DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response, filed 03 August 2026, has been fully considered. The following
rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set
presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority. Application is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/070176 and claims the benefit of priority to EP 19186818.1 filed 7/17/2019. As such, the effective filing date of claims 1-15 is 7/17/2019.
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. §101 for being directed to software per se in the Office action mailed 5/7/2026 is withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 8/03/2026.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been reviewed, updated, and provided below.
In view of applicant’s amendments to claim 15, previous the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to software per se is withdrawn.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite a method, system and CRM for determining a treatment for a tumor. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because while claims 1-15 attempt to integrate the exception into a practical application, said application is either generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea, or it is insignificant extra solution activity and simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer elements only store and retrieve information in memory as well as perform basic calculations that are known to be well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions as recognized by the decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Framework with which to Analyze Subject Matter Eligibility:
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a category of statutory subject matter (a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? [see MPEP § 2106.03]
Claims are directed to statutory subject matter, specifically methods (claims 1-12), an apparatus (claim 13), a system (claim 14), and a CRM (claim 15).
Claims 2 and 4 are contingent limitations [See MPEP § 2111.04] – “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”. However, in the interest of compact prosecution analysis under 35 U.S.C. 101 is continued below.
Step 2A Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon? [see MPEP § 2106.04(a)]
The claims herein recite abstract ideas, mental processes and mathematical concepts.
With respect to the Step 2A Prong One evaluation, the instant claims are found herein to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes and mathematical concepts.
Claim 1: Calculating key parameters, predicting key parameters, identifying at least one excipient, suggesting a manufacturing process, predicting product properties, determining whether predicted properties comply with TPP, predicting processability of all possible active ingredient-excipient combinations, identifying a suitable formulation, sort ingredient combinations according to flowability or tabletability values are processes of comparing/contrasting, calculating, transforming, and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes. The mixing rules comprising property specific aggregation of single-component data into blend level properties using weighted combinations based on fractions and metrics is a verbal articulation of a mathematical process and is therefore an abstract idea, specifically a mathematical concept.
Claim 2: Suggesting at least one additional technological measure to optimize the key parameters, suggesting to adjust the user-defined TPP, and suggesting to select a different dosage form are processes of comparing/contrasting, calculating and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Claim 3: The technical measure comprising at least one of milling or micronization, and the addition of and processing with excipients are directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 4: Performing steps b to h until a suitable formulation has been identified is a process of comparing/contrasting, calculating, transforming, and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Claim 5: The product development comprising at least one of the specified products in the specified group is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 6: The dosage comprising at least one of those specified in the group provided is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 7: The user-defined TPP comprising at least one of those specified in the specified group is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 8: The user-defined TPP comprising at least one of those specified in the specified group is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 9: The user-defined TPP comprising at least one of those specified in the specified group is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 10: The key physiochemical properties of the AI comprising at least one of those specified in the specified group is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 11: The user-defined TPP comprising a dose of AI per unit and a maximum weight of the dosage is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. Calculating weight fractions of the AI and the one or more excipients, predicting properties of a combination of the AI and one or more excipients, and selecting at least one promising excipient are processes of comparing/contrasting, calculating and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Claim 12: The dosage form comprising a pharmaceutical dosage form is directed to the data itself, which is an abstract idea, rendering this an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 13: Calculating key parameters, predicting key parameters, identifying at least one excipient, suggesting a manufacturing process, predicting product properties, determining whether predicted properties comply with TPP, and identifying a suitable formulation are processes of comparing/contrasting, calculating, transforming, and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes. The mixing rules comprising property specific aggregation of single-component data into blend level properties using weighted combinations based on fractions and metrics is a verbal articulation of a mathematical process and is therefore an abstract idea, specifically a mathematical concept.
Claim 15: Calculating key parameters, predicting key parameters, identifying at least one excipient, suggesting a manufacturing process, predicting product properties, determining whether predicted properties comply with TPP, and identifying a suitable formulation are processes of comparing/contrasting, calculating, transforming, and identifying that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes.
