DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 23 be found allowable, claim 33 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-12, 16, 22-25, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0221134 A1) in view of Wurfel (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0076944 A1).
Please note that Suzuki was previously cited on the IDS filed on 5/9/2024.
Please note that Wurfel was previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 4/7/2025.
Claim 1: Figure 1 of Suzuki shows a machine tool (10) for machining of parts, wherein the machine tool (10) comprises an L-shaped machine bed (12, 14) which in turn comprises a horizontal portion (12) and a vertical portion (14).
Next, Examiner has annotated Figure 1 and provided it below. In annotating Figure 1, Examiner has re-designated the Y and Z directions and the Ob axis. Thus, what was previously shown by Suzuki as the Y direction, has now been re-designated as the Z direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Also, what was previously shown by Suzuki within Figure 1 as the Z direction has now been re-designated as the Y direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Furthermore, what was previously shown within Figure 1 as the Ob axis has now been re-designated as the workpiece axis (C) (to correspond to the present claim language).
Be advised that with the above re-designation, Examiner is not making any structural modifications to the machine tool (10) of Suzuki. Rather, Examiner is only re-designating the foregoing directions/axis of the machine tool (10) such that discussion of the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with respect to the present claim language is easier to follow.
The machine tool (10) of Suzuki further comprises a Y slide (16) linearly displaceable in the Y direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14). Attached to a top face of the Y slide (16) is a pallet (P) for securing a workpiece [0020]. According to Suzuki, the pallet (P) is supported for rotational feed about the workpiece axis (C) [paragraph 0020], the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extending transversely to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Next, as can best be seen in Figure 2, two mutually parallel Z linear guides (30) are connected directly to the machine bed (12, 14) of Suzuki, specifically “connected directly” to the vertical portion (14) of said machine bed (12, 14).
The machine tool (10) further comprises a Z slide (18) guided on the parallel Z linear guides (30) to be linearly displaceable in the Z direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14).
Also, as can be seen below within annotated Figure 1, Examiner illustrates a “center plane” which is defined by the workpiece axis (C) and the Y direction. Noting this, the Z direction runs parallel to the center plane defined by the Y direction and the workpiece axis (C). In doing so, it is noted that the Z direction extends at an angle of less than 45° to the workpiece axis (C). (For Applicant’s reference, please be advised that the center plane is centered with respect to the aforesaid X direction such that the center plane is centrally located between, for example, the two mutually parallel linear Z linear guides (30) along which the Z slide (18) is linearly displaceable).
The machine tool (10) further comprises an X slide (20) and a tool spindle (24), wherein the X slide (20) is arranged on the Z slide (18) and linearly displaceable in an X direction relative to the Z slide (18), the X direction extending perpendicular to the center plane. With regards to the tool spindle (24), it (24) is configured to drive a tool (T) about a tool axis (O) and is arranged on the X slide (20) to be pivotable relative to the X slide (20) about a first swivel axis (Oa). Please be advised that tool spindle (24) is “configured” to rotatably drive a generating machining tool about the tool axis (O). That is to say that should a generating machining tool be provided to the machine tool (10) as the tool (T) and should said provided generating tool be mounted to the tool spindle (24), said tool spindle (24) is capable of setting the provided generating tool in rotation about the tool axis (O). This, in at least this way, the tool spindle (24) “is configured to rotatably drive a generating tool about a tool axis.”
Next, Examiner reiterates that attached to the top face of the Y slide (16) is the pallet (P) for securing the workpiece [0020]. According to Suzuki, the pallet (P) is supported for rotational feed about the workpiece axis (C) [paragraph 0020], the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extending transversely to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Suzuki though, does not disclose “a workpiece spindle arranged on the Y slide and configured to clamp a workpiece thereon and configured to drive the workpiece to rotate about a workpiece axis C, the workpiece axis extending transversely to the Y direction.” Suzuki also does not disclose the machine tool (10) as comprising, “a controller configured to establish a positive coupling between a rotation of the generating machining tool and a rotation of the workpiece.”
