DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 06/29/2026. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/29/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3-5 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are found to be unpersuasive in view of the explicit teachings of newly identified prior art, Sheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180220360, hereinafter “Sheng”).
Applicant argues that the cited references, Ko (U.S. Patent Application Publication No 20190208550, hereinafter “Ko”) and Takahashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210120592; hereinafter “Takahashi”), fail to disclose or suggest,
"wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets."
While Applicant points out the alleged deficiencies of Ko and Takahashi, the newly added limitation in question is clearly known in the art and is explicitly disclosed by Sheng.
Notably, para [0014] of Sheng explicitly states that Fig. 3 is an “example NR SS block structure according to the RAN1 #86bis meeting,” citing specific 3GPP standard discussion documents such as R1-1610522. This underscores that the hierarchical structure depicted in Fig. 3 is not merely an isolated embodiment, but rather well-known and widely established standard data in the 5G NR art. Fig. 3 of Sheng is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 3 of Sheng)
Based on this standard discussion, Fig. 3 of Sheng visually illustrates a hierarchical synchronization signal structure defining a “synchronization signal burst set/series” that comprises multiple “synchronization signal bursts”.
Within this structure in Fig. 3, the indices for the “synchronization signal block” (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, … W) are shown to be explicitly resetting and repeating in each successive burst.
Furthermore, Sheng explicitly discloses using a set index to identify the corresponding set in which the block index is repeated. Specifically, paragraphs [0090] and [0096] of Sheng teaches providing an “SS burst set index”.
Para [0097] of Sheng further teaches identifying a block by combining the block index and the set index, explicitly disclosing an “SS block odd index of SS burst set odd index… [and] SS block odd index of SS burst set even index”.
This explicit disclosure in Shen Fig. 3 of Sheng demonstrates that the same synchronization signal block index (e.g., an “odd index”) is repeated across a plurality of sets (e.g., an “odd” set and an “even” set), and that the “ss burst set index” identifies the corresponding set among the plurality of sets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the well-known repeating SSB index structure and set index as taught by Sheng into the system of Ko and Takahashi. The combination of these teaching render the amended limitations of claim 1 obvious. Claims 3-5 fall with Claim 1 for the same reasons. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S. Patent Application Publication No 20190208550, hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Takahashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210120592; hereinafter “Takahashi”), and further in view of Sheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180220360; hereinafter “Sheng”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Ko unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 4:
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches A terminal (Fig. 18, a wireless device 10 ) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 18, a transceiver 11) that receives a plurality of synchronization signal blocks having different transmission directions in a different frequency band different from a certain frequency band that includes one or a plurality of frequency ranges (Para [0091]; a millimeter frequency band at or above 6 GHz is considered in order to transmit data …) (Para [0097]: …. Analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam. BRSs may be defined for a plurality of antenna ports, and each antenna port of the BRSs may correspond to a single analog beam. Unlike the BRSs, the SS or the xPBCH may be transmitted for all analog beams included in an analog beam group (interpreted as “a plurality of synchronization signal blocks”) so that any UE may receive the SS or the xPBCH successfully.) (Para [0100]; the gNB transmits an SS such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH in each direction …For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system.) (Examiner’s note: The above 6 GHz discussed in para [0091] is corresponded to the claimed “different frequency band” different from a certain frequency band of 6 GHz or less “a certain frequency band”); and
a processor (Fig. 18, a processing chip 12) that determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks (para [0174]; the UE combines the information on ATSSs, which is transmitted through the RMSI, and the PRACH configuration information and considers predefined rules in order to derive the valid PRACH slot.) (para [0175]; In addition, after deriving the valid PRACH slot, the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells.)(para [0178]; After the total number of PRACH occasions (interpreted as “transmission opportunity”, see para [0012] of the Specification of the instant application) that can be allocated in a PRACH configuration period is determined, a method for mapping individual SSBs to the PRACH occasions should also be determined (interpreted as “determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks”)),
wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Fig. 10 and para [0099] of Ko: Referring to FIG. 10, compared to a wireless communication system such as legacy LTE in which one eNB forms one cell, configuration of one cell by a plurality of TRPs is under discussion in the NR system.). Fig. 10 of Ko is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 10 of Ko)
Kim further discloses that, in para [0100] of Ko, “…Or if the gNB is capable of forming N beams, the beams may be grouped, and the PSS/SSS/PBCH may be transmitted/received on a group basis. One beam group includes one or more beams. Signals such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may be defined as one SS block (SSB), and a plurality of SSBs may exist in one cell. If a plurality of SSBs exist, an SSB index may be used to identify each SSB. For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system. In the present disclosure, a beam index may be interpreted as an SSB index.”
