DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
1. Applicant is reminded that a proper reply, per 37 CFR 1.111, requires: “clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made” (37 CFR 1.111(c)). Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because Applicant did not present any explanation as to their thoughts on patentable novelty of the newly presented claims. Further, these arguments do not sufficiently show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
2. Applicant’s remarks (see pgs. 7-8), filed 10/23/2025, regarding the prior art rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to make arguments that “Vielle also does not suggest that a holographic lens of the at least one array of holographic lenses is provided with a respective through opening in the holographic lens material for passing light reflected by the reflection hologram to the reflector” (pg. 8 of Remarks). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Vielle was not relied upon for teachings related to the holographic/hologram features of the lens array, but rather for combining the teachings of Vielle (directed to the lens array with reflection structure and through openings therein) with the teachings of Grinberg specifically directed to said holographic features. In the interest of the clarity of the record, Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP § 2145 Section IV, citing In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981) and In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Vielle does indeed disclose a lens array wherein the lens within said array are provided with a respective through opening in the lens for passing light reflected by the reflection structure therein to the reflector, and then reflected by the reflector to the through opening (¶0069 of Vielle: each first microlens 5 comprising a catoptric system. The catoptric system comprises the primary mirror 14 [reflection]; ¶0068: primary mirror 14 comprises a hole 15, said hole 15 being adapted to transmit light reflected by the secondary mirror 12 through the primary mirror 14; ¶0067-68, 0071-72; see FIGS. 4-5 of Vielle showing holographic lens 13-15 and reflector 12 such that light is reflected by the holographic lens to the reflector and then reflected by the reflector to the through opening where it subsequently passes to be imaged).
Applicant further argues that “Grinberg has no suggestion of a holographic array that has each holographic lens of the at least one array of holographic lenses provided with a respective through opening in the holographic lens material for passing light reflected by the reflection hologram to the reflector and then reflected by the reflector to the through opening at each of the individual cells of the array optical component” (pg. 8 of Remarks). However, such an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). The Examiner notes that the Grinberg reference was relied upon to teach the claimed limitation directed to the holographic features of the holographic lens array, and was not relied upon for the claimed reflection and through opening features comprised within each lens of the lens array. Rather, the Vielle reference was relied upon for teaching these features, as discussed supra. Grinberg teaches a holographic lens array, wherein each lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram and formed of a holographic lens material (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9 of Grinberg; Col. 10 of Grinberg: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly; col.’s 12-13: construction of holographic lens assembly…standard technique for forming holograms, which is repeated for each color…The holographic lenses are formed in a gelatin film 140, which is carried on a transparent plate 142 on the opposite side of the beam crossovers from lenses 136. The plate 142 is positioned such that the successive lenses 136 are imaged onto the gelatin film 140 in adjacent image stripes 144… At the film plane, interference between the focused image beam (called the object beam) and a collimated reference beam 176 creates a holographic recording in the film…expose the reticle image onto a silver halide film plate 150). Applicant is respectfully reminded that it is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review, and that combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures. See MPEP § 2145 Section III, stating "The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference....Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973). The Applicant has not disputed the Examiner’s findings regarding Vielle’s teachings and Vielle in view of Grinberg’s teachings, both findings rendering the obviousness of the claimed holographic lens array structure as claimed. Thus, the Examiner maintains that said structure would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as detailed previously and below.
In conclusion, as explained above, none of Applicant’s arguments against the prior art are persuasive, and thus the newly amended Claims 1-17 remain rejected based upon previously-cited references, as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation: “wherein each holographic lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram and formed of a holographic lens material…each holographic lens of the at least one array of holographic lenses is provided with a respective through opening in the holographic lens material…”. It is unclear what is meant by the term “holographic lens material” since all holographic lenses are formed of holographic lens materials, thereby rendering the metes and bounds of the claim scope unclear, i.e., there appears to be no specificity regarding any material. Furthermore, the as-filed specification (of 001/04/2022) appears to be silent with regard to what is meant by such a holographic lens material. The disclosure states that the holographic lens array is formed in a solid layer of photosensitive material (pg. 8 of spec.), but fails to provide any example or description of what the holographic lens material refers to, i.e., the material the holographic lens is formed of, which further renders the claim unclear. Given that there exists an innumerable multiplicity of holographic lens materials that holographic lenses are formed of, such a vast number of materials directed to the limitation renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood in light of the specification, unless otherwise stated.
