Receipt of claim amendments and arguments filed on July 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 51-66 are newly added. Thus, claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37 and 51-66 are currently pending.
Applicant previously elected
Group II, claims 25, 27, 30-31 and 36-37, drawn to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease comprising administering a composition comprising tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), melatonin, and insulin, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of any of the foregoing; and at least one excipient.
Withdrawn claims have been canceled.
Claimed Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
In the instant case, the disclosure of the provisional application 62/873,566, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Accordingly, claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37 and 51-66, are not entitled to the benefit of the provisional application since particular embodiments of the claims are not supported by the original disclosure of the prior-filed application. Compositions used in the method, such as that of Example 1 and nanoemulsion preparations, were not described in the provisional application. The compositions/preparations encompassed by the claims are particularly those embodiments that are disclosed in the specification of this application. Introduction of examples and nanoemulsion preparations affects the claims. Thus, the provisional application does not support current embodiments that are disclosed in the application and encompassed by the breadth of the claims.
Thus, the effective filing date of claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37 and 51-66 is the filling date of PCT/US20/41719, which is July 10, 2020.
Claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37 and 51-66 are the subject of this Final Office Action.
Rejections and objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27(amended), 30-31 and 36-37 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukunda (WO2019/190608A1) and Cao (Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease 42 (2014) 973-984-cited by applicant in the IDS of 04/06/2022), in view of Craft (Arch Neurol. 2012 January; 69(1): 29-38), Wermeling (US 2007/0060639) and Sood (J. Drug Target, 2014; 22(4); 279-294).
Applicant’s Invention
The rejected claims are drawn to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with a composition comprising a combination of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), melatonin, and insulin, and at least one excipient.
Mukunda
Mukunda teaches a method of treatment of Alzheimer’s disease using a composition comprising a combination of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), melatonin and curcumin with excipients (see page 10). For example, THC and melatonin are administered in a dose as in paragraph [0056]:
THC is administered in a dose from about 0.2 µg/kg to about 0.14 mg/kg of body weight, preferably from about 0.2 µg/kg to about 0.03 mg/kg of body weight, per paragraph [0051] at page 13. With respect to amended claim 27, a THC dose amount of 0.03 mg/kg of body weight taught by Mukunda is a THC dose amount of 30 µg/kg of body weight. Particularly, Mukunda taught for an oral suspension, a dose that comprises 2.5 mg of THC for a 70-kg patient, which is a dose of 35.71 µg/kg; and other particular dose examples of 1.5 mg (21 µg/kg) of THC. See para [0048] and examples. Note that Mukunda considers an ultra-low dose to be from about 14 µg to about 2.0 mg (2,000 µg) per 70kg patient.
Melatonin is administered in dose ranges from about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.3 mg/kg of body weight, preferably from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 0.15 mg/kg of body weight (p. 13-14). Other melatonin doses disclosed are
and an amount per 70kg patient of form about 14 µg to about 77.0 mg (pages 10-11). They are combined in an oral suspension to be given once a day, twice a day, thrice a day or four times a day depending on the severity of the symptoms. Oral formulations are made in an ethanol/water mixture (see examples).
Mukunda does not teach insulin.
Cao
Cao teaches that THC is effective at lowering Aβ levels at extremely low concentrations by interacting directly with Aβ peptide and inhibiting aggregation, and could be useful in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease. Additionally, low doses of THC can enhance mitochondria function and does not inhibit melatonin’s enhancement of mitochondria function.
In addition, the reference teaches:
.
Craft
Craft discloses that in clinical trials, intranasal insulin treatment improves memory in both Alzheimer’s patients and adults with aMCI. Craft teaches that insulin modulates the levels of Aβ and protects against the detrimental effects of Aβ oligomers on synapses. Regarding the benefits of intranasal administration, Craft discloses that it provides rapid delivery of insulin to the central nervous system via bulk flow along olfactory and trigeminal perivascular channels, and slower delivery via olfactory bulb axonal transport, without adversely affecting blood insulin or glucose levels. Intranasal insulin increases insulin levels in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) and acutely enhances memory in humans. Intranasal insulin was administered at doses of 20 IU (10 IU twice a day) or 40 IU (20 IU twice a day).