Specifically, paragraphs [0097] of Ko discloses that “analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam.”
Taking these disclosures into account, Ko, therefore, teaches that in system where the one cell is configured with a plurality of TRPs, a plurality of SSBs are transmitted simultaneously within said one cell. Thus, Ko clearly teaches the “the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko further discloses that, in para [0192] of Ko, a case in which multiple SSBs are mapped to one PRACH occasion, that is, many-to-one mapping is performed will be described. If the value of M satisfies 0<M<1 and if 1/M=N where N is the number of SSBs mapped to the one PRACH occasion, the multiple SSBs are CDMed with the one PRACH occasion (interpreted as “share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks”).
Thus, Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko fails to teach:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions; and the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions, and wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets.
In analogous art, Takahashi teaches the missing features of:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions (para [0161] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 of the present embodiment receives random access configuration information via the higher layer before initiating the random access procedure. The random access configuration information may include the following information …) (para [0162] of Takahashi: a set of one or more time/frequency resources (also referred to as a random access channel occasion (occasion), a PRACH occasion, or a RACH occasion) available for transmission of the random access preamble;)(para [0180]: Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one of one or more configured CSI-RSs. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one downlink transmission beam (or beam index). Note that the information associated with one SS/PBCH block, one CSI-RS, and/or one downlink transmission beam may include index information (e.g., may be an SSB index, a beam index, or a QCL configuration index) for identifying one corresponding SS/PBCH block (the QCL configuration index is interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions”), one corresponding CSI-RS, and/or one corresponding downlink transmission beam.)(para [0099] of Takahashi: Within the period of a certain SS burst set, the SS/PBCH blocks to which the same SSB index has been allocated may be assumed to be QCL with respect to the average delay, the average gain, the Doppler spread, the Doppler shift, and the spatial correlation. A configuration corresponding to one or more SS/PBCH blocks (or may be the reference signal), which is QCL, may be referred to as a QCL configuration.)(para [0124] of Takahashi: For example, in a case that the index #2 of the SS/PBCH block and the QCL type A+the QCL type B are configured and/or indicated as one state of the TCI at the time of receiving the PDCCH by the terminal apparatus 1, the terminal apparatus 1 may assume, at the time of receiving the PDCCH DMRS, the Doppler shift, the Doppler spread, the average delay, the delay spread, and the reception spatial parameter in reception of the SS/PBCH block index #2 as the channel long term properties, and may receive the DMRS of the PDCCH to perform synchronization or channel estimation.) ; and
the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions (para [0203] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 may transmit a random access preamble using a PRACH occasion indicated in random access configuration information associated with a certain downlink transmission beam.).
Ko and Takahashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of New Radio Access Technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi and provide a QCL configuration indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions in order to efficiently communicate with each other.
Ko and Takahashi fail to explicitly teach the wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets.