Step 2A Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under prong one, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application? [see MPEP § 2106.04(d) and MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c) & (e)-(h)]
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
The following claims recite the following additional elements in the form of non-abstract elements:
Claim 1: Receiving a user input of data is an insignificant extra solution activity, specifically necessary data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)]. A computer, processor, and database are generic and nonspecific elements of a computer that do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described herein [See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)].
Claim 4: Receiving a further user input is an insignificant extra solution activity, specifically necessary data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)].
Claim 13: Receiving a user input of data is an insignificant extra solution activity, specifically necessary data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)]. An apparatus, input unit, and processing unit are generic and nonspecific elements of computers that do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described herein [See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)].
Claim 14: A system, apparatus, web server, web page, application program, input unit, and processing unit are generic and nonspecific elements of computers that do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described herein [See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)].
Claim 15: A non-transitory computer program element, instructions, processor, system, and apparatus are generic and nonspecific elements of computers that do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described herein [See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)].
Step 2B: If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive
concept? [see MPEP § 2106.05]
Because the additional claim elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are further examined under Step 2B, which evaluates whether the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself by providing an inventive concept.
The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that are generic, conventional, nonspecific, or insignificant extra solution activity. These additional elements include:
The additional elements of a non-transitory computer program element, database, instructions, processor, system, apparatus, web server, web page, application program, input unit, and processing unit are generic and nonspecific elements of a computer that are well-understood, routine and conventional within the art and therefore do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described therein (See Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values), and Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) [See § MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
The additional elements of receiving a user input of data, and receiving a further user input are insignificant extra solution activities, specifically necessary data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
Therefore, claims 1-15, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected
under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 10 of the Remarks filed 8/3/2026 that steps c and d cannot be performed in the human mind as they require a processor. However, examiner reminds applicant that according to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the use of a computer does not preclude a limitation from being an abstract idea - The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation…Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer.
Applicant asserts on page 10 of the Remarks filed 8/3/2026 that the claims do not recite mental processes that can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper and that specifically the added amendments comprise an exhaustive evaluation of every combination in a database that cannot be performed in the human mind. However, examiner reminds applicant that the use of computers or aids to solve problems that would require processing of large volumes of data, do not preclude the limitations from being abstract ideas. As stated above MPEP 2106.04(a)(2(III) states that the courts do not distinguish between claims reciting the use of computers and those that do not (See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA) 792 F.3d 1363, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
Applicant asserts on page 11 of the Remarks filed 8/3/2026 that the automated evaluation and filtering process is an improvement to technology, specifically the process of formulation development via a reduction in physical experiments. However, examiner reminds applicant that an improvement to technology must be directed to the additional elements of the claim limitations or the additional elements in conjunction with the judicial exception as stated in MPEP 2106.05(a) - It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. Here the improvement is not directed to an additional element but the abstract idea of the speed of the process itself.
Applicant asserts on page 11 of the Remarks that the excipient database was not evaluated individually or in combination with the other elements, and that this constitutes an unconventional additional element. However, while examiner failed to include the database by name and has rectified that, the database itself is merely generic and conventional computer elements as described in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d) (For example of unconventional database see Microsoft Corp. v. Enfish, LLC, 662 Fed. App'x 981 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims, previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness have been reviewed, updated, and provided below.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang et al. (CN 108984811 A; previously cited), Ajmani et al. (Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling (2006) 2043-2055; previously cited), Aguilar-Diaz et al. (European journal of pharmaceutics and biopharmaceutics (2009) 414-423; newly cited), Borisy et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (2003) 7977-7982; newly cited), and Megarry et al. (International journal of pharmaceutics (2018) 337-345; newly cited).
Claim 1 is directed to a method of identifying a suitable formulation for product development using dosage and physiochemical properties of the active compound.
Claim 13 is directed to an apparatus for identifying a suitable formulation for product development using dosage and physiochemical properties of the active compound.
