Status of Claims
This Action is in response to the amendment filed on May 11, 2026.
As directed by the amendment: Claims 1, 22, and 31 were amended. Claims 2-5, 7, 10, and 26-30 have bene canceled. Claims 32-40 are newly added. Thus, claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11-25, and 31-40 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 33, 34, 35, and 36 recite an “atraumatic shape” and this has been interpreted to mean any suitable shape that can be safely inserted into the vagina (conforming with Applicant’s proposal on page 13 of the Remarks filed May 19, 2025).
It is noted that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” and a “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim,” see MPEP 2114(II).
In the instant case, the claims recite functional language or intended uses of the device, such as:
“arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma” in claim 1 (lines 13-14), claim 31 (lines 17-20), claim 37 (lines 14-15), claim 38 (lines 14-15), claim 39 (lines 14-15), claim 40 (lines 16-17).
“said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures, wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure” in claim 31 (lines 24-27), claim 37 (lines 15-18), claim 38 (lines 15-18), claim 39 (lines 15-18), claim 40 (lines 17-20).
“arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures such that the tissue elongates at least partly within the holes to deliver the microtrauma that stimulates regeneration within the tissue of the vaginal wall to provide vaginal atrophy treatment, wherein the microtrauma is characterized by an array of lesions on the vaginal wall that persist after delivery of the negative pressure mechanical microtrauma therapy” in claim 32 (lines 18-23).
“said microtrauma comprises suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures, the deformation comprising localized tensile deformation that persists after cessation of the negative pressure” in claim 33 (lines 6-10), claim 34 (lines 6-10), claim 35 (lines 6-10), claim 36 (lines 6-10).
“depth being such that contained tissue elongation occurs during use without tissue entering the internal cavity or cavities” in claim 33 (lines 23-24).
In these instances where the claims recite functional language or intended uses, as long as the prior art discloses the recited structural limitations and is able to perform the claimed function(s)/use(s), it will be considered to read on the claimed function(s)/use(s).
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a tamper resistance device” in claim 22. The corresponding structure in the specification is a sensor arranged to read a unique identifier (see page 16, lines 23-27 of the Specification filed January 11, 2022), or may comprise a tamper proof cap, seal or foil that is broken/removed when a flexible lead is connected for the first time (see page 16, line 32 through page 17, line 4 of the Specification filed January 11, 2022).
“actuation/controller module is arranged to: sense the tamper resistance device and to determine if the disposable parts are being used for the first time based on the tamper resistance device, and prevent activation of the vacuum pump if disposable parts are determined to have been reused” in claim 22. The corresponding structure in the specification is an actuation/controller configured to read and record a unique identifier in a memory, and then compare subsequently read unique identifiers to those read during previous uses in order to determine if a flexible lead/treatment module is being used or being connected for the first time (See page 16, lines 27-30 of the Specification filed January 11, 2022), or the actuation/controller is arranged to sense the presence or condition of the tamper resistance device to determine whether the flexible lead is being reused via a sensor provided at the connection point (See page 17, lines 2-4 of the Specification filed January 11, 2022).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“actuating and/or controlling means including the vacuum pump for the microtrauma module” in claim 19. The recitation of the vacuum pump is sufficient structure to perform actuating and/or controlling of the microtrauma module.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 31-36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 14 recites “microtrauma” and it appears that a comma or semicolon should be inserted after “microtrauma” because there is a line break afterwards.
Claim 31, line 6 recites “600 mmHg” and it appears that a comma or semicolon should be inserted after “600 mmHg” because there is a line break afterwards.
Claim 31, lines 7-8 recite “the microtrauma module comprises” with a line break between “module” and “comprises. The Examiner suggests deleting the line break.
Claim 32, line 1 recites “A vaginal atrophy treatment device to treat vaginal atrophy” which is redundant. The Examiner suggests deleting “to treat vaginal atrophy.”
Claim 33, lines 3-4 recite “the wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --a wall of the vagina-- because this is the first recitation of a wall, and to conform to the language used in the remainder of the claims (i.e., see claim 1, line 3).
Claim 33, line 5 recites “a wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --the wall of the vagina-- to clarify the antecedent basis, from line 3.
Claim 34, lines 3-4 recite “the wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --a wall of the vagina-- because this is the first recitation of a wall, and to conform to the language used in the remainder of the claims (i.e., see claim 1, line 3).
Claim 34, line 5 recites “a wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --the wall of the vagina-- to clarify the antecedent basis, from line 3.
Claim 35, lines 3-4 recite “the wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --a wall of the vagina-- because this is the first recitation of a wall, and to conform to the language used in the remainder of the claims (i.e., see claim 1, line 3).
Claim 35, line 5 recites “a wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --the wall of the vagina-- to clarify the antecedent basis, from line 3.
Claim 36, lines 3-4 recite “the wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --a wall of the vagina-- because this is the first recitation of a wall, and to conform to the language used in the remainder of the claims (i.e., see claim 1, line 3).
Claim 36, line 5 recites “a wall of the vagina” and the Examiner suggests --the wall of the vagina-- to clarify the antecedent basis, from line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34, line 18 recites “the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no antecedent basis for this “portion” of the treatment module.
Claim 35, line 17 recites “the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no antecedent basis for this “portion” of the treatment module.
Claim 36, line 18 recites “the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no antecedent basis for this “portion” of the treatment module.
Claim 40, line 4 recites “the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no antecedent basis for this “portion” of the treatment module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wu (2020/0405572).
Regarding claim 33, Wu discloses a vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate, atraumatic shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1. The device is sized and configured for insertion into a vagina and has a substantially smooth outer surface 14 configured to “bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal”, see para. [0023], thus it is considered an atraumatic shape) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to [the] wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said microtrauma comprises suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures and be strained),
the deformation comprising localized tensile deformation (Wu’s device is able to perform this function as the “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024] and formed by tensile deformation of being drawn at least partially into the open end of the apertures) that persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired),
wherein: the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
the apertures are arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and the microtrauma module is configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22),
the vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1) further comprises a vacuum pump (automated pump 32, with tube 34 and means 30 for pulling the piston block 26 proximally, see Fig. 1 and para. [0027]-[0028]) and the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22 and inner chamber 20, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with the vacuum pump,
the holes are formed by through holes extending a depth through a wall of the treatment module (channels 22 extend a depth through a wall of the treatment module, fluidly connecting the outside surface of the device to the vacuum chamber 20, see Fig. 1 and the first sentence of [0024]) that open into an internal cavity or cavities (distal portion 20a, Fig. 1 is an internal cavity) in fluidic communication with the vacuum pump (the channels 22 open to distal portion 20a. This portion 20a is in fluidic communication with the vacuum pump as the vacuum pump modulates the pressure of the portion 20a, see Fig. 1 and para. [0027]-[0028]);
the depth of the holes is defined as the length of a channel created by the holes (the length of a channel 22 defines the depth of the hole associated with the channel, see Fig .1), the depth being such that contained tissue elongation occurs during use without tissue entering the internal cavity or cavities (there is no indication that in Wu that the vaginal tissue would be drawn all the way through the channels 22 to reach the piston chamber 20. Furthermore, Wu is able to perform the function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as disclosed: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to have tissue elongation to at least some degree); and
the device is arranged to generate, in use, a negative pressure at the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22).
