DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II in the reply filed on 10/2/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 14, and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/2/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16-20 recite “according to” the base claim. The metes and bounds of “according to” are not definite. It is suggested to recite “A conjugate comprising the antisense oligonucleotide of claim 8” for claim 16; and “The conjugate of claim 16” for claims 17-20.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 requires for the carrier to be “operable to transport the antisense oligonucleotide into a target cell”. However, the specification does not adequately describe the structure required for the function. The specification does not adequately describe what structure is required for the carrier to be operable to transport the antisense oligonucleotide into a target cell.
The specification discloses the carriers of instant claims 18-20, which are species that are not representative of the entire claimed genus.
The MPEP states that for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. See MPEP § 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP § 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number of species to adequately describe a broad genus. In Gostelli, the courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gostelli, 872, F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618. Additionally, in Carnegie Mellon University v. Hoffman-La Roche Inc., Nos. 07-1266, -1267 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 8, 2008), the Federal Circuit affirmed that a claim to a genus described in functional terms was not supported by the specification’s disclosure of species that were not representative of the entire genus. Furthermore, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. the court stated:
"A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) ("In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus ...") Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications under the 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, “Written Description” Requirement”, published at Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pp. 1099-1111 outline the method of analysis of claims to determine whether adequate written description is present. The first step is to determine what the claim as a whole covers, i.e., discussion of the full scope of the claim. Second, the application should be fully reviewed to understand how applicant provides support for the claimed invention including each element and/or step, i.e., compare the scope of the claim with the scope of the description. Third, determine whether the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing.
Thus, having analyzed the claims with regard to the Written Description guidelines, it is clear that the specification does not disclose a representative number of species for conjugates within the instant genus that have the required function. Thus, one skilled in the art would be led to conclude that Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sazani et al. (US 2025/0154507 A1).
Sazani et al. teach an antisense oligonucleotide comprising the first 29 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 51 (30-mer) (see SEQ ID NO: 584 on page 149). Sazani et al. teaches the oligonucleotide as an antisense sequence targeted to splice site of preprocessed human dystrophin (page 149). The oligonucleotide of Sazani et al. is identical to the instant oligonucleotide and therefore necessarily meets the instant functional limitations (instant claim 8).
Sazani et al. teaches a 25-mer comprising the first 21/30 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 52 (SEQ ID NO: 280); a 27-mer comprising the first 26/30 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 71 (SEQ ID NO: 818); and a 25-mer comprising nucleotides 5-29 of instant SEQ ID NO: 72 (30-mer) (SEQ ID NO: 286).
Sazani et al. teaches: [0168] Oligomers for use in antisense applications generally range in length from about 10 to about 40 subunits, more preferably about 10 to 30 subunits, and typically 15-25 bases, including those having 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, or 40 bases
It would have been obvious to extent SEQ ID NO: 584 of Sazani et al. by a single nucleotide and arrive at instant SEQ ID NO: 51 as a matter of design choice given that it is within the size range taught by Sazani et al. for the oligomers (instant claim 8 SEQ ID NO: 51).
It would have been obvious to extent SEQ ID NO: 280 of Sazani et al. by nine nucleotides and arrive at instant SEQ ID NO: 52 as a matter of design choice given that it is within the size range taught by Sazani et al. for the oligomers (instant claim 8 SEQ ID NO: 52).
It would have been obvious to extend SEQ ID NO: 818 of Sazani et al. by four nucleotides and arrive at instant SEQ ID NO: 71 as a matter of design choice given that it is within the size range taught by Sazani et al. for the oligomers (instant claim 8 SEQ ID NO: 71).
It would have been obvious to extent SEQ ID NO: 286 of Sazani et al. by four nucleotides 5’ and one nucleotide 3’ and arrive at instant SEQ ID NO: 72 as a matter of design choice given that it is within the size range taught by Sazani et al. for the oligomers (instant claim 8 SEQ ID NO: 72).
The oligomers of Sazani et al. are targeted to the same region as the instant sequences on the same target sequence, wherein Sazani et al. teaches appropriate lengths for the oligomers including the instant lengths. Extending the oligomers of Sazani et al. (5’, 3’, or combinations of each) within the lengths taught by Sazani et al. is considered to be a matter of design choice.
Sazani et al. teaches: [0170] The antisense compounds of the invention may include an oligonucleotide moiety conjugated to an arginine-rich peptide transport moiety effective to enhance transport of the compound into cells (instant claims 16-20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY ROSE HUDSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636