Ouyang et al. teaches in in the abstract “The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and assessment method and system. The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and evaluating method and system mainly comprises front research module of the pharmaceutical prescription, drug formulary design and optimization module, medicine preparation technique of medicine prescription design and optimization module”, reading on a computer-implemented method for identifying a suitable formulation for product development, comprising. Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0071] “The invention process is similar to the process of present medicine research experiment, firstly input the necessary drug information, and predicting to obtain prescription parameters, drug prescription, preparation technology and in vivo pharmacokinetic behaviour”, reading on receiving, via an input channel, a user input that defines: a dosage form, a target product profile, TPP, comprising a minimum product requirement and key physicochemical properties of an active ingredient, Al. Ouyang et al. teaches in claim 1 “establishing a pharmaceutical prescription before a research module, predicting medicine prescription research basic parameter”, reading on calculating, by a processor, key parameters of the Al relevant for the development of the dosage form based on the key physicochemical properties of the Al. Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0008] “The pharmaceutical prescription database includes serial number information, medicine name, medicine accessories name, CAS number compounds, pharmaceutical/medicinal auxiliary materials information, medical auxiliary function information and drug dosage information” and in the abstract “The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and assessment of the method and system, the research front from the drug prescription, prescription design, design, preparation process and in vivo pharmacokinetics prediction aspects of the pharmaceutical prescription process prediction”, reading on predicting, by the processor, the key parameters of the Al when combined with the one or more excipients selected from an excipient database by applying mixing rules. Ouyang et al. teaches is paragraph [0073] “Embodiments of the invention injection development process, the process is a classic case of medicine prescription design and operation of the optimization module, the specific step is as follows…additive type selection range derived from a pharmaceutical prescription database statistical analysis result”, reading on identifying, by the processor, at least one promising excipient from the one or more selected excipients capable of improving the key parameters of the Al. Ouyang et al. teaches in claim 1 “A medicine preparation prescription for virtual design and evaluation method and system, wherein comprising the steps: (1) establishing a pharmaceutical prescription before a research module, predicting medicine prescription research basic parameter; (2) establishing the medicine prescription design and optimization module, according to the parameters obtained by the prediction and specific pharmaceutical dosage form, predicting medicine composition; (3) preparation process of establishing drug design and optimization module, according to the parameter obtained by the prediction, pharmaceutical dosage form and pharmaceutical composition, preparation technique route and parameter prediction; (4) establishing drug formulary forecasting and evaluation module according to the parameter obtained by the prediction, pharmaceutical compositions and preparation process”, reading on suggesting, by the processor, a manufacturing process based on the Al, the at least one selected promising excipient, and the dosage form, and predicting, by the processor, product properties based on the suggested manufacturing process, a combination of the Al and the at least one selected promising excipient, and the dosage form. Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0001] “…combined with the selected solvent or accessories before design prescription, the medicine stably and effectively, meet the requirement of the preparation prescription and preparation technique in the industrial production…”, and in paragraph [0075] “…main simulation method of molecular simulation of quantum mechanics simulation and classical mechanics simulation, the quantum mechanical simulation mainly according to the calculation method from the head, a semi-empirical method, DFT method, and method of classical mechanics simulation mainly by molecular mechanics, molecular dynamics, Monte Carlo simulation, Brownian dynamics, etc. current drug prescription experiment research of molecular simulation mainly comprises the following step: firstly medicinal accessories system modelling, by document reading or the existing experimental data and the actual requirement, selecting the proper medicine/types and proportions of auxiliary material…”, reading on determining, by the processor, whether the predicted product properties comply with the user-defined TPP. As such, the previous limitations being read on by Ouyang et al. would therefore implicitly read on identifying, by the processor, a suitable formulation based on the combination of the Al and the at least one selected promising excipient, the suggested manufacturing process, and the dosage form, if it is determined that the predicted product properties comply with the user- defined TPP, as the step of predicting product properties would be understood, due to the broadness of the phrase “identifying…a suitable formulation”, as the same. Ouyang et al. teaches in the abstract “Compared with the traditional drug formulary screening laboratory in the empirical formula and preparing method, the invention can accelerate development of pharmaceutical product, and does not consume any laboratory equipment, completely via the computer platform”, reading on an apparatus for identifying a suitable formulation for product development, comprising: an input unit, and a processing unit.
Ouyang et al. does not teach the mixing rules comprise property-specific aggregation of single- component data into blend-level properties using weighted combinations with weights dependent on at least the components' volume fractions and particle-size metrics, the prediction of processability of ingredients, nor the exhaustive identification of ingredient combinations according to flowability or tabletability.
