DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 11/06/2025. Claims 1-4 have been amended. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-5 filed on 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive and the arguments on the amended feature has been addressed in the instant Office Action with previously identified prior art by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added feature are moot.
The argument assert that:
However, regarding the transmission of SSBs, paragraph [0100] of Ko explains that PSS/SSS/PBCH are transmitted by beam sweeping, in which signals are transmitted while rotating the beam direction. When PSS/SSS/PBCH are transmitted in 10 beam directions, there are 10 SSBs, and the beam index can be understood as an SSB index. Thus, in Ko, a plurality of SSBs identified by S SB index are transmitted sequentially by beam sweeping and are not transmitted simultaneously.
By contrast, the present invention is directed toward scenarios in which a plurality of SSBs (e.g., SSB indexes 1-255) are transmitted at the same time (i.e., simultaneously), as illustrated in FIGS. 12 and 13, and specifically addresses the problem of ROs that arises when SSBs are transmitted simultaneously. It is this simultaneous transmission of multiple SSBs, and the resulting need to determine sharing of preamble transmission opportunities among such SSBs, that is central to amended claims 1 and 4.
To eliminate any potential interpretation of "the same time position" as having a temporal width broader than simultaneously, Applicant has amended the phrase "the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time position" to "the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time," consistent with the disclosure in, for example, paragraphs [0126] and [0129] of the originally-filed specification.
Ko does not disclose or suggest the above-mentioned limitation. As acknowledged by the Examiner, Ko maps a plurality of SSBs transmitted sequentially by beam sweeping to ROs as shown in FIG. 16. Thus, Ko at most teaches a one-to-one mapping between SSB index and RO over different time instants. As such, Ko does not disclose or suggest how SSBs transmitted at the same time (i.e., transmitted simultaneously) are mapped to ROs, as recited in the above-mentioned limitation. (The asserted portion of the Applicant’s Argument, pp 6-7)
The Examiner respectfully cannot concur.
Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” as recited in claim 1.
Ko discloses, in Fig. 10 and para [0099], configuration of one cell by a plurality of TRPs is under discussion in the NR system. Fig. 10 of Ko is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 10 of Ko)
Then, Kim further discloses that, in para [0100] of Ko, “…Or if the gNB is capable of forming N beams, the beams may be grouped, and the PSS/SSS/PBCH may be transmitted/received on a group basis. One beam group includes one or more beams. Signals such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may be defined as one SS block (SSB), and a plurality of SSBs may exist in one cell. If a plurality of SSBs exist, an SSB index may be used to identify each SSB. For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system. In the present disclosure, a beam index may be interpreted as an SSB index.”
Specifically, paragraphs [0097] of Ko discloses that “analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam.”
Taking these disclosures into account, Ko, therefore, teaches that in system where the one cell is configured with a plurality of TRPs, a plurality of SSBs are transmitted simultaneously within said one cell. Thus, Ko clearly teaches the “the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko further discloses that, in para [0192] of Ko, a case in which multiple SSBs are mapped to one PRACH occasion, that is, many-to-one mapping is performed will be described. If the value of M satisfies 0<M<1 and if 1/M=N where N is the number of SSBs mapped to the one PRACH occasion, the multiple SSBs are CDMed with the one PRACH occasion (interpreted as “share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks”).
