DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4,6,9,11,12,14-19,22 and 23 have been amended.
Claims 1-23 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: “line-of-site” on line 12 has a typo. The limitation should read - - - line-of-sight - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-11 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ennen (US20200411001A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ennen discloses a cooking device (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, reproduced below, Ennen) with a cooking region (cooking chamber, paragraph [0042], Ennen). Ennen discloses "inventive method can also be used for other kitchen appliances, such as, for example, a steam cooker, a baking oven, a microwave oven, or the like" (paragraph [0038]).
Ennen discloses the cooking device (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, Ennen) comprising a control unit configured to be coupled with a communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen) for receiving voice signals as control commands from a user ("voice-controlled personal assistant is 'Amazon Echo' of Amazon.com Inc.", paragraphs [0004] and [0112], Ennen) or data signals as control commands from a remote control device ("Tablet 3 is also connected in signal communication with steam cooker 1 and with voice-controlled personal assistant 2", , paragraph [0113] and Fig. 1, Ennen). Ennen discloses "[e]xamples of other voice-controlled personal assistants currently widely used include 'Siri' of Apple Inc. as part of an iPhone, as well as "Cortana" of the Microsoft Corporation as a software for computers with Microsoft operating system" (paragraph [0005]).
Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured for controlling a power supply to the cooking region ("a cooktop may only be turned on or set to a higher power level when the available voice control systems are in unambiguous agreement", paragraph [0081], Ennen), and wherein the control unit is configured to accept commands from the communication interface ("steam cooker 1 activates 200 voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0116] and Fig. 2, reproduced below, Ennen) only upon detection of a presence of the user ("detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1", paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
Regarding claim 2, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 2 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to accept voice signals from the communication interface only within a predetermined time interval between the detection of the presence of the userand the receipt of the said voice signals ("the wireless signal transmission from voice-controlled personal assistant 2 to steam cooker 1 may be delayed by voice-controlled personal assistant 2 in order to wait and see if user 4 makes further inputs that would also have to be taken into account. It is also possible to wait and see if user 4 corrects or repeats his or her voice input in response to the feedback provided by voice-controlled personal assistant 2 on the voice input in case the voice input has not been correctly recognized by voice- controlled personal assistant 2 and therefore needs to be corrected by user 4", paragraph [0122], Ennen). Ennen discloses "wherein execution, by the voice control system, of a user control action on the appliance occurs after a predetermined time delay" (claim 8).
Regarding claim 4, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 4 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to accept said voice signals from the communication interface ("voice-controlled personal assistant 2 may execute 700 a user control action on steam cooker 1 in accordance with the recognized information and/or instruction. To this end, voice-controlled personal assistant 2 may send corresponding information or instructions by wireless signal transmission to steam cooker 1 so that steam cooker 1 can proceed accordingly", paragraph [0121] and Fig. 2, reproduced below, Ennen) only upon recognition of a code by the communication interface ("[i]n order to allow user 4 to check whether his or her voice input has been correctly recognized by voice-controlled personal assistant 2, feedback about the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
Regarding claim 5, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 4, which claim 5 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses comprising a memory (buffer, paragraph [0092], Ennen) for storing said code ("the captured voice inputs may initially be stored in a buffer", paragraph [0092], Ennen).