Craft does not teach THC or melatonin.
Wermeling
Wermeling teaches compositions for the intranasal administration of THC with the advantages of rapid and controlled absorption and consistent bioavailability. The compositions are to be used in the treatment of conditions associated with CNS disfunction, such as Alzheimer’s disease. See whole document.
Wermeling does not teach melatonin or insulin.
Sood
Sood discusses the benefits of intranasal therapeutic strategies for the management of Alzheimer’s disease. Intranasal delivery provides fast onset of action, avoidance of the intestinal and hepatic presystemic disposition, reduction of systemic exposure and side effects with direct delivery and targeting to the brain and CSF, practicality and ease of administration and better patient compliance. It allows for the administration of lower doses and in return reduce their side effects. (See page 282) Sood teaches that melatonin protects neurons against Aβ toxicity and inhibits the progressive formation of β-sheets and amyloid fibrils; however, it has low oral BA, short biological half-life and erratic pharmacokinetic profile. They have found that intranasal (IN) administration of melatonin enhances drug absorption (see page 290).
Sood additionally teaches that IN insulin improves memory, attention and function in Alzheimer patients (see page 288). Sood does not teach THC.
Further, Sood concluded the following:
.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR exemplary rationale (A), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat Alzheimer’s disease with an intranasal composition of a combination of THC, melatonin and insulin, together with at least one excipient. Each agent was taught in the prior art to be used for treating Alzheimer’s disease. The advantages of their intranasal administration were also disclosed by the references. A person having ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation that administering an intranasal combination of the three anti-Alzheimer’s drugs and excipient would effectively treat Alzheimer’s disease in a patient.
It has been held that “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06.
With respect to claims 27, 30, 31 and 36, it would have been prima facie obvious to exemplify any of the doses from about 0.2 µg to about 0.14 mg/kg of body weight of THC as taught by Mukunda, particularly, the preferred doses that comprises 2.5 mg of THC for a 70-kg patient, which is a dose of 35.71 µg/kg, and of 1.5 mg, which is a dose of 21 µg/kg of THC; any of doses of melatonin of from about 0.02 mg to about 0.3 mg/kg of body weight as taught by Mukunda (1.5 mg) (or references in Sood); and any of the IN insulin doses taught by Craft (20 IU or 40IU per dose) with a reasonable expectation of success. That is because the references teach that these are effective doses for treating AD and its symptoms. Additionally, the dose administered to the AD patient is considered a result-effective variable that impacts the effectiveness of the treatment. See for example the various doses researched/tested in the references. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, it would have been obvious to administer the composition once a day (24h intervals), twice a day, thrice a day or four times a day depending on the severity of the symptoms, because Mukunda taught so. Also, because the dosing intervals (i.e., 6 hour intervals, etc.) is considered a result-effective variable that impacts the effectiveness of the treatment. Differences in result-effective variables will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the value of the result-effective variable is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.
Applicant’s arguments were carefully considered but were found unpersuasive.
Applicant first argues about the references individually. In response, the clear teachings of Mukunda, Cao, Craft, Wermeling and Sood were discussed above. The rejection here is based on the combination of references.
Applicant alleges that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning. In response, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Most of Applicant’s arguments are related to doses/dosing. It is noted that Applicant’s arguments directed to doses are irrelevant to the obviousness rejection of claims that do not contain a dose.
