Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 8/11/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the cited art, and that the newly added claims are allowable.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendments are indefinite, and given the interpretation defined for the purposed of examination, the amendments do not overcome the teachings of Sato.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5 – 7, and 79 – 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The instant specification does not define the bounds of “substantially all ionic conductivity of the composite is via particle-to-particle contact of the argyrodite”. For the purpose of examination, substantially all is defined as 90% or more. Claims 5-7 and 79-89 are rejected as depending therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 79 – 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Sato, US20200220207A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a composite for an electrode for a lithium ion cell, the composite comprising (electrode mix)[0078]:
an active material [0081], inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles (solid electrolyte having argyrodite structure)[0028][0081], and an organic phase comprising a styrenic polymer binder (styrene butadiene rubber)[0093]
wherein substantially all the ionic conductivity of the composite is via particle-to-particle contact of the argyrodite-containing particles (mixing ratio of argyrodite in the electrode material substantially comprises argyrodite, up to 95%)[0039]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the substantially all ion conducting argyrodite particles results in substantially all ionic conductivity via the argyrodite particles.
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1,
Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the polymer binder is insoluble in solvents having polarity indexes below 3.5.
However, this limitation recites a physical property of the polymer binder, and as Sato teaches the claimed polymer binder the physical property is inherently present [MPEP 2112.01 I].
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1,
Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the polymer binder in non-ionically-conductive.
However, this limitation recites a physical property of the polymer binder, and as Sato teaches the claimed polymer binder (styrene butadiene rubber) the physical property is inherently present [MPEP 2112.01 I].
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1, wherein the argyrodite is given by the formula: A7.xPS6-xHalx where A is an alkali metal and Hal is selected from chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), and iodine (I) and 0 <x<2 [0031].
Regarding claim 79, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1, wherein the active material comprises silicon (silicon)[0084].
Regarding claim 80, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1, wherein the active material comprises silicon and carbon (silicon)[0084](carbon)[0090].
Regarding claim 81, Sato teaches the composite of claim 80, wherein the silicon is between 15% and 50% by weight of the composite (silicon active material, 5 – 95%), carbon is between 5% and 40% by weight of the composite (1 – 40%), and the styrenic polymer is between 1% and 5% by weight of the composite (included with conductive aid)[0085][0091][0094]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 82, Sato teaches the composite of claim 81, wherein inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite- containing particles are at least 10% by weight of the composite (5 – 95%)[0085]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 83, Sato teaches the composite of claim 82, wherein the weight percentage of the inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles in the composite is greater than the weight percentage of active material in the composite [0085].
Regarding claim 84, Sato teaches the composite of claim 80, wherein silicon is between 15% and 50% by weight of the composite (silicon active material, 5 – 95%)[0085][0091]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 85, Sato teaches the composite of claim 80, wherein carbon is between 5% and 40% by weight of the composite (1 – 40%)[0091]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 86, Sato teaches the composite of claim 1, wherein the active material is a cathode active material for a lithium ion cell [0002].
Regarding claim 87, Sato teaches the composite of claim 86, wherein the cathode active material is between 65% and 88% percent by weight of the composite (1 – 95%), the inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles is between 10% and 33% by weight of the composite (1 – 95%), and the styrenic polymer binder is between 1% and 5% by weight of the composite (included with the conductive aid)[0097][0105][0106][0107]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 88, Sato teaches the lithium ion cell [0002], comprising: an anode comprising the composite of an anode comprising the composite of claim 1, a separator comprising inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles and a styrenic polymer binder (styrene butadiene rubber)[0078][0080][0092]; and a cathode comprising a cathode active material, an argyrodite, and a styrenic polymer binder [0078][0097].
Regarding claim 89, Sato teaches the lithium ion cell of claim 88, wherein the cathode active material is between 65% and 88% percent by weight of the cathode (1 – 95%), the inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite- containing particles is between 10% and 33% by weight of the cathode (1 – 95%), and the styrenic polymer binder is between 1% and 5% by weight of the cathode (included with the conductive aid)[0097][0105][0106][0107]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Claims 90 - 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, US20200220207A1, and Teran, US20180034096A1.
Regarding claim 90, Sato teaches a composite for an electrode for a lithium ion cell, the composite comprising (electrode mix)[0078]:
an active material [0081], inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles (solid electrolyte having argyrodite structure)[0028][0081], and an organic phase comprising a styrenic polymer binder (styrene butadiene rubber)[0093],
Sato does not teach wherein the polymer binder is one of poly(acrylonitrile-co-styrene-co-butadiene) (ABS), poly(styrene-co-acrylonitrile) (SAN), and poly(styrene-co-maleic anhydride).
Teran teaches a composite electrode material for a lithium ion cell [0002] an active material, inorganic ionically particles [0031], and an organic phase comprising a styrenic polymer binder [0007]
wherein the polymer binder is one of poly(acrylonitrile-co-styrene-co-butadiene) (ABS) and poly(styrene-co-acrylonitrile) (SAN)[0116]. Further, Teran teaches that the polymer binder is selected from a list comprising styrene butadiene rubber [0116] which is the styrenic binder of Sato. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the polymer binder of Teran into the cell of Sato as an art recognized equivalent for performing the same function (binding in a composite electrode) with reasonable expectation of similar results i.e. binding MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 91, Sato teaches a composite for an electrode for a lithium ion cell, the composite comprising (electrode mix)[0078]:
an active material [0081], inorganic ionically conductive argyrodite-containing particles (solid electrolyte having argyrodite structure)[0028][0081], and an organic phase comprising a styrenic polymer binder (styrene butadiene rubber)[0093],
Sato does not teach wherein the polymer binder is a styrenic block copolymer.
Teran teaches a composite electrode material for a lithium ion cell [0002] an active material , inorganic ionically particles [0031], and an organic phase comprising a styrenic polymer binder [0007]
wherein the polymer binder is a styrenic block copolymer [0116]. Further, Teran teaches that the polymer binder is selected from a list comprising styrene butadiene rubber [0116] which is the styrenic binder of Sato. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the polymer binder of Teran into the cell of Sato as an art recognized equivalent for performing the same function (binding in a composite electrode) with reasonable expectation of similar results i.e. binding MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 92, Sato teaches the composite of claim 91.
Further, Teran teaches wherein the styrenic block copolymer is one of styrene- ethylene/butylene-styrene (SEBS), styrene-butadiene-styrene (SBS), and styrene-isoprene-styrene (SIS) [0116].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724