In analogous art, Sheng teaches
wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets (See Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0014], [0090] and [0096]-[0097]). Fig. 3 is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 3 of Sheng)
(para [0014] of Sheng: FIG. 3 is an example NR SS block structure according to the RAN1 #86bis meeting. In FIG. 3, “synchronization signal bursts series” represents a “SS burst set”. Additional detailed examples are illustrated in R1-1610522, “WF on the unified structure of DL sync signal”, Intel Corporation, NTT DOCOMO, ZTE, ZTE Microelectronics, ETRI, InterDigital, Lisbon, Portugal, 10-14 Oct. 2016, which is incorporated herein by reference. According to R1-1611268, “Considerations on SS block design”, ZTE, ZTE Microelectronics, Reno, USA, November 2016, 14-18, 2016, which is incorporated herein by reference, the structure of the SS block of FIG. 3 may be as shown in FIG. 4.) (para [0090] of Sheng: The concepts of synchronization signal block, synchronization signal block burst, and synchronization signal block burst set are understood with reference to FIG. 3, for example. Thus, the indication of a synchronization signal block type may comprise one or more of a synchronization signal block index, a synchronization signal block burst index, and a synchronization signal block burst set index.) (para [0096] of Sheng: the access node 22F may provide a SS burst set index (i.e., the index of SS burst, and/or the index of SS burst set) which indicates the type of SS block structure.) ((para [0097] of Sheng: As a third example implementation of an index indication of synchronization signal block type, a SS block odd index of SS burst set odd index indicates the first type of SS block structure, an SS block odd index of SS burst set even index indicates the second type of SS block structure, and so on so forth.) Examiner’s note: Based on this standard discussion, Fig. 3 of Sheng visually illustrates a hierarchical synchronization signal structure defining a “synchronization signal burst set/series” that comprises multiple “synchronization signal bursts”. Within this structure in Fig. 3, the indices for the “synchronization signal block” (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, … W) are shown to be explicitly resetting and repeating in each successive burst. Furthermore, Sheng explicitly discloses using a set index to identify the corresponding set in which the block index is repeated. Specifically, paragraphs [0090] and [0096] of Sheng teaches providing an “SS burst set index”. Para [0097] of Sheng further teaches identifying a block by combining the block index and the set index, explicitly disclosing an “SS block odd index of SS burst set odd index… [and] SS block odd index of SS burst set even index”. This explicit disclosure in Shen Fig. 3 of Sheng demonstrates that the same synchronization signal block index (e.g., an “odd index”) is repeated across a plurality of sets (e.g., an “odd” set and an “even” set), and that the “ss burst set index” identifies the corresponding set among the plurality of sets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the well-known repeating SSB index structure and set index as taught by Sheng into the system of Ko and Takahashi.
Regarding claim 4, Ko teaches A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a plurality of synchronization signal blocks having different transmission directions in a different frequency band different from a certain frequency band that includes one or a plurality of frequency ranges (Para [0100]; the gNB transmits an SS such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH in each direction...)(Para [0091]; a millimeter frequency band at or above 6 GHz is considered in order to transmit data …)(Examiner’s note: The above 6 GHz is corresponded to the claimed “different frequency band” different from a certain frequency band of 6 GHz or less “a certain frequency band”); and
a processor (Fig. 18, a processing chip 12) that determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks (para [0174]; the UE combines the information on ATSSs, which is transmitted through the RMSI, and the PRACH configuration information and considers predefined rules in order to derive the valid PRACH slot.) (para [0175]; In addition, after deriving the valid PRACH slot, the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells.)(para [0178]; After the total number of PRACH occasions (interpreted as “transmission opportunity”, see para [0012] of the Specification of the instant application) that can be allocated in a PRACH configuration period is determined, a method for mapping individual SSBs to the PRACH occasions should also be determined (interpreted as “determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks”)),
wherein the processor determines different transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Fig. 10 and para [0099] of Ko: Referring to FIG. 10, compared to a wireless communication system such as legacy LTE in which one eNB forms one cell, configuration of one cell by a plurality of TRPs is under discussion in the NR system.). Fig. 10 of Ko is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 10 of Ko)
Ko further discloses that, in para [0100] of Ko, “…Or if the gNB is capable of forming N beams, the beams may be grouped, and the PSS/SSS/PBCH may be transmitted/received on a group basis. One beam group includes one or more beams. Signals such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may be defined as one SS block (SSB), and a plurality of SSBs may exist in one cell. If a plurality of SSBs exist, an SSB index may be used to identify each SSB. For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system. In the present disclosure, a beam index may be interpreted as an SSB index.”
Specifically, paragraphs [0097] of Ko discloses that “analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam.”
Taking these disclosures into account, Ko, therefore, teaches that in system where the one cell is configured with a plurality of TRPs, a plurality of SSBs are transmitted simultaneously within said one cell. Thus, Ko clearly teaches the “the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko further discloses that, in para [0192] of Ko, a case in which multiple SSBs are mapped to one PRACH occasion, that is, many-to-one mapping is performed will be described. If the value of M satisfies 0<M<1 and if 1/M=N where N is the number of SSBs mapped to the one PRACH occasion, the multiple SSBs are CDMed with the one PRACH occasion (interpreted as “share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks”).