Applicant argues that the examiner did not provide evidence that the claimed doses are “result-effective variables”. First, it is noted that claims 25, 36 and 37 do not claim a dose. Second, it is noted that the examiner showed that the dose ranges disclosed in Mukunda contain the THC doses claimed; moreover, that the preferred THC doses disclosed in Mukunda anticipate the THC doses claimed, and that Craft taught the same doses of insulin claimed. Since the claimed doses were already disclosed in the prior art, it is not necessary to show that claimed doses are result-effective variables. Third, the references used in the rejection provide evidence that the dose of each active agent is a result- effective variable. For example, Cao taught that particular THC dosing affects the outcome in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease. Mukunda taught THC and melatonin doses as variables in relation to Alzheimer’s treatment. Further, Craft provided insulin dose-response experiments involving human AD administration. In addition, Craft disclosed: “We have demonstrated previously in an acute-dosing study12 that the insulin-dose response curve for memory is characterized by a ∩-shaped function, in which beneficial effects are observed at optimal levels, and null or negative effects are observed when levels are too low or too high.” Further, Wermeling also tested different THC doses while disclosing at paragraphs [0064]-[0065] that:
What constitutes an appropriate daily dose for a human subject depends on a variety of factors, including the particular cannabinoid in the composition and its bioavailability, the age, sex, and body weight of the subject, the condition being treated, and the severity of that condition.
In the case of a psychotropic cannabinoid such as Δ9-THC, a dosage amount and frequency that minimizes psychotropic effects while providing therapeutic benefit can be selected by one of skill in the art without undue experimentation.
Applicant further argues that THC as described in both Cao and Mukunda, is psychoactive at higher doses, and that a person of ordinary skill would be discouraged from following the path set out in Mukunda given a warning from Cao and Mukunda. Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the references disclose what the reasonable doses of THC are that will not produce psychoactive effects. Applicant further, alleges that the prior art teaches away from combining the teachings of the references because “Mukunda teaches an ultra-low dose of THC starting at 14µg for a 70 kg patient” and “the art’s express and implicit caution against higher THC exposure.” This cannot be found persuasive because Mukunda disclosed
And particularly, disclosed doses of 2.5mg and 1.5mg for a 70-kg patient that are effective and can be administered safely.
Applicant further argues that they obtained unexpected results because the instant invention permits administration of materially higher THC doses in combination with melatonin and insulin without the adverse outcomes the art associates with THC escalation. This cannot be found persuasive because Mukunda disclosed doses of THC that will not produce psychoactive effects, such as 2.5mg and 1.5mg for a 70-kg patient that are effective and can be administered safely.
Applicant argues that:
However, the rejection is based upon the teachings of a combination of references. It is the examiner’s position that the combination of references teach that THC, insulin and melatonin improve symptoms and function in Alzheimer’s disease patients without psychological deterioration, because the individual references teach that THC, insulin and melatonin improve symptoms and function in Alzheimer’s disease patients without recording any deterioration.
The difference between the teachings of Mukunda and the rejected claims is that Mukunda does not teach insulin in their formulation. However, references above demonstrate the benefits of insulin formulations in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease.
Regarding the statement of results that are shown in the figures in the specificaton, Applicant has not shown a comparison with the closest prior art. See MPEP 716.02.
Applicant alleges that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect that co-administration of THC and insulin would increase safety risk, not reduce it. This allegation is unfounded. Applicant has not provided a reference teaching that the combination of the two ingredients would be unwanted. The references above are evidence that THC at the disclosed doses and insulin at the disclosed doses are beneficial and safe to treat patients with Alzheimer’s disease. For the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing, their combination would be expected to be similarly beneficial.
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06. Again, there is no evidence in the record that the combination of the two ingredients would be unwanted. Further, in Mukunda, combinations of THC with other active ingredients, such as with melatonin, have also been found to be efficacious and safe.
Double Patenting
Claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37, 51, 54, 57, 58, 63 and 65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,065,225 in view of Craft (Arch Neurol. 2012 January; 69(1): 29-38), Wermeling (US 2007/0060639) and Sood (J. Drug Target, 2014; 22(4); 279-294).
The claims of the patent do not teach insulin. The claims of the patent teach administering THC in an ultra-low dose amount of
.
