DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 3rd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections and objections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed July 3rd, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 14, 16, 19, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner suggests deleting the dashes in claim 7 and deleting the bullet points in claim 14.
Claim 16 recites “the method comprising a step of implanting, in a biological tissue of an animal, at least one implant according to claim 1, comprising the insertion of at least the distal portion into biological tissue using the insertion device at each distal portion.” should read -- the method comprising a step of implanting, in a biological tissue of an animal, at least one implant according to claim 1, wherein the step of implanting comprises inserting at least each distal portion of the implant into biological tissue using the insertion device at each distal portion.--
Claim 19 recites “wherein the biodegradable material of the insertion device is selected between polylactic coglycolic acid (PLGA) or biosoluble polyethylene glycol or Poly Capra Lactone, or cellulose, or silk or Chitosan based compounds” should read --wherein the biodegradable material of the insertion device is selected between polylactic coglycolic acid (PLGA), , , or Chitosan based compounds.--
Claim 21 recites ”5μm et 10cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm, the middle portion has a width being comprised between 5μm et 1cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm, the distal portion has a width being comprised between 200nm et 30μm and a thickness being comprised between 200nm et 600μm.” should read –5 μm and 10 cm and a thickness being comprised between 500 nm and 300 μm, the middle portion has a width being comprised between 5 μm and 1 cm and a thickness being comprised between 500 nm and
300 μm, the distal portion has a width being comprised between 200 nm and 30 μm and a thickness being comprised between 200 nm and 600 μm.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-14, 16, 18, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke et al. (US 20130144365) herein referred to as “Kipke” further in view of Yoon et al. (US 20140288458) herein referred to as “Yoon”.
Regarding claim 1, Kipke discloses an implant (neural device 100, implanted on the outer surface of the brain, Paragraphs [0003] and [0015], Figure 1),
adapted to be implanted at least partially in a biological tissue of an animal (the neural device is implanted in the brain, Paragraph [0003] and [0024]),
comprising an implant body (implant body 100, Figure 1) and a set of electrically conductive wires (set of electrically conductive wires 120, Paragraph [0015], Figure 1),
each conductive wire comprising a first portion electrically connected to the implant body (first portion 120, connected to implant body 110, see modified Figure 1 and modified Figure 7B below),
a second portion and a third portion configured to form an electrical connection to the biological tissue (see modified Figure 7B below),
the second portion being interposed between the first portion and the third portion (see modified Figure 7B below),
wherein the implant comprises a set of arms wherein each arm comprises an electrically insulating sheath (set of arms are each of the electrode modules 110, Figure 1, the modular flexible substrate may be supported by a backing 170 of flexible material (i.e., insulating sheath), Paragraph [0015], Figure 1) and a bundle of said electrically conductive wires (bundle of electrically conductive wire, see modified Figure 7B below),
each bundle comprising at least two subsets of electrically conductive wires (see modified Figure 7B below),
each subset comprising at least two electrically conductive wires (each subset comprises at least two electrically conductive wires, Figure 7B),
each sheath having a single proximal portion (see modified Figure 7B below), a set of middle portions (see modified Figure 7B below) and a set of distal portions (see modified Figure 7B below),
each middle portion corresponding to a subset of electrically conductive wires (each middle portion corresponds to a subset of electrically conductive wires, see modified Figure 7B below),
each distal portion corresponding to a single conductive wire (each distal portion corresponds to a single conductive wire, see modified Figure 7B below),
the single proximal portion of each sheath extending from the implant body and encasing the first portion of each conductive wire of the bundle (single proximal portion of sheath extends from the implant body 100, Figure 1),
each middle portion of the sheath extending from the proximal portion and encasing the second portion of each conductive wire of the corresponding subset (each middle portion of the sheath extends from the proximal portion and encases the second portion of each conductive wire, see modified Figure 1 below),
and each distal portion of the sheath extending from a middle portion and encasing the third portion of a single conductive wire of the bundle (each distal portion extends from a middle portion encasing the third portion of a single conductive wire of the bundle, see modified Figure 1 below).
However Kipke does not explicitly disclose wherein the third portion has a third length L3, the third length L3 being comprised between 10% and 60% of the total length Lt of the implant. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include wherein the third portion has a third length L3, the third length L3 being comprised between 10% and 60% of the total length Lt of the implant, as the applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed dimension (broad range, applicant’s specification Page 12, lines 23-26) and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Further Kipke does not explicitly disclose wherein the implant comprises at each distal portion an insertion device made of biodegradable material.