Claims 2-17 inherit the deficiencies of Claim 1, and are thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 17 recites the limitation: “the reflective array”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for said structure, since this appears to be a newly recited structure. Claim 1 (from which claim 16 depends upon) does not recite any such reflective array, but rather recites “an array of reflectors” and/or “reflection holograms” (comprised within the holographic lens array). For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as: “a reflective array”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieille (US 2022/0091401 A1) in view of Grinberg et al. (US 4,807,978 A).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Vieille discloses: An array optical component (FIG. 4), including a plurality of individual cells and configured to focus an incident light beam at a plurality of points (¶0058), comprising: an array of reflectors (¶0060, 0066-68: secondary mirror 12); at least one array of lenses (¶0052, 0059: The device 1 comprises at least a two-dimensional first array 4 of first microlenses 5), wherein each lens is formed by a reflection structure (¶0069: each first microlens 5 comprising a catoptric system. The catoptric system comprises the primary mirror 14 [reflection]) and each lens of the at least one array of lenses is provided with a respective through opening in the lens material (¶0068: primary mirror 14 comprises a hole 15, said hole 15 being adapted to transmit light reflected by the secondary mirror 12 through the primary mirror 14) for passing light, reflected by the reflection structure to the reflector and then reflected by the reflector to the through opening, at each of the individual cells of the array optical component (¶0067-68, 0071-72; see FIGS. 4-5 showing holographic lens 13-15 and reflector 12 such that light is reflected by the holographic lens to the reflector and then reflected by the reflector to the through opening where it subsequently passes to be imaged); a support; the support is disposed between the array of reflectors and the at least one array of lenses (¶0068: The first array 4 can further comprise a second slide 13 of transparent material; see FIG. 5); wherein each individual cell of the array optical component includes a reflector and a respective lens of the at least one array of holographic lenses (¶0059-60: two-dimensional first array 4 of first microlenses 5…the first array 4 comprises at least a first catoptric system 8, which preferably at least two reflective components: a primary mirror 14 [lens] and a secondary mirror 12 [reflector]), the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support and with respective reflective faces of the reflector and the holographic lens are located facing each other (see FIG. 5).
Although Vieille discloses an array of lenses with a through opening and possessing reflection structures which provides the beneficial results of a shortened focal length and increased field of view, thereby allowing an increased resolution of an image while avoiding ghost image resulting from crosstalk (¶0061 of Vieille), Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose that the lenses are holographic lenses, wherein each lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram and formed of a holographic lens material.
Grinberg is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 9: 84), a support (FIG. 9: 78), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 9: 76), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Cols. 4 & 10-11) and Grinberg teaches: lenses are holographic lenses, wherein each lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram and formed of a holographic lens material (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Col. 10: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly; col.’s 12-13: construction of holographic lens assembly…standard technique for forming holograms, which is repeated for each color…The holographic lenses are formed in a gelatin film 140, which is carried on a transparent plate 142 on the opposite side of the beam crossovers from lenses 136. The plate 142 is positioned such that the successive lenses 136 are imaged onto the gelatin film 140 in adjacent image stripes 144… At the film plane, interference between the focused image beam (called the object beam) and a collimated reference beam 176 creates a holographic recording in the film…expose the reticle image onto a silver halide film plate 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a holographic lens is known and would be selected to achieve large scale production wherein the hologram masters may then be used to generate replicas quickly (col. 15) and resolution enhancement as a result of each lens focusing light within its waveband onto a discrete target area (col. 5), and full color performance of the optical system by more efficiently utilizing the input white light while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light (col. 7), as taught by Grinberg; furthermore, such a holographic lens material that the lens array is formed of is also known and would be selected since the aforementioned photosensitive films are sensitive to the RGB color wavelengths that form the holograms within said holographic lens array, as taught in col.’s 12-13 of Grinberg.
Regarding Claim 2, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille further discloses: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, a through opening in the respective holographic lens of each of the at least one array of holographic lenses is centred to the one individual cell (see FIG. 5 showing through opening 15 as claimed).