Craft
Craft discloses that in clinical trials, intranasal insulin treatment improves memory in both Alzheimer’s patients and adults with aMCI. Craft teaches that insulin modulates the levels of Aβ and protects against the detrimental effects of Aβ oligomers on synapses. Regarding the benefits of intranasal administration, Craft discloses that it provides rapid delivery of insulin to the central nervous system via bulk flow along olfactory and trigeminal perivascular channels, and slower delivery via olfactory bulb axonal transport, without adversely affecting blood insulin or glucose levels. Intranasal insulin increases insulin levels in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) and acutely enhances memory in humans. Intranasal insulin was administered at doses of 20 IU (10 IU twice a day) or 40 IU (20 IU twice a day).
Wermeling
Wermeling teaches compositions for the intranasal administration of THC with the advantages of rapid and controlled absorption and consistent bioavailability. The compositions are to be used in the treatment of conditions associated with CNS disfunction, such as Alzheimer’s disease. See whole document.
In addition, Wermeling teaches
[0032] A composition adapted for intranasal administration according to the invention is of particular interest for a tricyclic cannabinoid that is psychotropic above a threshold systemic plasma concentration. Δ9-THC is an example of such a cannabinoid. It is believed that intranasal administration, by avoiding a high initial spike in plasma cannabinoid concentration, as occurs for example when the drug is administered intravenously or to a lesser extent when the drug is absorbed by smoking marihuana, while at the same time avoiding first-pass metabolism, as occurs when the drug is administered orally, can minimize psychotropic side-effects while maintaining a therapeutically effective plasma concentration for several hours.
[0033] Δ9-THC is a highly hydrophobic compound with an octanol-water partition coefficient of about 6000:1 at pH 7. In view of such hydrophobicity and the fact in that the present composition the cannabinoid is in solubilized form, a solubilizing agent is a critical component. The solubilizing agent can comprise a solvent system for the cannabinoid, and this solvent system, itself comprising one or more solvents, can form the bulk of the medium in which the cannabinoid is dissolved. In another embodiment, the composition is in the form of an emulsion or microemulsion wherein the cannabinoid is in solution in a solvent system, for example sesame oil and/or other plant oils, which in turn is emulsified in an aqueous medium in the presence of one or more amphiphilic agents.
[0036] Suitable solubilizing agents for a hydrophobic tricyclic cannabinoid such as Δ9-THC include pharmaceutically acceptable glycols. Examples of glycols include but are not limited to propylene glycol, 1,3-butanediol, polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol fatty acid esters, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether and mixtures thereof. Optionally, the solubilizing agent can further comprise ethanol. For example, propylene glycol and ethanol can be present in a volume ratio of at least about 80:20, for example at least about 90:10 or at least about 95:5. According to other embodiments, the solubilizing agent is essentially free of ethanol.
[0037] When a hydrophobic tricyclic cannabinoid is present in an aqueous medium, the solubilizing agent can comprise at least one amphiphilic compound in an amount effective to solubilize the cannabinoid in the aqueous medium. For example, the at least one amphiphilic compound can be a cationic, anionic or nonionic surfactant. Illustrative amphiphilic compounds are benzalkonium chloride, benzethonium chloride, cetylpyridinium chloride, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, nonoxynol 9, nonoxynol 10, octoxynol 9, poloxamers, polyoxyethylene (8) caprylic/capric mono- and diglycerides, polyoxyethylene (35) castor oil, polyoxyethylene (20) cetostearyl ether, polyoxyethylene (40) hydrogenated castor oil, polyoxyethylene (10) oleyl ether, polyoxyethylene (40) stearate, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol laurate, sodium lauryl sulfate, sorbitan monolaurate, sorbitan monooleate, sorbitan monopalmitate, sorbitan monostearate and tyloxapol, or mixtures thereof.
Wermeling does not teach melatonin or insulin.
Sood
Sood discusses the benefits of intranasal therapeutic strategies for the management of Alzheimer’s disease. Intranasal delivery provides fast onset of action, avoidance of the intestinal and hepatic presystemic disposition, reduction of systemic exposure and side effects with direct delivery and targeting to the brain and CSF, practicality and ease of administration and better patient compliance. It allows for the administration of lower doses and in return reduce their side effects. Factors influencing mucoadhesion include pH (see page 282).
