DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Rejected Claims: 38-46, 48-53, and 58-62
Cancelled Claims: 1-37, 47, and 54-57
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 23 APRIL 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the addition of new claim 62 has been acknowledged.
In view of the arguments and more searching, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified to with prior art that better demonstrates the method steps and the state of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 23 APRIL 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Richter does not teach all of the elements of instant claim 38 and Trotta and Gillespie would not be obvious to apply to Richter because these two prior art sources pertain to more general chromatography methods or methods involved with purifying different proteins and so would not be obvious to modify Richter. Therefore, instant claim 38 is allowable (Arguments filed 23 APRIL 2026, Page 5 to Page 9, Paragraph 2).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to instant claim 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. More relevant prior art has been utilized to show the obviousness of the method of instant claim 38. Therefore, instant claim 38 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that the method of instant claim 38 has unexpected results through a litany of different tests involving temperatures and conductivity specifically for GCSF. Therefore, instant claim 38 is allowable (Arguments filed 23 APRIL 2026, Page 9, Paragraph 3 to Page 10, Paragraph 5).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for unexpected results, the newly cited prior art teaches closer ranges and explicitly teaches that the parameters at issue are known optimization parameters for anion exchange chromatography which need to be tested for each protein and explicitly list that their methods apply to GCSF. Koehnlein teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent unexpected results or evidence indicating such optimum or workable ranges are critical (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP§2144.05). The optimization of these parameters are known within the ranges of the instant application, and so the results are not unexpected. Therefore, instant claim 38 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that instant claims 39-46, 48-53, and 58-62 depend upon instant claim 38 and are allowable because instant claim 38 is allowable (Arguments filed 23 APRIL 2026, Page 10, Paragraph 6 to Page 12).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, instant claim 38 is not allowable and instant dependent claims 39-46, 48-53, and 58-62 are also not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-41, 43, 48-53 and 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant et al US Patent Application No. US 20200207823 A1 (hereinafter Gallant) in view of Koehnlein International Patent Application No. WO 2019129878 A1 (hereinafter Koehnlein) in view of Gillespie et al US Patent Application No. US 20120149878 A1 (hereinafter Gillespie).
Regarding Claim 38, Gallant teaches a method for purifying r-met-HU-G-CSF including subjecting a product of acid precipitation to anion exchange chromatography (i.e., a method for purifying granulocyte colony-stimulating factor (GCSF), wherein the method comprises an anion exchange chromatography (AEX) process comprising; Paragraph 0011)
wherein the clarified pool containing the GCSF is loaded onto the anion exchange column (i.e., loading a GCSF containing sample onto a chromatography vessel comprising an anion exchange chromatography (AEX) material) and the product, i.e., the GCSF, is eluted (i.e., capable of binding the GCSF in the GCSF-containing sample; Paragraph 0082),
wherein from column equilibration through elution, the feed stream going to the column can be passed through a heat exchanger and the temperature can be controlled during the product-contacting phases (i.e., wherein the chromatography vessel is temperature-controlled; Paragraph 0082) with the normal operating range of the anion exchange process being 4-12°C (i.e., and at least a portion of the temperature-controlled chromatography vessel is set at a temperature of about 7°C to about 13°C; Page 14, Table 9),
wherein the product is eluted using a linear gradient of increasing ionic strength and an example of 20 mM Tris at pH 7 to 20 mM Tris and 100 mM NaCl at pH 7 (i.e., and eluting the GCSF from the AEX material with an elution buffer; Paragraph 0082) to further purify the GCSF present in the clarified pool (i.e., to obtain a purified GCSF; Paragraph 0044).
Gallant teaches that the elution occurs with increasing ionic strength but does not teach wherein the elution of the GCSF from the AEX material is carried out at a conductivity ranging between about 7.4 to about 8.2 mS/cm.