Regarding Claim 3, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille further discloses: wherein in at least one of the individual cells the through opening extends along a surface registered within a projection of the reflector in a plane of the at least one array of holographic lenses (see FIG. 5 showing through opening 15 extending along a surface registered within a projection of the reflector 12 in a plane of the at least one array of lenses).
Regarding Claim 4, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille further discloses: wherein the component is configured to focus a light beam impinging at normal incidence on individual cells into a series of predetermined points, with points of the series of predetermined points all extending in a same plane parallel to the support (¶0052, 0061; FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above.
However, Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the respective holographic lens of each of the at least one array of holographic lenses is formed by a plurality of holograms each configured to deflect light by a predetermined angle; the respective holographic lens is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms.
Grinberg is related to Vieille (see rejection of clm 1 supra) and Grinberg teaches: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the respective holographic lens of each of the at least one array of holographic lenses is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms each configured to deflect light by a predetermined angle (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Col. 10: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly; the Examiner notes that Grinberg teaches the claimed ‘elementary hologram’ in accordance with the special definition disclosed in pgs. 12-13 of as-filed specification of 01/04/2022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a holographic lens is known and would be selected to achieve full color performance of the display by more efficiently utilizing the input white light, while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light with the matrix display; in addition, it directs light onto the matrix display elements at an appropriate angle, as taught Col. 7 of Grinberg.
Regarding Claim 10, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the component includes a plurality of arrays of holographic lenses, superimposed with one another along an axis orthogonal to a plane of a lower face of the support, and each configured to focus light at a distinct predetermined wavelength.
Grinberg is related to Vieille (see rejection of clm 1 supra) and Grinberg teaches: wherein the component includes a plurality of arrays of holographic lenses, superimposed with one another along an axis orthogonal to a plane of a lower face of the support, and each configured to focus light at a distinct predetermined wavelength (FIGS. 1 & 5, 9; col. 4: lenses are designed so that light at the center wavelengths of their respective wavebands are focused directly onto the focal point of the lens; col. 6: cylindrical holographic lenses; col. 8: the blue and green portion of the white light will be diffracted to the proper targets by the subsequent blue and green holograms respectively; col. 13: overlapping three-color holographic lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a plurality of lens array is known and would be selected to achieve resolution enhancement as a result of each lens focusing light within its waveband onto a discrete target area (col. 5), and full color performance of the optical system by more efficiently utilizing the input white light while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light (col. 7), as taught by Grinberg.
Regarding Claim 11, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the component includes a single array of holographic lenses, including different types of holographic lenses which differ from each other in focusing wavelength.
Grinberg is related to Vieille (see rejection of clm 1 supra) and Grinberg teaches: wherein the component includes a single array of holographic lenses, including different types of holographic lenses which differ from each other in focusing wavelength (IGS. 1 & 5, 9; col. 4: lenses are designed so that light at the center wavelengths of their respective wavebands are focused directly onto the focal point of the lens; col. 6: cylindrical holographic lenses; col. 8: the blue and green portion of the white light will be diffracted to the proper targets by the subsequent blue and green holograms respectively; col. 13: overlapping three-color holographic lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a lens array is known and would be selected to achieve resolution enhancement as a result of each lens focusing light within its waveband onto a discrete target area (col. 5), and full color performance of the optical system by more efficiently utilizing the input white light while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light (col. 7), as taught by Grinberg.
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille further discloses: wherein the array of lenses is connected to the support at a first side, and the reflective array is connected to the support on a second side facing the first side (¶0067-68, 0071-72; see FIG. 5 showing the array of lenses 14 is connected to the support 13 at a first side, and the reflective array 12 is connected to the support on a second side facing the first side).
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose that the lenses are holographic lenses, wherein each lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram and formed of a holographic lens material.
Grinberg is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 9: 84), a support (FIG. 9: 78), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 9: 76), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Cols. 4 & 10-11) and Grinberg teaches: lenses are holographic lenses (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Col. 10: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly; col.’s 12-13: construction of holographic lens assembly…standard technique for forming holograms, which is repeated for each color…The holographic lenses are formed in a gelatin film 140, which is carried on a transparent plate 142 on the opposite side of the beam crossovers from lenses 136. The plate 142 is positioned such that the successive lenses 136 are imaged onto the gelatin film 140 in adjacent image stripes 144… At the film plane, interference between the focused image beam (called the object beam) and a collimated reference beam 176 creates a holographic recording in the film…expose the reticle image onto a silver halide film plate 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a holographic lens is known and would be selected to achieve large scale production wherein the hologram masters may then be used to generate replicas quickly (col. 15) and resolution enhancement as a result of each lens focusing light within its waveband onto a discrete target area (col. 5), and full color performance of the optical system by more efficiently utilizing the input white light while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light (col. 7), as taught by Grinberg.
