DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Application
This final action on the merits is in response to the remarks and received by the office on 04 June 2025. Claims 1, 3-7, 13-15, 41-43, 47-49, 70-74, and 135-142 are pending. Claims 2, 8-12, 76 and 77 are newly cancelled. Claims 135-142 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 15, 41, and 48 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 13-15, 41-43, 47, 49, 70-74, and 135-142 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,486,962 to Dugan et al. (‘962) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0167160 to Calle Hellestam (‘160 hereafter) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0066190 to Klein et al. (‘190 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘962 teaches a processing machine for building a three-dimensional object from powder, the processing machine comprising: a build platform (C3L52-C3L56); a powder supply assembly that distributes the powder onto the build platform to form a powder layer (Fig 3A entire) the powder supply assembly includes (i) a powder container that retains the powder (Fig 3A item 30); (ii) a supply outlet positioned over the build platform (Fig 3A item 32); and (iii) a flow control assembly that selectively controls the flow of the powder from the supply outlet (Fig 3A item 32). ‘962 does not teach an energy system or a plurality of vibration generators as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘160 teaches an energy system that directs an energy beam at a portion of the powder on the build platform to form a portion of the object (Fig 1 item 1) for the benefit of solidifying the nascent additively manufactured object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings ‘962 with those of ‘160. ‘962 in view of ‘160 does not teach the plurality of vibration generators as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘190 teaches a plurality of spaced apart vibration generators that are coupled to the powder container, each of the plurality of vibration generators being configured to selectively vibrate a portion of the powder container (Fig 7 items 50, paragraphs 0040 and 0048-0049) for the benefit of selectively depositing powder. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘190 for the benefit of selectively depositing powder.
Regarding claim 3, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow control assembly further includes a flow controller (Fig 3A item 32) that allows the powder to flow therethrough upon vibration of the powder supply container by the plurality vibration generators (C4L61-C5L7).
Regarding claim 4, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow controller allows the powder to flow therethrough upon sufficient vibration of the powder container by the plurality of vibration generators; and wherein the flow controller inhibits flow of the powder therethrough when there is insufficient vibration of the powder container by the vibration generators (C4L61-C5L7).
Regarding claim 5, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow controller includes at least one mesh screen (Fig 3A item 32).
Regarding claim 6, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow controller includes a flow structure having a plurality of flow apertures that extend through the flow structure, and wherein at least one of the flow apertures has an aperture size that is larger than a nominal particle size of the powder particles (Fig 3a item 32).
Regarding claim 7, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein a plurality of the flow apertures have an aperture size that is larger than the nominal particle size of the powder (Fig 3A item 32).
Regarding claim 8, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the vibration generator selectively vibrates the powder container (C5L30-C5L35).
Regarding claim 9, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the powder container comprises two walls that slope towards each other from a first end to the second end in which the flow controller is located, and the at least one vibration generator is provided on at least one of the walls (Fig 2C item 34).
Regarding claim 10, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein an angle of the walls is determined based upon a type of powder (C5L30-C5L35).
Regarding claim 11, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the plurality of vibration generators are provided at the both of two walls (Fig 2C item 34 providing contact or sources of vibration on either side of the device).
Regarding claim 12, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow controller is elongated in a first direction crossing the build platform, and the plurality of vibration generators are provided at the both of two walls along with the first direction (Fig 2C item 32 and 34).
Regarding claim 13, ‘962 teaches the processing wherein the flow control assembly further includes a shutter assembly that selectively controls the flow of the powder from the supply outlet (Fig 3B item 34).
Regarding claim 14, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the shutter assembly includes a first shutter, and a first shutter mover that selectively moves the first shutter to selectively control the flow of the powder from the supply outlet (C5L 21-C5L24)
Regarding claim 15, ‘962 in view of ‘160 does not teach a second shutter and second shutter mover. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to duplicate the shutter assembly of the prior art since it has been held that absent unexpected results, mere duplication of parts involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) B). One possessed of ordinary skill at the time would have been possessed to duplicate the shutters side by side to selectively control the deposition of powder across the width of the deposition device or alternatively duplicate the shutters in series to control dosed amounts of powder from the bulk source.
Regarding claim 41, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the powder supply assembly includes a first supply module that deposits the powder on the build platform (Fig 3B item 46), and a second supply module that deposits the powder into the first supply module (Fig 3B item 30).
Regarding claim 42, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein at least one of the supply modules includes (i) a powder container that retains the powder (Fig 3A item 30); (ii) a supply outlet positioned over the build platform (Fig 3A item 32); and (iii) a flow control assembly that selectively controls the flow of the powder from the supply outlet (Fig 3B item 32).
Regarding claim 43, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein for the at least one supply module, the flow control assembly includes a flow controller and a vibration generator that selectively vibrates at least a portion of the supply module; wherein, the flow controller allows powder flow therethrough upon sufficient vibration of the supply module by the vibration generator; and wherein, the flow controller inhibits flow therethrough when there is insufficient vibration of the supply module by the vibration generator (Figs 2C and 3B items 32 and 34).
Regarding claim 47, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the supply modules are arranged in series (Figs 3A 3B items 30 and 46).