Wu shows the holes (22) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023]). Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but Wu is silent regarding the holes extend a depth of at least 1 mm.
However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, 19, 31-32, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a device (Fig. 1) to treat vaginal atrophy (“treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said negative pressure is between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]), wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]), the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, Wu’s device is arranged to provide the same pressures to the same tissue of the vaginal wall. Directly contacting the tissue with the apertures and providing the same suctioning forces as disclosed by Applicant would be expected to produce the same result of drawing at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma),
wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim: Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 200-600 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 1.00 mm to less than 4 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is still silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses in which the device is arranged to generate a pressure in the range of between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (“high pressures (e.g. between 180-600 mmHg) can be used to increase blood flow … applied pressure can vary depending on the intended result” see the last two sentences of [0031] of Wu) at the apertures (the pressure generated in chamber 20 is directly transmitted to the apertures via channels 22, see Fig. 1 of Wu).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses as currently combined discloses in which the holes (channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (12, see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu) to contact the vaginal walls when suction is applied. Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding the holes (22) extend: a) a depth of at least 1 mm; b) a depth of at least 1 mm and less than 6 mm; c) a depth of greater than 2 mm; or d) a depth of greater than 2 mm and less than 6 mm. However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu/Carava’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm and less than 6 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses as currently combined discloses in which the holes (22) extend a depth of at least 1 mm and less than 6 mm (see the claim 8 rejection statement above), but does not specifically disclose in which the holes extend a depth in the range between 3 mm and 4 mm. However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu/Carava’s channels (holes) to be between 3 mm and 4 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses as currently combined discloses in which the holes (22) have a maximum cross-sectional size of at least 1 mm and less than 4 mm (see the claim 1 rejection statement above), but does not specifically state the holes have a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 2 mm and 3 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
As outlined above in the claim 1 rejection statement, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim: Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]). Furthermore, the selection of a hole size in the range between 2 mm and 3 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hole size of Wu/Carava to have a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 2 mm and 3 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (holes having a maximum cross-sectional size between 3 mm and 4 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses in which the treatment module (12) comprises: a support member (rigid hollow core 16, Fig. 1 of Wu), the support member comprising an arrangement of passageways (openings connecting chamber 20 to the channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) that are fluidly coupled to the vacuum pump (fluidly connected to chamber 20 of the vacuum pump of Wu); an outer tip member (deformable layer 18, Fig. 1 of Wu), the outer tip member (18) comprising the plurality of holes forming the apertures of the treatment module (there are holes in layer 18 corresponding to the locations of the channels 22, see Fig. 1 of Wu), wherein the outer tip member (18) is arranged to fit around a distal portion of the support member (see Fig. 1 of Wu, the outer tip member 18 fits around the distal portion of support member 16), the outer tip member and support member arranged to form an interlocking engagement (outer layer 18 is sleeved over the rigid hollow member 16 and directly engaged with it as seen in Fig. 1 of Wu) whereby the passageways of the support member are aligned relative to the holes of the outer tip member to form a fluidic connection between them (the passageways of support member 16 and the holes of outer tip member 18 are aligned because they are the entrance and exit of the channels 22, see Fig. 1 of Wu).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses wherein one of: a) the outer tip member (18) is formed from an elastomeric material (silicone, rubber, bendable and/or compressible polymers, polyethylene, polytetrafluorothylene, see the last 14 lines of [0023] of Wu. At least silicone is an elastomeric material), and the support member (16) is formed from a relatively rigid material (“rigid hollow core 16 is formed from a rigid polymer” see the last sentence of [0023] of Wu).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses in which the treatment module (12) comprises a proximal handle part (the left half of body 12 in Fig. 1 of Wu is capable of being grasped by hand because it is sized and shaped for insertion into the vagina. Thus, it reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of a proximal handle part. Alternatively, it is noted that Figure 2 of Wu provides a rod, strap, or string 44 to have the user pull the piston block 26, see the first two sentences of [0030] of Wu. The Figure 2 embodiment is otherwise substantially identical to Figure 1 and would read on the claim 1 limitations in the same manner as stated above) and a distal treatment part (right half of body 12, Fig. 1 of Wu, comprising the apertures and associated channels 22) being adapted for insertion into the vagina during use (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024] of Wu), wherein the apertures (openings associated with channels 22, Fig. 1) are provided on the distal treatment part (see Fig. 1 of Wu).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses in which the device comprises a remote actuation/controller module (automated pump 32, Fig. 1, is remotely connected via tube 34 of Wu) operatively connectable to the treatment module (12, via tubing 34, Fig. 1 of Wu) and comprising actuating and/or controlling means (automated pump 32 “with integral pressure regulator is shown communicatively coupled to proximal chamber portion 20b way of tubing 34 connected through a valve 36” and having an “electronic controller configured to adjust pressure toe a predefined or a user defined parameter” see Fig. 1 and lines 1-18 of [0028] of Wu) including the vacuum pump for the microtrauma module (automated pump 32 is connected to and part of the vacuum pump by adjusting the pressure within the vacuum pump chamber portion(s) 20, see lines 1-18 of [0028] of Wu).
