DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 4, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 19, 21, and 27 are cancelled.
Claims 24-26, and 28 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are under current examination. The claims were read in view of the species election of a glycosaminoglycan of hyaluronic acid and a single bioactive element of cells present in the scaffold in the reply filed 02/10/2025.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Specifically, the previous rejections under 35 USC § 103 and the non-statutory double patenting rejections over the claims of copending Application No. 18/621,297, U.S. Patent No. 11,969,349 B2, U.S. Patent No. 10,945,846 B2, and copending Application No. 15/680,700 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-New Matter
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein greater than 70% of the biopolymer fibers in the inner rim are oriented along the circumferential direction”. The specification-as-filed describes that “[g]reater than 50% (e.g., greater than 55%, 60%, or 70%) of the biopolymer fibers are oriented along the circumferential direction” in the scaffold implant (pg. 2, lines 5-11), but does not provide support for greater than 70% of fibers specifically in the inner rim oriented along the circumferential direction. Accordingly, claim 1 introduces new matter.
Dependent claims 2-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 require the limitations of claim 1 and thus also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the scaffold implant has a density from 0.1g/cm3 to 0.4g/cm3” and further recites “wherein the inner rim has a higher density…as compared to the outer rim”. It is unclear if the recited density refers to the density of the inner rim, the outer rim, an average of the two rims, or some other value.
Similarly, claim 16 recites “the average density is from 0.15 g/cm3 to 0.25 g/cm3”, and it is unclear if this refers to the average density of the inner rim, the outer rim, or the scaffold implant as a whole, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim uncertain.
Claims 2-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 17-18, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on indefinite claim 1 and failure to cure the deficiency noted above.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the glycosaminoglycan is impregnated into the scaffold implant via injection after the scaffold implant has been engineered”. This is interpreted as product-by-process limitation. Per MPEP 2113, “"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
Here, the structure defined by the process is interpreted as a scaffold implant suitable for repairing injured or diseased human meniscus comprising fibers of a biopolymer impregnated with a glycosaminoglycan of hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, chitosan, alginic acid, or a combination thereof, with the recited density, pore volume, surface friction coefficient, fiber orientation and inner/outer rim, as previously recited in claim 1.
The limitation of claim 12 that the hyaluronic acid is impregnated into the scaffold via injection after the scaffold has been engineered is similarly interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. The structure defined by the process is interpreted as the scaffold implant of claim 11 wherein hyaluronic acid having a molecular weight ranging from 0. 1x106 Daltons to 3.0x106 Daltons is impregnated into the scaffold.
The instant specification does not provide a definition for the term “impregnated”. The term is therefore being given its ordinary and customary meaning (see MPEP 2111.01). From Merriam-Webster (of record), “impregnate” is defined as “to cause to be filled, imbued, permeated, or saturated” (pg. 6). The limitation of “fibers of a biopolymer impregnated with glycosaminoglycan” is therefore interpreted as glycosaminoglycan filled, imbued, permeated, or saturated in the biopolymer fibers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smestad et al. (US 2006/0002967 A1, published January 5, 2006; included on IDS submitted 06/06/2023), hereafter “Smestad”, in view of Ghodbane et al. (WO 2018/148722 A1, published August 16, 2018; of record), hereafter “Ghodbane”, Cragg et al. (US 2013/0138209 A1, published May 30, 2013; included on IDS submitted 01/10/2022), and Li et al. (US 2018/0008391 A1, published January 11, 2018), hereafter “Li”.