Regarding claim 6, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 6 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein in response to receiving the control command (after steam cooker 1 detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1,paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen) the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to generate a code, wherein the code is a randomized code ("the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600" will be randomized because people are random, paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) and/or selected from a list of codes to ensure that the selected code is not used for a predetermined time frame and/or for at least one further round of receiving and accepting a further control command ("the activated voice control system can be deactivated by the appliance so that the previously described voice control functions will no longer be unnecessarily available or used", paragraph [0066], Ennen) only upon recognition of the presence of the user ("[i]n order to allow user 4 to check whether his or her voice input has been correctly recognized by voice-controlled personal assistant 2, feedback about the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen), and prompt the user to input the code ("[i]n order to allow user 4 to check whether his or her voice input has been correctly recognized by voice-controlled personal assistant 2, feedback about the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) and compare a received signal representative of the user's input ("a user control action on steam cooker 1 in accordance with the recognized information and/or instruction", paragraph [0121], Ennen) with the code (output 600, Fig. 2, Ennen). Ennen discloses "result of the voice recognition performed by the voice control may be indicated to the user using, for example, a display or icons on the appliance, for example by the message" (paragraph [0056]). Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to cause the control command from the communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen) to be executed if the received signal ("a user control action on steam cooker 1 in accordance with the recognized in formation and/or instruction", paragraph [0121], Ennen) is representative of and/or can be assigned to the code (output 600, Fig. 2, reproduced below, Ennen) and not to be executed if the received signal is neither representative of nor assignable to the code ("a delay may be inserted before the execution of the voice command so as to provide the user with an option for abortion or correction in the event that his or her voice command has been incorrectly recognized by the voice recognition system", emphasis added, paragraph [0058] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
Regarding claim 7, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 6, which claim 7 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the code ("the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) is a password, wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to prompt the user to voice the password ("voice-controlled personal assistant 2 may send corresponding information or instructions by wireless signal transmission to steam cooker 1 so that steam cooker 1 can proceed accordingly", paragraph [0121], Ennen), and wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice- controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to receive the signal representative of the user's input from the communication interface (voice- controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen).
Regarding claim 8, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 6, which claim 8 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses further comprising a display ("Tablet 3 is also connected in signal communication with steam cooker 1 and with voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0113] and Fig. 1, Ennen), wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to cause the code to be displayed on the display ("[d]epending on the configuration, the first built-in appliance displays these parameters to the user for con formation", paragraph [0063], Ennen).
Regarding claim 9, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 9 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein in response to receiving the control command (“steam cooker 1 detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1”, paragraph [0115], Fig. 2, Ennen),the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to access a list of passwords ("a display to allow a user 4 different ways to control the operation the steam cooker 1, e.g., through the selection of programs and parameterization thereof, or by manual setting of, e.g., a cooking time, a cooking temperature, and the like, and to control the food cooking process", paragraph [0111], Ennen), select a password ("[i]f the food recognition system proposes several options, a selection can be made via voice control", paragraph [0043], Ennen) at a time in a randomized manner (selection by the user is considered to read on the randomized manner) from said list of passwords, and then display said password randomly selected by the control unit ("[i]f the food recognition system proposes several options, a selection can be made via voice control", paragraph [0043], Ennen) on a display (control panel 12 has a display, paragraph [0111], Ennen) of the cooking device (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, Ennen).
Regarding claim 10, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 9, which claim 10 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to display said password ("[i]f the food recognition system proposes several options, a selection can be made via voice control", paragraph [0043], Ennen) for a predetermined time period ("the assistance system integrates the display of the initiated cooking process with a countdown timer", paragraph [0063], Ennen).
Regarding claim 11, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 9, which claim 11 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to compare a signal ("a user control action on steam cooker 1 in accordance with the recognized information and/or instruction", paragraph [0121], Ennen) received from the communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen) with said password ("[i]f the food recognition system proposes several options, a selection can be made via voice control", paragraph [0043], Ennen) and, if the received signal ("a user control action on steam cooker 1 in accordance with the recognized information and/or instruction", paragraph [0121], Ennen) is representative and/or can be assigned to said password of the list of passwords ("[i]f the food recognition system proposes several options, a selection can be made via voice control", paragraph [0043], Ennen), a respective command to change from said cooking region to a further cooking region of the cooking device, or a function of the cooking device is executed ("a delay may be inserted before the execution of the voice command so as to provide the user with an option for abortion or correction in the event that his or her voice command has been incorrectly recognized by the voice recognition system", emphasis added, paragraph [0058] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
Regarding claim 14, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 14 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses comprising means for determining that the user is present that comprises a proximity sensor, a motion sensor ("a capacitive sensor, an IR sensor, a camera, a ultrasonic sensor, or a similar touch-free sensor technology may also be used to detect actuation of the sensor surface by the user", paragraph [0046], Ennen) and/or a touch sensitive element ("a sensor may also be integrated into the handle of an appliance", paragraph [0048], Ennen).
