DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment filed May 13, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Claim 9, lines 7-8, “the guide roller has a cylindrical rolling element that engages the guide groove at an engagement region;” and
Claim 9, lines 25-28, “wherein the clean water is introduced upstream of the guide roller such that the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement portion before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water cools the ring saw blade” [emphasis added].
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9, lines 7-8 recite, “the guide roller has a cylindrical rolling element that engages the guide groove at an engagement region;” and Claim 9, lines 25-28, “wherein the clean water is introduced upstream of the guide roller such that the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water cools the ring saw blade” [emphasis added]. Applicant’s disclosure does not appear to provide antecedent basis for or define the scope of “an engagement region.” Given the context of the claim limitation, this claim term could be interpreted as referring to the contact region between the guide roller and the groove of the ring saw blade, i.e., the “mechanically highly stressed contact regions” described in page 18, lines 18-25 of Applicant’s Specification, which states, “water is fed in within the receiving space 33 of the tool holder 5 adjoining the guide roller 41. The still clean water flows around the rolling elements 46, 47 of the guide roller 41. The mechanically highly stressed contact regions can be kept free from sludge, or at least the entry of sludge is reduced in the contact regions. In a preferred embodiment, the rolling elements 46, 47 are situated upstream of the receiving space 33 in the direction of flow of the water. The water flows around at least one section of the rolling elements 46 before the water comes into contact with dust, sludge etc. in the receiving space 33” [emphasis added]. Further, Applicant’s Specification states in page 18, line 32 – page 19, line 8, “[c]hannels 84 in the ring saw 2 carry the water from the water connection 83 into the receiving space 33 of the tool holder 5. The water preferably enters the receiving space 33 at or close to the guide rollers 41. For example, the water is fed in via the pot 53 in which the rolling elements 46, 47 are arranged. The water flows over the rolling elements 46, 47 into the receiving space 33. Rolling element 46 is thus situated upstream of the receiving space 33 in the direction of flow of the inflowing water. In particular, the water flows over the highly stressed lateral surfaces 49 into the receiving space 33. An outlet 85 of the channel 84 is directed at the lateral surface 49 or at a surface 86 of the rolling element 46 which faces away from the receiving space 33, for example.” Here, Applicant’s Specification notes “the water flows over the highly stressed lateral surfaces 49 into the receiving space 33.” However, this does not provide support for “the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller,” as presently claimed.
As best understood, since guide roller (46) rotates about axis (48), when water enters the pot (53) from channel (54) and comes into contact with surface (14) of guide roller (46) facing away from ring saw blade, the water might be initially dragged in the tangential direction with respect to the location at which the water contacts guide roller (46). As guide roller (46) continues to rotate and more water continuously enters pot (53), the clean water begins to move radially outward as the water “flow[s] around the cylindrical rolling element” in conjunction with the rotation of guide roller (46), eventually reaching the peripheral edge of the cylindrical rolling element, i.e., “highly stressed lateral surfaces 49.” Perhaps, the water flows over the edge of the cylindrical rolling element when that particular portion of the highly stressed lateral surface is positioned within pot (53). In this way, the clean water flows around the lateral edge portion of the cylindrical rolling element before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water then comes into contact with the ring saw blade, whereby heat is transferred into the water from the ring saw blade, thereby cooling the ring saw blade. As currently written, the claimed engagement region only appears to include the region in which the guide roller engages the groove of the ring saw blade. Given this interpretation, the engagement region is positioned within the receiving space, and the water must enter the receiving space before flowing around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region.