Figure 1 of Wurfel though, shows a machine tool (20) for machining rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method. Figure 1 shows the machine tool (20) comprising a controller (40), a measurement unit (23), and a machining head (36) to which a generating machining tool (21) is mounted. According to Wurfel, the machine tool (20) relates to a method and an apparatus for gear skiving, and said machine tool (20) is suitable to generate gears [paragraph 0002]. Also, the controller (40) is a microprocessor with non-transitory memory storing instructions which controls the machine tool (20) [paragraph 0102]. In gear skiving, the workpiece to be machined is arranged on a workpiece spindle and the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) that cooperates in a cutting manner with the workpiece is arranged on a tool spindle. The two spindles are driven in accordance with a coupling ratio during gear skiving so that the cutting teeth of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) machine the tooth flank of the workpiece in a cutting manner [paragraph 0003]. Also, the gap geometry generated during the gear skiving at the workpiece depends on the shape of the cutting edge, on the location of the cutting edge, and on the machining kinematics [paragraph 0016]. Furthermore, the controller (40) is configured to carry out a production simulation of a gear skiving on the basis of a measurement of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) located in the tool mount made by the measurement unit (23) and to generate the machining kinematics for a gear skiving process with the measured skiving wheel with reference thereto [paragraph 0081].
The machine tool (20) of Wurfel further comprises a workpiece table (38), as well as a workpiece spindle which incurs rotation during machining/skiving [paragraphs 0127-0131]. Noting this, a coupling position describes a set of values for the rotational position of the tool spindle, for the rotational position of the workpiece spindle, and the position in the axial direction. It is fixed by this coupling position where exactly the gap is generated by the gear skiving process at the workpiece, i.e. at which angular position [paragraph 0129]. Per Wurfel, the workpiece/ rotary part to be machined with the spindle is arranged on the workpiece table (38) [paragraph 0101]. Disclosure is also provided for a workpiece clamping apparatus [paragraph 0101]. As such, the workpiece spindle is arranged on the workpiece table (38) and configured to clamp the workpiece therein by means of the workpiece clamping apparatus. Based on the foregoing, Wurfel discloses the machine tool (20) machining workpieces/rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method, wherein the controller (40) establishes the positive coupling between the rotation of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) and the rotation of the workpiece, and wherein the tool spindle drives the workpiece to rotate about a (vertical) workpiece axis (please see axis C2 in Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the controller (40), skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21), and measurement unit (23) of Wurfel and to have replaced the pallet (P) of Suzuki with the workpiece table (38), workpiece spindle, and workpiece clamping apparatus of Wurfel, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of the added capability of machining rotary parts/workpieces with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method. Thus, the modified machine tool (10) is a “machine tool for machining rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method.”
As a result of this modification, the workpiece table (38), the workpiece spindle, and the workpiece clamping apparatus of Wurfel replace the pallet (P) of Suzuki and are thus mounted to the Y slide (16) of Suzuki (like the now-replaced pallet (P) previously was located). As such, the workpiece spindle is arranged on the Y slide (16) and is configured to clamp the rotary part/ workpiece thereon via the workpiece clamping apparatus. Moreover, the workpiece spindle is configured to drive the rotary part/workpiece to rotate about the (vertical) workpiece axis (C), which extends transversely to the Y direction. Further, when machining rotary parts/workpieces with groove-shaped profiles by the generating method, the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) of Wurfel is mounted to the tool spindle (24) of Suzuki. In receiving the skiving wheel/ generating machining tool (21), said tool spindle (24) is configured to rotatably drive the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) about the tool axis (O). Lastly, the controller (40) of the modified machining tool (20) of Suzuki is configured to establish the positive coupling between the rotation of the generating machining tool (21) and the rotation of the rotary part/workpiece (in accordance with the disclosure of Wurfel).
Claim 2: The first swivel axis (Oa) extends perpendicular to the center plane, the tool axis (O) extends perpendicular to the first swivel axis (Oa), and the tool spindle (24) is pivotable about the first swivel axis (Oa) in a swivel plane that extends parallel to the center plane.
Claim 3: As be seen above, the machine tool (10) comprises two first swivel bearings (20a) for pivotably supporting the tool spindle (24) on the X slide (20) about the first swivel axis (Oa), and wherein the first swivel bearings (20a) are arranged on opposing sides of the tool spindle (24) with respect to the swivel plane.