Regarding Claim 17, Vieille discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille further discloses: wherein each individual cell is configured such that the light reflected by the reflection hologram passes only through the support after exiting the holographic lens and being reflected by the reflector to the through opening (¶0067-69, 0071-72; see FIG. 5 showing each individual cell is configured such that the light reflected by the reflection structure 14 passes only through the support 13 after exiting the lens 14 and being reflected by the reflector 12 to the through opening 15).
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose that the lenses are holographic lenses, wherein each lens is formed by at least one reflection hologram.
Grinberg is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 9: 84), a support (FIG. 9: 78), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 9: 76), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Cols. 4 & 10-11) and Grinberg teaches: lenses are holographic lenses, wherein the lens is formed by reflection hologram (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Col. 10: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly; col.’s 12-13: construction of holographic lens assembly…standard technique for forming holograms, which is repeated for each color…The holographic lenses are formed in a gelatin film 140, which is carried on a transparent plate 142 on the opposite side of the beam crossovers from lenses 136. The plate 142 is positioned such that the successive lenses 136 are imaged onto the gelatin film 140 in adjacent image stripes 144… At the film plane, interference between the focused image beam (called the object beam) and a collimated reference beam 176 creates a holographic recording in the film…expose the reticle image onto a silver halide film plate 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Grinberg to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a holographic lens is known and would be selected to achieve large scale production wherein the hologram masters may then be used to generate replicas quickly (col. 15) and resolution enhancement as a result of each lens focusing light within its waveband onto a discrete target area (col. 5), and full color performance of the optical system by more efficiently utilizing the input white light while enabling an accurate registration of the colored light (col. 7), as taught by Grinberg.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieille (US 2022/0091401 A1) in view of Grinberg et al. (US 4,807,978 A), and further in view of Lou (CN 108398735 A).
The Examiner notes that the text of foreign references as cited throughout this Office Action are to the English translation retrieved from the Patent Translate feature of https://worldwide.espacenet.com and provided herewith.
Regarding Claim 5, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 4, as above.
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the plane parallel to the support is located outside the array optical component, on a side of the at least one array of holographic lenses.
Lou is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 6: 12), a support (FIG. 6: 2), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 6: 1+3+8), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (¶[0002], [0064-66]) and Lou teaches: wherein the plane parallel to the support is located outside the array optical component, on a side of the at least one array of holographic lenses (¶[0065-66]: optical window is a slit-shaped rectangular area, which is 25 cm away from the thin film device…light passes through the micro-image array and is reflected and gathered in space by the focusing element array to form a three-dimensional image 4. These lights continue to propagate and focus to form a slit-shaped rectangular optical window 5; see FIG. 6 showing plane parallel to support 5+6 located outside array optical component on a side of the array of lenses 1+3+8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Lou to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a plane parallel to the support is known and would be selected to allow the eyes of the observer to see the three-dimensional stereoscopic image in a designated observation window, as taught paragraph [0066] of Lou.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieille (US 2022/0091401 A1) in view of Grinberg et al. (US 4,807,978 A), and further in view of Vasylyev (US 2010/0278480 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the reflector is formed by a dichroic mirror, optically reflecting at least one focusing wavelength by each holographic lens of a same individual cell.
Vasylyev is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (IGS. 17-19; ¶[0122], [0184]), a support (¶[0087], [0179]), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 20; ¶[0172], [0184-85]; ¶[0265]), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 12-13) and Vasylyev teaches: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the reflector is formed by a dichroic mirror, optically reflecting at least one focusing wavelength by each holographic lens of a same individual cell (¶0177: deflecting means 14 can comprise one or more layers of a dichroic material which causes the incident light to be split up into distinct beams of different wavelengths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array optical component of Vieille in view of Vasylyev to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a reflector is known and would be selected to achieve a combination of reflection and refraction which efficiently redirects light focused by the respective focusing means, as taught paragraph [0177] of Vasylyev.