However, Koehnlein teaches that elution from anion exchange is achieved through the changing of conductivity of a buffer using gradient or step elution (Page 14, Paragraph 5) and that the elution buffer may have a conductivity of about 8-10 mS/cm (Page 31, Paragraph 3) wherein the processes of the invention are suitable for G-CSF (Page 43, Last Paragraph) and specifically for binding the non-PEGylated form of the protein on the anion exchange chromatography column and that it is known to determine the conditions for attachment by screening various elements such as pH, conductivity, salt content, and buffer content of the equilibrium buffer (Page 18, Paragraph 7) with an example screening technique involving applying the protein to anion exchange chromatography media at low conductivity and increasing the conductivity to monitor the elution of various components (Page 39, Paragraph 3). Furthermore, Koehnlein teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Koehnlein is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a process for separating a non-PEGylated protein with anion exchange chromatography (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Gallant with the conductivity of the elution buffer as taught by Koehnlein because the increasing conductivity is known to elute attached proteins from anion exchange chromatography systems.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein does not explicitly teach wherein the chromatography vessel is placed in a temperature-controlled enclosure.
However, Gillespie teaches that protein ion exchange chromatography (Abstract) can be performed in a walk-in temperature controlled room (i.e., wherein the chromatography vessel is encased in a temperature-controlled enclosure; Paragraph 0113) to reduce protein denaturation (Abstract).
Gillespie is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to protein purification using ion exchange chromatography (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein to have a temperature-controlled room as taught by Gillespie because the temperature-controlled room would reduce protein denaturation.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not teach the explicit temperature range of at least a portion of the enclosure of the chromatography vessel is set a temperature of about 7°C to about 13°C. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the temperature range of the chromatography vessel that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not teach explicitly wherein the elution of the GCSF from the AEX material is carried out at a conductivity ranging between about 7.4 to about 8.2 mS/cm. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected conductivity of the elution step that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent unexpected results or evidence indicating such optimum or workable ranges are critical (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP§2144.05).
Regarding Claim 39, Gallant further teaches wherein from column equilibration through elution, the feed stream going to the column can be passed through a heat exchanger and the temperature can be controlled during the product-contacting phases (Paragraph 0082) with the normal operating range of the anion exchange process being 4-12°C (i.e., wherein the GCSF-containing sample is loaded onto the chromatography vessel using a fluidic channel placed in a temperature-controlled enclosure, wherein at least a portion of the temperature-controlled enclosure of the fluidic channel is set at a temperature of about 7°C to about 13°C; Page 14, Table 9).
Regarding Claim 40, Gallant further teaches wherein from column equilibration through elution, the feed stream going to the column can be passed through a heat exchanger and the temperature can be controlled during the product-contacting phases (Paragraph 0082) with the normal operating range of the anion exchange process being 4-12°C (i.e., wherein the temperatures of the temperature-controlled enclosure of the chromatography vessel and the temperature-controlled enclosure of the fluidic channel are the same; Page 14, Table 9).
Regarding Claim 41, Gallant further teaches wherein from column equilibration through elution, the feed stream going to the column can be passed through a heat exchanger and the temperature can be controlled during the product-contacting phases (Paragraph 0082) with the normal operating range of the anion exchange process being 4-12°C (i.e., where at least one of the temperature-controlled enclosure of the chromatography vessel and the temperature-controlled enclosure of the fluidic channel is set at a temperature of about 10°C; Page 14, Table 9).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not explicitly teach where at least one of the temperature-controlled enclosure of the chromatography vessel and the temperature-controlled enclosure of the fluidic channel is set at a temperature of about 10°C. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the temperature range of the chromatography vessel that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie.
Regarding Claim 43, Gallant further teaches that after loading the column is washed with buffer and then afterwards the product is eluted from the column (i.e., wherein the method further comprises, prior to eluting the GCSF, washing the AEX material with a wash buffer to remove unbound of weakly bound contaminants; Paragraph 0082).
Regarding Claim 48, Gallant further teaches that the anion exchange resin can be Toyopearl DEAE-650M (i.e., wherein the AEX material comprises diethylaminoethyl (DEAE); Paragraph 0045).
Regarding Claim 49, Gallant further teaches that the column can be cleaned and sanitized after use (i.e., further comprising one or more phases of stripping and/or sanitation of the AEX material; Paragraph 0084).
Regarding Claim 50, Gallant further teaches that the chromatography phases are all run at one of two single flow rates (i.e., wherein the DEAE ion-exchange chromatography is operated at a linear flow rate for all phases; Paragraph 0081).
