Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are pending.
Claim 11 is canceled.
Claim 5-6 are objected to.
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 12-21 stand rejected.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner attempted to contact Attorney Hopeton Walker by voicemail on 12/17/2025, concerning a proposed amendment to add the limitations of Claim 5 into Claim 1, and to amend the other independent Claims 18-20 to similar scope as proposed Claim 1. No reply was received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100074190 A1) in view of Ohta et al. (Pub. No.: US 20130195071 A1) and Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180084582 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Cordeiro, Ohta, and Liu.
In regard to Claim 1, Cordeiro teaches A first wireless communication device (the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: circuitry (wireless stations may comprise a host processor, Para. 11) configured to: control wireless communication (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating an association mechanism for multi-band wireless systems, Para. 14, FIG. 2) in a plurality of frequency bands that includes a first frequency band and a second frequency band (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches control transmission of a control signal to a second wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) in the second frequency band (using the first channel 150, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal includes first information that requests the second wireless communication device to provide a notification of the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100 to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal is for the wireless communication in the first frequency band (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) of the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150. The second channel 160, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches control reception of a response signal from the second wireless communication device based on the transmission of the control signal (the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Cordeiro teaches a response signal, Cordeiro fails to teach wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device.
Ohta teaches wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band (a CI (Carrier Indicator) of 3 bits is given as identification information. 0b001 (1) indicates the CC#2, Para. 75, FIG. 5. (Step S233) The base station 10 transmits the Msg2 including the CIF=0b001, Para. 168, FIG. 21) among the plurality of frequency bands (mobile station 20 sets the CC#1 and #2 as the "Configured and Activated CC", Para. 165, FIG. 21) in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device ((Step S234) By using the CC#2 indicated by the CIF=0b001, for example, the mobile station 20 transmits data to the base station 10, Para. 169, FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohta with the teachings of Cordeiro since Ohta provides a technique for devices to inform other devices of frequency resources in which to conduct further communications, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro to permit an access point to convey information that specifically identifies a channel in which a station is to conduct further communications.
Although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches a plurality of frequency bands, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determine a respective back-off period of each of the plurality of frequency bands, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches control transmission of a control signal to a second wireless communication device in the second frequency band, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach control transmission in the second frequency band based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches the first frequency band and the second frequency band, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band.
Liu teaches determine a respective back-off period of each of the plurality of frequency bands (If both the first channel and the second channel are idle, the AP starts a backoff mechanism on both the first channel and the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches control transmission in the second frequency band based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band (After the backoff ends, the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2 by using m−1 transmit paths, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel by using remaining one transmit path, to send uplink transmission scheduling control information, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9. End times of data frame transmission on the foregoing two channels are aligned, that is, transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, Para. 80, FIG. 9. The STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame to the AP at a moment t5. The AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at the moment t5, Para. 81, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta since Liu provides a technique for utilizing a backoff mechanism for wireless resecures including multiple channels, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta to permit a component carrier to be utilized after a backoff time to ensure the availability of the component carrier for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 8, the circuitry is further configured to control the reception of the response signal in at least one frequency band (the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) among the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150. The second channel 160, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2), and the response signal corresponds to the control signal (If the station does transmit an association request frame as detailed in element 250, then the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16).
In regard to Claim 18, Cordeiro teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: in a first wireless communication device (the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2): a plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches controlling transmission of a control signal (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) from the first wireless communication device (the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) to a second wireless communication device (transmitted to the access point 100, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) in the second frequency band (using the first channel 150, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches, wherein wireless communication is possible in the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal includes first information that requests the second wireless communication device to provide a notification of a first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100 to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal is for the wireless communication in the first frequency band (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) of the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150. The second channel 160, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches controlling reception of a response signal from the second wireless communication device based on the transmission of the control signal (the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Cordeiro teaches a response signal, Cordeiro fails to teach wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device.