Claims 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieille (US 2022/0091401 A1) in view of Grinberg et al. (US 4,807,978 A), and further in view of Knuettel (US 2019/0049731 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above.
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the reflector is formed by at least one reflection hologram.
Knuettel is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising an array of reflectors and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 6; ¶[0001-2], [0085], [0191-95]) and Knuettel teaches: wherein in at least one of the individual cells, the reflector is formed by at least one reflection hologram (¶[0062], [0193]: reflection by the volume hologram set 5c with its laterally arranged segmental reflection elements 15 in the form of a microlens array (analogous to 24b and 5c′ in FIG. 4); see FIG. 6 showing reflector 15 formed by reflection hologram 5c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Knuettel to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a reflector is known and would be selected to allow longer distances to be covered and achieves a larger combined beam (angular spectrum) experienced by the observer eye with a beneficial result of a high resolution, as taught paragraphs [0192-95] of Knuettel.
Regarding Claim 8, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 7, as above. Knuettel further discloses: wherein the reflector is configured to reflect light at a reflection angle distinct from an incidence angle, in absolute value ((¶[0193-97]: light is incident from projection unit 2, reflects in hologram set 5, and directed towards eye AN ; see FIG. 6 showing ray tracing of light where the reflected angle is distinct from incidence angle).
Regarding Claim 12, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above.
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: An optical system including comprising an array optical component superimposed with an array of photodetectors, wherein the individual cells of the array optical component are distributed in at least one first distribution step and the photodetectors of the array of photodetectors are distributed in at least one second distribution step, and the first and second distribution steps are distinct from each other and not multiple of each other.
Knuettel is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising an array of reflectors and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 6; ¶[0001-2], [0085], [0191-95]) and Knuettel teaches: An optical system including comprising an array optical component superimposed with an array of photodetectors, wherein the individual cells of the array optical component are distributed in at least one first distribution step and the photodetectors of the array of photodetectors are distributed in at least one second distribution step, and the first and second distribution steps are distinct from each other and not multiple of each other (FIGS. 6-7 & 9: detection unit 3; ¶[0087], [0217], [0231-32]: the eye detection device comprises one or more first cameras for detecting and/or monitoring the position and/or direction of the eyes of one or more users; Claim 31 of Knuettel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Knuettel to satisfy the claimed condition, because such an optical system is known and would be selected to allow the position and/or direction of the eyes to be detected flexibly and reliably, as taught paragraphs [0087], [0233] of Knuettel.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieille (US 2022/0091401 A1) in view of Grinberg et al. (US 4,807,978 A), and further in view of Ichikawa (US 5,506,701 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Grinberg further discloses: a primary array of holographic lenses, each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of reflection holograms, each being configured to deflect light by a predetermined angle (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9 of Grinberg; Col. 10 of Grinberg: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly).
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: A replication optical component for manufacturing an array optical component, comprising: a superimposition of a primary array of holographic lenses, an array of opaque elements and a substrate, with the array of opaque elements being disposed between the substrate and the primary array of holographic lenses, wherein: each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms; and each holographic lens of the primary array is provided with an opening within which one of the opaque elements of the array of opaque elements is located.
