camli Ugur et al. disclose: wherein a temperature adjustment for food cooking in said cookware can be achieved by repositioning said cookware from a first heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or a first joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, user-configured to operate according to a first user-selected temperature, to a second heating zone of said one or more separate heating zones and/or a second joint heating zone of said one or more joint heating zones, user-configured to operate according to a second user-selected temperature, without readjusting temperature settings for the associated heating zones and/or joint heating zones (cooking zones which can be flexibly combined to match with various cookwares having different sizes and shapes… the control unit generally allows, in the flexible mode, a user to combine the two subzones so as to jointly heat a comparatively large cookware and to select a preset power level, [0002]; see large cookware 6-8 with multiple heating zones and small cookware 10 with single heating zone in Fig 1); “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention”; see MPEP 2173.01(I). Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection. With respect to functional limitation directed toward the properties of “controlling temperature of its heating coil”, the applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP sections 2112 and 2114; since the combination of prior art teach all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP 2112); and while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir.1997). “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2114). Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761