DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oya Kazuhiko (WO 2012/081697) in view of Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container (CN 106608458).
As to claim 1, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system for the modular construction of a structure or object, comprising a main body 4 that is couplable to at least one component of a structure or object, wherein the main body is a corner element or edge element of a module of the structure or object; and
a connecting element 9 positionable substantially between the main body and the at least one component to couple the at least one component to the main body (not shown; connecting element 9 is positionable between a lower main body 4,X and a second upper component 4; Figure 5 reprinted with annotations below; paragraphs [0072-724]),
wherein the connecting element or the main body has a first positioning element 10 for frictional and/or positive interaction with a corresponding first mating element 5 of the other of the connecting element or the main body (Figures 1-6).
[AltContent: textbox (Y)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: arrow]
Oya Kazuhiko fails to explicitly disclose a coupling system wherein the first positioning element has beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces that engage with the corresponding first mating element.
Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container teaches a coupling system wherein a first positioning element 531 of a connecting element 530 has beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces that engage with a corresponding first mating element of a main body 561; the beveled side surfaces providing for easier alignment and insertion of the positioning element within mating element (Figures 9-10). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko wherein the positioning element comprises beveled side surfaces, as taught by Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container, in order to provide for easier alignment and insertion of the positioning element within mating element.
As to claim 5, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the first positioning element 10 is an engagement element projecting from the connecting element 9 and the corresponding first mating element 5 is a recess in the main body 4 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 6, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the first positioning element 10 and/or the corresponding first mating element 5 are or is formed centrally or in the center on or in a respective planar region of the main body 4 or of the connecting element 9 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 8, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the connecting element 9 has a second positioning element 10 for interacting with a corresponding second mating element of the at least one component, the corresponding second mating element being complementary to the second positioning element (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 9, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the second positioning element 10 comprises an insertion or engagement element projecting from the connecting element 9 and the corresponding second mating element comprises a recess or through-hole in the at least one component (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 10, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the second positioning element 10 and/or the corresponding second mating element are or is formed centrally or in the center on or in a respective planar region of the connecting element 9 or of the at least one component, the second positioning element and/or the corresponding second mating element being spaced inward from an outer perimeter of the connecting element or the at least one component (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 11, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the second positioning element 10 and/or the corresponding second mating element has or have a substantially rectangular or square shape or cross-sectional shape (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 12, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the main body 4 has at least one through-opening 6 or at least one recess with an internal thread for interacting with a coupling element 7 configured to couple the at least one component to the main body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 13, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the connecting element 9 has at least one through-opening 11 for coupling means 7 configured to couple the main body 4 to the connecting element (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 14, Oya Kazuhiko fails to disclose a coupling system wherein the at least one through-opening for the coupling means in the connecting element has an oblique or conical depression or indentation for the coupling means.
It is well-known and readily-apparent in the art for a through-opening for coupling means to comprise a conical depression or indentation; such conical depression providing for easier insertion of the coupling means within the through-opening, and receiving the head of the coupling means, providing for more secure coupling of components. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko wherein the at least one through-opening for the coupling means in the first connecting element has a conical depression or indentation, as it is well-known and readily-apparent in the art for a through-opening for coupling means to comprise a conical depression or indentation in order to provide for easier insertion of the coupling means within the through-opening, and to provide for more secure coupling between the first connecting element and the main body.
As to claim 15, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the connecting element 9 have a through-opening 6 for coupling means 7 configured to couple the main body 4 to the connecting element (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 16, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system for the modular construction of a structure or object, comprising:
a main body 4,2 that is couplable to at least one component of the structure or object, wherein the main body is a corner element or edge element of a module of the structure or object; and
a first connecting element 9 positionable substantially between the main body and at least one component to couple the at least one component to the main body (not shown; connecting element 9 is positionable between a lower main body 4 and a second upper component 4; paragraphs [0072-724]),
a second connecting element 9 couplable to the main body, wherein the second connecting element is configured to couple the main body to another main body (not shown; a second lower connecting element 9 is positionable between a lower plate of main body 4,2 and a second lower main body 4,2; paragraphs [0072-724]),
wherein at least one of:
the first or second connecting element, or
the main body,
has a positioning element 10 for frictional and/or positive interaction with a corresponding mating element 5 of the other of:
the first or second connecting element, or
the main body (Figures 1-6).