Ichikawa is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 14: 49), a support (FIG. 14: 48), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 14: 41+5) with openings as claimed (FIG. 14: 47), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 14-16; Cols. 13-14) and Ichikawa teaches: A replication optical component for manufacturing an array optical component (Cols. 9-10: hologram produces converging diffracted beams 30 and rectilinearly propagating beams 31, which then interfere with each other in the photosensitive medium 22 for copying the hologram, and the copied hologram may immediately be used as an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5', or alternatively, this hologram may be used as the original to make a copy of an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'), comprising: a superimposition of a primary array of holographic lenses (FIG. 14: 41+5), an array of opaque elements (FIG. 14: 46) and a substrate (FIG. 14: 48), with the array of opaque elements being disposed between the substrate and the primary array of holographic lenses (see FIGS. 14-15 showing opaque elements 46 between substrate 48 and holographic lenses 5+41), wherein: each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms (Col. 13: light is converted on the lens surface of the minute convex lens 42 into parallel beams 3 which are in turn incident onto the corresponding microhologram of the hologram 5 [holographic lenses]…an array 41' of minute cylindrical lenses is used as an alternative to the array of minute convex lenses, and the mask 46' is designed to have slit openings 47' at the caustic line positions of the minute cylindrical lenses; see FIGS. 15-16 showing elementary holograms); and each holographic lens of the primary array is provided with an opening within which one of the opaque elements of the array of opaque elements is located (Col. 13: the mask 46 [opaque elements] has minute openings 47 at the focal positions of the minute convex lenses 42 forming the array 41, with the rest of the mask 46 cutting off light …each opening 47 serves as a secondary point light source that emits divergent light; see FIGS. 14-15 showing superimposition of arrays of lenses 41 and filters with opaque elements 46+47 facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Ichikawa to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a replication optical component is known and would be selected “to easily fabricate a microhologram array which can separate backlight into its spectral wavelength components so that they can be allowed to strike on the color filter of a liquid crystal display panel (or element) without being wasted and in which each microhologram is small enough to be commensurate to a color filter pixel”, with the beneficial results of “the efficiency of diffraction and the spectral characteristics are kept at levels high enough to make the efficiency of utilization of the illumination light high”, as taught Cols. 4 and 13 of Ichikawa.
Regarding Claim 14, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above. Grinberg further discloses: a writing assembly includes a superimposition of a writing layer of photosensitive material (FIGS. 10, 13-14; col. 11: photoconductor layer; col. 13), a support (col. 11: light blocking layer) and an array of reflectors (col. 11: mirror 102), wherein the support is disposed between the writing layer and the array of reflectors (see FIG. 10), each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of reflection holograms, each being configured to deflect light by a predetermined angle (FIGS. 1, 3a, 9; Col. 10: holographic cylindrical lens array is utilized in system of FIG. 9 and consists of a three-color holographic lens assembly 76 [plurality of elementary holograms]; Col. 5: After reaching the target area, selected portions of the converging light can then be reflected back through the cylindrical lens assembly).
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: A method for manufacturing an array optical component, comprising: superimposing a replication optical component and a writing assembly, wherein the replication optical component comprises: a superimposition of a primary array of holographic lenses, an array of opaque elements and a substrate, with the array of opaque elements being disposed between the substrate and the primary array of holographic lenses, wherein: each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms; and each holographic lens of the primary array is provided with an opening within which one of the opaque elements of the array of opaque elements is located, and the writing layer is disposed between the support and the primary array of holographic lenses of the replication optical component; registering a secondary array of holographic lenses into the writing layer by exposing a stack including the superimposed replication optical component and writing assembly; and translating the replication optical component relative to the writing assembly and re-registering a secondary array of holographic lenses in the writing layer, the translation and re-registration steps being implemented several times.
Ichikawa is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 14: 49), a support (FIG. 14: 48), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 14: 41+5) with openings as claimed (FIG. 14: 47), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 7-10 & 14-16; Cols. 9-11 & 13-14) and Ichikawa teaches: A method for manufacturing an array optical component, comprising: superimposing a replication optical component and a writing assembly (FIGS. 7-10; Cols. 9-10: hologram produces converging diffracted beams 30 and rectilinearly propagating beams 31, which then interfere with each other in the photosensitive medium 22 for copying the hologram, and the copied hologram may immediately be used as an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5', or alternatively, this hologram may be used as the original to make a copy of an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'), wherein the replication optical component comprises: a superimposition of a primary array of holographic lenses (FIG. 14: 41+5), an array of opaque elements (FIG. 14: 46) and a substrate (FIG. 14: 48), with the array of opaque elements being disposed between the substrate and the primary array of holographic lenses (see FIGS. 14-15 showing