Claim 10: The machine tool (10) comprises two first swivel bearings (20a) for pivotably supporting the tool spindle (24) (and the tool axis (O) corresponding thereto) on the X slide (20) about the first swivel axis (Oa). Also, as was stated above in the rejection of claim 1, the workpiece spindle is arranged on the Y slide (16) and is configured to drive the rotary part/ workpiece to rotate about the (vertical) workpiece axis (C). As such, the tool spindle (24) is pivotable about the first swivel axis (Oa) relative to the X slide (20) in such a manner that an axis crossing angle between the tool axis (O) and the workpiece axis (C) is able to take on negative and positive values between, for example, a smallest negative value and a maximum positive value.
Depending upon the given application, the smallest negative value and the maximum positive value can be selected for that particular application. +10° can be selected as maximum positive value in the given application, for example, whereas -5° can be selected as smallest negative value in the given application, for example. In at least this scenario, the maximum positive value of the axis crossing angle is greater than an absolute value of the corresponding smallest negative value.
Claim 11: As was stated above in the rejection of claim 1, what was previously shown within Figure 1 as the Ob axis was re-designated as the workpiece axis (C) (to correspond to the present claim language). Noting this, it can be seen in Figure 1 of Suzuki that the workpiece axis (C) extends vertically in space.
Claim 12: Figure 1 of Suzuki shows the machine tool (10) as comprising two Z drives (36) for moving the Z slide (18) along the Z direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14), and wherein each of the two Z drives (36) is assigned to one of the Z linear guides (30).
Claim 16: As was stated above within the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the controller (40), skiving wheel/generating machining tool (20), and measurement unit (23) of Wurfel and to have replaced the pallet (P) of Suzuki with the workpiece table (38), workpiece spindle, and workpiece clamping apparatus of Wurfel, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of the added capability of being able to machine rotary parts/ workpieces with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method (emphasis added). Noting this, Figure 3 of Wurfel shows the measurement unit (23) as comprising an optical measuring bridge (233), which is an optical sensor, e.g. a laser, that can be used for the measurement of the tool (21) [paragraph 0106 of Wurfel, see Figure 3]. Based on the foregoing, via the measurement unit (23) thereof, the modified machine tool (10) of Suzuki comprises the optical measuring bridge (233), which is an optical sensor, e.g. a laser, that can be used for the measurement of the skiving wheel/ generating machining tool (21)
Claim 22: As was stated above in the rejection of claim 1, what was previously shown within Figure 1 as the Ob axis was re-designated as the workpiece axis (C) (to correspond to the present claim language). Noting this, it can be seen in Figure 1 of Suzuki that the workpiece axis (C) extends vertically in space. In extending in this way/manner, the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extends perpendicularly to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Claim 23: As was stated above within the rejection of claim 1, what was previously shown by Suzuki as the Y direction, was re-designated as the Z direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Noting this, as can be seen below, the Z direction extends parallel to the workpiece axis (C).
Claim 24: As can be seen above, the first swivel axis (Oa) intersects the tool axis (O).
Claim 25: The two first swivel bearings (20a) are equidistant from the swivel plane. This can be seen below in annotated Figure 1 of Suzuki.
Claim 30: Figure 1 of Suzuki shows a machine tool (10) for machining of parts, wherein the machine tool (10) comprises a machine bed (12, 14). The machine bed (12, 14) is an L-shaped structure having a horizontal portion (12) and a vertical portion (14), the vertical portion (14) extending upwardly from the horizontal portion (12).
Next, Examiner has annotated Figure 1 and provided it below. In annotating Figure 1, Examiner has re-designated the Y and Z directions and the Ob axis. Thus, what was previously shown by Suzuki as the Y direction, has now been re-designated as the Z direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Also, what was previously shown by Suzuki within Figure 1 as the Z direction has now been re-designated as the Y direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Furthermore, what was previously shown within Figure 1 as the Ob axis has now been re-designated as the workpiece axis (C) (to correspond to the present claim language).
Be advised that with the above re-designation, Examiner is not making any structural modifications to the machine tool (10) of Suzuki. Rather, Examiner is only re-designating the foregoing directions/axis of the machine tool (10) such that discussion of the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with respect to the present claim language is easier to follow.
The machine tool (10) of Suzuki further comprises a Y slide (16) linearly displaceable in the Y direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14). Note that the Y slide (16) is guided on the horizontal portion (12) of the machine bed (12, 14). Attached to a top face of the Y slide (16) is a pallet (P) for securing a workpiece [0020]. According to Suzuki, the pallet (P) is supported for rotational feed about the workpiece axis (C) [paragraph 0020], the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extending transversely to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Next, as can best be seen in Figure 2, two mutually parallel Z linear guides (30) are fixedly connected to the machine bed (12, 14) of Suzuki, specifically “fixedly connected” to the vertical portion (14) of said machine bed (12, 14).