At page 284 Sood teaches that a strategy that has been investigated for enhancing the absorption and thereby the BA of nasally administered drugs includes nanoemulsions. See Figure 3 and various drugs disclosed therein.
Sood teaches that melatonin protects neurons against Aβ toxicity and inhibits the progressive formation of β-sheets and amyloid fibrils; however, it has low oral BA, short biological half-life and erratic pharmacokinetic profile. They have found that intranasal (IN) administration of melatonin enhances drug absorption (see page 290).
Sood additionally teaches that intranasal (IN) insulin improves memory, attention and function in Alzheimer patients (see page 288), and cites references as evidence and that assessed different doses of IN insulin.
Further, Sood concluded the following:
.
Sood does not teach THC.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR exemplary rationale (A), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat Alzheimer’s disease with a composition of a combination of THC and melatonin at the doses recited in the patented claims, in combination with insulin at the dose taught in the references and at least one excipient. Each combination was taught in the prior art to be used for treating Alzheimer’s disease. Further, the advantages of intranasal administration of each ingredient were disclosed by the references. Thus, a person having ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation that administering an intranasal combination of THC and melatonin at the doses recited in the patented claims, together with a dose of insulin recited in the references and excipient, would effectively treat Alzheimer’s disease in a patient.
It has been held that “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06.
The same doses of THC and melatonin and administration intervals as claimed here are recited in the patented claims.
Regarding the new dose of at least 1 µg/kg of claim 27, the prior art teaches THC in an ultra-low dose amount of
, which substantially overlaps with the at least 1µg/kg instantly claimed. It is noted that the courts have stated
where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
The courts have also found that,
“where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Therefore, the claimed range merely represents an obvious variant and routine optimization of already disclosed range within the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments were carefully considered but were found unpersuasive. Applicant reiterated the arguments above, and those have been already discussed.
Regarding the argument about the doses in the ‘225 patent, and how “the doses extend up to about 0.16mg/kg with the express goal of remaining below doses associated with psychological impairment”, when converted into micrograms, the doses extend up to 160 µg/kg which are within the scope of the claims. Applicant’s claim 27 recites a dose of at least 1 µg/kg, and thus, it is unclear how applicant argues that the dose is critical if their claimed dose starts at 1 µg/kg and has no upper limit. Further, it is unclear how applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would be diverted from using doses of THC which are currently claimed when the same doses have been disclosed and suggested as useful and safe in the patent. Nothing in the references suggest that the combination of THC and melatonin of the patent should not be combined with insulin of the secondary references.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51-55 and 57-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukunda (WO2019/190608A1) in view of Craft (Arch Neurol. 2012 January; 69(1): 29-38), Wermeling (US 2007/0060639) and Sood (J. Drug Target, 2014; 22(4); 279-294) as applied to claims 25, 27, 30-31 and 36-37 above,
and further in view of Sigurdsson et al. ((1997). Drug Delivery, 4(3), 195–200- for claim 55), Sintov et al. (J. Controlled Release 2010, 148 (2), 168-176) and Watts (US 6,383,513), and as evidence for claims 61-63 are Tripathy (Nanomedicine; NBM 2016; 12:1431-1443) or Shakeel (Pharm. Devel. Tech., 2010; 15(2): 131-138) or Khatoon (Drug Delivery and Translational Research (2021) 11:1245-1260).
Applicant’s Invention
The rejected claims are drawn to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with a composition comprising a combination of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), melatonin, and insulin, and at least one excipient.
Mukunda
Mukunda teaches a method of treatment of Alzheimer’s disease using a composition comprising a combination of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), melatonin and curcumin with excipients (see page 10).