Ajmani et al. teaches in the abstract “The QSPR methodology was applied to a data set of experimental measured density of binary liquid mixtures compiled from the literature. The present study is aimed to develop models to predict the “delta” value of a mixture i.e., deviation of the experimental mixture density (MED) from the ideal, mole-weighted calculated mixture density (MCD)”, on page 2043, column 1, paragraph 1 “In principle, the techniques of computer-aided drug design (CADD) such as molecular modeling and quantitative structure-activity relationships (QSAR) can be applied to the optimization of “performance” or “effect” chemicals…Where the chemical to be optimized is used essentially on its own or as the only “active” ingredient of a formulation, then the well-known CADD techniques may be used for the optimization. This circumstance, though, in materials science applications may be unusual, and it is more likely that the subject of optimization will be some form of more or less complicated formulation, in other words a mixture”, on page 2044, column 1, paragraph 2 “The ideal mixture density (referred to here as the calculated mixture densitys MCD) was obtained by adding the product of the experimental density value of each component with its corresponding mole fraction in the mixture where R1 and R2 are the mole fractions of the first and the second components in the mixture, and F1 and F2 are the experimental densities of the first and second components in the mixture”, and on page 2047, column 2, paragraph 2 “the delta (property) of a mixture can be predicted using weighted average delta (eq 1) of the k most similar mixtures in the training set where yi and yˆi are the actual and predicted delta of the ith mixture respectively, and wi are weights calculated using (eq 2)”, reading on wherein the mixing rules comprise property-specific aggregation of single- component data into blend-level properties using weighted combinations with weights dependent on at least the components' volume fractions and particle-size metrics.
Aguilar-Diaz et al. teaches in the abstract “The new SeDeM Diagram expert system was used to analyze the suitability of 43 excipients for direct compression with disintegrant properties from eight chemical families. The SeDeM Diagram expert system is a new method for use in tablet preformulation and formulation studies. It provides the profile of a substance in powder form in terms of its suitability for direct compression. This study, which was based on the current concept of ‘‘Quality by Design ICH Q8”, evaluated the pharmacotechnical properties of disintegrants in powder form and selected the candidates that were most suitable for direct compression and their use in formulation of orally disintegrating tablets (ODT). To achieve this, each disintegrant and its chemical families were individually analyzed. It was concluded that nine disintegrants had an SeDeM value with the index of good compression (IGC) over 5”, reading on wherein the processor predicts processability of all possible active ingredient-excipient combinations in the excipient database.
Borisy et al. teaches in the abstract “We have developed a high-throughput screening method for identifying effective combinations of therapeutic compounds. We report here that systematic screening of combinations of small molecules reveals unexpected interactions between compounds, presumably due to interactions between the pathways on which they act. Through systematic screening of ~120,000 different two-component combinations of reference-listed drugs, we identified potential multicomponent therapeutics”.
Megarry et al. teaches in the abstract “Flowability is a key consideration during the formulation and process development of oral solid dosage forms as it can have a critical impact on product quality… This analysis provided an enhanced understanding of the typical flow properties of pharmaceutical materials. By combining these data with information on the process and achieved drug load, it was possible to characterise our current operating space as a process flow map which could be used to focus future development”, which in view of the teachings of Borisy et al. read on wherein identifying the at least one promising excipient comprises sorting out particular ingredient- excipient combinations from the all possible active ingredient-excipient combinations according to respective flowability values or respective tabletability values of respective ingredient-excipient combinations.
It would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of Ouyang et al. for a virtual design and assessment method/system for chemical mixtures, specifically pharmaceuticals, with the teachings of Ajmani et al. for modeling mixtures based on weighted combinations of single component properties as the latter teaches in the abstract “The study resulted in significant ensemble neural network and k-nearest neighbor models having statistical parameters r2, q2 10cv greater than 0.9, and pred_r2 greater than 0.75. The developed models can be used to predict the delta and hence the density of a new mixture. The QSPR analysis shows the importance of hydrogen bond, polar, shape, and thermodynamic descriptors in determining mixture density, thus aiding in the understanding of molecular interactions important in molecular packing in the mixtures”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the models of Ajamani et al. are designed for the exact problem for which Ouyang et al. is trying to optimize using the same or similar data.
