Status of Claims
Claims 45-62, 65 and 67-69 have been amended. Claims 45-69 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 09/15/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 45-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuller et al. (US 2016/0121322, Pub Date: 05/05/2016, hereinafter “Fuller”).
Regarding claim 45, Fuller teaches a device for detecting a presence of an analyte in a fluid sample (abstract and Figure 2), comprising: a carrier element (second body portion 116); the carrier element including a testing element (test strips 108) and a carrier body carrying the testing element, the carrier body defining a fluid inlet at one end and a recessed area adjacent to the fluid inlet, the recessed area forming a chamber in which liquid is received during use (carrier body interpreted as the interior of body portion 116 carrying the strips 108, which defines a fluid inlet at portion 200a of Figure 3 that receives the collection sponge and a recessed area adjacent to the fluid inlet is interpreted as the recess area at 202a; paragraph 0100, oral mixture is drawn through recess 202); and a baffle being in the chamber formed by the recessed area (see 172a of Figure 3).
Regarding claim 46, Fuller teaches the device wherein the device further comprises a diversion element, the diversion element being adjacent to the fluid inlet (see Figure 8, collection sponge 112).
Regarding claim 47, Fuller teaches the device wherein the baffle comprises a transverse dividing element (divider 172a), the dividing element divides the chamber into a first area (area upstream of divider 172a) and a second area (area downstream of divider 172a), and the first area is arranged between the dividing element and the fluid inlet (area between divider 172a and cavity 200).
Regarding claim 48, Fuller teaches the device wherein one end of the diversion element is arranged at the first area, and the other end thereof covers a part of the sample feeding area (see Figure 8, collection sponge arranged at the interpreted first area and on upstream area of test strip; paragraph 0079, strips 108 directly contact collection sponge 112).
Regarding claim 49, Fuller teaches the device wherein the second area is configured to receive a fluid sample or configured to receive excessive fluid sample flowing to the outside of the diversion element (Figure 13, second area receives sample as it flows through test element).
Regarding claim 50, Fuller teaches the device wherein one end of the diversion element covers the fluid inlet, or a part of the diversion element in the first area covers the fluid inlet (see Figures 3, 6 and 8 – collection sponge 112 partially covering area interpreted as inlet).
Regarding 51, Fuller teaches the device wherein the device comprises a collector, and the collector (cap assembly 104) comprises an absorbing element and a connecting rod (see Figure 2, absorbing element 112 and connecting rod 244).
Regarding claim 52, Fuller teaches the device wherein the collector and the carrier body are detachably connected with each other (see Figure 2 – cap assembly 104 detaches from body 102).
Regarding claim 53, Fuller teaches the device wherein the device further comprises an accommodating element (see Figure 2, first body portion 114), the accommodating element comprises an accommodating chamber (first end 124), and the carrier element is arranged in the accommodating chamber (first body portion 114 mates with the claimed carrier element – interpreted as second body portion 116).
Regarding claim 54, Fuller teaches the device wherein the carrier element is configured to be inserted in the accommodating chamber in only one direction (see Figure 2, mating between first and second body portion).
Regarding claim 55, Fuller teaches the device wherein the accommodating chamber further comprises a connecting element (cap engagement portion 122), the connecting rod of the collector is detachably connected to a guiding channel of the carrier through the connecting element (plunger 244 is detachably connected to the channels of 202 of the carrier through the cap engagement portion 122).
Regarding claim 56, Fuller teaches the device wherein the connecting element further comprises a thread structure (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 57, Fuller teaches the device wherein the carrier body defines at least one vent hole communicated to the outside atmosphere (vent portion 130).
Regarding claim 58, Fuller teaches the device wherein the testing element is covered by a transparent thin film (paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 59, Fuller teaches the device wherein the fluid sample is saliva (paragraph 0081).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 60-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller et al. (US 2016/0121322), as applied to claim 45 above, and further in view of Cope (US 5,658,531).
Regarding claims 60-69, Fuller teaches the device as described above comprising: a carrier element (second body portion 116): the carrier element including a testing element (test strips 108) and a carrier body carrying the testing element, the carrier body defining a fluid inlet at one end and a recessed area adjacent to the fluid inlet, the recessed area forming a chamber in which liquid is received during use (carrier body interpreted as the interior of body portion 116, which defines a fluid inlet at portion 200a of Figure 3 that receives the collection sponge and a recessed area adjacent to the fluid inlet is interpreted as the recess area at 202a; paragraph 0100, oral mixture is drawn through recess 202); and a baffle being in the chamber formed by the recessed area (see 172a of Figure 3).
While Fuller fails to explicitly teach the receiving device of claims 60-69, Cope teaches a disposable assay device (abstract). Regarding claim 60, Cope teaches a receiving device (Figure 2, column 4, lines 31-45), comprising a chamber (internal area bounded by 10; Figure 2, 1A) and the chamber comprises a first sealed chamber that is configured to accommodate a treatment solution (12 containing 14; Figure 2, 1A; column 4, lines 31-45, column 3, lines 11-41) and a piercing element that is movable in the chamber; and the sealed space comprises the first sealed chamber (piercing of 16 by 28; Figure 2; column 4, lines 31-45; column 3, lines 62-64). Regarding claim 61, Cope teaches wherein the piercing element forms an air sealed space so that the air in the sealed space can be compressed in the chamber of the receiving device (space within 10 sealed by 32, Figure 2; column 4, lines 31-45 and column3, lines 23-41). Regarding claim 62, Cope teaches the chamber of the receiving device comprises a second chamber (Figure 2, arrangement of 28 within space between 16 and 32), a partial part of the piercing element is arranged in the second chamber, and at least part of the sealed space that is compressed is arranged in the second chamber (Figure 10, 32 sealing space within 10).
Regarding claim 63, Cope teaches the piercing element has a first position (position of 28 in Figure 2) and a second position in the second chamber of the receiving device (Figure 2, entry of 28 into 12; column 4, lines 31-45; column 3, line 62 – column 4, line 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute for the cap assembly of Fuller, a receiving device as taught by Cope because it would have been no more than the simple substitution of one sampling device for another in order to transfer fluids to the testing portion of the device for analysis.
Regarding the functional limitations of claims 61 and 64-69, although Fuller in view of Cope do not teach these specific functional limitations, such limitations are drawn to intended use of the device and therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the recited intended use. So long as the chambers and piercing element of Fuller in view of Cope are capable of performing the recited intended uses (e.g., treatment solution enters first chamber by increased pressure, fluid forms a first mixed solution when piercing element is at a second position, increased pressure forces mixed solution to pass through absorbing element, etc.), it reads on the claims. Fuller in view of Cope teach the same structural limitations as recited in the claims, therefore they are considered capable of performing the same intended use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/15/2025 have been considered but are not found to be persuasive. Applicant argues that Fuller fails to describe the claimed baffle since item 172a of Fuller, that is interpreted as the claimed baffle dividing element, is just a bridge. This argument is not persuasive because the claims only vaguely mentions that the baffle is in the chamber, and further at claim 47 limits the baffle to being a transverse dividing element. The claim provides no structural or functional properties of the baffle except that it divides the chamber into a first area and second area, with the first area being arranged between the dividing element and the fluid inlet. As seen in Figure 3 of Fuller, component 172a is transverse and divides the chamber into different areas. While Applicant infers in the arguments and excerpt from the specification that the baffle helps with excessive fluid flowing into the chamber through the fluid inlet and then into the second area, it is noted that these features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
To further distinguish the claimed invention from the device of Fuller, Examiner recommends providing additional structure to the baffle and/or its placement and function relative to other components of the claimed device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677