THC is administered in a dose amount from about 0.2 µg/kg to about 0.14 mg/kg of body weight, preferably in an ultra-low dose from about 0.2 µg/kg to about 0.03 mg/kg of body weight (see page 13, paragraph [0051]). With respect to amended claim 27 and new claims 51 and 64, a THC dose amount of 0.03 mg/kg of body weight taught by Mukunda is a THC dose amount of 30 µg/kg of body weight.
Also with respect to the THC doses in claims 27, 51, 52, 53 and 64, Mukunda teaches doses of about 14 µg to about 10.0 mg of THC, preferably 14 µg to about 2.0 mg of THC. See paragraph [0035]. Mukunda discloses specific examples falling within the claimed ranges. Particularly, Mukunda taught for an oral suspension, a dose that comprises 2.5 mg of THC for a 70-kg patient, which is a dose of 35.71 µg/kg; and other particular dose examples of 1.5 mg (21 µg/kg) of THC. See para [0048] and examples. Note that Mukunda considers an ultra-low dose to be from about 14 µg to about 2.0 mg (2,000 µg) per 70kg patient.
Also, in Example 1 at page 17, one dose of the liquid formulation comprises:
. Thus, Mukunda also teaches a formulation with a dose of 1.5 mg THC and 1.5 mg melatonin, for a ratio of 1:1 as in new claim 66.
With regards to 57-60 and 64, in Example 9 Mukunda teaches an emulsion containing the same dose of THC and melatonin (1.5 mg each (1:1) -see Example 1), also containing a nonionic emulsifier “preferably added to increase the solubility of THC” and other active ingredients in the solution, which nonionic emulsifiers include lecithin, polysorbate 80 (is also a surfactant), and vitamin E TPGS. A preferred emulsifier is a combination of polysorbate-80 and Vitamin E TPGS. See page 9 and Example 10. Thus, Mukunda also teaches emulsion formulations as in claims 57-58 and 64, in which the organic phase comprises lecithin or Vitamin E TPGS as in new claim 59, and the emulsifier comprises polysorbate-80, as in new claim 60.
With regards to new claim 65, Mukunda teaches that THC is
, which is Dronabinol. They also teach
Melatonin is administered in dose ranges from about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.3 mg/kg of body weight, preferably from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 0.15 mg/kg of body weight (p. 13-14). Other melatonin doses disclosed are
and an amount per 70kg patient of form about 14 µg to about 77.0 mg (pages 10-11). They are combined in an oral suspension to be given once a day, twice a day, thrice a day or four times a day depending on the severity of the symptoms. Oral formulations are made in an ethanol/water mixture (see examples).
Mukunda does not teach insulin.
Craft
The teachings of Craft were discussed in the previous rejection.
Wermeling
Wermeling teaches compositions for the intranasal administration of THC with the advantages of rapid and controlled absorption and consistent bioavailability. The compositions are to be used in the treatment of conditions associated with CNS disfunction, such as Alzheimer’s disease. See whole document.
In addition, Wermeling teaches
[0032] A composition adapted for intranasal administration according to the invention is of particular interest for a tricyclic cannabinoid that is psychotropic above a threshold systemic plasma concentration. Δ9-THC is an example of such a cannabinoid. It is believed that intranasal administration, by avoiding a high initial spike in plasma cannabinoid concentration, as occurs for example when the drug is administered intravenously or to a lesser extent when the drug is absorbed by smoking marihuana, while at the same time avoiding first-pass metabolism, as occurs when the drug is administered orally, can minimize psychotropic side-effects while maintaining a therapeutically effective plasma concentration for several hours.
[0033] Δ9-THC is a highly hydrophobic compound with an octanol-water partition coefficient of about 6000:1 at pH 7. In view of such hydrophobicity and the fact in that the present composition the cannabinoid is in solubilized form, a solubilizing agent is a critical component. The solubilizing agent can comprise a solvent system for the cannabinoid, and this solvent system, itself comprising one or more solvents, can form the bulk of the medium in which the cannabinoid is dissolved. In another embodiment, the composition is in the form of an emulsion or microemulsion wherein the cannabinoid is in solution in a solvent system, for example sesame oil and/or other plant oils, which in turn is emulsified in an aqueous medium in the presence of one or more amphiphilic agents.