Regarding claim 49, ‘962 does not teach a build platform which moves during powder deposition. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘160 teaches the processing machine wherein the build platform is being moved relative to the powder supply assembly while the powder supply assembly deposits the powder onto the build platform (paragraph 0057) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 70, ‘962 teaches the processing machine comprising a powder supply device which supplies the powder to the moving build platform (Fig 3B item 32). ‘962 does not teach a mover or a measurement device as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘160 teaches a mover that moves the build platform so a specific position on the build platform is moved along a moving direction (Fig 1 item 8); wherein the energy system irradiates at least a portion of the powder layer with an energy beam to form at least a portion of the part from the powder layer during a first period of time (paragraph 0031); and (iv) a measurement device which measures at least portion of the object during a second period of time (paragraph 0065); wherein at least part of the first period in which the energy system device irradiates the powder with the energy beam and at least part of the second period in which the measurement device measures are overlapped (paragraph 0065) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 71, ‘160 teaches the processing machine further comprising: (i) a mover which moves the build platform so as to move a specific position on the build platform along a moving direction (Fig 1 item 8); and (ii) a powder supply assembly which supplies a powder to the build platform which moves, and forms a powder layer (Fig 1 item 6); wherein the energy system changes an irradiation position where the energy beam is irradiated to the powder layer along a direction crossing the moving direction (Fig 1 items 1 and 21) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 72, ‘160 teaches the processing machine further comprising: (i) a mover which moves the build platform so as to move a specific position on the build platform along a moving direction (Fig 1 item 8); (ii) a powder supply assembly which supplies a powder to the build platform which moves, and forms a powder layer (Fig 1 item 6); and wherein the energy system includes a plurality of irradiation systems which irradiate the layer with an energy beam to form a built part from the powder layer, wherein the irradiation systems arranged along a direction crossing the moving direction (Fig 1 items 1 and 21) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 73, ‘160 teaches the processing machine comprising a mover that rotates at least one of the build platform and the powder supply assembly about a rotation axis while the powder supply assembly deposits the powder onto the build platform (Fig 1 item 8 and paragraph 0057) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 74, ‘160 teaches the processing machine comprising: a mover which moves the build platform so a specific position on the build platform is moved along a moving direction (Fig 1 item 8); wherein the powder supply assembly supplies the powder to the moving build platform to form a powder layer during a powder supply time (fig 1 item 6 and paragraph 0031); and wherein the energy system irradiates at least a portion of the powder layer with the energy beam to form at least a portion of the object from the powder layer during an irradiation time (Fig w items 1 and 21 and paragraph 0031);and wherein at least part of the powder supply time and the irradiation time are overlapped (paragraph 0031) for the benefit of continuously forming the nascent object. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘962 with those of ‘160 for the benefit of continuously additive manufacturing an object of powder.
Regarding claim 135, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the powder container includes a top, container distal end, a bottom, container proximal end, and a first wall that extends from the container distal end to the container proximal end (Fig 3). ‘962 does not teach the plurality of vibration generators. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘190 teaches the plurality of vibration generators are coupled to the first wall, each of the plurality of vibration generators being configured to vibrate a portion of the first wall of the powder container (Fig 7 items 50, paragraphs 0040 and 0048-0049) for the benefit of selectively depositing powder. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘190 for the benefit of selectively depositing powder.
Regarding claim 136, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow control assembly further includes a flow controller that allows the powder to flow therethrough upon vibration of the powder container by the plurality of vibration generators, the flow controller being elongated in a first direction crossing the build platform (Fig 3A item 32). ‘962 does not teach the plurality of vibration generators. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘190 teaches the plurality of vibration generators are spaced apart from each other in the first direction along the first wall (Fig 7 items 50, paragraphs 0040 and 0048-0049) for the benefit of selectively depositing powder. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘190 for the benefit of selectively depositing powder.
Regarding claim 137, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the first wall is tapered relative to vertical from the container distal end to the container proximal end (Fig 3A).
Regarding claim 138, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the powder container further includes an opposed second wall that extends from the container distal end to the container proximal end (Fig 3A).
Regarding claim 139, ‘190 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow control assembly further includes a plurality of spaced apart second vibration generators that are coupled to the second wall of the powder container, each of the plurality of second vibration generators being configured to vibrate a portion of the second wall of the powder container (Fig 7 items 50, paragraphs 0040 and 0048-0049) for the benefit of selectively depositing powder. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘190 for the benefit of selectively depositing powder.
Regarding claim 140, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the flow control assembly further includes a flow controller that allows the powder to flow therethrough upon vibration of the powder container by the plurality of vibration generators and the plurality of second vibration generators, the flow controller being elongated in a first direction crossing the build platform; wherein the plurality of vibration generators are spaced apart from each other in the first direction along the first wall (Fig 3A item 32) ‘962 does not teach the plurality of vibration generators. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘190 teaches a plurality of second vibration generators are spaced apart from each other in the first direction along the second wall (Fig 7 items 50, paragraphs 0040 and 0048-0049) for the benefit of selectively depositing powder. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘190 for the benefit of selectively depositing powder.
Regarding claim 141, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein the first wall and the second wall of the powder container are sloped toward each other from the container distal end to the container proximal end (Fig 3A).
Regarding claim 142, ‘962 teaches the processing machine wherein an angle of the first wall and the second wall being sloped toward each other is determined, at least in part, by a type of the powder (C5L30-C5L35).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘962 in view of ‘160 as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0214335 to Brian David Cox (‘335 hereafter).
Regarding claim 48, ‘962 in view of ‘160 does not teach a third supply module. In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, teaches the processing machine wherein the powder supply assembly includes a third supply module that the deposits powder into the second supply module (Fig 5 item 270) for the benefit of supplying recycled and fresh powder to the additive manufacturing apparatus. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teaching of ‘962 in view of ‘160 with those of ‘355 for the benefit of providing new and recycled powder to the processing machine.
Response to Arguments
In support of the patentability of the instant application, applicant has argued that the previously applied prior art does not teach the claims as instantly amended. Examiner agrees. Accordingly, an updated search for the newly added limitations was conducted and newly identified relevant prior art is applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743