Regarding instant claim 1, Smestad teaches a biocompatible implant for use in the skeletomuscular system comprising: a polymeric matrix that is at least partially bioresorbable, and a bioresorbable lubricious coating disposed on a surface of the polymeric matrix (claim 1). The implant is taught to be a meniscus implant (claim 2), which acts as a scaffold for regenerating meniscal tissue in human patients (paragraph [0009]); biocompatible and bioresorbable structures for implantation into the knee joint can be used for the treatment of injured or diseased menisci (paragraphs [0006]-[0008]). The polymeric matrix of Smestad is taught to be a biopolymer-based matrix, specifically a collagen-based matrix (claims 4-5), comprising collagen fibers (claim 7). The polymeric matrix further comprises glycosaminoglycans, selected from the group including hyaluronic acid (claims 7-8). Glycosaminoglycan molecules are taught to be interspersed and can be uniformly dispersed throughout the fibers (paragraph [0028]). Smestad further teaches that the coating is selected from the group including hyaluronic acid (claim 13) and that the coating can be partially or wholly integrated (claim 10, paragraphs [0037]-[0038]). It is interpreted that Smestad teaches hyaluronic acid can be permeated (interspersed/uniformly dispersed/wholly integrated) throughout the collagen fibers and thus meets the limitation of being impregnated in the fibers. Smestad teaches that the implant has an outer rim (paragraph [0076]) and a shape consistent with that of the instant invention (compare Smestad Figs. 3, 5a, and 6a with Fig. 2 of the instant specification); it is therefore interpreted that the implant of Smestad has an outer and inner rim.
Smestad further teaches that the fibers can be placed randomly or oriented in specific directions in, for example, mold forms such as a cylindrical form; for example, the fibers can be placed in the mold in a circumferential orientation by rotating the mold as the fibers are placed therein (paragraph [0047]). Smestad teaches that circumferential orientation of the fibers is produced by rotation of the piston about its principal axis as the material is compressed into the mold (paragraph [0057]). This is a substantially identical process described in the instant specification for engineering a circumferentially oriented type I collagen fiber meniscus implant (pg. 9, line 32-pg. 10, line 29), and it is therefore interpreted that the process of Smestad will result in a percentage of fibers in the inner rim oriented along the circumferential direction consistent with the instant claim. See MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” Smestad further teaches that in menisci, collagen fibers are oriented primarily in the circumferential direction (paragraph [0004]), providing motivation to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of fibers oriented along the circumferential direction in a meniscus implant to be consistent with naturally occurring menisci. Per MPEP 2144.05, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.
Smestad further teaches that the preferred matrix density is in the range from about 0.15 to about 0.50 g/cm3 (paragraph [0026]), overlapping the range of instant claim 1. Per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Smestad further teaches that specific densities can be obtained in various regions of the matrix (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding instant claim 2, as noted above, the polymeric matrix of Smestad is taught to be a biopolymer-based matrix, specifically a collagen-based matrix (claims 4-5), comprising collagen fibers (claim 7).
Regarding instant claims 3 and 5, Smestad teaches that in a preferred embodiment, the polymeric matrix is made of collagen-based material, and preferably of Type I collagen fibers (paragraph [0024], claim 6) .
Regarding instant claim 9, Smestad teaches that the polymeric matrix comprises about 1-35 percent by dry weight of glycosaminoglycans (claim 7), overlapping the range of the instant claim. Per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Regarding instant claims 11-12, as noted above, Smestad teaches that the coating can be hyaluronic acid, which is a polysaccharide (paragraph [0041]), polysaccharides being hydrophilic polymers (paragraph [0043]). Smestad teaches that hydrophilic polymers preferably have a molecular weight in the range of 50,000 to 5,000,000, and that for an integrated coating, the molecular weight of the hydrophilic polymer has an effect on its adherence to the polymeric matrix, i.e., its degree of immobilization (paragraph [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid within the range taught by Smestad in order to achieve a desired degree of immobilization within the polymeric matrix. Per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Further, per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Further, as noted above, the structure defined by the process recited in instant claim 12 is interpreted as the scaffold implant of claim 11 wherein hyaluronic acid having a molecular weight ranging from 0. 1x106 Daltons to 3.0x106 Daltons is impregnated into the scaffold.
Regarding instant claim 16, as noted above, Smestad teaches that the preferred matrix density is in the range from about 0.15 to about 0.50 g/cm3 (paragraph [0026]), overlapping the range of the instant claim. Per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Regarding instant claim 18, Smestad teaches that the matrix can be crosslinked using formaldehyde (paragraph [0059]).
Regarding instant claims 20 and 22, Smestad teaches that examples of the polymeric matrix include a collagen-cell composite (paragraph [0023]), cells being a bioactive element.
Smestad does not teach the limitation of instant claim 1 of a pore volume from 60% to 90% .