Regarding claim 15, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 15 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses comprising cookware detection means for detecting placement of a cookware item in the cooking regions ("a system for recognizing food items inserted into the appliance may propose a cooking program based on a camera image or on other sensor systems", paragraph [0043], Ennen), wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to control the power supply to the cooking region based on a detection of a change in placement of the cookware item in the cooking region ("In the case of a cooktop, the user action may, for example, consist in placing a pot, a pan, or any other cooking vessel, or another appliance to be powered via the cooktop, onto the cooktop or changing the position thereof, paragraph [0042], Ennen) and subsequent ("[t The following voice command may include, for example, the desired cooking program", paragraph [0042], Ennen) or preceding receipt of the control command from the communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen).
Regarding claim 16, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 15, which claim 16 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses configured such that acceptance of the control command is triggered by the placement or movement of the cookware item onto or within the cooking region ("voice control can now be activated even automatically by an input from the user instead of by an additional, special user action. A user operation that is part of a normal intended use of the appliance, such as, for example, the insertion of a food item into the cooking chamber", paragraph [0042], Ennen).
Regarding claim 17, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 15, which claim 17 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses comprising multiple said cooking regions ("a cooktop having a plurality of cooking zones", paragraph [0036], Ennen) and configured such that, upon the cookware item (cookware item, paragraph [0084], Ennen) having been detected by the cookware detection means ("a system for recognizing food items inserted into the appliance may propose a cooking program based on a camera image or on other sensor systems", paragraph [0043], Ennen), a timed in put interval is triggered in which the user can provide voice signals ("maintaining the activated voice control system for a predetermined period of time", claim 11, Ennen).
Ennen discloses wherein the cooking region to which the control command ("if a particular cooking zone of a cooktop is activated by the cookware item located thereon, it may be recognized therefrom that in order to select a power setting for this cooking zone, a numerical value is to be expected as a captured voice input", emphasis added, paragraph [0084], Ennen) are applied is determined by the cookware detection means ("a system for recognizing food items inserted into the appliance may propose a cooking program based on a camera image or on other sensor systems", paragraph [0043], Ennen).
Regarding claim 18, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 18 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses a voice recognition device and/or the remote control device ("Tablet 3 is also connected in signal communication with steam cooker 1 and with voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0113] and Fig. 1, Ennen) configured for communication with the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) via the communication interface.
Regarding claim 19, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 18, which claim 19 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses comprising the voice recognition device, which is an external voice recognition device ("in order to increase the voice recognition reliability of the plurality of voice control systems, such as Siri on the smartphone, Amazon Alexa cloud service in communication with a microphone in a kitchen appliance, and Google Home Nest Hub, which can be selectively activated and operated in parallel, the respective voice recognition results may be merged, for example, in a cloud or in the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0080], Ennen).
Regarding claim 20, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 19, which claim 20 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the external voice recognition device is a mobile phone or a device that is part of or communicates with a smart home system or a remote control station ("in order to increase the voice recognition reliability of the plurality of voice con trol systems, such as Siri on the smartphone, Amazon Alexa cloud service in communication with a microphone in a kitchen appliance, and Google Home Nest Hub, which can be selectively activated and operated in parallel, the respective voice recognition results may be merged, for example, in a cloud or in the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0080], Ennen).
Regarding claim 21, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 18, which claim 21 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the communication interface comprises a microphone that is provided at the cooking device ("voice control systems, such as Siri on the smartphone, Amazon Alexa cloud service in communication with a microphone in a kitchen appliance", paragraph [0080], Ennen).