Yoon discloses a neural probe for in vivo communication with biological tissue including stimulating neurons and/or recording neural electrical activity (Abstract) wherein the implant comprises at each distal portion an insertion device made of biodegradable material (biodegradable coating 18 may provide the necessary mechanical stiffness or integrity for insertion, Figures 5-6, Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate the teachings of Yoon by including wherein the implant comprises at each distal portion an insertion device made of biodegradable material. The motivation to do so being to allow for the biodegradable material to dissolve quickly once inserted into the surrounding tissue to reduce immune system responses (Yoon, Paragraphs [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein each arm extends from the implant body along a main direction (each arm extends from the implant on a main direction, see modified Figure 1), the main directions of the arms being coplanar (main directions are coplanar, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein the implant body comprises a main portion and an attachment portion (main portion and attachment portion, see modified Figure 1 below),
the attachment portion extending from the main portion (attachment portion extends from the main portion, see modified Figure 1 below),
each arm extending from the attachment portion (each arm extends from the attachment portion, see modified Figure 1 below).
However, Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose the attachment portion being shaped as a circular sector. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the attachment portion to be shaped as a circular sector, as the applicant has placed no criticality on the shape (the attachment portion is for example, shaped as a circular sector, Page 21, line 5, applicant’s specification). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 5, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein each arm comprises at least three subsets of conductive wires, each subset comprising at least three conductive wires (see modified Figure 7B below).
Regarding claim 6, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
However, Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the lengths of each proximal, middle and distal portion are each comprised between 30 percent to 40 percent of a total length of the arm. However it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kipke to include wherein a length of the proximal portion, a length of the middle portion and a length of the distal portion of each sheath are each comprised between 30 percent and 40 percent of a total length of the arm as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (Page 11 and Page 12) and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)).
Regarding claim 7, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein: each conductive wire of at least one subset is electrically connected to at least one other conductive wires of the subset, and/or the distal portion of at least one sheath is linked to a distal portion of at least one other sheath of the same subset by a linking portion of the sheath, the linking portion being fixed to both distal portions linked by the linking portion (distal portions of the sheaths are linked together by a linking portion, see modified Figure 1 below); and/or a face of at least one conductive wire or of at least one sheath is nanostructured.
Regarding claim 9, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein the implant comprises an electrical connector configured to be electrically connected to an apparatus distinct from the implant body (the conductive interconnect through conductive traces 420 arranged to extend between the modular electrode array and the electronic subsystem 440, Figure 4),
the implant body comprising electrical conductors configured to connect each conductive wire to the electrical connector (implant body comprises electrical interconnects 120 which are connected to the conductive traces 420 extending between the modular electrode array and the electronic subsystem 440, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 9.
Kipke further discloses wherein the implant comprises an extension piece (extension piece, see modified Figure 4 below) connecting the implant body to a transfer module of the implant (extension piece connects the implant body to a transfer module 440, Figure 4), the transfer module being able to exchange data with the apparatus distinct from the implant body(the electronic subsystem 440 exchanges data with the recording system 460, Figure 4, Paragraph [0023]) the extension piece comprising a substrate (extension piece comprises substrate 470, Paragraph [0021]) and conductive lines supported by the substrate (conductive lines 420 and interconnects are supported by the substrate 470, Figure 4),
the substrate comprising a first extreme portion (see modified Figure 4 below),
a second extreme portion and an intermediate portion interposed between the first extreme portion and the second extreme portion (see modified Figure 4 below),
the extension piece being connected to the electrical connector at the first extreme portion (extension piece is connected to the electrical connector at the first extreme portion, Figure 4),
each conductive line being configured to carry an electrical current between the first extreme portion and the second extreme portion (conductive lines carry an electrical current between the first and second extreme portions, Figure 4, Paragraph [0021]),
a thickness of the intermediate portion being inferior or equal to the thickness of the first extreme portion and inferior or equal to the thickness of the second extreme portion (thickness of intermediate portion is equal to the thickness of first and second extreme portions, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein the implant body is integral with the arms (implant body 100 is integral with the arms 170, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses wherein at least one conductive wire of one arm is electrically connected, through the implant body to a conductive wire of another arm (all conductive wires are electrically connected through the conductive interconnect 120, see Figure 1 and Figure 7A-7B).