Regarding claim 31, Wu discloses a device (Fig. 1) to treat vaginal atrophy (“treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (the entire treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]),
wherein said negative pressure is between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031])
wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the part of the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
wherein the holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]),
the apertures being arrayed over at least the part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arrayed over at least the elongated part of 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, Wu’s device is arranged to provide the same pressures to the same tissue of the vaginal wall. Directly contacting the tissue with the apertures and providing the same suctioning forces as disclosed by Applicant would be expected to produce the same result of drawing at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma);
wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired)
It is reiterated that Wu is arranged to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm, and wherein the holes extend to a depth of at least 1 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim: Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 200-600 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 1.00 mm to less than 4 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is silent regarding wherein the holes extend to a depth of at least 1 mm; and the device comprises a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
The modified Wu/Carava device discloses as currently combined discloses in which the holes (channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (12, see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu) to contact the vaginal walls when suction is applied. Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding the holes (22) extend a depth of at least 1 mm. However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu/Carava’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 32, Wu discloses a vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) to treat vaginal atrophy comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]),
wherein said negative pressure is between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]),
wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]),
the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22),
wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]),
the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures such that the tissue elongates at least partly within the holes to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to elongate at least partly within the holes to deliver microtrauma) that stimulates regeneration within the tissue of the vaginal wall to provide vaginal atrophy treatment (Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]),
wherein the microtrauma is characterized by an array of lesions on the vaginal wall (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of lesions on the vaginal wall by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) that persist after delivery of the negative pressure mechanical microtrauma therapy (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)). As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim:
Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 200-600 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 1.00 mm to less than 4 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is silent regarding wherein the holes extend to a depth of at least 1 mm; and the device comprises a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
The modified Wu/Carava device discloses as currently combined discloses in which the holes (channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (12, see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu) to contact the vaginal walls when suction is applied. Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding the holes (22) extend a depth of at least 1 mm. However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu/Carava’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 37, Wu discloses a device to treat vaginal atrophy (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said negative pressure is between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]), wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]), the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma), wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim: Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 300-450 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 1.00 mm to less than 4 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 1.00 mm and less than 4 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is still silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 38, Wu discloses a device (Fig. 1) to treat vaginal atrophy (“treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said negative pressure is between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]), wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]), the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma), wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)). As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim:
Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 200-600 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 2 mm to less than 3 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 200 mmHg and 600 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is still silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 39, Wu discloses a device (Fig. 1) to treat vaginal atrophy (“treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said negative pressure is between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]), wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]), the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma), wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)). As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim:
Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 300-450 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 2 mm to less than 3 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
The modified Wu device is still silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 12, 35-36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144) and Lei (2015/0366747).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Wu/Carava device (from the claim 1 rejection above) discloses the treatment module (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu), but does not specifically state a portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) in which the vaginal treatment module (applicator 3, Fig. 1; i.e., handle 21 and disposable plug components 22, 23, 25, 26, Fig. 2; see the last sentence of [0111]) is inserted to be adjacent the vaginal wall for vaginal tightening (see the first sentence of [0054]). The treatment module has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range of 25-37.5 mm (see the second sentence of [0054]), which is an optimal size for most users (see the last sentence of [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a maximum diameter of about 25-37.5 mm as taught by Lei because such a diameter is shown to be suitable for most users for a treatment probe that is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina for vaginal rejuvenation and tightening. The claimed range limitation is thus obvious because the prior art overlaps with the range, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 35, Wu discloses a vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate, atraumatic shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1. The device is sized and configured for insertion into a vagina and has a substantially smooth outer surface 14 configured to “bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal”, see para. [0023], thus it is considered an atraumatic shape) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to [the] wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said microtrauma comprises suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained),
the deformation comprising localized tensile deformation (Wu’s device is able to perform this function as the “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024] and formed by tensile deformation of being drawn at least partially into the open end of the apertures) that persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired), wherein
the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
the apertures are arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and the microtrauma module is configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22),
the vaginal atrophy treatment device further comprises a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), and the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with the vacuum pump, and
the device is arranged to generate, in use, a negative pressure at the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22).
Wu is silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes; and the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute and less than 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
The modified Wu/Carava device discloses the treatment module (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu), but does not specifically state the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) in which the vaginal treatment module (applicator 3, Fig. 1; i.e., handle 21 and disposable plug components 22, 23, 25, 26, Fig. 2; see the last sentence of [0111]) is inserted to be adjacent the vaginal wall for vaginal tightening (see the first sentence of [0054]). The treatment module has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range of 25-37.5 mm (see the second sentence of [0054]), which is an optimal size for most users (see the last sentence of [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a maximum diameter of about 25-37.5 mm as taught by Lei because such a diameter is shown to be suitable for most users for a treatment probe that is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina for vaginal rejuvenation and tightening. The claimed range limitation is thus obvious because the prior art overlaps with the range, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 36, Wu discloses a vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate, atraumatic shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1. The device is sized and configured for insertion into a vagina and has a substantially smooth outer surface 14 configured to “bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal”, see para. [0023], thus it is considered an atraumatic shape) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to [the] wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said microtrauma comprises suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained),
the deformation comprising localized tensile deformation (Wu’s device is able to perform this function as the “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024] and formed by tensile deformation of being drawn at least partially into the open end of the apertures) that persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired), wherein;
the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
the apertures are arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and the microtrauma module is configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22),
the vaginal atrophy treatment device further comprises a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), and the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with the vacuum pump, and
the device is arranged to generate, in use, a negative pressure at the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22).
Wu shows the holes (22) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023]). Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but Wu is silent regarding the holes extend a depth of at least 1 mm.
However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Wu is silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute; and the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is greater than 1 minute. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be greater than 1 minute, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration greater than 1 minute) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
The modified Wu/Carava device discloses the treatment module (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu), but does not specifically state the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) in which the vaginal treatment module (applicator 3, Fig. 1; i.e., handle 21 and disposable plug components 22, 23, 25, 26, Fig. 2; see the last sentence of [0111]) is inserted to be adjacent the vaginal wall for vaginal tightening (see the first sentence of [0054]). The treatment module has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range of 25-37.5 mm (see the second sentence of [0054]), which is an optimal size for most users (see the last sentence of [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a maximum diameter of about 25-37.5 mm as taught by Lei because such a diameter is shown to be suitable for most users for a treatment probe that is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina for vaginal rejuvenation and tightening. The claimed range limitation is thus obvious because the prior art overlaps with the range, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 40, Wu discloses a device (Fig. 1) to treat vaginal atrophy (“treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), and the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to the wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said negative pressure is between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (Wu discloses applying negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg. However, it is noted that Wu states that the pressure range 1-180 mmHg is used to induce the microtrauma, see all of para. [0031]), wherein the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), wherein said holes can have their cross-sectional size adjusted depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user…” see the last eight lines of [0026]), the apertures being arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22), wherein the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), the device being arranged to draw tissue of the vaginal wall into the apertures to deliver the microtrauma (this is a recitation of functional language, and the Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body 12 is inserted into the vaginal canal, the channels 22 are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma), wherein said microtrauma comprises an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are formed in an array as seen in Figure 1, and channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce an array of localized suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained), wherein the microtrauma persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired).