Regarding claim 22, Ennen discloses a computer program product ("Voice control' may be understood to refer to a voice control unit, which may be implemented as hardware and/or software and adapted to perform a voice control function", paragraph [0029], Ennen) comprising instructions ("outputting information and/or an instruction to another device", paragraph [0060], Ennen) which, when executed by a control unit ("the voice control may be integrated as a unit and/or as software into the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0071], Ennen) in a cooking device (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, reproduced below, Ennen) having a cooking region (cooking chamber, paragraph [0042], Ennen) and comprising the control unit. Ennen discloses "inventive method can also be used for other kitchen appliances, such as, for example, a steam cooker, a baking oven, a microwave oven, or the like" (paragraph [0038]). Ennen discloses cause the control unit to accept a control command from a communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen) only upon detection of a presence of the user ("detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1", paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen), said control command corresponding to a voice signal from a user or a data signal( a cooktop may only be turned on or set to a higher power level when the available voice control systems are in unambiguous agreement", paragraph [0081], Ennen) from the remote control device (“Tablet 3 is also connected in signal communication with steam cooker 1 and with voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0113] and Fig. 1, Ennen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ennen as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Piersol (US20190372902).
Regarding claim 3, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, which claim 3 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses predetermined time interval ("wherein execution, by the voice control system, of a user control action on the appliance occurs after a predetermined time delay", claim 8, Ennen).
However, Ennen does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined time interval is between 5 seconds and 60 seconds.
Piersol is directed toward automated assistants that allow users to interact with devices or systems using natural language in spoken form (paragraph [0003], Piersol). Piersol teaches wherein the predetermined time interval is between 5 seconds and 60 seconds ("response threshold may correspond, for example, to an unacceptably long time period for a response to a user request. For example, an unacceptably long time period may correspond to two seconds, three seconds, five seconds, or longer", paragraph [0263], Piersol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the in vention to substitute Ennen's predetermined time delay with Piersol's "five seconds or longer", because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results of providing an upper limit that reduces the time for listening and reduces the processing load for the voice-controlled assistant. It is well understood that the reduction of the processing load also reduces the power consumption. PHOSITA would have known of these advantages and would have performed the substitution with reasonable expectations of success.
Claim(s) 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ennen et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rexach (US20190089550).
Regarding claim 12, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 12 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses wherein the presence of the user is determined (steam cooker 1 detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1, paragraph [0115], Fig. 2) by the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) ,which is configured to prompt the user ("activation of the voice control system may be audibly and/or visually and/or haptically indicated to the user on the appliance and/or on a separate component of the voice control system", paragraph [0053], Ennen) to interrupt a light barrier provided at interact with ("a control action that the user performs anyway during the normal intended use of the appliance is additionally used to activate voice control", paragraph [0041], Ennen) the cooking device (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, Ennen) and to check whether an interruption of the light barrier interaction is detected within a predetermined time interval ("after executing, by the voice control, a user control action on the appliance, maintaining the activated voice control system for a predetermined period of time", claim 11, Ennen). Ennen discloses "the appliance has a proximity sensor" (paragraph [0049]).
However, Ennen does not explicitly disclose a light barrier. Rexach is directed to virtual assistants that receive voice commands.
Rexach teaches a light barrier ("proximity sensor may emit and/or detect a beam of light (e.g., infrared light). Breaking the beam of light or interrupting the beam of light signals that the user is present", paragraph [0177], Rexach).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute Ennen's proximity sensor with Rexach's proximity sensor that utilizes light, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results of detecting the presence of a user near a home appliance. It is well understood that use of proximity sensors improves hygiene. PHOSITA would have known of these advantages and would have performed the substitution with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 23, Ennen discloses a cooking system (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, reproduced below, Ennen) comprising a cooking region (cooking chamber, paragraph [0042], Ennen); a display (control panel 12 has a display, paragraph [0111], Fig. 1); a control unit ("the voice control may be integrated as a unit and/or as software into the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0071], Ennen) configured to operate the cooking region based on cooking settings ("Control panel 12 has various input elements as well as a display to allow a user 4 different ways to control the operation the steam cooker 1, e.g., through the selection of programs and parameterization thereof, or by manual setting of, e.g., a cooking time, a cooking temperature, and the like, and to control the food cooking process", paragraph [0111], Ennen), the control unit ("the voice control may be integrated as a unit and/or as software into the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0071], Ennen) being configured to execute changes to the cooking settings for operating the cooking region based on a command signal ("a delay may be inserted before the execution of the voice command so as to provide the user with an option for abortion or correction in the event that his or her voice command has been incorrectly recognized by the voice recognition system", emphasis added, paragraph [0058], Ennen) received from a communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen) that corresponds to a voice signal received by the communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen).