Regarding claim 14, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses a method for fabricating an implant according to claim 1 (method 900 of manufacturing a neural device, Paragraph [0029], Figure 9),
wherein each sheath is made of an electrically insulating first material (attaching a backing to the modular flexible substrate, Paragraph [0031], wherein the backing 170 is made from a flexible material, such as silicone or another flexible polymer (i.e., seen as electrically insulating materials), Paragraph [0015]),
the method comprising: a step for fabricating a first layer made of the electrically insulating first material (attaching a backing to the modular flexible substrate, Paragraph [0031]),
a step for depositing, onto the first layer, at least one second layer of an electrically conductive second material to form the electrically conductive wires (conductive interconnect is formed and coupled to the electrodes at 915, Paragraph [0032], see Figure 9), and,
a step for depositing, onto the first and second layers a third layer of the electrically insulating first material so as to form each sheath (after the first and second portion interconnect molds are clamped together, the insulation material (i.e., silicone is injected into the interconnect mold and cured in an oven, thereby simultaneously forming the insulation shape and adhering the insulation around the coiled interconnects, Paragraph [0033]).
However Kipke does not explicitly disclose a step of fixing an insertion device onto each distal portion.
Yoon discloses a step of fixing an insertion device onto a distal portion of a probe (the coating 18 can be applied over the desired portions of the shank 12 and/or tip 16 by dip-coating, soft-lithography, laser machining or other suitable methods, Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate the teachings of Yoon by including a step of fixing an insertion device onto each distal portion. The motivation to do so being to apply a biodegradable material to the probe that dissolves quickly once inserted into the surrounding tissue to reduce immune system responses and further make the structure more rigid overall (Yoon, Paragraphs [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
Kipke further discloses a method for implanting an implant, the method comprising a step of implanting, in a biological tissue of an animal, at least one implant according to claim 1 (at least a portion of the electrode modules may be designed for conform closely with brain surfaces of gyrated brain, (i.e., implant in the tissue of the animal), Paragraph [0026] and [0024]).
However Kipke does not explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises the insertion of at least the distal portion into biological tissue using the insertion device at each distal portion.
Yoon discloses wherein the method comprises the insertion of at least the distal portion into biological tissue using the insertion device at each distal portion (the biodegradable coating 18 may provide the necessary mechanical stiffness or integrity for insertion, Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate the teachings of Yoon by including wherein the method comprises the insertion of at least the distal portion into biological tissue using the insertion device at each distal portion. The motivation to do so being to provide the necessary mechanical stiffness or integrity for insertion (Yoon, Paragraphs [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 7.
Kipke further discloses wherein each conductive wire of at least one subset is electrically connected to at least one other conductive wires of the subset by at least one electrical conductor linking the third portions of the conductive wires (each conductive wire of at least one subset is electrically connected to at least one other conductive wire of the subset by at least one electrical conductor linking the third portions of the conductive wires through the connector (first portion of the implant is a connector that links all conductive wires), Figure 7B).
Regarding claim 19, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
However Kipke does not explicitly disclose wherein the biodegradable material of the insertion device is selected between polylactic coglycolic acid (PLGA) or biosoluble polyethylene glycol or Poly Capra Lactone, or cellulose, or silk or Chitosan based compounds.
Yoon discloses wherein the biodegradable material of the insertion device is selected between polylactic coglycolic acid (PLGA) or biosoluble polyethylene glycol or Poly Capra Lactone, or cellulose, or silk or Chitosan based compounds (the biodegradable coating 18 is Silk-I protein polymer, other possible coating materials include poly-lactic-co-glycolic acid (PLGA), Chitosan, collage, or any other biodegradable material, Paragraph [0028]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate the teachings of Yoon by including wherein the biodegradable material of the insertion device is selected between polylactic coglycolic acid (PLGA) or biosoluble polyethylene glycol or Poly Capra Lactone, or cellulose, or silk or Chitosan based compounds. The motivation to do so being to provide a biodegradable material to reduce immune response upon insertion (Yoon, Paragraphs [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
However Kipke does not explicitly disclose wherein the insertion device is arrow-shaped.
Yoon discloses wherein the insertion device is arrow-shaped (coating 18 is arrow-shaped, see Figures 5-6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate the teachings of Yoon by including wherein the insertion device is arrow-shaped. The motivation to do so being to provide the necessary mechanical properties for easy insertion (Yoon, Paragraphs [0028-0029])
Claims 3, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Yoon further in view of Harding et al. (US 10,265,514) herein referred to as “Harding”.
Regarding claim 3, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 2.
Kipke discloses wherein an angle between the main directions of a pair of successive arms being notably equal for each pair of successive arms (angle between arms is equal, see Figure 1), however Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein each arm extends radially from the implant body.