The machine tool (10) further comprises a Z slide (18) guided on the parallel Z linear guides (30) to be linearly displaceable in the Z direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14).
Also, as can be seen below within annotated Figure 1, Examiner illustrates a “center plane” which is defined by the workpiece axis (C) and the Y direction. Noting this, the Z direction runs parallel to the center plane defined by the Y direction and the workpiece axis (C). In doing so, it is noted that the Z direction extends at an angle of less than 45° to the workpiece axis (C). (For Applicant’s reference, please be advised that the center plane is centered with respect to the aforesaid X direction such that the center plane is centrally located between, for example, the two mutually parallel linear Z linear guides (30) along which the Z slide (18) is linearly displaceable).
The machine tool (10) further comprises an X slide (20) and a tool spindle (24), wherein the X slide (20) is arranged on the Z slide (18) and linearly displaceable in an X direction relative to the Z slide (18), the X direction extending perpendicular to the center plane. With regards to the tool spindle (24), it (24) is configured to drive a tool (T) about a tool axis (O) and is arranged on the X slide (20) to be pivotable relative to the X slide (20) about a first swivel axis (Oa). Please be advised that tool spindle (24) is “configured” to rotatably drive a generating machining tool about the tool axis (O). That is to say that should a generating machining tool be provided to the machine tool (10) as the tool (T) and should said provided generating tool be mounted to the tool spindle (24), said tool spindle (24) is capable of setting the provided generating tool in rotation about the tool axis (O). This, in at least this way, the tool spindle (24) “is configured to rotatably drive a generating tool about a tool axis.”
Next, Examiner reiterates that attached to the top face of the Y slide (16) is the pallet (P) for securing the workpiece [0020]. According to Suzuki, the pallet (P) is supported for rotational feed about the workpiece axis (C) [paragraph 0020], the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extending transversely to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Suzuki though, does not disclose “a workpiece spindle arranged on the Y slide and configured to clamp a workpiece thereon and configured to drive the workpiece to rotate about a workpiece axis C, the workpiece axis extending transversely to the Y direction.” Suzuki also does not disclose the machine tool (10) as comprising, “a controller configured to establish a positive coupling between a rotation of the generating machining tool and a rotation of the workpiece.”
Figure 1 of Wurfel though, shows a machine tool (20) for machining rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method. Figure 1 shows the machine tool (20) comprising a controller (40), a measurement unit (23), and a machining head (36) to which a generating machining tool (21) is mounted. According to Wurfel, the machine tool (20) relates to a method and an apparatus for gear skiving, and said machine tool (20) is suitable to generate gears [paragraph 0002]. Also, the controller (40) is a microprocessor with non-transitory memory storing instructions which controls the machine tool (20) [paragraph 0102]. In gear skiving, the workpiece to be machined is arranged on a workpiece spindle and the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) that cooperates in a cutting manner with the workpiece is arranged on a tool spindle. The two spindles are driven in accordance with a coupling ratio during gear skiving so that the cutting teeth of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) machine the tooth flank of the workpiece in a cutting manner [paragraph 0003]. Also, the gap geometry generated during the gear skiving at the workpiece depends on the shape of the cutting edge, on the location of the cutting edge, and on the machining kinematics [paragraph 0016]. Furthermore, the controller (40) is configured to carry out a production simulation of a gear skiving on the basis of a measurement of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) located in the tool mount made by the measurement unit (23) and to generate the machining kinematics for a gear skiving process with the measured skiving wheel with reference thereto [paragraph 0081].