Ghodbane teaches a resorbable scaffold for partial meniscus regeneration including a polymer filament network and matrix (abstract); the matrix may be fabricated from proteins including collagen (paragraph [0014]). Ghodbane teaches that porosity was found by dividing pore volume by the total volume (paragraph [0116]), which is the same method of determining the percent pore volume described in the instant specification (pg. 8, lines 29-31). Ghodbane teaches that any level of porosity can be used provided that it is sufficient for facilitating adequate cell seeding, fluid flow, and structural integrity, and that a relatively high porosity ensures adequate tissue and cell infiltration (paragraph [0064]). Ghodbane exemplifies a porosity of 69.9 ±8.0% (paragraph [0117]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the pore volume of the implant of Smestad with the porosity of 69.9 ±8.0%, overlapping the range of the instant claims, as suggested by Ghodbane. This could be achieved by routine optimization of the pore volume in order to achieve a pore volume that achieves a desired fluid flow, structural integrity, and that ensures adequate tissue and cell infiltration in a collagen-containing resorbable scaffold for the meniscus, as suggested by Ghodbane. Per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Further, per MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Smestad does not teach the limitation of a surface friction coefficient from 0.05 to 1.0 (instant claim 1) or a friction coefficient from 0.08 to 0.8 (instant claim 17).
Cragg teaches a medical device and methods to relieve joint pain and adapted for knee joint repair, replacement, and augmentation (abstract), and teaches that hyaluronic acid is used clinically to improve the lubricating ability of synovial fluid (paragraph [0167]). Cragg further teaches that artificial cartilage materials could mimic the properties of natural cartilage and have, for example, a SF lubricated static friction of 0.20-0.40 (paragraph [0176]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the implant of Smestad to have a surface friction of 0.20-0.40, overlapping the range of the instant claims, as taught by Cragg. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve a friction that mimics the properties of natural cartilage. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Smestad teaches a lubricious coating, which can be hyaluronic acid, to lower the coefficient of friction for the implant, decrease shear forces exerted on the implant and reduce damage to surfaces in the body which contact the implant (paragraphs [0035], [0041]).
While Smestad suggests that various regions of the implant can have different densities (paragraph [0046]), Smestad does not explicitly teach that the inner rim has a higher density as compared to the outer rim.
Li teaches a density gradient biopolymeric matrix implant with different matrix layers having different densities, one being higher than the other (abstract, claims 1-2); the matrix comprises collagen biopolymeric fibers (claim 4). Li demonstrates an implant in Fig. 3A with an outer rim (30) having a density in the range of 0.02 g/cm3 to 0.3 g/cm3 and an inner portion (31) having a density in the range of 0.3 g/cm3 to 1.0 g/cm3 (paragraph [0047]). The distinct density regions allow the implant to perform multiple roles after implantation and allow for properties such as differential biomechanical and resorption rate properties, a desirable degree of conformability, facilitation of cell ingrowth, and incorporation of bioactive molecules which can be controllably released (paragraph [0003]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the implant of Smestad to have a higher density in the inner rim as compared to the outer rim, as suggested by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve a collagen matrix implant that can perform multiple roles after implantation and has desirable properties such as differential resorption rates and controllable release of incorporated bioactive molecules, as suggested by Li. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Smestad teaches biocompatible collagen matrix implants that are at least partially bioresorbable which can include the bioactive molecules of cells, and Smestad teaches that the implant can have different densities in various regions.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smestad in view of Ghodbane, Cragg, and Li as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22 above, and further in view of Wadsworth et al. (WO 2017/214736 A1, published December 21, 2017; included on IDS submitted 01/10/2022), hereafter “Wadsworth”.
The teachings of the modified Smestad are described above.
The combination of Smestad, Ghodbane, Cragg, and Li do not teach that the limitation of claim 23 that the bioactive elements are allogenous and include bioactive molecules or stem cells.