Claims 9, 12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9, lines 25-28, “wherein the clean water is introduced upstream of the guide roller such that the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water cools the ring saw blade” [emphasis added]. As currently written, the engagement region appears to be defined as “the guide roller has a cylindrical rolling element that engages the guide groove at an engagement region” (claim 9, lines 7-8), i.e., at the contact point between the cylindrical rolling element and the guide groove. However, this does not appear to be supported. With this interpretation, the water enters the receiving space before reaching the engagement region (i.e., the contact point). Therefore, it is unclear what can or cannot be included within the scope of “the engagement region” and it is unclear what Applicant intends to be included within the scope of “the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller.” For purposes of examination, and as best understood, this limitation will be interpreted as the water spreads to a peripheral edge region of the cylindrical rolling element before entering the receiving space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claims 9, 12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andes Stihl (DE 900 493), herein referred to as Stihl, in view of Denis (US Patent 4,817,692), Edgerton (US Patent 5,092,044), and Zeng (CN209021338). Regarding claim 9, Stihl discloses a ring saw (fig. 1), comprising:
a ring saw blade (1) defining a cutting plane (bisecting oppositely directed teeth 2; fig. 4) and having a guide groove (at narrowed web portion 28 of ring saw blade 1); a tool holder (4), wherein the tool holder (4) includes: a receiving space (i.e., the interior space within tool holder 4; see figs. 4 and 5) in which the ring saw blade (1) is disposed (figs. 1, 4 and 5), and a guide roller (30, 35) that is disposed on a side of the cutting plane (i.e., left-hand side of figs. 4 and 5) and guides the ring saw blade in the cutting plane from the side of the cutting plane (translation, para. 0012, lines 7-10), wherein the guide roller has a cylindrical rolling element (the outer peripheral surface thereof) that engages the guide groove (translation, para. 0012, lines 7-10) at an engagement region (contact point between cylindrical rolling element and tapered transition surface of guide groove); a driving wheel (22) driven by a motor (via gears 19, 20) so as to drive the ring saw blade in the cutting plane (translation, para. 0011, lines 10-14); wherein the guide roller (30, 35) is disposed upstream of the receiving space (the guide rollers are disposed within the receiving space).
Stihl fails to disclose a water flushing system configured to introduce clean water into the receiving space so as to cool the ring saw blade during operation and to flush sludge in the engagement region with the clean water, wherein the sludge is formed from previously introduced clean water mixing with dust in the receiving space during operation, and wherein the clean water is introduced upstream of the guide roller such that the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water cools the ring saw blade. However, the teaching of the following prior art is pertinent to the aforementioned limitations: A. Denis teaches it is known in the art of applying fluids to sawing machines that include a ring saw blade (5) to provide lubricating fluid grooves (241; fig. 2) extending from a lubricating station (243) to an outlet in countersunk portion (35) of each respective pocket (63) of corresponding guide roller (idler gear 165). Denis teaches the outlet directs the fluid at a side of guide roller (165) through which the rotational axis of the guide roller (165) extends (fig. 17). As such, the lubricating fluid is introduced upstream of guide roller (165) such that the fluid flows around the cylindrical rolling element (i.e., the peripheral edges of guide roller 165) at the engagement region before being introduced into a receiving space (i.e., area of housing groove 67 formed by respective tracks 25 located outside of pocket 63; fig. 4) where the fluid lubricates the interface between guide roller (165) and ring saw blade (5; fig. 18). B. Edgerton teaches it is known in the art of water flushing systems for portable sawing machines to provide a water flushing system that includes an outlet (50) directed at a surface of a cylindrical rolling element of a guide roller (nose sprocket 36) that faces away from the receiving space (at the nose of the guide bar), wherein the guide roller is disposed upstream of the receiving space in a direction of flow of water of the water flushing system (nose sprocket 36 is positioned within the receiving space and extends therethrough) such that the water of the water flushing system flows over the surface of the cylindrical rolling element that faces away from the receiving space before the water comes into contact with dust in the receiving space caused by the ring saw blade during a sawing operation (col. 4, line 33 – col. 5, line 11). The teaching of Edgerton suggests the use of water as the fluid in the flushing system and positioning the nozzle directly at the side of the guide roller facing away from the respective tool element being guided. C. Zeng teaches it is known in the art of portable saw devices to provide water nozzles (81) that spray cooling water into the cutting region around saw blade (70). On page 3, lines 13-15 of the translation, Zeng states, “the two nozzle 81 simultaneously spray cooling water to the sawing portion of the workpiece, which not only prevents the saw blade 70 from heating, but also prevents the dust generated during the sawing process from flying.” It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the ring saw of Stihl with the teaching of Denis, Edgerton, and Zeng such that a water flushing system configured to introduce clean water into the receiving space so as to cool the ring saw blade during operation and to flush sludge in the engagement region with the clean water, wherein the sludge is formed from previously introduced clean water mixing with dust in the receiving space during operation, and wherein the clean water is introduced upstream of the guide roller such that the clean water flows around the cylindrical rolling element at the engagement region before being introduced into the receiving space adjacent the guide roller where the water cools the ring saw blade in order to prevent the buildup of excessive heat generated during the sawing operation and to prevent dust and debris from the sawing operation from getting stuck in the guide roller, thereby reducing any potential rolling resistance between the guide roller and the ring saw blade due to the build of dust and debris in the tool holder.