Ohta teaches wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band (a CI (Carrier Indicator) of 3 bits is given as identification information. 0b001 (1) indicates the CC#2, Para. 75, FIG. 5. (Step S233) The base station 10 transmits the Msg2 including the CIF=0b001, Para. 168, FIG. 21) among the plurality of frequency bands (mobile station 20 sets the CC#1 and #2 as the "Configured and Activated CC", Para. 165, FIG. 21) in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device ((Step S234) By using the CC#2 indicated by the CIF=0b001, for example, the mobile station 20 transmits data to the base station 10, Para. 169, FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohta with the teachings of Cordeiro since Ohta provides a technique for devices to inform other devices of frequency resources in which to conduct further communications, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro to permit an access point to convey information that specifically identifies a channel in which a station is to conduct further communications.
Although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches a plurality of frequency bands, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determining a respective back-off period of each of a plurality of frequency bands, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches controlling transmission of a control signal from the first wireless communication device to a second wireless communication device, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach controlling, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band, transmission of a control signal to a second wireless communication device, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches the first frequency band and the second frequency band, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determining execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band.
Liu teaches determining a respective back-off period of each of a plurality of frequency bands (If both the first channel and the second channel are idle, the AP starts a backoff mechanism on both the first channel and the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches controlling, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band (After the backoff ends, on the first channel, and the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9), transmission of a control signal to a second wireless communication device (After the backoff ends, the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2 by using m−1 transmit paths, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel by using remaining one transmit path, to send uplink transmission scheduling control information, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches determining execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9. End times of data frame transmission on the foregoing two channels are aligned, that is, transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, Para. 80, FIG. 9. The STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame to the AP at a moment t5. The AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at the moment t5, Para. 81, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta since Liu provides a technique for utilizing a backoff mechanism for wireless resecures including multiple channels, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta to permit a component carrier to be utilized after a backoff time to ensure the availability of the component carrier for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 19, Cordeiro teaches A first wireless communication device (access point 100, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: circuitry configured to: control wireless communication (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating an association mechanism for multi-band wireless systems, Para. 14, FIG. 2) in a plurality of frequency bands that includes a first frequency band and a second frequency band (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches control reception of a control signal from a second wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) in the second frequency band (using the first channel 150, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches, wherein the control signal includes first information that requests the first wireless communication device to provide a notification of the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100 to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal is for the wireless communication in the first frequency band (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) of the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150. The second channel 160, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches control transmission of a response signal to the second wireless communication device based on the reception of the control signal (the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Cordeiro teaches a response signal, Cordeiro fails to teach wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device.
Ohta teaches wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band (a CI (Carrier Indicator) of 3 bits is given as identification information. 0b001 (1) indicates the CC#2, Para. 75, FIG. 5. (Step S233) The base station 10 transmits the Msg2 including the CIF=0b001, Para. 168, FIG. 21) among the plurality of frequency bands (mobile station 20 sets the CC#1 and #2 as the "Configured and Activated CC", Para. 165, FIG. 21) in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device ((Step S234) By using the CC#2 indicated by the CIF=0b001, for example, the mobile station 20 transmits data to the base station 10, Para. 169, FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohta with the teachings of Cordeiro since Ohta provides a technique for devices to inform other devices of frequency resources in which to conduct further communications, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro to permit an access point to convey information that specifically identifies a channel in which a station is to conduct further communications.
Although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches a plurality of frequency bands, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determine a respective back-off period of each of the plurality of frequency bands, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches control reception of a control signal from a second wireless communication device, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach control, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band, reception of a control signal, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches the first frequency band and the second frequency band, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band.