Ennen discloses wherein the control unit ("the voice control may be integrated as a unit and/or as software into the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0071], Ennen) is configured to execute said changes based on said command signal only if a detection means detects that a user ("detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1", paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen) is in line-of-sight to the cooking region ("if the appliance has a proximity sensor, an approach of the user to the appliance may also activate the voice control system", paragraph [0049], Ennen) within a predetermined time interval before or after receiving the command signal ("[i]t is also possible to maintain 900 b voice-controlled personal assistant 2 for a predetermined period of time in order to allow user 4 to make further voice inputs", paragraph [0125], Ennen).
Ennen discloses wherein said detection means detecting that the user is in line-of-sight to the cooking region ("if the appliance has a proximity sensor, an approach of the user to the appliance may also activate the voice control system", paragraph [0049], Ennen) comprises said control unit ("the voice control may be integrated as a unit and/or as software into the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0071], Ennen) prompting the user to speak a code ("[i]n order to allow user 4 to check whether his or her voice input has been correctly recognized by voice-controlled personal assistant 2, feedback about the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) selected by the control unit and displayed on the display ("Control panel 12 has various input elements as well as a display", paragraph [0111], Ennen) of the cooking system (steam cooker 1, Fig. 1, Ennen) within said predetermined interval ("the assistance system integrates the display of the initiated cooking process with a countdown timer", paragraph [0063], Ennen), and comparing a signal (output 600, paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) from the communication interface (voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Fig. 1, Ennen), which corresponds to a spoken input ("also possible to require the user to provide confirmation by making another voice input or a different input prior to the execution of the recognized voice command", paragraph [0057], Ennen) received by said communication interface, to the prompted code (output 600, paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
Ennen discloses detecting a placement of a cookware item on or within the cooking region ("voice control can now be activated even automatically by an input from the user instead of by an additional, special user action. A user operation that is part of a normal intended use of the appliance, such as, for example, the insertion of a food item into the cooking chamber", paragraph [0042], Ennen) via a sensor signal ("a system for recognizing food items inserted into the appliance may propose a cooking program based on a camera image or on other sensor systems", paragraph [0043], Ennen), wherein said prompted code (output 600, paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen) or sequence is selected by the control unit so as not to be the same as that prompted in relation to a prior command signal received within a predetermined time period prior to prompting the code ("the activated voice control system can be deactivated by the appliance so that the previously described voice control functions will no longer be unnecessarily available or used", paragraph [0066], Ennen).
Ennen discloses wherein said communication interface is a mobile device in communication with the control unit via a wireless network ("in order to increase the voice recognition reliability of the plurality of voice control systems, such as Siri on the smartphone, Amazon Alexa cloud service in communication with a microphone in a kitchen appliance, and Google Home Nest Hub, which can be selectively activated and operated in parallel, the respective voice recognition results may be merged, for example, in a cloud or in the appliance to be controlled", paragraph [0080], Ennen), said display ("Control panel 12 has various input elements as well as a display", paragraph [0111], Ennen) being fixed to the cooking region (cooking chamber, paragraph [0042], Ennen) so as to ensure line-of-sight between the user and the cooking region through observation of said prompted code ("[i]n order to allow user 4 to check whether his or her voice input has been correctly recognized by voice-controlled personal assistant 2, feedback about the recognized voice input from user 4 may be output 600", paragraph [0120] and Fig. 2, Ennen).
However, Ennen does not explicitly disclose prompting the user to interrupt a light barrier one or more times according to a predetermined sequence, and comparing a sequence of breaks in said light barrier to the prompted sequence.