Thus, Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” as recited in claim 1 and the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S Patent Application Publication No 2019/0208550, hereinafter “Ko”) in view of Takahashi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 20210120592; hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Ko unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 4:
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches A terminal (Fig. 18, a wireless device 10 ) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 18, a transceiver 11) that receives a plurality of synchronization signal blocks having different transmission directions in a different frequency band different from a certain frequency band that includes one or a plurality of frequency ranges (Para [0091]; a millimeter frequency band at or above 6 GHz is considered in order to transmit data …) (Para [0097]: …. Analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam. BRSs may be defined for a plurality of antenna ports, and each antenna port of the BRSs may correspond to a single analog beam. Unlike the BRSs, the SS or the xPBCH may be transmitted for all analog beams included in an analog beam group (interpreted as “a plurality of synchronization signal blocks”) so that any UE may receive the SS or the xPBCH successfully.) (Para [0100]; the gNB transmits an SS such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH in each direction …For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system.) (Examiner’s note: The above 6 GHz discussed in para [0091] is corresponded to the claimed “different frequency band” different from a certain frequency band of 6 GHz or less “a certain frequency band”); and
a processor (Fig. 18, a processing chip 12) that determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks (para [0174]; the UE combines the information on ATSSs, which is transmitted through the RMSI, and the PRACH configuration information and considers predefined rules in order to derive the valid PRACH slot.) (para [0175]; In addition, after deriving the valid PRACH slot, the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells.)(para [0178]; After the total number of PRACH occasions (interpreted as “transmission opportunity”, see para [0012] of the Specification of the instant application) that can be allocated in a PRACH configuration period is determined, a method for mapping individual SSBs to the PRACH occasions should also be determined (interpreted as “determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks”)),
wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Fig. 10 and para [0099] of Ko: Referring to FIG. 10, compared to a wireless communication system such as legacy LTE in which one eNB forms one cell, configuration of one cell by a plurality of TRPs is under discussion in the NR system.). Fig. 10 of Ko is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 10 of Ko)
Kim further discloses that, in para [0100] of Ko, “…Or if the gNB is capable of forming N beams, the beams may be grouped, and the PSS/SSS/PBCH may be transmitted/received on a group basis. One beam group includes one or more beams. Signals such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may be defined as one SS block (SSB), and a plurality of SSBs may exist in one cell. If a plurality of SSBs exist, an SSB index may be used to identify each SSB. For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system. In the present disclosure, a beam index may be interpreted as an SSB index.”
Specifically, paragraphs [0097] of Ko discloses that “analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam.”
Taking these disclosures into account, Ko, therefore, teaches that in system where the one cell is configured with a plurality of TRPs, a plurality of SSBs are transmitted simultaneously within said one cell. Thus, Ko clearly teaches the “the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko further discloses that, in para [0192] of Ko, a case in which multiple SSBs are mapped to one PRACH occasion, that is, many-to-one mapping is performed will be described. If the value of M satisfies 0<M<1 and if 1/M=N where N is the number of SSBs mapped to the one PRACH occasion, the multiple SSBs are CDMed with the one PRACH occasion (interpreted as “share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks”).
Thus, Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko fails to teach:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions; and the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions.
In analogous art, Takahashi teaches the missing features of:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions (para [0161] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 of the present embodiment receives random access configuration information via the higher layer before initiating the random access procedure. The random access configuration information may include the following information …) (para [0162] of Takahashi: a set of one or more time/frequency resources (also referred to as a random access channel occasion (occasion), a PRACH occasion, or a RACH occasion) available for transmission of the random access preamble;)(para [0180]: Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one of one or more configured CSI-RSs. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one downlink transmission beam (or beam index). Note that the information associated with one SS/PBCH block, one CSI-RS, and/or one downlink transmission beam may include index information (e.g., may be an SSB index, a beam index, or a QCL configuration index) for identifying one corresponding SS/PBCH block (the QCL configuration index is interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions”), one corresponding CSI-RS, and/or one corresponding downlink transmission beam.)(para [0099] of Takahashi: Within the period of a certain SS burst set, the SS/PBCH blocks to which the same SSB index has been allocated may be assumed to be QCL with respect to the average delay, the average gain, the Doppler spread, the Doppler shift, and the spatial correlation. A configuration corresponding to one or more SS/PBCH blocks (or may be the reference signal), which is QCL, may be referred to as a QCL configuration.)(para [0124] of Takahashi: For example, in a case that the index #2 of the SS/PBCH block and the QCL type A+the QCL type B are configured and/or indicated as one state of the TCI at the time of receiving the PDCCH by the terminal apparatus 1, the terminal apparatus 1 may assume, at the time of receiving the PDCCH DMRS, the Doppler shift, the Doppler spread, the average delay, the delay spread, and the reception spatial parameter in reception of the SS/PBCH block index #2 as the channel long term properties, and may receive the DMRS of the PDCCH to perform synchronization or channel estimation.) ; and
the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions (para [0203] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 may transmit a random access preamble using a PRACH occasion indicated in random access configuration information associated with a certain downlink transmission beam.).
Ko and Takahashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of New Radio Access Technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi and provide a QCL configuration indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions in order to efficiently communicate with each other..