Liu teaches determine a respective back-off period of each of the plurality of frequency bands (If both the first channel and the second channel are idle, the AP starts a backoff mechanism on both the first channel and the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches control, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band (After the backoff ends, on the first channel, and on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9), reception of a control signal from a second wireless communication device (After the backoff ends, the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2 by using m−1 transmit paths, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel by using remaining one transmit path, to send uplink transmission scheduling control information, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9. End times of data frame transmission on the foregoing two channels are aligned, that is, transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, Para. 80, FIG. 9. The STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame to the AP at a moment t5. The AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at the moment t5, Para. 81, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta since Liu provides a technique for utilizing a backoff mechanism for wireless resecures including multiple channels, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta to permit a component carrier to be utilized after a backoff time to ensure the availability of the component carrier for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 20, A wireless communication method, comprising: in a first wireless communication device (the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2): a plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches controlling reception of a control signal (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) by the first wireless communication device (access point 100, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) in the second frequency band (using the first channel 150, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches, wherein wireless communication is possible in the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150 is a 2.4 GHz spectrum band and/or 5 GHz band channel. The second channel 160 may be configured to communicate over an MM-wave (e.g., 60 GHz) protocol, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal includes first information that requests the first wireless communication device to provide a notification of a first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame is transmitted to the access point 100 to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches the control signal is for the wireless communication in the first frequency band (an association request (ASS-REQ) frame to request communication in the second channel 160 (element 250), Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2) of the plurality of frequency bands (the first channel 150. The second channel 160, Para. 14, FIGS. 1, 2).
Cordeiro teaches controlling transmission of a response signal to the second wireless communication device based on the reception of the control signal (the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Cordeiro teaches a response signal, Cordeiro fails to teach wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band among the plurality of frequency bands in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device.
Ohta teaches wherein the response signal includes second information that indicates the first frequency band (a CI (Carrier Indicator) of 3 bits is given as identification information. 0b001 (1) indicates the CC#2, Para. 75, FIG. 5. (Step S233) The base station 10 transmits the Msg2 including the CIF=0b001, Para. 168, FIG. 21) among the plurality of frequency bands (mobile station 20 sets the CC#1 and #2 as the "Configured and Activated CC", Para. 165, FIG. 21) in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the second wireless communication device ((Step S234) By using the CC#2 indicated by the CIF=0b001, for example, the mobile station 20 transmits data to the base station 10, Para. 169, FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohta with the teachings of Cordeiro since Ohta provides a technique for devices to inform other devices of frequency resources in which to conduct further communications, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro to permit an access point to convey information that specifically identifies a channel in which a station is to conduct further communications.
Although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches a plurality of frequency bands, determining a respective back-off period of each of a plurality of frequency bands, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches controlling reception of a control signal by the first wireless communication device, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach controlling, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band, reception of a control signal, and although Cordeiro in view of Ohta teaches the first frequency band and the second frequency band, Cordeiro in view of Ohta fails to teach determining execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band.
Liu teaches determining a respective back-off period of each of a plurality of frequency bands (If both the first channel and the second channel are idle, the AP starts a backoff mechanism on both the first channel and the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches controlling, based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band (After the backoff ends, on the first channel, and on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9), reception of a control signal by the first wireless communication device (After the backoff ends, the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2 by using m−1 transmit paths, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel by using remaining one transmit path, to send uplink transmission scheduling control information, Para. 77, FIG. 9).
Liu teaches determining execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (the AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel at a moment t2, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, Para. 77, FIG. 9. End times of data frame transmission on the foregoing two channels are aligned, that is, transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, Para. 80, FIG. 9. The STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame to the AP at a moment t5. The AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at the moment t5, Para. 81, FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta since Liu provides a technique for utilizing a backoff mechanism for wireless resecures including multiple channels, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta to permit a component carrier to be utilized after a backoff time to ensure the availability of the component carrier for transmissions.
In regard to Claim 21, Cordeiro teaches the circuitry is further configured to determine that reception of the control signal is in the second frequency band (If the station does transmit an association request frame as detailed in element 250, then the access point 100 transmits and the station receives an association response frame (ASS-RSP) in element 260 to confirm association with the station, Para. 16, FIGS. 1, 2).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Ohta, Liu, and further in view of Min et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190297674 A1), hereafter referred to as Min.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the control signal.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the control signal is a signal for synchronized transmission in at least two or more frequency bands among the plurality of frequency bands.