Rexach is directed to virtual assistants that receive voice commands. Rexach teaches prompting the user to interrupt a light barrier ("proximity sensor may emit and/or detect a beam of light (e.g., infrared light). Breaking the beam of light or interrupting the beam of light signals that the user is present", paragraph [0177], Rexach) one or more times according to a predetermined sequence ("gestures include pointing handwaving, or directional movements such as raising or lowering a hand to change a setting", paragraph [0110], Rexach), and comparing a sequence of breaks in said light barrier to the prompted sequence ("the analysis may include comparing the position to a lookup table that lists device functions that are activated when the user is at certain positions", paragraph [0122], Rexach). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute Ennen's proximity sensor with Rexach's proximity sensor that utilizes light, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable resu Its of detecting the presence of a user near a home appliance. It is well understood that use of proximity sensors improves hygiene. PHOSITA would have known of these advantages and would have performed the substitution with reasonable expectations of success.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ennen et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baldo (US20190327791).
Regarding claim 13, Ennen discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, which claim 13 depends upon, as discussed above. Additionally, Ennen discloses the cooking region (cooking chamber, paragraph [0042], Ennen). Ennen discloses "[i]n the case of a cooktop, the user action may, for example, consist in placing a pot, a pan, or any other cooking vessel, or another appliance to be powered via the cooktop, onto the cooktop or changing the position thereof, (paragraph [0042], Ennen).
However, Ennen does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooking region is a variable assignment of one or more induction coils.
Baldo is directed toward cooktops. Baldo teaches wherein the cooking region is a variable assignment of one or more induction coils ("the controller 18 may activate the induction coils 14 that are covered by the cooking utensil 22", paragraph [0024], Baldo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Ennen to incorporate the teachings of Baldo to include wherein the cooking region is a variable assignment of one or more induction coils, because doing so provides flexible cooking zones (paragraph [0024]). It is well understood that this flexibility allows "simpler and less expensive switching devices may be utilized" in construction (paragraph [0044], Baldo). PHOSITA would have known of these advantages and would have performed the modification with reasonable expectations of success
Response to Amendment
Drawings submitted on 5/19/2025 overcome the previous drawing objection of the non-final rejection dated 2/19/2025.
Amendments to claims 1,3,6,15,17,18 and 23 overcome the previous 112(b) rejections of the non-final dated 2/19/2025
Response to Arguments
Arguments concerning the 112(a) rejection of claims 15-17 are valid and overcome the rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose all the limitations of claim 1,22 and 23.
Examiners response: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose the limitation” the control unit is configured to accept the control command from the communication interface only upon detection of a presence of the user”. Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to accept commands from the communication interface ("steam cooker 1 activates 200 voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0116] and Fig. 2, reproduced below, Ennen) only upon detection of a presence of the user ("detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1", paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen). The method of operation for the invention clearly shows that step 100 is the only way the apparatus can go further in operation as seen below in Fig. 2:
As seen in Fig. 2, the step 100 which detects a control action performed by the user 4 starts the method of operation that leads to operation of cooking (Fig. 2). Claims 22 and 23 are argued against for similar reasons as claim 1 and therefore deemed properly rejected as seen above. Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach “only if a detection means detects that a user is in line-of-sight to the cooking region”. Ennen discloses wherein the control unit (software inside the circuitry of the voice-controlled personal assistant 2, Ennen) is configured to accept commands from the communication interface ("steam cooker 1 activates 200 voice-controlled personal assistant 2", paragraph [0116] and Fig. 2, reproduced below, Ennen) only upon detection of a presence of the user ("detects 100 a control action performed by user 4 on steam cooker 1", paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2, Ennen) is in line-of-sight to the cooking region ("if the appliance has a proximity sensor, an approach of the user to the appliance may also activate the voice control system", paragraph [0049], Ennen). The proximity sensor operates as a function of step 100, which operates the start of the operation of the apparatus (Fig. 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761