Oya Kazuhiko fails to explicitly disclose a coupling system wherein the first positioning element has beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces that engage with the corresponding first mating element.
Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container teaches a coupling system wherein a first positioning element 531 of a connecting element 530 has beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces that engage with a corresponding first mating element of a main body 561; the beveled side surfaces providing for easier alignment and insertion of the positioning element within mating element (Figures 9-10). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko wherein the positioning element comprises beveled side surfaces, as taught by Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container, in order to provide for easier alignment and insertion of the positioning element within mating element.
As to claim 17, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein corresponding mating element 5 has a through-opening for coupling the at least one component to the main body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 18, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the positioning element 10 is an engagement element projecting from the connecting element 9 and the corresponding mating element 5 is a recess in the main body 4 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 19, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the positioning element 10 and/or the corresponding mating element 5 are or is formed centrally or in the center on or in a respective planar region of the main body 4 or of the connecting element 9, the positioning element and the corresponding second mating element being spaced inward from an outer perimeter of the main body or the connecting element (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 20, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the main body 4 has at least one through-opening 6 or at least one recess with an internal thread for interacting with coupling means 7 configured to couple the at least one component to the main body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 21, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system wherein the connecting element 9 has at least one through-opening 11 for coupling means 7 configured to couple the main body 4 to the connecting element (Figures 1-6).
Oya Kazuhiko fails to disclose a coupling system wherein the at least one through-opening for the coupling means in the connecting element has an oblique or conical depression or indentation for the coupling means.
It is well-known and readily-apparent in the art for a through-opening for coupling means to comprise a conical depression or indentation; such conical depression providing for easier insertion of the coupling means within the through-opening, and receiving the head of the coupling means, providing for more secure coupling of components. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko wherein the at least one through-opening for the coupling means in the first connecting element has a conical depression or indentation, as it is well-known and readily-apparent in the art for a through-opening for coupling means to comprise a conical depression or indentation in order to provide for easier insertion of the coupling means within the through-opening, and to provide for more secure coupling between the first connecting element and the main body.
As to claim 23, Oya Kazuhiko as modified by Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container discloses a coupling system wherein the corresponding first mating element 5 has beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces that engage with the beveled side regions or beveled side surfaces of the first positioning element 10 (Figures 1-6).
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oya Kazuhiko in view of Yangzhou Tonglee Reefer Container, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of MCC Capital (CN 109469360).
As to claim 22, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system comprising a through-opening in the corresponding first mating element 5 (Figures 1-6).
Oya Kazuhiko fails to disclose a coupling system comprising a through-opening in the first positioning element configured to be aligned with the through-opening in the corresponding first mating element for receiving a coupling element that couples the main body to the connecting element.
MCC Capital teaches a coupling system comprising a through-opening 121 in a first positioning element 122 configured to be aligned with a through-opening in a corresponding first mating element for receiving a coupling element 300,600 that couples a main body 200 to a connecting element 110,500; the coupling element extending through the aligned openings of the positing element and the mating element to securely clamp the connecting element between opposing structural members (Figures 12-20). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko to comprise a coupling element extending through aligned openings of the positing element and the mating element, as taught by MCC Capital, in order to securely clamp the connecting element between opposing structural members.
As to claim 24, Oya Kazuhiko discloses a coupling system comprising a through-opening in the corresponding first mating element 5 (Figures 1-6).
Oya Kazuhiko fails to disclose a coupling system comprising a through-opening in the first positioning element configured to be aligned with the through-opening in the corresponding first mating element; and a coupling element that extends through the through-openings in the positioning element and the corresponding mating element and couples the main body to the first or second connecting element.
MCC Capital teaches a coupling system comprising a through-opening 121 in a first positioning element 122 configured to be aligned with the through-opening in the corresponding first mating element; and a coupling element 300,600 that extends through the through-openings in the positioning element and the corresponding mating element and couples a main body 200 to a connecting element 110,500; the coupling element extending through the aligned openings of the positing element and the mating element to securely clamp the connecting element between opposing structural members (Figures 12-20). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling system disclosed by Oya Kazuhiko to comprise a coupling element extending through aligned openings of the positing element and the mating element, as taught by MCC Capital, in order to securely clamp the connecting element between opposing structural members.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
03/07/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619