Thus, Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko fails to teach:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions; and the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions, and wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets.
In analogous art, Takahashi teaches the missing features of:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions (para [0161] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 of the present embodiment receives random access configuration information via the higher layer before initiating the random access procedure. The random access configuration information may include the following information …) (para [0162] of Takahashi: a set of one or more time/frequency resources (also referred to as a random access channel occasion (occasion), a PRACH occasion, or a RACH occasion) available for transmission of the random access preamble;)(para [0180]: Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one of one or more configured CSI-RSs. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one downlink transmission beam (or beam index). Note that the information associated with one SS/PBCH block, one CSI-RS, and/or one downlink transmission beam may include index information (e.g., may be an SSB index, a beam index, or a QCL configuration index) for identifying one corresponding SS/PBCH block (the QCL configuration index is interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions”), one corresponding CSI-RS, and/or one corresponding downlink transmission beam.)(para [0099] of Takahashi: Within the period of a certain SS burst set, the SS/PBCH blocks to which the same SSB index has been allocated may be assumed to be QCL with respect to the average delay, the average gain, the Doppler spread, the Doppler shift, and the spatial correlation. A configuration corresponding to one or more SS/PBCH blocks (or may be the reference signal), which is QCL, may be referred to as a QCL configuration.)(para [0124] of Takahashi: For example, in a case that the index #2 of the SS/PBCH block and the QCL type A+the QCL type B are configured and/or indicated as one state of the TCI at the time of receiving the PDCCH by the terminal apparatus 1, the terminal apparatus 1 may assume, at the time of receiving the PDCCH DMRS, the Doppler shift, the Doppler spread, the average delay, the delay spread, and the reception spatial parameter in reception of the SS/PBCH block index #2 as the channel long term properties, and may receive the DMRS of the PDCCH to perform synchronization or channel estimation.) ; and
the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions (para [0203] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 may transmit a random access preamble using a PRACH occasion indicated in random access configuration information associated with a certain downlink transmission beam.).
Ko and Takahashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of New Radio Access Technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi and provide a QCL configuration indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions in order to efficiently communicate with each other.
Ko and Takahashi fail to explicitly teach the wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets.
In analogous art, Sheng teaches
wherein a same synchronization signal block index is repeated in each of a plurality of synchronization signal block sets, and a set index identifies a corresponding one of the plurality of synchronization signal block sets (See Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0014], [0090] and [0096]-[0097]). Fig. 3 is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 3 of Sheng)
(para [0014] of Sheng: FIG. 3 is an example NR SS block structure according to the RAN1 #86bis meeting. In FIG. 3, “synchronization signal bursts series” represents a “SS burst set”. Additional detailed examples are illustrated in R1-1610522, “WF on the unified structure of DL sync signal”, Intel Corporation, NTT DOCOMO, ZTE, ZTE Microelectronics, ETRI, InterDigital, Lisbon, Portugal, 10-14 Oct. 2016, which is incorporated herein by reference. According to R1-1611268, “Considerations on SS block design”, ZTE, ZTE Microelectronics, Reno, USA, November 2016, 14-18, 2016, which is incorporated herein by reference, the structure of the SS block of FIG. 3 may be as shown in FIG. 4.) (para [0090] of Sheng: The concepts of synchronization signal block, synchronization signal block burst, and synchronization signal block burst set are understood with reference to FIG. 3, for example. Thus, the indication of a synchronization signal block type may comprise one or more of a synchronization signal block index, a synchronization signal block burst index, and a synchronization signal block burst set index.) (para [0096] of Sheng: the access node 22F may provide a SS burst set index (i.e., the index of SS burst, and/or the index of SS burst set) which indicates the type of SS block structure.) ((para [0097] of Sheng: As a third example implementation of an index indication of synchronization signal block type, a SS block odd index of SS burst set odd index indicates the first type of SS block structure, an SS block odd index of SS burst set even index indicates the second type of SS block structure, and so on so forth.) Examiner’s note: Based on this standard discussion, Fig. 3 of Sheng visually illustrates a hierarchical synchronization signal structure defining a “synchronization signal burst set/series” that comprises multiple “synchronization signal bursts”. Within this structure in Fig. 3, the indices for the “synchronization