DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed October 28, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 3 have been amended; support for the amendments can be found in the original claims. Claims 1-10 remain pending with claims 7-10 being withdrawn. Claims 1-6 have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed October 28, 2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0346137 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chang, in view of Johnson et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20140134463 A1), hereinafter referred to as Johnson.
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a battery (“a battery”) (see e.g., Abstract). Chang teaches the battery comprises
a positive electrode (“a positive electrode”) and a negative electrode including a lithium metal alloy (“a negative electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]);
a separator is disposed between the positive electrode and the lithium negative electrode (“a separator”) (see e.g., paragraph [0117]);
an electrolyte comprised on a glyme solvent and a lithium salt (“a lithium non-aqueous electrolyte”) (see e.g., paragraph [0078])
the negative electrode comprises a lithium alloy substrate (“a lithium-metal alloy substrate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0101]) and a lithium deposition layer (“a lithium plate layer”) formed on a surface of the lithium alloy substrate after cycles of charging and discharging (“wherein the negative electrode comprises a lithium-metal alloy substrate, and a lithium plate layer on the lithium-metal alloy substrate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0104]);
the electrolyte is injected into the battery case in which the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator are wound (see e.g., paragraph [0153]); therefore, the deposition of the lithium deposition layer on an upper surface of the lithium negative electrode will face the electrolyte as it surrounds both surfaces of the negative electrode (“wherein the lithium plate layer is facing the lithium non-aqueous electrolyte”) (see e.g., Figure 1);
the lithium alloy includes lithium and a metal and/or metalloid alloyable with lithium such as at least one selected from Si, Sn, Al, Ge, Pb, Bi, Sb, a Si—Z alloy (wherein Z may be an alkaline metal, an alkaline earth metal, a Group 13 element, a Group 14 element, a transition metal, and a rare earth element, except for Si), or a Sn—X alloy (wherein X may comprise at least one selected from an alkaline metal, an alkaline earth metal, a Group 13 element, a Group 14 element, a transition metal, and a rare earth element, except for Sn) (““wherein the lithium-metal alloy substrate comprises an alloy of lithium and at least one metal selected from the group consisting Al, Si, Sn”) (see e.g., paragraph [0102]);
the lithium deposition layer on an upper surface of the lithium negative electrode may have a lithium deposition density of about 0.2 grams per milliliter (g/cc) to about 0.53 g/cc (“wherein the lithium plate layer on the lithium-metal alloy substrate has an electrodeposition density of 0.15 g/cm3 to 0.53 g/cm3”) (see e.g., paragraph [0095]).
Chang does not explicitly teach wherein an alloy ratio of the lithium to the metal is in a range of 4:1 to 1:4 on a weight basis.
However, Johnson teaches a lithium alloy anode that has lithium and an alloy material selected from the group consisting of magnesium and aluminum (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Johnson teaches the composition of lithium in relation to the alloy material ranges from 95:5 to 50:50, by weight, such that the total capacity of the lithium plus the alloying material is greater than the capacity of the cathode and, at the same time, the capacity of the lithium alone is less than or equal to the capacity of the cathode (see e.g., paragraph [0032]) in order to improve the safety of the cell as it is advantageous for the anode and cathode materials to be balanced in such a way as to ensure that essentially all of the lithium is consumed at the end of the cell's life, but that a significant portion of the alloying metal remains undischarged at end of life (see e.g., paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the lithium metal alloy that includes lithium and a metal and/or metalloid alloyable with lithium of Chang to have an alloy ratio of the lithium to its alloy ranges from 95:5 to 50:50, as taught by Johnson, in order to improve the safety of the cell as it is advantageous for the anode and cathode materials to be balanced in such a way as to ensure that essentially all of the lithium is consumed at the end of the cell's life, but that a significant portion of the alloying metal remains undischarged at end of life (see e.g., paragraph [0048]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because alloy ratio of 95:5 to 50:50overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 2, Chang, as modified by Johnson, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Chang teaches the lithium deposition layer is formed on a surface of the lithium alloy substrate after cycles of charging and discharging (“wherein the lithium plate layer is formed by charging the battery”) (see e.g., paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Chang, as modified by Johnson, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Chang teaches the lithium alloy includes lithium and a metal and/or metalloid alloyable with lithium such as at least one selected from Si, Sn, Al, Ge, Pb, Bi, Sb, a Si—Z alloy (wherein Z may be an alkaline metal, an alkaline earth metal, a Group 13 element, a Group 14 element, a transition metal, and a rare earth element, except for Si), or a Sn—X alloy (wherein X may comprise at least one selected from an alkaline metal, an alkaline earth metal, a Group 13 element, a Group 14 element, a transition metal, and a rare earth element, except for Sn) (““wherein the lithium-metal alloy substrate comprises an alloy of lithium and at least one metal selected from the group consisting Si, Ge, Sn, Sb, Mg, Bi, As, Pb, P, and Zn”) (see e.g., paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 6, Chang, as modified by Johnson, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Chang does not explicitly teach wherein an alloy ratio of the lithium to the metal is in a range of 2:1 to 1:2 on a weight basis.