It is reiterated that Wu’s device is configured to apply negative pressures encompassing the claimed range of 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg (ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, see all of para. [0031]) and the size of the holes can vary depending on the use (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). But Wu states that the microtrauma is provided at 1-180 mmHg and Wu is silent regarding wherein said holes have a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)). As outlined above, Wu discloses the general conditions of the claim:
Wu discloses an elongated treatment module (12, Fig. 1) configured to be inserted into the vaginal canal (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) to treat vaginal atrophy (see line 7 of [0036]), the treatment module having a plurality of relatively small apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1) and generating negative pressures ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg to provide micro-traumas and/or increased blood flow (see all of para. [0031]) where the suctioning apertures/channels contact the vaginal wall (see the third sentence of [0024]).
The selection of 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg is merely routine optimization because Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range (1 to 760 mmHg) and values approaching the claimed range are specifically used for generating micro-trauma (180 mmHg, see the last two sentences of [0040]). Furthermore, Applicant’s own disclosure states that pressures ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see para. [0118]) and that “[t]esting performed by the inventors has shown that [200 mmHg to 600 mmHg] provides effective VA treatment without causing excessive tissue damage” and the negative pressure of 300-450 mmHg was “found in testing carried out by the inventors to provide an optimal range for effective VA treatment” (see the last sentence of [0013] and [0014]). Thus, a wide range of pressures 50-800 mmHg are suitable, and testing was performed to find the claimed range of 300-450 mmHg.
The selection of a hole size of greater than 2 mm to less than 3 mm would have been routine optimization because Wu specifically states the size of the apertures may be adjusted for different uses, including for generating micro-trauma (see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu discloses pressures encompassing the claimed range and specifically suggests varying the hole size to uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative pressure of the microtrauma therapy and the hole size of Wu to use a pressure between 300 mmHg and 450 mmHg with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (negative pressures between 300 mmHg to 450 mmHg used with holes having a maximum cross-sectional size of greater than 2 mm and less than 3 mm) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Wu shows the holes (22) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023]). Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but Wu is silent regarding the holes extend a depth of between 1 mm and 6 mm.
However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu’s channels (holes) to be between 1 mm and 6 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Wu is silent regarding a timer configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period, wherein the duration of the treatment period is between 1 and 30 minutes; and the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Carava teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 1A) with a timer (suction timer 208, Fig. 6) configured to switch off the device after a pre-defined treatment period (“The user may also preselect the duration for application of the suction where the suction force is automatically turned off when the preselected period expires. This is done by activating the timer by means of timer level 12 on the suction control box 4” see para. [0040]. Turning off the suction switches off the function of the device. Thus, the treatment period is pre-defined by the placement of the timer control lever 12, Fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wu device to include a timer configured to turn off the device after a pre-defined treatment period as taught by Carava because this provides an expected result of allowing the user or doctor to choose a suitable amount of suction time and prevents excessive suction to the tissue.
The modified Wu/Carava device does not specifically state that the duration of the treatment period is between 1 and 30 minutes. It is noted that this is a broad range of time, with no stated particular criticality and Carava demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art is able to adjust a pre-defined suction treatment range.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duration of the treatment period to be between 1 and 30 minutes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Wu discloses that the suction should be applied “over a sufficient time … to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” see para. [0013], and Carava discloses a user-selectable timer that allows the user to preselect a duration of suction treatment), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (a duration between 1 and 30 minutes) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05.
The modified Wu/Carava device discloses the treatment module (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023] of Wu), but does not specifically state the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) in which the vaginal treatment module (applicator 3, Fig. 1; i.e., handle 21 and disposable plug components 22, 23, 25, 26, Fig. 2; see the last sentence of [0111]) is inserted to be adjacent the vaginal wall for vaginal tightening (see the first sentence of [0054]). The treatment module has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range of 25-37.5 mm (see the second sentence of [0054]), which is an optimal size for most users (see the last sentence of [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a maximum diameter of about 25-37.5 mm as taught by Lei because such a diameter is shown to be suitable for most users for a treatment probe that is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina for vaginal rejuvenation and tightening. The claimed range limitation is thus obvious because the prior art overlaps with the range, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weston et al. (2005/0203452).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding further comprising a: a) liquid trap, the liquid trap being provided upstream of the vacuum pump and arranged to trap liquid discharge drawn through the apertures; and/or b) a hydrophobic filter, the hydrophobic filter being arranged to block contaminates drawn though the apertures from reaching the vacuum pump.
Weston teaches a related tissue suctioning device (Fig. 3A) that includes a liquid trap (collection system 243, Fig. 3A) being provided upstream of a vacuum pump (vacuum pump 231, Fig. 3A) and arranged to trap liquid discharge drawn through a suctioning aperture (collects liquid drawn by the vacuum pump through port 228, Fig. 3A; “container 243 provides a means for containing and temporarily storing the collected exudate” see para. [0039]); and a hydrophobic filter (filter 233, Fig. 3A) being arranged to block contaminates drawn through the aperture(s) (from port 228, Fig. 3A) from reaching the vacuum pump (“filter 233 may also be a hydrophobic filter that prevents any exudate from the wound from contaminating, and then being vented to atmosphere by, the vacuum pump 231” see para. [0036]). Thus, the operation of the vacuum pump is not interfered with by liquids.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu/Carava’s vacuum pump system to include a liquid trap and/or hydrophobic filter as taught by Weston in order to prevent bodily fluid from being suctioned into the vacuum pump. This provides an expected result of improving the operation of the vacuum pump, so its operation is not interfered with by liquids.
Claims 17-18, 20-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144) as applied to claims 16, 19, and 1 above, and further in view of in view of Bridges (2016/0242953).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses in which the distal treatment part comprises an aperture portion (area with the plurality of channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) in which the apertures (external openings of channels 22) are located, the aperture portion being located distally (“a plurality of channels 22, preferably distal D to and/or at the site of the annular seal after insertion” of Wu) to a sealing portion (“at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina” see [0023] of Wu). Wu/Carava does not specifically state the treatment part comprising a proximal sealing portion in which none of the apertures are located.