The machine tool (20) of Wurfel further comprises a workpiece table (38), as well as a workpiece spindle which incurs rotation during machining/skiving [paragraphs 0127-0131]. Noting this, a coupling position describes a set of values for the rotational position of the tool spindle, for the rotational position of the workpiece spindle, and the position in the axial direction. It is fixed by this coupling position where exactly the gap is generated by the gear skiving process at the workpiece, i.e. at which angular position [paragraph 0129]. Per Wurfel, the workpiece/ rotary part to be machined with the spindle is arranged on the workpiece table (38) [paragraph 0101]. Disclosure is also provided for a workpiece clamping apparatus [paragraph 0101]. As such, the workpiece spindle is arranged on the workpiece table (38) and configured to clamp the workpiece therein by means of the workpiece clamping apparatus. Based on the foregoing, Wurfel discloses the machine tool (20) machining workpieces/rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method, wherein the controller (40) establishes the positive coupling between the rotation of the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) and the rotation of the workpiece, and wherein the tool spindle drives the workpiece to rotate about a (vertical) workpiece axis (please see axis C2 in Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the controller (40), skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21), and measurement unit (23) of Wurfel and to have replaced the pallet (P) of Suzuki with the workpiece table (38), workpiece spindle, and workpiece clamping apparatus of Wurfel, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of the added capability of machining rotary parts/workpieces with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method. Thus, the modified machine tool (10) is a “machine tool for machining rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles by a generating method.”
As a result of this modification, the workpiece table (38), the workpiece spindle, and the workpiece clamping apparatus of Wurfel replace the pallet (P) of Suzuki and are thus mounted to the Y slide (16) of Suzuki (like the now-replaced pallet (P) previously was located). As such, the workpiece spindle is arranged on the Y slide (16) and is configured to clamp the rotary part/ workpiece thereon via the workpiece clamping apparatus. Moreover, the workpiece spindle is configured to drive the rotary part/workpiece to rotate about the (vertical) workpiece axis (C), which extends transversely to the Y direction. Further, when machining rotary parts/workpieces with groove-shaped profiles by the generating method, the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) of Wurfel is mounted to the tool spindle (24) of Suzuki. In receiving the skiving wheel/ generating machining tool (21), said tool spindle (24) is configured to rotatably drive the skiving wheel/generating machining tool (21) about the tool axis (O). Lastly, the controller (40) of the modified machining tool (20) of Suzuki is configured to establish the positive coupling between the rotation of the generating machining tool (21) and the rotation of the rotary part/workpiece (in accordance with the disclosure of Wurfel).
Claim 31: The first swivel axis (Oa) extends perpendicular to the center plane, the tool axis (O) extends perpendicular to the first swivel axis (Oa), and the tool spindle (24) is pivotable about the first swivel axis (Oa) in a swivel plane that extends parallel to the center plane.
Claim 32: As was stated above in the rejection of claim 30, what was previously shown within Figure 1 as the Ob axis was re-designated as the workpiece axis (C) (to correspond to the present claim language). Noting this, it can be seen in Figure 1 of Suzuki that the workpiece axis (C) extends vertically in space. In extending in this way/manner, the (vertical) workpiece axis (C) extends perpendicularly to the (horizontal) Y direction.
Claim 33: As was stated above within the rejection of claim 1, what was previously shown by Suzuki as the Y direction, was re-designated as the Z direction (to correspond to the present claim language). Noting this, as can be seen below, the Z direction extends parallel to the workpiece axis (C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0221134 A1) in view of Wurfel (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0076944 A1), and further in view of Lin (China Publication No. CN 203761194 U).
Note that a machine translation of Lin is relied upon below. This machine translation and a copy of Lin have been furnished with this office action.
Claim 9: Suzuki does not provide disclosure on, “at least one vibration damper acting between the tool spindle and the X slide in order to damp vibrations of the tool spindle about the first swivel axis.” Having said that, please be advised that a pivoting servomotor is incorporated into one of two swivel bearings (20a) for driving pivoting of the tool spindle (24) about the first swivel axis (Oa) [Suzuki, paragraph 0023]. Please note that the two swivel bearings (20a) are part of the X slide (20) (see Figure 1 of Suzuki). As such, the pivoting servomotor acts between the tool spindle (24) and the X slide (20).
Figures 1 and 2 of Lin though, show a servomotor comprising a servomotor damping structure [Machine Translation, paragraph 0020]. According to Lin, the servomotor damping structure plays the role of buffering vibration in the process of power transmission, so as to protect the servomotor and prolong the service life of the motor rotating shaft (23) of the servomotor of the front end [Machine Translation, paragraph 0020]. Since the integral servomotor damping structure plays the role of buffering vibration in the process of power transmission, the servomotor damping structure is a vibration damper.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the pivoting servomotor of Suzuki with the servomotor of Lin (which servomotor of Lin has the servomotor damping structure (vibration damper)), so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of a servomotor having an integral vibration damper which buffers vibration in the process of power transmission.