Additionally, it would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of Ouyang et al. and Ajmani et al., with the teachings of Aguilar-Diaz et al. for the prediction of processability of ingredient combinations as the latter does just that teaching on page 423, column 1, paragraph 2 “the SeDeM Diagram is a useful and effective tool for accurately evaluating the characteristics and physical properties of excipients. The method provides sufficiently reliable and reproducible results for the characterization of substances (APIs or excipients) with respect to their suitability for direct compression… we conclude that the SeDeM Diagram expert system could be used to differentiate between excipients and their chemical families or to evaluate the same excipient from different suppliers”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that each of the references is focused on designing optimal ingredient combinations for pharmaceuticals, and this would merely be an exchange of one known method for another.
Finally, it would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of Ouyang et al., Ajmani et al., and Aguilar-Diaz et al., with the teachings of Borisy et al. and Megarry et al. for the exhaustive identification of ingredient combinations based on flowability, as Aguilar-Diaz et al. uses within their model, Borisy et al. teaches “Systematic combination screening may ultimately be useful for exploring the connectivity of biological pathways and, when performed with reference-listed drugs, may result in the discovery of new combination drug regimens”, and Megarry et al. teaches in the abstract “By combining these data with information on the process and achieved drug load, it was possible to characterize our current operating space as a process flow map which could be used to focus future development”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that all the referenced art is directed to methods of finding optimal ingredient combinations using preexisting ingredient databases, and the methods are not mutually exclusive and can therefore be an exchange of one known method for another. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of each and to be successful.
Claim 2 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that if the properties do not comply with the user-defined TPP that continual optimization continue based on the difference between properties and dosage.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0074] “…expert system prediction by oral solution preparation of ritonavir prescription composition is very close to the actual pharmaceutical prescription and have high accuracy and reliability. and the output of the results contained in content and function division of each component, which is good for guiding preparation research staff to further adjust and improve prescription”, reading on if it is determined that the predicted product properties do not comply with the user-defined TPP or if it is determined that an experimental result obtained after preparing and characterizing the identified suitable formulation does not comply with the user defined TPP, performing at least one of the following steps: suggesting at least one additional technological measure to optimize the key parameters of the Al, based on a difference between the predicted product properties and the user-defined TPP or a difference between the experimental result and the user-defined TPP; suggesting to adjust the user-defined TPP based on a difference between the predicted product properties and the user-defined TPP or a difference between the experimental result and the user-defined TPP; and suggesting to select a different dosage form based on a difference between the predicted product properties and the user-defined TPP or a difference between the experimental result and the user-defined TPP.
Claim 3 is directed to the method of claim 2 and thus claim 1, but further specifies that at least one of the additional technical measures listed be used in the method.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0073] “Embodiments of the invention injection development process, the process is a classic case of medicine prescription design and operation of the optimization module, the specific step is as follows: (1) based on the pharmaceutical prescription parameters before. medicine prescription design and optimizing module in the pharmaceutical prescription database according to dosage collects relevant prescription record; (2) according to the prescription in the rule module marks the key parameters of the formulation-drug solubility, drug solubility analysis judging, when content of medicine in the medicine solubility > dose. then using conventional solvent-water, the solubility drug contained in < single dose amount, it is necessary to start solubilizing module adding corresponding additive, increasing drug solubility, (3) additive type selection range derived from a pharmaceutical prescription database statistical analysis result. a co-solvent and surfactant, specifically additive type selected is need to prescription by machine learning analysis or molecular simulation interaction analysis for medicine and accessories, recommending a suitable additive”, reading on wherein the at least one additional technical measure comprises at least one of: milling or micronization, and addition of and processing with excipients.
Claim 4 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that if the predicted product properties do not comply with the user-defined TPP then the method repeatedly receives further user input and steps b-h.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0074] “…expert system prediction by oral solution preparation of ritonavir prescription composition is very close to the actual pharmaceutical prescription and have high accuracy and reliability. and the output of the results contained in content and function division of each component, which is good for guiding preparation research staff to further adjust and improve prescription”, reading on further comprising: if the predicted product properties do not comply with the user-defined TPP or if it is determined that the experimental result obtained after preparing and characterizing the identified suitable formulation does not comply with the user defined TPP, repeatedly performing a sequence comprising: receiving a further user input related to a different dosage form, a user- redefined TPP, and/or re-determined key physicochemical properties of the Al; and performing steps b) to h), until a suitable formulation has been identified with the product properties complying with the user-defined or user-redefined TPP.