Bridges teaches a related suctioning treatment module (device 302, Fig. 3) for vaginal tightening (see abstract), in which the treatment module comprises a proximal handle part (handle 306, Fig. 3) and a distal treatment part (shaft 304 and sealing cup 308, Fig. 3) being adapted for insertion into the vagina during use, wherein apertures are provided on the treatment part (suction openings 310 are provided on distal treatment part 304, see Fig. 3), and the treatment part comprises a proximal sealing portion (sealing cup 308, Fig. 3) in which none of the apertures are located (suction openings 310 are on the shaft 304, not on the sealing cup 308, see Fig. 3), and an aperture portion (the portion of shaft 304 with the suction openings 310, Fig. 3) in which the apertures (310) are located, the aperture portion being located distally to the sealing portion (308, see Fig. 3). This arrangement provides advantages that the suction assembly is “self-contained” (para. [0051]) and the sealing part is positioned to form a seal to allow the distal treatment part effectively provide suction (“The sealing cup is configured to seal a cavity opening when the shaft is inserted into the body cavity” para. [0004], see also generally para. [0042]). Furthermore, the handle provides an expected result of allowing the user to conveniently grip the device to help position it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a proximal handle and a distal treatment part including a proximal sealing portion and an aperture portion as taught by Bridges because this allows the device to be self-contained and thus more portable, and the handle allows the device to be conveniently gripped to help the user position it properly while still forming a seal to allow the distal treatment part to effectively provide suction.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding the distal treatment part is detachable from the proximal handle part, and in which the distal treatment part is disposable.
Bridges teaches a related suctioning treatment module (Fig. 9A-9B) for vaginal tightening (see abstract), in which the treatment module comprises a proximal handle part (706, Fig. 9A, note that this is capable of being grasped by a hand and uses the similar reference character as the other handles 106, 206, 306, etc.) and a distal treatment part (suction distribution cap 740, Fig. 9B) being adapted for insertion into the vagina during use, wherein apertures are provided on the treatment part (suction holes 744 are provided on distal treatment part 740, see Fig. 9B). Bridges has the distal treatment part (suction distribution cap 740, Fig. 9B) detachable from the proximal handle part (706, Fig. 9A), and in which the distal treatment part is disposable (“suction distribution cap 740 is configured to be separated from the shaft 704 for easy cleaning and/or disposable of the suction distribution cap 740” see para. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to have a detachable distal treatment part that is disposable as taught by Bridges because the detachability allows this part that is inserted into the vagina be easily cleaned and/or disposed (para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Wu/Carava device is silent regarding the treatment module (12, Fig. 1 of Wu) is detachable from the remote actuation/controller module (32, Fig. 1 of Wu) and is disposable.
Bridges teaches a related suctioning treatment module (shaft 1504 and sealing part 1508, Fig. 18C) for vaginal tightening (see abstract), in which the treatment module is detachable from (via quick connect system 1506, see Figs. 18A-18C and the first two sentences of [0083]) a remote actuation/controller module (the quick connect system 1506 detachably connects the treatment module to the suction hose 1518. As seen in Figs. 14A and Fig. 15, a suction hose such as 1118 is able to connect to a remote actuation/controller module in the form of a hand suction pump 1216 or an electric pump 1316. Thus, the quick connect system of Fig. 18A-18C would detach the treatment module from some form of remote actuation). The quick connect system (1506) allows the treatment module to be easily removed from the suction hose for cleaning, maintenance, and/or storage (see the last sentence of [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu/Carava to be detachable from the remote actuation/controller module by a quick connect system as taught by Bridges because this allows the treatment module to be easily removed for cleaning, maintenance, and/or storage. Furthermore, the treatment module in the modified Wu/Bridges device is detachable and capable of being thrown away, and thus reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of “disposable.”
Regarding claim 21, the modified Wu/Carava/Bridges device discloses in which the treatment module (12, Fig. 1 of Wu) and the actuation/controller (32, Fig. 1 of Wu) are coupled by a lead (tubing 34, Fig. 1 of Wu, as modified by Bridges to be the suction tubing 1518 with quick disconnect system 1506), wherein: the treatment module (12, Fig. 1 of Wu) is detachable from the lead (via quick disconnect system 1506 of Bridges) so that the treatment module is a disposable part (in the modified device, the treatment module 12 of Wu is now detachable and capable of being thrown away, and thus reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of “disposable”).
The modified Wu/Carava/Bridges device shows that the lead is bent into different shapes (see Fig. 1 of Wu and various figures of Bridges), but does not specifically state the lead (suction tubing) is flexible. However, it is well known in the art to use flexible pneumatic tubing, and selecting a flexible material provides an expected result that the device will be easier to handle due to the ability to bend as needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the tubing of Wu/Carava/Bridges to be a flexible material such as rubber or a plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Wu/Carava device states the actuation/controller module (32 of Wu) includes an electronic controller for the user to adjust to a predefined or user defined parameter (see para. [0028] of Wu), but is silent regarding in which the actuation/controller module (32, Fig. 1 of Wu) comprises a graphical user interface.
Bridges teaches a related suctioning treatment module (device 202, Fig. 2) for vaginal tightening (see abstract), in which a remote actuation/controller module (controller 224, Fig. 2) comprises a graphical user interface (“digital display” see para. [0050]) to conveniently allow the user to control/adjust operation of the device (“controller 224 may be configured to start/stop the suction device, increase/decrease the speed/suction of the suction device, and/or to reverse the direction of air flow. In some embodiments, the controller 224 includes a display, such as, for example, a digital display, to display information to a user, such as, for example, a timer, a suction measurement, and/or any other suitable information” see the last two sentences of [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic controller of Wu/Carava to include a graphical user interface such as a digital display as taught by Bridges so the user can see important information such as a timer, suction measurement, etc.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Wu/Carava device discloses b) the plurality of apertures (external openings associated with channels 22, Fig. 1 of Wu) may be arranged in a variety of patterns (“the plurality of channels 22 can be arranged in any suitable pattern” see the first sentence of [0026] of Wu), but does not specifically state the apertures are arranged circumferentially around the outer surface of the treatment module. It is noted that claim 25 only requires “any one or more” of the listed limitations.