However, Johnson teaches the composition of lithium in relation to the alloy material ranges from 95:5 to 50:50, by weight, such that the total capacity of the lithium plus the alloying material is greater than the capacity of the cathode and, at the same time, the capacity of the lithium alone is less than or equal to the capacity of the cathode (see e.g., paragraph [0032]) in order to improve the safety of the cell as it is advantageous for the anode and cathode materials to be balanced in such a way as to ensure that essentially all of the lithium is consumed at the end of the cell's life, but that a significant portion of the alloying metal remains undischarged at end of life (see e.g., paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the lithium metal alloy that includes lithium and a metal and/or metalloid alloyable with lithium of Chang to have an alloy ratio of the lithium to its alloy ranges from 95:5 to 50:50, as taught by Johnson, in order to improve the safety of the cell as it is advantageous for the anode and cathode materials to be balanced in such a way as to ensure that essentially all of the lithium is consumed at the end of the cell's life, but that a significant portion of the alloying metal remains undischarged at end of life (see e.g., paragraph [0048]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because alloy ratio of 95:5 to 50:50overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0346137 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20140134463 A1), and further in view of Cheng et al. (WO 2020224382 A1, citations from corresponding Published Patent Application US 20220069355 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cheng.
Regarding claim 4, Chang, as modified by Johnson, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Chang, as modified by Johnson, does not explicitly teach wherein the lithium-metal alloy substrate has a thickness of 3 µm to 100 µm.
However, Cheng teaches a negative electrode including a lithium-aluminum alloy layer (see e.g., Abstract). Cheng teaches the thickness of the lithium-aluminum alloy layer is 10 μm to 40 μm (see e.g., paragraph [0014]) to ensure that the lithium-aluminum alloy layer has a strong anti-pulverization ability, but also maintain a relatively high energy density of the battery cell as a whole (see e.g., paragraph [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the lithium metal alloy that includes lithium and a metal and/or metalloid alloyable with lithium of Chang, as modified by Johnson, to have a thickness of the lithium-aluminum alloy layer is 10 μm to 40 μm, as taught by Cheng, in order to ensure that the lithium-aluminum alloy layer has a strong anti-pulverization ability, but also maintain a relatively high energy density of the battery cell as a whole (see e.g., paragraph [0072]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of the metal lithium negative electrode is 10 μm to 40 μm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 5, Chang, as modified by Johnson and Cheng, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 4, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 4, the lithium metal alloy as taught by Chang, as modified by Johnson and Cheng, has a thickness of the lithium-aluminum alloy layer is 10 μm to 40 μm (see e.g., paragraph [0014]) to ensure that the lithium-aluminum alloy layer has a strong anti-pulverization ability, but also maintain a relatively high energy density of the battery cell as a whole (see e.g., paragraph [0072]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of the metal lithium negative electrode is 10 μm to 40 μm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728