[0036] Suitable solubilizing agents for a hydrophobic tricyclic cannabinoid such as Δ9-THC include pharmaceutically acceptable glycols. Examples of glycols include but are not limited to propylene glycol, 1,3-butanediol, polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol fatty acid esters, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether and mixtures thereof. Optionally, the solubilizing agent can further comprise ethanol. For example, propylene glycol and ethanol can be present in a volume ratio of at least about 80:20, for example at least about 90:10 or at least about 95:5. According to other embodiments, the solubilizing agent is essentially free of ethanol.
[0037] When a hydrophobic tricyclic cannabinoid is present in an aqueous medium, the solubilizing agent can comprise at least one amphiphilic compound in an amount effective to solubilize the cannabinoid in the aqueous medium. For example, the at least one amphiphilic compound can be a cationic, anionic or nonionic surfactant. Illustrative amphiphilic compounds are benzalkonium chloride, benzethonium chloride, cetylpyridinium chloride, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, nonoxynol 9, nonoxynol 10, octoxynol 9, poloxamers, polyoxyethylene (8) caprylic/capric mono- and diglycerides, polyoxyethylene (35) castor oil, polyoxyethylene (20) cetostearyl ether, polyoxyethylene (40) hydrogenated castor oil, polyoxyethylene (10) oleyl ether, polyoxyethylene (40) stearate, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol laurate, sodium lauryl sulfate, sorbitan monolaurate, sorbitan monooleate, sorbitan monopalmitate, sorbitan monostearate and tyloxapol, or mixtures thereof.
Wermeling does not teach melatonin or insulin.
Sood
Sood discusses the benefits of intranasal therapeutic strategies for the management of Alzheimer’s disease. Intranasal delivery provides fast onset of action, avoidance of the intestinal and hepatic presystemic disposition, reduction of systemic exposure and side effects with direct delivery and targeting to the brain and CSF, practicality and ease of administration and better patient compliance. It allows for the administration of lower doses and in return reduce their side effects. Factors influencing mucoadhesion include pH (see page 282).
At page 284 Sood teaches that a strategy that has been investigated for enhancing the absorption and thereby the BA of nasally administered drugs includes nanoemulsions. See Figure 3 and various drugs disclosed therein.
Sood teaches that melatonin protects neurons against Aβ toxicity and inhibits the progressive formation of β-sheets and amyloid fibrils; however, it has low oral BA, short biological half-life and erratic pharmacokinetic profile. They have found that intranasal (IN) administration of melatonin enhances drug absorption (see page 290).
Sood additionally teaches that intranasal (IN) insulin improves memory, attention and function in Alzheimer patients (see page 288), and cites references as evidence and that assessed different doses of IN insulin.
Further, Sood concluded the following:
.
Sood does not teach THC.
Sigurdsson
Sigurdson teaches that intranasal formulations containing insulin at a pH between 5.5 and 6.5 reaches maximum absorption with a significantly greater amount absorbed at pH 6.5 than at pH 7.5. Thus, the artisan knew that the best pH of intranasal formulations containing insulin is about 6.5
See page 197:
.
Sintov
Intranasal insulin W/O nano-sized emulsions (conventionally called microemulsions- see page 169) with average droplet size of 2.26 nm in diameter have been prepared by Sintov. The acceleration in the intramucosal transport process is the result of encapsulating insulin within the nano-droplet clusters. See Abstract. Note all the ingredients used for the emulsion, such as aqueous phase, emulsifier, and oils.
Watts
Watts disclosed: The nasal route is known to provide advantages for the delivery of drugs, and for some drugs the pharmacokinetic profile following nasal administration is similar to that found after intravenous administration. However, THC is in the form of an oily liquid which is highly lipid soluble and only sparingly soluble in water. Hence, the person skilled in the art would consider it impossible to produce a simple nasal solution or other simple gel or suspension formulation that could produce sufficient nasal absorption and therapeutic plasma levels. THC can be formulated successfully into a nasal product by using a biphasic delivery system and that such a biphasic delivery system provides improved nasal absorption and therapeutically relevant plasma levels.