Bridges teaches a related suctioning treatment module (device 202, Fig. 2) for vaginal tightening (see abstract), in which the apertures (suction openings 210, Fig. 2) are arranged circumferentially (spiral suction pattern 211, see Fig. 2 and para. [0048]) around the outer surface of the treatment module (see Fig. 2). This would provide an expected result of applying the therapeutic suction to a plurality of sides of the vaginal canal thereby increasing the treatment area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of apertures of Wu/Carava to be arranged circumferentially around the outer surface of the treatment module as taught by Bridges because Wu states that any suitable pattern may be utilized, and such a pattern taught by Bridges would be expected to apply the therapeutic suction to a plurality of sides of the vaginal canal thereby increasing the treatment area.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144) and Bridges (2016/0242953) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Lei (2015/0366747).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Wu/Carava/Bridges device is silent regarding a tamper resistance device, provided at a connection point between disposable and non-disposable parts of the device, and wherein the actuation/controller module is arranged to: sense the tamper resistance device and to determine if the disposable parts are being used for the first time based on the tamper resistance device, and prevent activation of the vacuum pump if the disposable parts are determined to have been reused.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) including a tamper resistance device (identification chip 25, Fig. 2), provided at a connection point between disposable and non-disposable parts of the device (parts 22, 23, 25, and 26, Fig. 2, are disposable as part of the “disposable plug” see the last sentence of [0111]. The identification chip 25 is at a connection point between these disposable components and the non-disposable handle 21). The controller module is arranged to: sense the tamper resistance device (the equipment can recognize plug head usage based upon the ID chip, see para. [0182]. The portion(s) of the equipment that perform this recognition function are part of a controller module) and to determine if the disposable parts are being used for the first time based on the tamper resistance device (see para. [0052]), and prevent activation of the device if the disposable parts are determined to have been reused (“allowed to connect with the system for only once …The system will be prohibited to operate once beyond the restrictions” see the last two sentences of [0134] and the last two sentences of [0182]). This promotes a clean and safe treatment of the vagina because it avoids cross infection that would be caused by repeated application of the components (see the first two sentences of [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu/Carava/Bridges to include a tamper resistance device at a connection point between disposable and non-disposable parts of the device, and have the actuator/controller module arranged to: sense the tamper resistance device and determine if the disposable parts are being used for the first time based on the tamper resistance device, and prevent activation of the vacuum pump if disposable parts are determined to have been reused as taught by Lei in order to ensure that there is a clean and safe treatment of the vagina, avoiding cross infection that would be caused by repeated application of the components (see the first two sentences of [0134] of Lei).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Carava (2004/0073144), Bridges (2016/0242953), and Lei (2015/0366747) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Cao (2009/0065565).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Wu/Carava/Bridges/Lei device discloses the tamper resistance device comprises an identifier (identification chip 25 of Lei), and the device further is configured to read the identifier and the actuator/controller determines if the flexible lead is being connected for the first time based on the identifier (see para. [0134], [0182] of Lei). The modified device does not specifically state the identifier is “unique” and the device comprising a sensor arranged to read the unique identifier. However, Lei states that the use of such an identifier chip is well known (see the last sentence of [0145]).
Cao teaches a related system for preventing the reuse of a medical device that has a disposable portion (see Fig. 2 and abstract), wherein the disposable portion (probe 60, Fig. 2) includes a tamper resistance device (ID device 67, Fig. 2) comprising a unique identifier (“ID device 67 has a unique or statistically unique characteristic that is detectable by the base station 70 through the probe handle 50” see para. [0028]), the device comprising a sensor arranged to read the unique identifier (“each probe 60 is fabricated with a different capacitance and inductance and therefore, each probe 60 has a different impedance vs. frequency response and one or more cross-over frequencies. Measuring this response yields a statistically unique value of set of cross over frequencies that are used to determine if a probe 60 has already been used” see para. [0028] and see para. [0029] stating that the base station 70 keeps track of which unique codes have been used, and prevents use if the probe has already been used). This provides an expected result that the same probe will not be used twice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chip ID and controller module of Wu/Carava/Bridges/Lei to have the chip ID be a unique identifier for each disposable device, and to have the controller module sense the unique identifier and keep track of which unique codes have already been used as taught by Cao because the use of unique codes helps make sure that the device has not been used already.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (2020/0405572) in view of Lei (2015/0366747).
Regarding claim 34, Wu discloses a vaginal atrophy treatment device (Fig. 1, “treatment of vaginal atrophy” see line 7 of [0036]) comprising a treatment module (body 12, Fig. 1) configured for insertion into the vagina (“body 12 extends longitudinally along a longitudinal axis and is sized and configured for insertion into a patient’s vagina” see lines 8-10 of [0023]), at least part of the treatment module (12) having an elongate, atraumatic shape (treatment module 12 has an elongated, elliptical shape as seen in Fig. 1. The device is sized and configured for insertion into a vagina and has a substantially smooth outer surface 14 configured to “bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal”, see para. [0023], thus it is considered an atraumatic shape) and an outer surface (outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut a wall of the vagina when inserted (“fits against walls of the vaginal canal during use … able to compress and/or bend to follow the contours of the walls of the vaginal canal” see para. [0023]), the treatment module (12) having a microtrauma module (the microtrauma module is considered to be collectively the outer apertures formed by channels 22, and the chamber 20, Fig. 1) configured to deliver negative pressure (from suction generated in chamber 20, see Fig. 1, and the last sentence of [0027]) mechanical microtrauma therapy to [the] wall of the vagina when inserted (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue along the length of the vaginal wall to be regenerated” see para. [0013]), wherein said microtrauma comprises suction-induced tensile deformation of the vaginal tissue (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. The suctioning channels 22 are stated to contact the vaginal wall. Thus, the Wu device is able to produce suction-induced tensile deformations by suctioning the vaginal tissue via the channels 22) created by straining tissue drawn into and contained within the apertures (as stated above, the negative pressure is “pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12” and the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 such that “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 11-19 of [0023] and the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to and be strained),
the deformation comprising localized tensile deformation (Wu’s device is able to perform this function as the “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024] and formed by tensile deformation of being drawn at least partially into the open end of the apertures) that persists after cessation of the negative pressure (this is a recitation of how the body is intended to respond to the device’s treatment. Wu’s micro-trauma causes small tears or abrasions which induces tissue repair and/or regeneration as stated in para. [0022]. Wu’s micro-traumas are formed in substantially the same manner, at the same location as disclosed by Applicant and thus would be expected to persist at least temporarily, i.e., not be instantaneously repaired),
wherein; the microtrauma module comprises a plurality of apertures (the apertures formed by the external openings of channels 22, Fig. 1. Note, the first sentence of [0024] states the channels 22 fluidly couple the inner chamber 20 to the outer surface 14, lines 6-11 of [0027] state that air is pulled inwardly through the channels 22, and lines 18-20 of [0026] clarify that the channels have openings) formed by holes extending from the outer surface of the treatment module (the channels 22 themselves are considered the “holes” extending from the outer surface 14, Fig. 1) configured to abut the wall of the vagina when inserted (the outer apertures formed by channels 22 are configured to abut the vaginal wall, “channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]),
the apertures are arrayed over at least part of the outer surface (14) of the treatment module (12, see Fig. 1, the apertures are arranged in a group that extends over at least part of the outer surface 14) and the microtrauma module is configured to deliver the negative pressure therapy to the wall of the vagina in contact with the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22),
the vaginal atrophy treatment device further comprises a vacuum pump (piston block 26 and chamber 20 form a vacuum pump, Fig. 1; see lines 1-6 of [0024] and see para. [0027]), and the apertures are in fluidic connection (via channels 22, see lines 1-6 of [0024]) with the vacuum pump, and
the device is arranged to generate, in use, a negative pressure at the apertures (“modulating the atmospheric pressure within the chamber 20 affects the atmospheric pressure within the vagina via the channels 22. Further, when used to induce micro-traumas along vaginal tissue, such micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see lines 4-9 of [0024] and note that the apertures are the external opening(s) of channels 22).