Min teaches the control signal is a signal for synchronized transmission in at least two or more frequency bands among the plurality of frequency bands (when it is determined that the second channel has become available, encode a header of one of the subframes transmitted on the first channel to indicate a switch, by the AP 502, to synchronized transmission of subframes on the first and second channels in accordance with the multi-band layer-1 aggregation, Para. 91, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Min with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Min provides a technique for indicating and conducting synchronized data transmission on different frequency channels, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Ohta, Liu, and further in view of Dong (Pub. No.: US 20220231824 A1), hereafter referred to as Dong.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the circuitry.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to control the transmission of the control signal for the wireless communication in the first frequency band which is in an idle state.
Dong teaches the circuitry is further configured to control the transmission of the control signal for the wireless communication in the first frequency band which is in an idle state (In step 303, the first device sends the multi-band transmission connection establishment message frame on the at least two frequency bands when the at least two frequency bands are all in the idle state, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the circuitry.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to: determine whether the first frequency band in the idle state is present; and based on a determination that the first frequency band in the idle state is present, control the transmission of the control signal in the second frequency band.
Dong teaches the circuitry is further configured to: determine whether the first frequency band in the idle state is present; and based on a determination that the first frequency band in the idle state is present, control the transmission of the control signal in the second frequency band (The first device senses the state of each channel on the at least two frequency bands by using a clear channel assessment (CCA). If the sensed signal strength is below the threshold, the channel state is determined to be idle, Para. 56. In step 303, the first device sends the multi-band transmission connection establishment message frame on the at least two frequency bands when the at least two frequency bands are all in the idle state, Para. 58, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the first wireless communication unit.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to control the reception of the response signal in a plurality of frequency bands.
Dong teaches the circuitry is further configured to control the reception of the response signal in a plurality of frequency bands (the second device sends a multi-band transmission connection response message frame on the at least two frequency bands, Para. 60, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the circuitry.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to control exchange of capability information between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device.
Dong teaches the circuitry is further configured to control exchange of capability information between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (In step 801, the first device generates a first message frame, and the first message frame carries first capability information, and the first capability information is used to indicate that simultaneous data transmission on at least two frequency bands is supported by the first device, Para. 127, FIG. 8. In step 802, the first device sends the first message frame, Para. 131, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the control signal.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the capability information includes information that indicates whether the control signal and the response signal corresponding to the control signal are transmittable and receivable.
Dong teaches the capability information includes information that indicates whether the control signal and the response signal corresponding to the control signal are transmittable and receivable (In step 801, the first device generates a first message frame, and the first message frame carries first capability information, and the first capability information is used to indicate that simultaneous data transmission on at least two frequency bands is supported by the first device, Para. 127, FIG. 8. In step 802, the first device sends the first message frame, Para. 131, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the first wireless communication device.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the capability information includes information that indicates the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device.
Dong teaches the capability information includes information that indicates the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed by the first wireless communication device (In step 801, the first device generates a first message frame, and the first message frame carries first capability information, and the first capability information is used to indicate that simultaneous data transmission on at least two frequency bands is supported by the first device, Para. 127, FIG. 8. In step 802, the first device sends the first message frame, Para. 131, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Dong provides a technique for indicating and conducting simultaneous data transmission on different frequency bands, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit synchronized transmissions through a multi-band arrangement that is configured through control messaging between devices that have the capabilities to perform multi-band communications.
Claim(s) 7, 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Ohta, Liu, and further in view of Shirakata et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110261764 A1), hereafter referred to as Shirakata.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the control signal.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the control signal further includes fifth information that indicates a specific period in which the wireless communication is performed.
Shirakata teaches the control signal further includes fifth information that indicates a specific period in which the wireless communication is performed (packet which includes information indicating the active period and one or more candidate channels, Para. 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shirakata with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Shirakata provides a technique for sending indications of candidate channels that include a form of prioritization, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit component carriers to have priority in messages improve the selection of component carriers by mobile stations.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the response signal.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the response signal further includes third information that indicates a specific period in which the wireless communication is performed.