In replacing the pivoting servomotor of Suzuki, the servomotor of Lin assumes the position in the one of the two swivel bearings (20a) of the X slide (20) of Suzuki that said pivoting servomotor previously occupied. As such, when the servomotor of Lin is actuated to drive pivoting of the tool spindle (24) about the first swivel axis (Oa), the servomotor damping structure (vibration damper) of said servomotor of Lin acts between the tool spindle (24) and the X slide (20) in order to damp vibrations of the tool spindle (24) about the first swivel axis (Oa).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0221134 A1) in view of Wurfel (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0076944 A1), and further in view of Yu (U.S. Patent No. 8,887,361 B2).
Claim 14: As can be seen below, the machine tool (10) further comprises two parallel Y linear guides (26) which extend parallel to the Y direction and which are arranged on opposing sides of the center plane. Noting this, the Y slide (16) is guided in the Y direction relative to the machine bed (12, 14).
Suzuki though, does not disclose the machine tool (10) as further comprising “two Y drives for moving the Y slide along the Y direction relative to the machine bed, and wherein in each case one of the Y drives is assigned to each of the Y linear guides.” Rather, Suzuki discloses a single servomotor (29) (please see Figure 2) and a single ball screw (28) (please see Figure 1) for driving linear displacement of the Y slide (16).
Figures 1 and 2 of Yu though, show a machine tool having a Y slide (99) comprising two parallel Y linear guides (2) on which the Y slide (99) is guided along a Y direction relative to a machine bed. Figures 1 and 2 further show the machine tool as comprising two Y drives (3) and two Y guide screws (5) for moving the Y slide (99) along the Y direction relative to the machine bed. Please note that in each case (see Figure 2), one of the Y drives (3) is assigned to each of the Y linear guides (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the two Y drives (3) and the two Y guide screws (5) of Yu for the single servomotor (29) and the single ball screw (28) of Suzuki, as this is a substitution of one known means for driving the linear displacement of a Y slide for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the two Y drives (3) of Yu being actuated so as to linearly displace the Y slide (16) of Suzuki along the two parallel Y linear guides (26) relative to the machine bed (12+14). In making this substitution, one Y drive (3) and one Y guide screw (5) of Yu is assigned to each one of the two parallel Y linear guides (26) of Suzuki.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0221134 A1) in view of Wurfel (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0076944 A1), and further in view of Lin (China Publication No. CN 105619181 A).
Please note that Lin was previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 4/7/2025.
Claim 13: Suzuki does not provide disclosure on the machine tool (10) further comprising “a Z linear measuring system for determining a position of the Z slide with respect to the Z direction, the Z linear measuring system comprising a measuring head mounted on the Z slide and a linear scale mounted on the machine bed, wherein the measuring head is arranged in an A-reference plane which is perpendicular to the Z direction and contains the first swivel axis.”
Lin though, shows in Figures 1 and 4 a machine tool (100) comprising a Z linear measuring system (53), the Z linear measuring system (53) comprising a measuring head (532) that is mounted on a Z slide (511) and comprising a linear scale (531) that is mounted on a support (41) adjacent a Z linear guide (513). Due to the linear scale (531) being mounted to extend parallel to the Z linear guide (513), the result is the Z linear measuring system (53) carrying out a position measurement in a reference plane, e.g. an A reference plane, which is perpendicular to the Z direction. Also, the Z linear measuring system (53) measures a sliding distance of the Z slide (511) [EPO Machine Translation of Lin, paragraph 0054], and in doing so, determining a position of the Z slide (511) in the Z direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the Z linear measuring system (53) of Lin, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of being able to measure a sliding distance of the Z slide (18) along the Z direction such that a position of the Z slide (18) in the Z direction can be determined. In making this modification, in accordance with the disclosure of Lin, the measuring head (532) is mounted on the Z slide (18) of Suzuki while the corresponding linear scale (531) is mounted adjacent one of the two Z linear guides (30) on the machine bed (12+14) (which itself is a support). Note that due to the linear scale (531) being mounted to extend parallel to one of the two mutually parallel Z linear guides (30) of the machine tool (10), the result is the Z linear measuring system (53) carrying out a position measurement in a reference plane, e.g. an A reference plane, which is perpendicular to the Z direction. Note that depending upon a selected location of the measuring head (532) when mounting/providing the measuring head (532) of Lin to the Z slide (18) in the above modification, the A reference plane is capable of containing the first swivel axis (Oa).