Regarding Claim 51, Gallant further teaches a method for purifying r-met-HU-G-CSF including subjecting a product of acid precipitation to anion exchange chromatography (i.e., wherein the GCSF is a recombinant human GCSF (hGCSF) or a variant thereof; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 52, Gallant further teaches wherein the method includes acid precipitation prior to anion exchange chromatography and cation exchange chromatography afterwards (i.e., wherein the method further comprises at least one additional purification process; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 53, Gallant further teaches wherein the method includes acid precipitation prior to anion exchange chromatography and cation exchange chromatography afterwards (i.e., wherein the at least one additional purification process is performed prior to and or after the AEX chromatography process; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 61, Gallant further teaches that the anion exchange resin can be Toyopearl DEAE-650M (i.e., wherein the AEX material comprises DEAE resin; Paragraph 0045).
Regarding Claim 62, Koehnlein further that flow rates for chromatography steps may be selected and adjusted according to conventional techniques with the tradeoff of faster flow rates leading to decreased binding capacity with the benefit of a faster overall separation time and that suitable flow rates are in the range of 50 – 400 cm/h (i.e., wherein the linear flow rate is about 150 cm/hr; Page 37, Paragraph 4).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not teach the explicit the linear flow rate is about 150 cm/hr. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the linear flow rate that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie.
Claims 42, 46, 58, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Chipman US Patent Application No. US 20160296632 A1 (hereinafter Chipman).
Regarding Claim 42, Gallant further teaches equilibrating the column with 20 mM of Tris pH 8.0 buffer (i.e., wherein the method further comprises, prior to loading of the GCSF-containing sample, equilibrating the AEX material with an equilibrium buffer comprising Tris, and at pH of about 7.0 to about 8.0; Paragraph 0082).
Koehnlein further teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not explicitly teach an equilibrium buffer comprising from about 30 mM to about 50 mM Tris.
However, Chipman teaches an example modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor purification involving equilibrating the anion exchange column with 50 mM Tris (i.e., equilibration buffer comprising from about 30 mM to about 50 mM Tris; Paragraph 0319).
Chipman is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to therapeutically useful polypeptides and their purification (Abstract), with an explicit example for modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (Paragraph 0319). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the Tris buffer concentration made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie with the concentration as taught by Chipman because the concentration is a known variable for optimization of the anion exchange process.
Regarding Claim 46, Gallant further teaches that the product is eluted using a linear gradient of 20 mM Tris, 0 mM NaCl, and pH 7 to 20 mM Tris, 100 mM NaCl, and pH 7 (i.e., wherein the elution buffer comprises Tris, about 30 mM – 80 mM sodium chloride; Paragraph 0082).
Koehnlein further teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie does not explicitly teach wherein the elution buffer comprises about 30 mM - 60 mM Tris, about 30 mM – 80 mM sodium chloride, and a pH of about 7.4 to about 8.0.
However, Chipman teaches an example modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor purification involving eluting products with a gradient of 0 to 500 NaCl, 50 mM Tris-HCl, and pH of 8.0 (i.e., wherein the elution buffer comprises about 30 mM - 60 mM Tris, about 30 mM – 80 mM sodium chloride, and a pH of about 7.4 to about 8.0; Paragraph 0319).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the elution buffer made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie with the elution buffer as taught by Chipman because the elution buffer is a known variable for optimization of the elution of GCSF from an anion exchange process.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Chipman does not teach the explicit sodium chloride range of about 30 mM - 80 mM. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the sodium chloride range of the loading of the GCSF sample that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Chipman.
Regarding Claim 58, Gallant further teaches equilibrating the column with 20 mM of Tris pH 8.0 buffer (Paragraph 0082).
Koehnlein further teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Chipman further teaches an example modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor purification involving equilibrating the anion exchange column with 50 mM Tris (Paragraph 0319).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Chipman does not teach the explicit pH of 7.6 nor the explicit Tris concentration of 40 mM of the equilibrium buffer. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent unexpected results or evidence indicating such optimum or workable ranges are critical (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP§2144.05).
Regarding Claim 60, Gallant further teaches that the product is eluted using a linear gradient of 20 mM Tris, 0 mM NaCl, and pH 7 to 20 mM Tris, 100 mM NaCl, and pH 7 (Paragraph 0082).