Wadsworth teaches meniscus implant compositions that find use in repairing and/or replacing damaged or diseased meniscal tissue in a mammalian subject (abstract); the meniscus implant comprises a solidified biocompatible matrix (claim 13) which comprises one or more of collagen and glycosaminoglycans (GAG) (claim 42), the GAG being hyaluronic acid (claim 44). The biocompatible matrix can comprise cells (paragraph [0011]); mammalian cells such as stem cells can be used, and cells can be allogenic (paragraphs [0085]-[0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the implant of Smestad in view of Ghodbane, Cragg, and Li with the allogenic stem cells taught by Wadsworth. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to impart a cell type known to be used in artificial meniscus implants capable of repairing and/or replacing damaged or diseased meniscus tissue (Wadsworth, paragraph [0051]) that can be readily differentiated into a desired phenotype (Wadsworth, paragraph [0090]) and used for regenerative medicine purposes (Wadsworth, paragraph [0092]). There is a reasonable expectation of success as Smestad is similarly directed to meniscus implants for the treatment of injured or diseased menisci comprising collagen and hyaluronic acid, and Smestad teaches that examples of the polymeric matrix include a collagen-cell composite (paragraph [0023]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-19, 21, and 25 of copending Application No. 18/582,198 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-19, 21, and 25 of commonly assigned Application No. 18/582,198.
Both the instant claims and those of copending Application No. 18/582,198 are directed to a scaffold implant for repairing injured or diseased meniscus comprising fibers of a biopolymer of collagen type I, type II, or type III impregnated with a glycosaminoglycan of hyaluronic acid. Both sets of claims recite overlapping densities, pore volumes, surface friction coefficients, wt.% of hyaluronic acid, and molecular weights of hyaluronic acid. Both sets of claims recite an inner rim and an outer rim with the inner rim having a higher density, higher tensile strength, and a smaller pore size compared to the outer rim. Both sets of claims further recite that the implant is crosslinked by formaldehyde and comprises bioactive elements of cells that are allogenous and comprise stem cells.
The claims of copending Application 18/582,198 recite amounts of biopolymer fibers oriented along the circumferential direction greater than 70%; while the copending claims do not explicitly recite the orientation of fibers in the inner rim, the claims recite a meniscus scaffold implant prepared by a substantially identical process described in the instant specification for engineering a circumferentially oriented type I collagen fiber meniscus implant (pg. 9, line 32-pg. 10, line 29), and it interpreted that the implant made by the process of the co-pending claims will result in a percentage of fibers in the inner rim oriented along the circumferential direction consistent with the instant claims. See MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Application No. 18/582,198, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of
one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argue that the cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach the features of the amended claims of a scaffold implant that has an inner and outer rim wherein the inner rim has a higher density, a smaller pore size, or a higher tensile strength as compared to the outer rim.
In response, the Examiner notes that, as set forth above, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn, and new rejections which address the amended claim limitations are applied above.
Regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejections, Applicant argues that Application No. 18/621,297, U.S. Patent No. 11,969,349 B2, U.S. Patent No. 10,945,846 B2, and Application No. 15/680,700 in view of the cited art do not teach or suggest all the features of the independent claim including a scaffold implant that has an inner and outer rim wherein the inner rim has a higher density, a smaller pore size, or a higher tensile strength as compared to the outer rim. Regarding the double patenting rejection over Application No. 18/582,198, Applicant further argues that the instant application has the earlier patent term filing date and the rejection should be withdrawn.
In response, the Examiner notes that, as set forth above, the non-statutory double patenting rejections over the claims of copending Application No. 18/621,297, U.S. Patent No. 11,969,349 B2, U.S. Patent No. 10,945,846 B2, and copending Application No. 15/680,700 are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Regarding copending Application 18/582,198, MPEP 804 I.B. states, “A provisional double patenting rejection should be made and maintained by the examiner until the rejection has been obviated or is no longer applicable except as noted below”, and, as noted by Applicant MPEP 804 I.B.1 (b)(i) states (emphasis added), “If a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earlier patent term filing date, the examiner should withdraw the rejection in the application having the earlier patent term filing date and permit that application to issue as a patent, thereby converting the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection in the other application into a nonstatutory double patenting rejection upon issuance of the patent.” As detailed above, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is not the only rejection remaining, and thus the provisional nonstatutory rejection is not withdrawn at this time.
Conclusion
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/J.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1611