Claim 15: Suzuki does not provide disclosure on the machine tool (10) further comprising “a Y linear measuring system for determining a position of the Y slide with respect to the Y direction, the Y linear measuring system comprising a measuring head mounted on the Y slide and a linear scale mounted on the machine bed, wherein the measuring head is arranged in a C-reference plane which is perpendicular to the Z direction and contains the workpiece axis.”
Lin though, shows in Figures 1 and 2 a machine tool (100) comprising a Y linear measuring system (23), the Y linear measuring system (23) comprising a measuring head (232) that is mounted on a Y slide (21) and comprising a linear scale (231) that is mounted on a machine bed (10) of the machine tool (100) adjacent a Y linear guide (211). Due to the linear scale (231) being mounted to extend parallel to the Y linear guide (211), the result is the at least one Y linear measuring system (23) carrying out a position measurement in a reference plane, e.g. a C reference plane, which is perpendicular to the Y direction. (Please note that what is shown as the X direction in Figure 1 of Lin is considered to actually be the Y for the sake of this discussion. This interpretation is being made so that discussion of machine tool (100) of Lin is easier to follow). Also, in use, the at least one Y linear measuring system (23) of Lin provides for the measuring of a sliding distance of the Y slide (21) [EPO Machine Translation of Line, paragraph 0047], and in doing so, determining a position of the Y slide (21) in the Y direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the Y linear measuring system (23) of Lin, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with the advantage of being able to measure a sliding distance of the Y slide (16) along the Y direction such that a position of the Y slide (16) in the Y direction can be determined.
In making the above modification, in accordance with the disclosure of Lin, the measuring head (232) is mounted on the Y slide (16) of Suzuki while the corresponding linear scale (231) is mounted on the horizontal portion (12) of the machine bed (12+14) adjacent one of two mutually parallel Y linear guides (26). Due to the linear scale (231) being mounted to extend parallel to one of the two mutually parallel Y linear guides (16) of Suzuki, the result is the at least one Y linear measuring system (23) carrying out a position measurement in a reference plane, e.g. a C reference plane, which extends perpendicular to the Y direction. Lastly, depending upon a selected location of the measuring head (232) when mounting/providing the measuring head (232) of Lin to the Y slide (16) in the above modification, the C reference plane is capable of containing the workpiece axis (C).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0221134 A1) in view of Wurfel (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2019/0076944 A1), and further in view of Jung (U.S. PG Publication No. 2013/0207331 A1).
Please note that Jung was previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 4/7/2025.
Claim 17: Suzuki does not provide disclosure on the machine tool (10) further comprising, “a chip conveyor, and wherein the machine tool has a central opening to allow discharge of chips onto the chip conveyor.”
Figures 1 and 3 of Jung though, show a machine tool comprising a machine bed (2), which in turn comprises a chip conveyor (50) and a central opening (19) that allows discharge of chips onto the chip conveyor (50) [Jung, paragraph 0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the horizontal portion (12) of the machine bed (12+14) of Suzuki with the chip conveyor (50) and the central opening (19) of Jung, so as to provide the machine tool (10) of Suzuki with a means for removing accumulated chips. In doing so, please note that the chip conveyor (50) and the central opening (19) of Jung are incorporated into the horizontal portion (12) of Suzuki such that chips resulting from the generating method discharge through the central opening (19) and onto the chip conveyor (50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8, and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowed.
Note that that in the Office action mailed September 5, 2025, it was indicated that claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten (withing broadening) in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Present independent claim 6 as filed on 3/3/2026 constitutes former dependent claim 6 so re-written. The indication of the allowability of such a claim stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heidelmann et al. (U.S. PG Publication No. 2012/0009848 A1) shows in Figure 1 shows a machine tool for machining rotary parts with groove-shaped profiles, the machine tool comprising a machine bed (10), a workpiece spindle configured to drive a workpiece to rotate, two mutually parallel Z linear guides, a Z slide (3) guided on the Z linear guides, an X slide (9) arranged on the Z slide (3) and linearly displaceable in an X direction, and a tool spindle (7) that is configured to rotatably drive a machining tool.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL VITALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722