Harding discloses an implantable sensing and stimulation device comprising a plurality of flexible arms extending from a central hub (Abstract), wherein each arm extends radially from the implant body (an implanted system 100/600 is able to provide direct therapy to targeted areas of the patient, Col. 10, lines 12-13, see modified Figures 1 and 6 below)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke to incorporate
the teachings of Harding by including wherein each arm extends radially from the implant body. The motivation to do so being to facilitate an even spacing between the flexible arms around the central hub for sensing and stimulating at different positions around the hub (Harding, Col. 14 lines 10-62).
Regarding claim 17, Kipke in view of Yoon and Harding discloses the implant according to claim 3.
However Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein an angle between the main directions of a pair of successive arms is equal for each pair of successive arms.
Harding discloses wherein an angle between the main directions of a pair of successive arms is equal for each pair of successive arms (the at least eight flexible arms extending radially outward from a central hub, Col. 14, lines 11-12, the at least eight flexible arms are arranged in a star configuration in which the arms extend radially outward from the central hub at evenly spaced positions, Col. 14, lines 16-19, see modified Figures 1 and 6 below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke in view of Yoon to incorporate the teachings of Harding by including wherein an angle between the main directions of a pair of successive arms being notably equal for each pair of successive arms. The motivation to do so being to facilitate an even spacing between the flexible arms around the central hub for sensing and stimulating at different positions around the hub (Harding, Col. 14 lines 10-62).
Regarding claim 21, Kipke in view of Yoon and Harding discloses the implant according to claim 3.
However Kipke in view of Yoon and Harding does not explicitly disclose wherein the proximal portion has a width being comprised between 5μm et 10cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm,the middle portion has a width being comprised between 5μm et 1cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm, the distal portion has a width being comprised between 200nm et 30μm and a thickness being comprised between 200nm et 600μm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include disclose wherein the proximal portion has a width being comprised between 5μm et 10cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm, the middle portion has a width being comprised between 5pm et 1cm and a thickness being comprised between 500nm et 300μm, the distal portion has a width being comprised between 200nm et 30μm and a thickness being comprised between 200nm et 600μm, as the applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed dimensions (broad range, applicant’s specification Pages 16-18) and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Yoon further in view of Lieber et al. (US 20160302682) herein referred to as “Lieber”.
Regarding claim 8, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the implant according to claim 1.
However, Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein each conductive wire comprises a metallic film having a thickness of 1 nanometers to 3000 nanometers.
Lieber discloses the use of nanoscale wires in probes inserted into biological tissue (Paragraph [0005]-[0007]) wherein the thickness of a metal layer may be from 1 nanometer to 3000 nanometers (the thickness of a metal layer may be less than 1 micrometer, less than about 700 nm, less than about 600 nm, less than about 500 nm, less than about 300 nm, less than about 200 nm, less than about 100 nm, less than about 80 nm, less than about 50 nm, less than about 30 nm, less than about 10 nm, less than about 5 nm, less than about 2 nm, etc., Paragraph [0059]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke in view of Yoon to incorporate the teachings of Lieber by including wherein each conductive wire comprises a metallic film having a thickness of 1 nanometer to 3000 nanometers. The motivation to do so being to control the amount and type of stress the device can withstand by controlling the thickness of the layers (Lieber, Paragraph [0058]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Yoon further in view of Negi (US 20170007813) herein referred to as “Negi”.
Regarding claim 15, Kipke in view of Yoon discloses the method according to claim 14.
However Kipke in view of Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises a step for etching away part of the third layer so as to define, for each conductive wire, an opening for electrically connecting the conductive wire to a cortex, the part of the third layer being etched away using an ion beam.
Negi discloses an implantable electrode array (Paragraph [0042]), wherein the conductive traces are formed using ion beam etching (ion beam can be used to etch away the metal to form conductive traces, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066]), for each conductive wire, an opening for electrically connecting the conductive wire to a cortex (the multi-site electrode arrays provide recordings sites in a three dimensional region of cortex, Paragraph [0072]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kipke in view of Yoon to incorporate the teachings of Negi by including wherein the conductive layer is etched away using an ion beam. The motivation to do so being to use a method that etches in controllable patterns at the nanometer scale for more precise and accurate traces (Negi, Paragraphs [0064] and [0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tolosa et al. (US 2020/0085375) discloses a biocompatible multi-electrode device capable of being implanted in sensitive tissue (Abstract). Lauritzen et al. (US 2014/0222103) discloses a visual prosthesis for implantation in the brain (Abstract).
/D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794