Wu shows the holes (22) extend about a quarter of the way through the body of the device (see Fig. 1 of Wu), and the body is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023]). Thus, Wu’s holes (22) extend a relatively short distance, but Wu is silent regarding the holes extend a depth of at least 1 mm.
However, there does not appear to be any particular criticality to these dimensions as Applicant’s own disclosure states hole depth (among the other variables) “are not all essential to provide the desired mechanical microtrauma” (see Applicant’s para. [0134]). Additionally, this is merely the distance the holes extend from the exterior of the body to connect to a central vacuum pump and the claimed range is broad. Furthermore, it is noted that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of Wu’s channels (holes) to be at least 1 mm because such a range would be expected to perform suitably for a device sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component with the size being expected to suit the dimensions of a vaginal probe. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
The modified Wu device discloses the treatment module (12) is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina (see lines 8-10 of [0023]) but does not specifically state the portion of the treatment module adapted for insertion into the vagina has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range between 20 mm and 30 mm.
Lei teaches a related vaginal rejuvenation apparatus (Fig. 1) in which the vaginal treatment module (applicator 3, Fig. 1; i.e., handle 21 and disposable plug components 22, 23, 25, 26, Fig. 2; see the last sentence of [0111]) is inserted to be adjacent the vaginal wall for vaginal tightening (see the first sentence of [0054]). The treatment module has a maximum cross-sectional size in the range of 25-37.5 mm (see the second sentence of [0054]), which is an optimal size for most users (see the last sentence of [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treatment module of Wu to have a maximum diameter of about 25-37.5 mm as taught by Lei because such a diameter is shown to be suitable for most users for a treatment probe that is sized and configured to be inserted into the vagina for vaginal rejuvenation and tightening. The claimed range limitation is thus obvious because the prior art overlaps with the range, see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Declaration of Conor Minogue under 37 CFR 1.132 filed April 28, 2026, (hereinafter “the Minogue Declaration”) has been considered, but it is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11-25, and 31-40. The Minogue Declaration is discussed below in the Response to Arguments.
Regarding the argument that the Examiner has not established a prima facie case because there is no suggestion or motivation in Wu that would have led one of ordinary skill to arrive at the claimed invention, nor a reasonable expectation of success based on the prior art (see the second paragraph of page 20 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
A prima facie case has been established in the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) above. Any specific arguments with respect to a suggestion or motivation, or expectation of success will be addressed below.
Regarding the argument that Wu applies low to moderate levels of negative pressure, preferably in the range of 1 mmHg to 180 mmHg to induce microtrauma as opposed to the claimed range(s) (i.e., 200 to 600 mmHg) (see the last paragraph of page 20 of the Remarks, through the first two lines of page 21), this argument is not persuasive.
These are apparatus claims. It is reiterated that “[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” and a “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim,” see MPEP 2114(II). Wu clearly discloses the apparatus can apply the recited negative pressure range of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg (180 to 600 mmHg, see para. [0031]), and the rejections have further clarified that the optimum negative pressure range could be determined through routine experimentation.
Regarding the argument that the Examiner’s assertion that a hole size between 3 mm and 4 mm would have been achieved through “routine optimization” is unsupported and inconsistent with the evidence of record (see the second paragraph of page 21 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu specifically suggests that the size of the holes can vary depending on the use, including for generating micro-trauma (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). Since Wu specifically suggests varying the hole size for uses such as generating micro-trauma, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success the formulate the claimed range(s).
Regarding the argument that Wu does not provide any data whatsoever on the performance of the system in producing microtrauma so it is impossible to compare the performance of the claimed device … and that Wu cannot be replicated for several reasons (see the penultimate paragraph of page 22 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
As best understood, this argument appears to be directed towards the Examiner’s previous statements relating to demonstrating unexpected results. It is reiterated that the burden is on Applicant to establish that the results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, such as through direct and indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims (see MPEP 716.02(b)). “Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected” … and “a difference of degree is not as persuasive as a difference in kind – i.e., if the range produces ‘"a new property dissimilar to the known property,’" rather than producing a predictable result but to an unexpected extent” (MPEP 716.02). “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range.” (MPEP 716.02(d)(II)).
Regarding the argument that it is an “impossibility” for Wu to be capable of generating pressures between 1 and 760 mmHg such as 180 mmHg based upon the dimensions of the piston suction pump in Figure 1 because the piston would need to withdraw at least quadruple the volume of the inner chamber (see the penultimate paragraph of page 22 of the Remarks, and paragraphs 7-11 of the Minogue Declaration), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu does not state that the drawings are drawn to scale, and thus arguments based upon the relative measurements of the piston chamber(s) are of little value (see MPEP 2125(II)). Piston-driven suction pumps are conventional mechanisms, and Wu’s Figure 1 illustrates the conventional piston-driven suction pump in a simplified manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Wu’s description of an automated Piston-driven suction pump is not limited to the relative chamber sizes depicted in the simplified figure.
Regarding the argument that Wu’s pressure range of 1 mmHg to 180 mmHg is an intense negative pressure and would be expected to compress the vaginal wall against the rigid channels creating cuts and abrasions, especially as the channels are shown as protruding from the body and having sharp edges (see the penultimate paragraph of page 22 of the Remarks and “Minogue Declaration Figure 2”), this argument is not persuasive.
First, Wu clearly discloses the apparatus can apply the recited negative pressure range of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg (180 to 600 mmHg, see para. [0031]). Notably, Wu’s disclosure of 180 mmHg for targeting micro-trauma is very close to Applicant’s claimed 200 mmHg range. It is reiterated that the rejections have further clarified that the optimum negative pressure range could be determined through routine experimentation.