Shirakata teaches the response signal further includes third information that indicates a specific period in which the wireless communication is performed (packet which includes information indicating the active period and one or more candidate channels, Para. 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shirakata with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Shirakata provides a technique for sending indications of candidate channels that include a form of prioritization, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit component carriers to have priority in messages improve the selection of component carriers by mobile stations.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the response signal.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the signal further includes third information that indicates a plurality of candidates for the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed.
Shirakata teaches the signal further includes third information that indicates a plurality of candidates for the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed (the first beacon packet includes a plurality of candidate channels of which a priority order is defined, Para. 49. When a plurality of candidate channels are set in the beacon packet previously successfully received, one of them may be arbitrarily selected. When the plurality of candidate channels are prioritized, the highest-priority channel may be selected, Para. 165, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shirakata with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Shirakata provides a technique for sending indications of candidate channels that include a form of prioritization, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit component carriers to have priority in messages improve the selection of component carriers by mobile stations.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the circuitry.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to: select the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed from the a plurality of candidates indicated by the third information; and control the wireless communication in the selected first frequency band.
Shirakata teaches the circuitry is further configured to: select the first frequency band in which the wireless communication is to be performed from the a plurality of candidates indicated by the third information; and control the wireless communication in the selected first frequency band (the first beacon packet includes a plurality of candidate channels of which a priority order is defined, Para. 49. When a plurality of candidate channels are set in the beacon packet previously successfully received, one of them may be arbitrarily selected. When the plurality of candidate channels are prioritized, the highest-priority channel may be selected, Para. 165, FIG. 11. In step S206, the first communication terminal 120-1 performs the channel change process for changing the use channel, Para. 157, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shirakata with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Shirakata provides a technique for sending indications of candidate channels that include a form of prioritization, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit component carriers to have priority in messages improve the selection of component carriers by mobile stations.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Ohta, Liu, and further in view of Patil et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190082373 A1), hereafter referred to as Patil.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu teaches the circuitry.
Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu fails to teach the circuitry is further configured to control the wireless communication in the first frequency band that is indicated by the second information.
Patil teaches the circuitry is further configured to control the wireless communication in the first frequency band that is indicated by the second information (At 720, STA 115-b may transmit multiple packets to AP 105-b using multiple links (e.g., as indicated by the capabilities indication at 710). At 725, the AP 105-b may transmit a BA, in response to the received packets, based at least in part on the established BA session, Para. 77, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patil with the teachings of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu since Patil provides a technique for mobile stations to indicate multiple links to an access point, which can be introduced into the system of Cordeiro in view of Ohta and Liu to permit a mobile station to convey indication of component carriers to a base station.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of References Responsive to the Amendment
Liu teaches in Para. 77 and FIG. 9, an AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, after a backoff ends, and this is substantively the same as control transmission in the second frequency band based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band of Claim 1.
Liu teaches in Para. 77-81 and FIG. 9, an AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel at a moment t2, and transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, and STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame and the AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at a moment t5, and this is substantively the same as determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 12 of the Remarks presents the argument that The Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Cordeiro, Ohta, and Liu does not teach, suggest, or render obvious at least, for example, the newly presented features of "control transmission of a control signal to a second wireless communication device in the second frequency band based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band ... determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Liu teaches in Para. 77 and FIG. 9, an AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel, and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel, after a backoff ends, and this is substantively the same as control transmission in the second frequency band based on an end of the respective back-off period for the second frequency band of Claim 1. Liu teaches in Para. 77-81 and FIG. 9, an AP starts downlink transmission on the first channel and simultaneously sends a trigger frame on the second channel at a moment t2, and transmission on the two channels ends at a moment t4, and STA 1 sends an uplink ACK/BA frame and the AP also sends a downlink ACK/BA frame to the STA 2 at a moment t5, and this is substantively the same as determine execution of synchronized communication in the first frequency band and the second frequency band of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
12-20-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477