Claim 5 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the product development comprise at least one of the listed products provided in the specified group.
Ouyang et al. teaches in the abstract “The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and assessment method and system. The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and evaluating method and system mainly comprises front research module of the pharmaceutical prescription, drug formulary design and optimization module, medicine preparation technique of medicine prescription design and optimization module”, reading on herein the product development comprises at least one of the following: development of cleaning agents; development of cosmetic products; development of dietary supplements; development of drug products; development of fungicide formulations; development of herbicide formulations; development of pesticide formulations; and development of washing agents.
Claim 6 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the dosage form comprise at least one of those specified in the group provided.
Ouyang et al. teaches in claim 9 “The medicine preparation prescription according to claim 1, said virtual design and evaluation method and system, wherein the medicine prescription comprises tablet, capsule, pill, film, granule, solution agent, aromatic water, syrup, injection, eye drops, nasal drops, mixture, lotion, liniment, suppository, aerosol, spraying agent, jellies, transdermal administration preparation, ointment, paste, slow-release preparation, microsphere preparation, a liposome, a nanoparticle formulation, target formulation, the traditional Chinese medicine preparation. biological medical preparation is one kind or several kinds”, reading on wherein the dosage form comprises at least one of a capsule, a chewing gum, a cream, an emulsion, a foam, a spray, a gel, a stick, granules, gummies, an implant, an ointment, a paste, pellets, a powder, a solution, a suppository, a suspension, a sustained-release form, a tablet, and a therapeutic patch.
Claim 7 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of the specified measurements/parameters listed in the group provided.
Claim 8 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of the specified measurements/parameters listed in the group provided.
Claim 9 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of the specified measurements/parameters listed in the group provided.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0074] “The invention process is similar to the process of present medicine research experiment, firstly input the necessary drug information, and predicting to obtain prescription parameters, drug prescription, preparation technology and in vivo pharmacokinetic behaviour…”, it would be inherent to any pharmacokinetic behaviour, prescription parameters, and preparation technology to read on wherein the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of: amount and/or concentration of the active ingredient; size, volume and/or weight of the dosage form; mechanical and/or rheological properties of the dosage form; release profile of the active ingredient; other application-relevant parameters; compatibility and stability; and other manufacturing-relevant properties, and wherein the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of: amount of Al per unit; size and/or weight of the dosage form; mechanical strength of the dosage form; desired release behaviour of the dosage form; disintegration time of the dosage form; dissolution profile of the Al; compatibility of active ingredients and excipients; probability to pass content uniformity criteria; flowability of a powder blend; tabletability of a powder blend; and compatibility and stability of active ingredients and excipients, and wherein the user-defined TPP comprises at least one of: concentration of Al; volume of the dosage form; rheological behaviour and/or viscosity of the dosage form; spreading and/or adherence of the dosage form; dispersity and/or volume fractions of phases; hydrophilicity and/or lipophilicity; release behaviour of the dosage form; melting point of the dosage form; dissolution profile of the Al; and compatibility and stability of active ingredients and excipients.
Claim 10 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the physiochemical properties of the AI comprise at least of those specified in the group provided.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0074] “The invention process is similar to the process of present medicine research experiment, firstly input the necessary drug information, and predicting to obtain prescription parameters, drug prescription, preparation technology and in vivo pharmacokinetic behaviour…” and in paragraph [0003] “The invention claims a medicine preparation prescription virtual design and evaluation method and system, mainly including but not limited to the following four kinds of technology method: (1) molecular simulation technology from molecular level to simulate the medicine and auxiliary material molecular structure and behavior. the method is mainly based on quantum mechanics or molecular mechanics principle of the interaction of between the molecular conformation and driving, various physical and chemical properties can be directly given…”, which would implicitly contain at least some of the properties listed thereby reading on wherein the key physicochemical properties of the Al comprise at least one of: hydrophilicity and/or lipophilicity (e.g., distribution coefficient); melting point; permeability across biological or artificial lipid membranes; solubility in water, solvents, co-solvents and/or biorelevant media; miscibility with water, solvents, co-solvents and/or biorelevant media; true density; viscosity; wettability; interfacial and/or surface tension; particle size distribution data; particle morphology, shape and/or aspect ratio; bulk and tapped density; flowability; compressibility and compactibility; hygroscopicity; water content; concentration of impurities; other chemical, physicochemical and/or physical properties; and information on compatibility and stability.