opaque elements 46 between substrate 48 and holographic lenses 5+41), wherein: each holographic lens of the primary array is formed by a plurality of elementary holograms (Col. 13: light is converted on the lens surface of the minute convex lens 42 into parallel beams 3 which are in turn incident onto the corresponding microhologram of the hologram 5 [holographic lenses]…an array 41' of minute cylindrical lenses is used as an alternative to the array of minute convex lenses, and the mask 46' is designed to have slit openings 47' at the caustic line positions of the minute cylindrical lenses; see FIGS. 15-16 showing elementary reflection holograms); and each holographic lens of the primary array is provided with an opening within which one of the opaque elements of the array of opaque elements is located (Col. 13: the mask 46 [opaque elements] has minute openings 47 at the focal positions of the minute convex lenses 42 forming the array 41, with the rest of the mask 46 cutting off light …each opening 47 serves as a secondary point light source that emits divergent light; see FIGS. 14-15 showing superimposition of arrays of lenses 41 and filters with opaque elements 46+47 facing each other), and the writing layer is disposed between the support and the primary array of holographic lenses of the replication optical component (see FIG. 7 showing writing layer 22 between holographic lenses 23 and support 21); registering a secondary array of holographic lenses into the writing layer by exposing a stack including the superimposed replication optical component and writing assembly; and translating the replication optical component relative to the writing assembly and re-registering a secondary array of holographic lenses in the writing layer, the translation and re-registration steps being implemented several times (Cols. 9-10: This process is stepped and repeated to record an array form of holograms all over the hologram photosensitive medium 22. Finally, the photosensitive medium 22 is developed to fabricate a converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'… The thus copied hologram may immediately be used as an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'. Alternatively, this hologram may be used as the original to make a copy of an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'; see also Recording Conditions of Col. 10 for exposure details).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Ichikawa to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a replication optical component is known and would be selected “to easily fabricate a microhologram array which can separate backlight into its spectral wavelength components so that they can be allowed to strike on the color filter of a liquid crystal display panel (or element) without being wasted and in which each microhologram is small enough to be commensurate to a color filter pixel”, with the beneficial results of “the efficiency of diffraction and the spectral characteristics are kept at levels high enough to make the efficiency of utilization of the illumination light high”, as taught Cols. 4 and 13 of Ichikawa; and such a writing assembly is known and would be selected such that “use may be made of juxtaposed sets of optical systems for holography, in which case a plurality of microholograms are produced and recorded at the same time”, as taught in Col. 9 of Ichikawa.
Regarding Claim 15, Vieille-Grinberg discloses the array optical component according to Claim 1, as above.
Vieille does not appear to explicitly disclose: A replication optical component for manufacturing an array optical component, comprising a superimposition of an array of microlenses and an array of spatial filters, wherein each of the microlenses is a refractive lens and wherein the array of spatial filters includes opaque elements each being located facing a respective one of the microlenses.
Ichikawa is related to Vieille with respect to an array optical component comprising a reflector (FIG. 14: 49), a support (FIG. 14: 48), and an array of holographic lenses (FIG. 14: 41+5) with openings as claimed (FIG. 14: 47), wherein the reflector and holographic lens are disposed opposite to each other on either side of the support (FIGS. 14-16; Cols. 13-14) and Ichikawa teaches: A replication optical component for manufacturing an array optical component (Cols. 9-10: hologram produces converging diffracted beams 30 and rectilinearly propagating beams 31, which then interfere with each other in the photosensitive medium 22 for copying the hologram, and the copied hologram may immediately be used as an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5', or alternatively, this hologram may be used as the original to make a copy of an array form of converging hologram 5 or hologram assembly 5'), comprising a superimposition of an array of microlenses and an array of spatial filters, wherein each of the microlenses is a refractive lens and wherein the array of spatial filters includes opaque elements each being located facing a respective one of the microlenses (Col. 13: the mask 46 [spatial filter] has minute openings 47 at the focal positions of the minute convex lenses 42 forming the array 41 [microlenses], with the rest of the mask 46 cutting off light [opaque elements]…each opening 47 serves as a secondary point light source that emits divergent light, which is then converted on the lens surface of the minute convex lens 42 into parallel beams 3 [refractive lens]; see FIGS. 14-15 showing superimposition of arrays of lenses 41 and filters with opaque elements 46+47 facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Vieille in view of Ichikawa to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a replication optical component is known and would be selected “to easily fabricate a microhologram array which can separate backlight into its spectral wavelength components so that they can be allowed to strike on the color filter of a liquid crystal display panel (or element) without being wasted and in which each microhologram is small enough to be commensurate to a color filter pixel”, with the beneficial results of “the efficiency of diffraction and the spectral characteristics are kept at levels high enough to make the efficiency of utilization of the illumination light high”, as taught Cols. 4 and 13 of Ichikawa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872