DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claim rejections
The rejections of record under 35 USC 103 are maintained in response to Applicant’s amendments in the response filed 10/28/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/25 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Office Action on 08/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
First rejection
Claims 1, 6, 13-14, 21, 24, 64, 69, 90, 93, 96-97, 99, 101, 103, 111, 113, 117-121, 123-126, and 130-135 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Jong et al (US 20150335043 A1; published 26 Nov 2015; hereinafter “De Jong”; prior art of record) in view of Ferreira et al (Immunological Exercises for Beginners; 1996 Biochemical Education 24(3): 176-178; cited in 24 Oct 2022 IDS; hereinafter “Ferreira”; prior art of record) and BluwaChina ("Cationic Polymer Flocculant Polydadmac"; available online 14 Nov 2017 retrieved online 08/01/25 from https://www.bluwatchina.com/cationic-polymer-flocculant-polydadmac-3609878.html; hereinafter “Bluwa”) .
De Jong teaches a method for isolating a soluble plant protein from a plant material on an industrial scale (process for making purified protein from a plant material as in claim 1), wherein the method comprises the steps of: i) mechanically disrupting the plant cells of said plant material to obtain a plant juice, wherein before, during, or after the step of disrupting the plant cells an extraction composition comprising at least one of a reducing agent and a divalent ion source is added to said plant material, said plant cells and/or said plant juice (providing plant material in a buffer solution comprising reducing agent as in claim 1 and 125; lysing plant material as in claim 1 and 125), ii) treating the plant juice to cause aggregation of chloroplast membranes (coagulation of chlorophyll as in claim 1), iii) separating said aggregated chloroplast membranes from the soluble plant protein in said treated plant juice by precipitation and/or microfiltration to provide a plant juice supernatant or plant juice permeate comprising the soluble plant protein (separating coagulated chlorophyll from a liquid phase as in claim 1 and 125), iv) subjecting the plant juice supernatant or plant juice permeate to ultrafiltration (filtering liquid phase to yield purified protein as in claim 1 and 125), to provide a soluble plant protein concentrate, preferably comprising 25-50 wt % of protein, wherein said soluble plant protein concentrate is essentially free of salts and phenolic compounds (see claim 1). De Jong also teaches the steps of any steps (i) (mechanical disrupting, i.e., lysing as in claim 1 and 125), (iii), (iv), and (v) are performed under low temperature, preferably a temperature in the range of about 0-15°C (lysing at temperatures below 45 deg C as in claim 1) (see claim 8; paragraph 0041). De Jong also teaches addition of starch (i.e., a polymer; see paragraph 0087), and teaches aggregation of the chloroplasts by adding salts such as calcium/magnesium/cadmium/etc. salts (see paragraph 0032-33).
The difference between De Jong and the instant claims is that De Jong does not explicitly teach the plant material is from a Lemna plant.
However, Ferreira teaches the purification of RuBisCO from duckweed (Lemna minor), where the duckweed was grown autotrophically under sterile conditions at 25 deg C where the protein can be conveniently purified by sequential use of anion exchange chromatography on Mono Q column and gel filtration on the Superose 12 column (pg. 176, col 1, paragraphs 1-3). Ferreira also teaches that the protein can be purified via ultracentrifugation or isolation methods (pg. 176, col 2, paragraph 1). Ferreira teaches that samples of plant material were frozen, ground, and extracted in 100 mM Tris-HC1 buffer, pH 7.5, containing 1 mM PMSF and 10 mM 2-mercaptoethanol before the homogenate was squeezed through four layers of cheesecloth, clarified by centrifugation at 44000 ×g for 30 min at 2°C and desalted on a PD-10 prepacked Sephadex G-25 M column (pg. 176, col 2, paragraph 3) before subsequent immunoprecipitation (pg. 176, col 2, paragraph 5-pg. 177, col 1, paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the plant protein purification method of De Jong by purifying plant material from Lemna minor as taught by Ferreira to arrive at the claimed invention. As the claimed invention relies on the purification of protein (specifically RuBisCO protein) from plant material, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform a simple substitution of one known element (the plant material of De Jong) with another (the Lemna minor plant material of Ferreira) with a reasonable expectation of success (successful purification of RuBisCO from plant material). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform the substitution because Ferreira teaches that RuBisCO can be successfully purified from Lemna minor plants via extraction and precipitation.
DeJong teaches use of flocculants (see paragraphs 0031-0033), but neither reference explicitly teaches the flocculant is an alkylamine epichlorohydrin, polydimethyldiallylammonium chloride, a polyamine, aluminum sulphate, alum, polyacrylamide, polyacromide, or polyethyleneimine.