Regarding claim 4, Ko teaches A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a plurality of synchronization signal blocks having different transmission directions in a different frequency band different from a certain frequency band that includes one or a plurality of frequency ranges (Para [0100]; the gNB transmits an SS such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH in each direction...)(Para [0091]; a millimeter frequency band at or above 6 GHz is considered in order to transmit data …)(Examiner’s note: The above 6 GHz is corresponded to the claimed “different frequency band” different from a certain frequency band of 6 GHz or less “a certain frequency band”); and
a processor (Fig. 18, a processing chip 12) that determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks (para [0174]; the UE combines the information on ATSSs, which is transmitted through the RMSI, and the PRACH configuration information and considers predefined rules in order to derive the valid PRACH slot.) (para [0175]; In addition, after deriving the valid PRACH slot, the UE should be able to derive valid PRACH symbols based on a signaled PRACH preamble format and the start symbol index of a PRACH slot specified for all cells.)(para [0178]; After the total number of PRACH occasions (interpreted as “transmission opportunity”, see para [0012] of the Specification of the instant application) that can be allocated in a PRACH configuration period is determined, a method for mapping individual SSBs to the PRACH occasions should also be determined (interpreted as “determines a transmission opportunity of a preamble via a random access channel based on each of the synchronization signal blocks”)),
wherein the processor determines different transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Fig. 10 and para [0099] of Ko: Referring to FIG. 10, compared to a wireless communication system such as legacy LTE in which one eNB forms one cell, configuration of one cell by a plurality of TRPs is under discussion in the NR system.). Fig. 10 of Ko is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 10 of Ko)
Kim further discloses that, in para [0100] of Ko, “…Or if the gNB is capable of forming N beams, the beams may be grouped, and the PSS/SSS/PBCH may be transmitted/received on a group basis. One beam group includes one or more beams. Signals such as the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may be defined as one SS block (SSB), and a plurality of SSBs may exist in one cell. If a plurality of SSBs exist, an SSB index may be used to identify each SSB. For example, if the PSS/SSS/PBCH is transmitted in 10 beam directions in one system, the PSS/SSS/PBCH transmitted in the same direction may form an SSB, and it may be understood that 10 SSBs exist in the system. In the present disclosure, a beam index may be interpreted as an SSB index.”
Specifically, paragraphs [0097] of Ko discloses that “analog beams from different antenna panels may be transmitted simultaneously in one symbol, and introduction of a beam reference signal (BRS) transmitted for a single analog beam corresponding to a specific antenna panel as illustrated in FIG. 9 is under discussion in order to measure a channel per analog beam.”
Taking these disclosures into account, Ko, therefore, teaches that in system where the one cell is configured with a plurality of TRPs, a plurality of SSBs are transmitted simultaneously within said one cell. Thus, Ko clearly teaches the “the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko further discloses that, in para [0192] of Ko, a case in which multiple SSBs are mapped to one PRACH occasion, that is, many-to-one mapping is performed will be described. If the value of M satisfies 0<M<1 and if 1/M=N where N is the number of SSBs mapped to the one PRACH occasion, the multiple SSBs are CDMed with the one PRACH occasion (interpreted as “share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks”).
Thus, Ko teaches the claimed limitations of “wherein the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time.”
Ko fails to teach:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions; and the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions.
In analogous art, Takahashi teaches the missing features of:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions (para [0161] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 of the present embodiment receives random access configuration information via the higher layer before initiating the random access procedure. The random access configuration information may include the following information …) (para [0162] of Takahashi: a set of one or more time/frequency resources (also referred to as a random access channel occasion (occasion), a PRACH occasion, or a RACH occasion) available for transmission of the random access preamble;)(para [0180]: Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one SS/PBCH block in the SS burst set. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one of one or more configured CSI-RSs. Note that part of the random access configuration information may be associated with one downlink transmission beam (or beam index). Note that the information associated with one SS/PBCH block, one CSI-RS, and/or one downlink transmission beam may include index information (e.g., may be an SSB index, a beam index, or a QCL configuration index) for identifying one corresponding SS/PBCH block (the QCL configuration index is interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions”), one corresponding CSI-RS, and/or one corresponding downlink transmission beam.)(para [0099] of Takahashi: Within the period of a certain SS burst set, the SS/PBCH blocks to which the same SSB index has been allocated may be assumed to be QCL with respect to the average delay, the average gain, the Doppler spread, the Doppler shift, and the spatial correlation. A configuration corresponding to one or more SS/PBCH blocks (or may be the reference signal), which is QCL, may be referred to as a QCL configuration.)(para [0124] of Takahashi: For example, in a case that the index #2 of the SS/PBCH block and the QCL type A+the QCL type B are configured and/or indicated as one state of the TCI at the time of receiving the PDCCH by the terminal apparatus 1, the terminal apparatus 1 may assume, at the time of receiving the PDCCH DMRS, the Doppler shift, the Doppler spread, the average delay, the delay spread, and the reception spatial parameter in reception of the SS/PBCH block index #2 as the channel long term properties, and may receive the DMRS of the PDCCH to perform synchronization or channel estimation.) ; and
the processor is further configured to identify the transmission opportunity of the preamble for each of the synchronization signal blocks in accordance with the distinct QCL assumptions (para [0203] of Takahashi: The terminal apparatus 1 may transmit a random access preamble using a PRACH occasion indicated in random access configuration information associated with a certain downlink transmission beam.).