Koehnlein further teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Chipman further teaches an example modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor purification involving eluting products with a gradient of 0 to 500 NaCl, 50 mM Tris-HCl, and pH of 8.0 (Paragraph 0319).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Chipman does not teach the explicit pH of about 7.7 nor the Tris concentration of about 40 mM nor the concentration of NaCl of about 50 mM of the elution buffer. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent unexpected results or evidence indicating such optimum or workable ranges are critical (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP§2144.05).
Claims 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie as applied to claim 38, and further in view of Felfoldi et al US Patent Application No. US 20150057439 A1 (hereinafter Felfoldi).
Regarding Claim 44, Koehnlein further teaches that parameters such as type and/or concentration of salt, pH, buffers, temperature, and flow rate can all be altered to provide conditions suitable for binding a particular protein in chromatography using general common knowledge (Page 37, Paragraph 5).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie do not explicitly teach wherein the GCSF-containing sample comprises a loading buffer.
However, Felfoldi teaches that “decreased/increased pH” or “increased salt concentration” refers to a buffer used for elution, equilibration, sample loading, or washing (Paragraph 0242) with examples 9 to 10 describing the adjustment of conductivity and pH (i.e., wherein the GCSF-containing sample comprises a loading buffer) for refolding prior to loading into a DEAE column (Paragraphs 0274-0275).
Felfoldi is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to methods of refolding GCSF and removing the solubilizing agent (Abstract) wherein the removal of the solubilizing agent involves anion exchange chromatography (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the method made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie with the loading buffer as taught by Felfoldi because the loading buffer would allow for the adjustment of the sample conditions for suitable binding.
Regarding Claim 45, Koehnlein further teaches specifically for binding the non-PEGylated form of the protein on the anion exchange chromatography column that it is known to determine the conditions for attachment by screening various elements such as pH, conductivity, salt content, and buffer content of the equilibrium buffer (Page 18, Paragraph 7).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie do not explicitly teach wherein the loading of the GCSF sample onto the chromatography vessel is carried out at a conductivity ranging between about 1.5 to about 3.0 mS/cm.
However, Felfoldi further teaches refolding of the protein is preferably performed at low conductivity below 2 mS/cm (Paragraph 0205) and that the second refolding step has a buffer at low conductivity which is ideal for AEX polishing in the binding mode because the GCSF is more soluble and stable (i.e., wherein the loading of the GCSF sample onto the chromatography vessel is carried out at a conductivity ranging between about 1.5 to about 3.0 mS/cm; Paragraph 0221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie with the GCSF loading conductivity as taught by Felfoldi because the loading conductivity would make the GCSF more soluble and stable in the sample.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi does not teach the explicit conductivity range between about 1.5 to about 3.0 mS/cm. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the conductivity range of the loading of the GCSF sample that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi.
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi as applied to claim 44, and further in view of Chipman.
Regarding Claim 59, Koehnlein further teaches specifically for binding the non-PEGylated form of the protein on the anion exchange chromatography column that it is known to determine the conditions for attachment by screening various elements such as pH, conductivity, salt content, and buffer content of the equilibrium buffer (Page 18, Paragraph 7).
Felfoldi further teaches that the G-CSF was loaded to the DEAE column after refolding and buffering in a solution containing 20 mM Tris at a pH of 8 (i.e., wherein the loading buffer comprises Tris and a pH of about 7.4 to about 8.0; Paragraphs 0274-0275).
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi does not explicitly teach the loading buffer comprises about 40 mM Tris.
However, Chipman teaches an example modified human granulocyte-colony stimulating factor purification involving each feedstock buffered with 50 mM Tris-HCl (Paragraph 0319).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Tris buffer concentration made obvious by Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi with the concentration as taught by Chipman because the concentration is a known variable for optimization of the anion exchange process.
Gallant in view of Koehnlein in view of Gillespie in view of Felfoldi in view of Chipman does not teach the explicit the explicit Tris concentration of 40 mM of the loading buffer. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent unexpected results or evidence indicating such optimum or workable ranges are critical (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP§2144.05).
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772