Compositions for the nasal delivery of THC in O/W emulsions of droplet sizes of 250 nm and about 280nm were prepared. Water, oil and emulsifiers are used, which are the same or similar to the ingredients of the other formulations in the references above. See column 3 and examples.
Tripathy, Shakeel, Khatoon
These references teach three actives accommodated in the same nanoemulsion formulation system and the design to produce nanoscale droplets while screening oils, surfactants, drug solubility, etc.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. See MPEP 2143.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR exemplary rationale (A), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat Alzheimer’s disease with an intranasal formulation comprising THC, melatonin and insulin in an emulsion or nanoemulsion (with at least one excipient), at the THC doses taught by Mukunda ( 2.5 mg of THC for a 70-kg patient, which is a dose of 35.71 µg/kg; 1.5 mg, which is a dose of 21 µg/kg of THC; 1.5 mg or 2.0 mg of THC); the melatonin doses taught by Mukunda or references in Sood (e.g. 1.5 mg); and the IN insulin doses taught by Craft (20 IU or 40IU per dose), because the references teach that these are effective agents at said effective doses for treating AD and also teach that there are advantages in making emulsion/nanoemulsion formulations containing these agents for intranasal administration. Note the advantages disclosed by the references. The artisan knew what ingredients to select to make the emulsion/nanoemulsion, such as the type of oil and emulsifiers, which were taught by above references. All the teachings of the references provided a reasonable expectation of success.
A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to find optimal pH for the intranasal liquid emulsion/nanoemulsion because the artisan knew that the pH is a factor that influences mucoadhesion (per at least Sood). In addition, the artisan would have been aware that a pH of about 6.5 provides a significantly greater absorption of insulin (per Sigurdsson), thus, the artisan would have been motivated to make the formulation with a similar pH.
Regarding the droplet size of the emulsion, the artisan would have been motivated to encapsulate THC, melatonin and insulin together in nanoemulsions of 2.26nm or 250 nm, and about 280nm droplet size, because the references teach that these parameters improve nasal absorption of the formulation and acceleration in the intramucosal transport process. See at least Sintov and Watts. There would have been a reasonable expectation of successfully incorporating THC, insulin and melatonin into a nasal nanoemulsion with the claim droplet size because encapsulation of three active agents in nanoemulsions at various droplet sizes was known in the art. See at least Tripathy, Shakeel and Khatoon.
Applicant’s arguments have been responded to above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 56, 64, 65 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 56 is ambiguous. Claim 56 depends of claim 54. Thus, claim 56 recites: “wherein the composition is formulated for intranasal administration in a liquid dosage form, wherein the liquid dosage form is encased in a capsule for oral administration.” It is unclear what the claim encompasses. This claim cannot be examined.
Claim 64 recites:
The claim does not recite “the method of claim 25, wherein the composition comprises…”. The claim appears to claim both a process of using a composition and a composition, and this is indefinite. MPEP 2173.05(p) states that:
II. PRODUCT AND PROCESS IN THE SAME CLAIM
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission workstand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph).[AltContent: rect]
Claim 65 is ambiguous for the following reasons:
1- It recites that the THC is THC-A. THC is tetrahydrocannabinol of the following formulae:
and
. However, THC-A is tetrahydrocannabinolic acid:
. THC does not include THC-A. The specification of this application has not redefined the claim term. See MPEP 2173.05(a).
2- It recites that THC is Dronabinol. However, Dronabinol is a formulation containing additional ingredients (at least sesame oil) together with THC. The term THC in claim 25 does not encompass mixtures of ingredients outside of THC.
Claim 66 is indefinite because it recites a ratio without describing if it is a mole ratio, a weight ratio or molarity ratio.
Conclusion
Claims 25, 27, 30-31, 36-37 and 51-66 are rejected. No claim is in condition for allowance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621 08/22/2026