Ko and Takahashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of New Radio Access Technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi and provide a QCL configuration indicating that the plurality of synchronization signal blocks are transmitted with distinct quasi-colocation (QCL) assumptions in order to efficiently communicate with each other..
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 3, Ko and Takahashi teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko further teaches wherein the processor assigns different preamble to each of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time (Para [0181]; Nseq _ per _ SSB _ per _ RO: the number of CBRA preambles per SSB (interpreted as “assigns different preamble to each”) for a PRACH transmission occasion)( See above discussion regarding the claimed language “the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” in claims 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Ko and Takahashi teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko further teaches wherein the control unit determines to increase or decrease the transmission opportunity of the preamble that is frequency division multiplexed (Para [0121]; a PRACH preamble may be mapped from the first OFDM symbol (interpreted as “preamble that is frequency division multiplexed”) in the PRACH slot) (Para [0155]; Meanwhile, the PRACH configuration shown in Table 3 can be helpful for avoiding a collision between cells' PRACH occasions. However, in a serving cell, if a gNB transmits an SSB and an RMSI PDCCH/PDSCH in the front portion of a DL/UL configuration period, the collision probability between a downlink channel for transmitting the SSB and RMSI PDCCH/PDSCH and a PRACH occasion may further increase. Consequently, the number of PRACH occasions within the PRACH period may decrease. Thus, at least some entries of Table 3 should be eliminated.). Examiner’s note: As disclosed in paragraphs [0155-0158], Ko discloses the case where the number of PRACH occasions decreases, and explains the process of increasing the number of PRACH occasions by modifying the PRACH configuration shown in Table 3. Therefore, Ko teaches the above claimed feature.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Takahashi, and further in view of Gu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0368186; hereinafter “Gu”).
Regarding claim 2, Ko and Takahashi teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
Ko teaches the processor determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities of the preamble for the plurality of the synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time, (Para [0181]; Nseq _ per _ SSB _ per _ RO: the number of CBRA preambles per SSB for a PRACH transmission occasion)( See above discussion regarding the claimed language “the plurality of synchronization signal blocks transmitted at the same time” in claims 1 and 4).
Ko and Takahashi do not explicitly teach the determines to share one or more of the transmission opportunities … based on i mod M, where i is an index of the synchronization signal block and M is number of the synchronization signal blocks.
In analogous art, Gu teaches “determines the transmission opportunity … based on i mod M, where i is an index of the synchronization signal block and M is number of the synchronization signal blocks” (Para [0052] of Gu; determine random access preambles for each of SSBs, floor(i/X)=(j mod N))(Para [0049] of Gu; where j is the index j of the j-th SSB, and N is the number of the SSB groups,)
Ko, Takahashi and Gu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of transmitting and receiving a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ko and Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Gu by determining random access preambles for each of SSBs based on j mod N, wherein j is the index j of the j-th SSB, and N is the number of the SSB groups. Doing so would allow the terminal to transmit a PRACH via the valid PRACH occasion.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Takahashi, and further in view of Gao et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 20210258902; hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 6, Ko and Takahashi teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, Ko and Takahashi fail to explicitly teach the wherein the synchronization signal blocks have an expanded index range of 0 to 255.
In analogous art, Gao teaches wherein the synchronization signal blocks have an expanded index range of 0 to 255 (Para [0287] of Gao; the SSB slot indexes may be …, 0 to 255, ...)
Ko, Takahashi and Gao are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a synchronization signal transmission method, a network device, and a terminal device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ko and Takahashi to incorporate the teaching (the SSB slot indexes may be …, 0 to 255, ...) of Gao.
Conclusion
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411