However, Bluwa teaches polydimethyldiallylammonium chloride (i.e., polyDADMAC) is a cationic polymer flocculant that helps remove suspended solids, and works efficiently as a primary coagulant and charge neutralization agents in liquid-solid separation processes in a wide variety of industries (see pg. 1, paragraph 1 and 2). Bluwa further teaches that polyDADMAC is soluble in water, safe, non-toxic, has good hydrolytic stability, good adaptability to the changes in pH value, and is widely applied as a sugar and juice decolorant (see “What is polyDADMAC?” section, and “Application Fields” section).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the plant protein purification method of De Jong and Ferreira by including the polyDADMAC flocculant to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform a simple substitution of one known element (the flocculants of DeJong) for another (the polyDADMAC of Bluwa) with a reasonable expectation of flocculating the chlorophyll of DeJong because Bluwa explicitly teaches that polyDADMAC advantageously is a cationic polymer flocculant that helps remove suspended solids, and works efficiently as a primary coagulant and charge neutralization agent in liquid-solid separation processes in a wide variety of industries, is safe, non-toxic, has good hydrolytic stability, and good adaptability to the changes in pH value.
Regarding claim 6, De Jong teaches using metabisulfite, specifically sodium metabisulfite (see claim 3, and paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 13, De Jong teaches various chelating agents (see paragraph 0087-88).
Regarding claim 14, De Jong teaches that the optimum pH for the solution may depend on the protein source, but will generally between pH 6-8 (see paragraph 0097)
Regarding claim 21, De Jong teaches adding divalent ions (see above).
Regarding claim 24, De Jong teaches mechanical disruption.
Regarding claim 64, De Jong teaches separation (see step iv of De Jong) can occur between 0-15 deg C (see above).
Regarding claim 69, De Jong teaches precipitation, centrifugation, and/or microfiltration (see paragraph 0115).
Regarding claim 90 and 93, De Jong teaches the yield of protein is 25-50% (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 96, De Jong does not specifically teach that the chlorophyll to protein weight ratio is less than 1:1000, 1:1500, 1:2000, or 1:2500. However, De Jong teaches the protein preparation is essentially free of chlorophyll, the ratio of chlorophyll to protein would be, absent evidence to the contrary, have a weight ratio of less than the claimed ratios.
Regarding claim 97, 99, and 101, De Jong teaches that the protein product is white, essentially without polyphenols, and was odourless. (see claim 1, paragraph 0066, and paragraph 0167).
Regarding claim 103, De Jong teaches that the protein is RuBisCo (see claim 10; paragraph 0045)
Regarding claim 111, De Jong teaches short mild-heat treatment between 1 minute and 3 hours, preferably between 10 and 30 mins (see paragraph 0030) and cooling quickly thereafter (see paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 113 and 126, De Jong teaches addition of flocculation agents (see paragraph 0031-0033), and Bluwa explicitly teaches polyDADMAC flocculant (see above).
Regarding claim 117 and 132, Ferreira teaches use of Lemna minor (see above).
Regarding claim 118-119, De Jong teaches drying to provide a powder of functional plant protein, preferably said drying is performed by lyophilisation or spray drying (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 120, De Jong teaches the protein is a protein isolate (see claims 12-14).
Regarding claim 121, De Jong teaches that the purity of the protein is purified at least 95% by weight, more preferably at least 99.8% by weight (see paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 123, the temperature of lysing is at 0-15 deg C (see above).
Regarding claim 120 and 124, De Jong teaches the use of the protein for gelation and foaming (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 130-131, De Jong teaches adsorbent resins (paragraph 0037-0040) and use of activated carbon to adsorb and remove polyphenols because it is low cost and convenient (paragraph 00129).
Regarding claims 133-135, Bluwat teaches polyDADMAC, which is cationic.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 7-9, Applicant argues a PHOSITA would not have contemplated a combination of the polyDADMAC of Bluwa with the process of DeJong. Specifically, Applicant argues that DeJong expressly teaches away from the use of flocculants because DeJong teaches “although flocculants can in principle be used to improve precipitation of chloroplast membranes, the addition of flocculants may hinder further application for the. . . fragments and is therefore not preferred” (see paragraph 0118). From this, Applicant argues DeJong is expressly directed to intended purpose of selecting a flocculant that would not hinder further application. Applicant also argues that DeJong uses divalent ions for efficient flocculation to improve yield, process speed, and reduced process cost. Applicant argues that the combination of DeJong and Bluwa forms an improper basis for obviousness, the use of polyDADMAC would clearly result in damage to the fragments to run counter to the intended purpose of the publication.
In response, the examiner disagrees. First, what Applicant is pointing to in DeJong is a preferred embodiment. DeJong expressly provides one of ordinary skill a reason to choose (or not to choose) a flocculant generally for chloroplast aggregation, as evidenced by DeJong’s own express teachings that flocculants improve precipitation of chloroplast membranes (see paragraph 0118). While DeJong cites flocculants as a non-preferred embodiment, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Furthermore, "[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (see MPEP 2123(II). Indeed, DeJong does not discourage one of ordinary skill from using other known flocculants, just that flocculants may be somewhat inferior to the divalent ions disclosed by DeJong. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily look outside the disclosure of DeJong for teachings regarding use of flocculants such as polyDADMAC. Bluwa explicitly teaches that polyDADMAC is a cationic polymer flocculant that advantageously helps remove suspended solids, and works efficiently as a primary coagulant and charge neutralization agent in liquid-solid separation processes in a wide variety of industries, is safe, non-toxic, has good hydrolytic stability, and good adaptability to the changes in pH value. The teachings of DeJong and Bluwa in combination, thus render the claims prima facie obvious. Thus, the rejection is maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ALLOWED.
/G.C.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672