signal block” (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, … W) are shown to be explicitly resetting and repeating in each successive burst. Furthermore, Sheng explicitly discloses using a set index to identify the corresponding set in which the block index is repeated. Specifically, paragraphs [0090] and [0096] of Sheng teaches providing an “SS burst set index”. Para [0097] of Sheng further teaches identifying a block by combining the block index and the set index, explicitly disclosing an “SS block odd index of SS burst set odd index… [and] SS block odd index of SS burst set even index”. This explicit disclosure in Shen Fig. 3 of Sheng demonstrates that the same synchronization signal block index (e.g., an “odd index”) is repeated across a plurality of sets (e.g., an “odd” set and an “even” set), and that the “ss burst set index” identifies the corresponding set among the plurality of sets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the well-known repeating SSB index structure and set index as taught by Sheng into the system of Ko and Takahashi.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 3, Ko, Takahashi, and Sheng teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko further teaches wherein the processor assigns different preamble to each of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Para [0181]; Nseq _ per _ SSB _ per _ RO: the number of CBRA preambles per SSB (interpreted as “assigns different preamble to each”) for a PRACH transmission occasion)( See above discussion regarding the claimed language “the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” in claims 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Ko, Takahashi, and Sheng teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko further teaches wherein the control unit determines to increase or decrease the transmission opportunity of the preamble that is frequency division multiplexed (Para [0121]; a PRACH preamble may be mapped from the first OFDM symbol (interpreted as “preamble that is frequency division multiplexed”) in the PRACH slot) (Para [0155]; Meanwhile, the PRACH configuration shown in Table 3 can be helpful for avoiding a collision between cells' PRACH occasions. However, in a serving cell, if a gNB transmits an SSB and an RMSI PDCCH/PDSCH in the front portion of a DL/UL configuration period, the collision probability between a downlink channel for transmitting the SSB and RMSI PDCCH/PDSCH and a PRACH occasion may further increase. Consequently, the number of PRACH occasions within the PRACH period may decrease. Thus, at least some entries of Table 3 should be eliminated.). Examiner’s note: As disclosed in paragraphs [0155-0158], Ko discloses the case where the number of PRACH occasions decreases, and explains the process of increasing the number of PRACH occasions by modifying the PRACH configuration shown in Table 3. Therefore, Ko teaches the above claimed feature.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Takahashi, in view of Sheng, and further in view of Gu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180368186; hereinafter “Gu”).
Regarding claim 2, Ko, Takahashi, and Sheng teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
Ko teaches the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time, (Para [0181]; Nseq _ per _ SSB _ per _ RO: the number of CBRA preambles per SSB for a PRACH transmission occasion)( See above discussion regarding the claimed language “the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” in claims 1 and 4).
Ko, Takahashi and Sheng do not explicitly teach the determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities … based on i mod M, where i is an index of the synchronization signal block and M is number of the synchronization signal blocks.
In analogous art, Gu teaches “determines the transmission opportunity … based on i mod M, where i is an index of the synchronization signal block and M is number of the synchronization signal blocks” (Para [0052] of Gu; determine random access preambles for each of SSBs, floor(i/X)=(j mod N))(Para [0049] of Gu; where j is the index j of the j-th SSB, and N is the number of the SSB groups,)
Ko, Takahashi, Sheng and Gu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of transmitting and receiving a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ko, Takahashi, and Sheng to incorporate the teachings of Gu by determining random access preambles for each of SSBs based on j mod N, wherein j is the index j of the j-th SSB, and N is the number of the SSB groups. Doing so would allow the terminal to transmit a PRACH via the valid PRACH occasion.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Takahashi, in view of Sheng and further in view of Gao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210258902; hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 6, Ko, Takahashi, and Sheng teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko and Takahashi fail to explicitly teach the wherein the synchronization signal blocks have an expanded index range of 0 to 255.
In analogous art, Gao teaches wherein the synchronization signal blocks have an expanded index range of 0 to 255 (Para [0287] of Gao; the SSB slot indexes may be …, 0 to 255, ...)
Ko, Takahashi, Sheng and Gao are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a synchronization signal transmission method, a network device, and a terminal device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ko and Takahashi to incorporate the teaching (the SSB slot indexes may be …, 0 to 255, ...) of Gao.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411