Claim 11 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the user-defined TPP comprise a dose of AI and maximum weight, calculation of weight fractions, predicting properties and selecting at least one promising excipient.
Ouyang et al. teaches in paragraph [0004] “the medicines with pharmaceutical auxiliary materials database comprising number information, compound name, CAS number compounds, compound molecular weight” and in paragraph [0073] “Embodiments of the invention injection development process, the process is a classic case of medicine prescription design and operation of the optimization module, the specific step is as follows: (1) based on the pharmaceutical prescription parameters before. medicine prescription design and optimizing module in the pharmaceutical prescription database according to dosage collects relevant prescription record; (2) according to the prescription in the rule module marks the key parameters of the formulation-drug solubility, drug solubility analysis judging, when content of medicine in the medicine solubility > dose. then using conventional solvent-water, the solubility drug contained in < single dose amount, it is necessary to start solubilizing module adding corresponding additive, increasing drug solubility, (3) additive type selection range derived from a pharmaceutical prescription database statistical analysis result. a co-solvent and surfactant, specifically additive type selected is need to prescription by machine learning analysis or molecular simulation interaction analysis for medicine and accessories, recommending a suitable additive; (4) additive dosage according to prescription rules and machine learning analysis obtained calculation”, reading on wherein the user-defined TPP comprises a dose of Al per unit and a maximum weight of the dosage form; wherein step c) further comprises: calculating weight fractions of the Al and the one or more excipients selected from the excipient database based on the dose of Al per unit and the maximum weight of the dosage form; predicting properties of a combination of the Al and the one or more excipients; and wherein step d) further comprises selecting at least one promising excipient from the one or more excipients if the properties of a corresponding mixture satisfy a predefined criterion.
Claim 12 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the dosage form comprises a pharmaceutical dosage form.
Ouyang et al. teaches in claim 9 “The medicine preparation prescription according to claim 1, said virtual design and evaluation method and system, wherein the medicine prescription comprises tablet, capsule, pill, film, granule, solution agent, aromatic water, syrup, injection, eye drops, nasal drops, mixture, lotion, liniment, suppository, aerosol, spraying agent, jellies, transdermal administration preparation, ointment, paste, slow-release preparation, microsphere preparation, a liposome, a nanoparticle formulation, target formulation, the traditional Chinese medicine preparation. biological medical preparation is one kind or several kinds”, reading on wherein the dosage form comprises a pharmaceutical dosage form.
Claim 14 is directed to the apparatus of claim 13 but further specifies the use of a web server and webpage for the program to display a GUI to a user.
Ouyang et al. teaches in Figure 4 a GUI and webpage for the method, reading on an apparatus according to claim 12, and a web server configured to interface with a user via a webpage and/or an application program served by the web server; wherein the apparatus is configured to provide a graphical user interface, GUI, to a user, by the webpage and/or the application program.
Claim 15 is directed to a computer program element which when executed on a computer performs the method of claim 1.
Ouyang et al. teaches in the abstract “Compared with the traditional drug formulary screening laboratory in the empirical formula and preparing method, the invention can accelerate development of pharmaceutical product, and does not consume any laboratory equipment, completely via the computer platform”, reading on a computer program element comprising sets of instructions, wherein, when the sets of instructions are executed on a processor of an apparatus, the sets of instructions cause the apparatus or the system to perform the method of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13 of the Remarks, filed 8/3/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aguilar-Diaz et al. (European journal of pharmaceutics and biopharmaceutics (2009) 414-423; newly cited), Borisy et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (2003) 7977-7982; newly cited), and Megarry et al. (International journal of pharmaceutics (2018) 337-345; newly cited).
Conclusion
/K.N.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/LARRY D RIGGS II/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1686