Regarding claim 12, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above includes the cylindrical rolling element (Stihl 30,35) is disposed in a pot (pocket 63, as taught by Denis) which is sealed off from a machine housing (i.e., connected only by fluid conduit 241, as taught by Denis) and which has an opening facing the receiving space (Denis, fig. 4). Regarding claim 15, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above includes wherein the outlet is disposed within the pot (Denis, countersunk portion 35 is located within pocket 63).
Regarding claim 17, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above includesan outlet of the water flushing system (Denis teaches an outlet of fluid conduit 241 enters pocket 63, i.e., pot, through countersunk portion 35 which is located along the rotational axis of idler gear 165, i.e., guide roller) is directed at a surface of the cylindrical rolling element positioned within pocket 63) faces away from the receiving space (i.e., arranged perpendicular thereto). As modified in view of the teaching of Denis, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above positions a similar fluid outlet proximate to the rotational axis of guide roller (30, 35), wherein due to the orientation of guide roller (30, 35), the modified opening directs the fluids at the side of guide roller (30, 35) that faces inward away from the receiving space (Stihl, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above includes the cylindrical rolling element is upstream of the receiving space in a direction of flow of the water (as shown by fig. 4 of Denis).
Regarding claim 19, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above includes the introduction of the clean water reduces the entry of the sludge in the engagement region (as taught by Denis, Edgerton, and Zeng).
As best understood, Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stihl (DE 900 493), Denis (US Patent 4,817,692), Edgerton (US Patent 5,092,044), and Zeng (CN209021338) in further view of Dravta (US Publication 2015/0183027), Yasumi et al (JP 59030645), herein referred to as Yasumi, and Englesberg et al (US Patent 3,420,184), herein referred to as Englesberg.
Regarding claim 16, the modified ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above fails to specifically disclose the water flushing system has a channel with has a helical portion that extends around an axis of rotation of the guide roller. However, the teaching of the following references is pertinent to the aforementioned limitation: A. Dravta teaches it is known in the art of lubricating and cooling guide rollers (e.g., guide roller 1, depicted in fig. 6A) to provide a water flushing system (para. 0042) with a channel (12), wherein the channel (12) has a helical portion (para. 0041, lines 9-14) that extends around an axis of rotation of a guide roller (1). In the embodiment of fig. 7, Dravta teaches, “the respective bearing journal 13 is made as a component of the roller core 10 and projects into the bearing mount 3 in which it is surrounded by an outer plain bearing 14. The channel 15 in the bearing mount 3 in the latter has dimensions such that it surrounds the outer plain bearing 14 on the face side so that the coolant can flow in between the plain bearing 14 and the bearing mount 3. This inflowing coolant, which is preferably water, thus contributes to the lubrication of the plain bearing 14” (para. 0044, lines 1-10) [emphasis added]. B. Yasumi teaches it is known in the art of water flushing systems for rotary power tools that water can either be fed into a chamber (44) in the tool holder which then enters through a single hole (28) in a rotary body (e.g., figs. 1-3) after being scooped by curved plate (38), or alternatively, water can be forcibly pressed through chamber (44) via helical screw element (52) into hole (28) into rotary body (18). Yasumi teaches helical screw element (52) forms a groove extending around a rotational axis of rotary body (18), as shown in fig. 5. C. Englesberg teaches it is known in the art of water flushing systems to provide a rotary body (21) that rotates about a rotational axis (annotated fig. 1) within bearing (18), wherein a helical groove (18) is formed in rotary body (21) that extends around of rotary body (21). Englesberg teaches water is pumped through bearing (18) to nozzles (46) that direct water to a back side rotary disc (22).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the ring saw of Stihl substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Dravta, Yasumi and Englesberg, such that the water flushing system of Stihl includes additional cooling and lubrication channels for the guide rollers, wherein the channels include a helical portion extending around an axis of rotation of the guide roller in order to effectively cool the surface of the guide roller (Dravta, para. 0043) and to effectively lubricate the internal rotational bearing surfaces of the guide roller (Dravta, para. 0044, lines 1-10). Moreover, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art because the rotary action of the helical groove and axial positioning of the associated nozzles proximate to the side of the guide roller facing away from the receiving space (as suggested by Englesberg) eliminates any concerns regarding contamination as with conventional bearing lubrication (Dravta, para. 0044, lines 13-16) and allows a direct feed of the water to a specific location on the guide roller. Thus, the aforementioned modification would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention because one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL A DAVIES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 August 16, 2026
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724