Second, Wu does not state the channels protrude from the body, nor is there any evidence that Wu’s channels have sharp edges. Instead, Wu is described to operate in the same manner as Applicant’s device. Wu similarly pulls the vaginal wall against the suctioning surface apertures. Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” emphasis added, see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue against and into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma in the same manner as claimed.
Third, the Minogue Declaration does not provide any “Figure 2.”
Regarding the argument that Wu states microtrauma is created by compression against the channels and that it takes the form of small tears and abrasions, but does not provide any guidance as to the number, size, or shape of the openings (see the last sentence of page 22 of the Remarks, through the first paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu illustrates an array of suction openings (the outer ends of each channel 22, Figs. 1-2) configured to be brought into contact with the vaginal wall to produce micro-traumas (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]). Wu specifically suggests that the size of the holes can vary depending on the use, including for generating micro-trauma (“the size and shape of the channel 22 opening can vary depending on the needs of the user. For example, fewer, larger channels 22 may be preferred for targeting greater micro-trauma … whereas, smaller channels 22 spread over the majority of the body 12 may be preferred for primarily increasing blood flow”” see the last eight lines of [0026]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize aperture size as a result-effective variable be motivated to test various aperture sizes to determine the optimum size.
Regarding the argument that Wu is equally vague in providing teachings or suggestions on the time of the suction, merely stating “maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue” (see the second paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu points out that the negative pressure must be applied “over a sufficient time” to cause the micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize suction duration as a result-effective variable and be motivated to test various suction durations to determine an effective therapeutic duration. It is noted that Applicant’s claimed ranges such as 1 minute to 30 minutes are very broad, and there does not appear to be any evidence of unexpected results or criticality within this broad range.
Regarding the argument that the claimed parameter regime is not a routine optimization of Wu, but results from pursuing an entirely different physical mechanism and different outcome (see the penultimate paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu uses the same mechanism as Applicant. Wu specifically states the vaginal tissue is pulled into contact with the suctioning channels (see lines 11-19 of [0023], and lines 1-9 of [0024]) to provide micro-trauma where the array of suctioning channels contact the vaginal wall (“micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]), and Wu discloses negative pressure ranges encompassing the recited pressure range. How would this be considered an “entirely different physical mechanism” from the claimed invention?
Regarding the argument that Wu does not provide any guidance linking pressure, aperture size, and tissue deformation mode, and no suggestion of tensile failure in vacuum induced deformation (see the last paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, Wu clearly discloses the apparatus can apply the recited negative pressure range of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg (180 to 600 mmHg, see para. [0031]). Wu specifically suggests varying the negative pressure value (see the last sentence of [0031]), the aperture size (see para. [0026]), and Wu indicates that the amount of time the negative pressure is maintained is a factor (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma…” see para. [0013]). Thus, finding the optimum combination of pressure, aperture size, and time for micro-trauma would require merely routine optimization.
Second, Wu does not need to provide guidance about “tissue deformation mode” or “tensile failure in vacuum induced deformation.” These are apparatus claims. It is reiterated that “[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” and a “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim,” see MPEP 2114(II). Wu discloses the actual structures recited in the claims, and suggests that the negative pressure value, aperture size, and the amount of time the negative pressure is maintained are factors for producing micro-trauma at the vaginal wall.
Regarding the argument that Wu does not describe the function of drawing tissue into apertures such as to cause suction type microtrauma (see the last paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu’s device is clearly arranged to provide the same suction type micro-trauma function. Wu device is able to perform this function because Wu’s body (12) is inserted into the vaginal canal, the suctioning channels (22) are configured to contact the vaginal wall, and the device is configured to apply the same negative pressures as recited: ranging from 1 to 760 mmHg, with the range 1-180 mmHg inducing microtrauma and 180-600 mmHg increasing blood flow, see all of para. [0031]. Additionally, Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body (12), the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, the device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma.
Regarding the argument that there is no predictive framework for selecting parameters to achieve these outcomes and the claimed results would not have been predictable from Wu (see the last paragraph of page 23 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu provides a clear framework for achieving the claimed device. Wu clearly discloses the apparatus can apply the recited negative pressure range of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg (180 to 600 mmHg, see para. [0031]). Wu specifically suggests varying the negative pressure value (see the last sentence of [0031]), the aperture size (see para. [0026]), and Wu indicates that the amount of time the negative pressure is maintained is a factor (“maintaining sufficient negative pressure over a sufficient time or repeatedly applying sufficient negative pressure to cause micro-trauma…” see para. [0013]). Thus, finding the optimum combination of pressure, aperture size, and time for micro-trauma would require merely routine optimization.
Regarding the argument that Wu does not provide a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, nor any reasonable expectation of success to optimize aperture size because the options for size and shape of the openings are limitless, and an ordinary person is left to wonder what “larger” and fewer” actually means, extending over several orders of magnitude for example 0.1 mm to 10 mm or more (see the first paragraph of page 24 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, Wu does not need to identify “a finite number of identified, predictable solutions” to rely upon a rationale of routine optimization. Applicant appears to be referring to the “obvious to try” rationale (MPEP 2143(I)(E)), which the Examiner did not rely upon. The “obvious to try” rationale is not the same as a “routine optimization” rationale (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Second, the options for aperture size are not limitless based upon the context of Wu’s device. Wu discloses an intra-vaginal probe designed to have a plurality of suctioning channels contacting the vaginal wall to provide micro-trauma. As evidenced by Lei, an intra-vaginal probe may have a diameter of about 25-37.5 mm to fit most users (see para. [0054]). The width of the Wu’s channels (22) appear to be substantially less than the diameter of the intra-vaginal probe (see Fig. 1). Keeping in mind that “[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton,” the argument that one of ordinary skill and creativity would be “left to wonder” whether the apertures should be 0.1 mm or 10 mm is not persuasive. KSR Int’l. Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). One of ordinary skill and creativity would be motivated to test a range of aperture sizes to determine an optimum size, and they would have a basic understanding that some sizes would be unsuitable for an array of suction channels providing micro-trauma in an intra-vaginal probe.
Regarding the argument that Wu does not provide a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to optimize the negative pressure because the entirety of available pressures is disclosed, ranging from 1 mmHg all the way to 760 mmHg, which is standard atmospheric pressure (see the first paragraph of page 24 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, it is reiterated that Wu does not need to identify “a finite number of identified, predictable solutions” to rely upon a rationale of routine optimization. Applicant appears to be referring to the “obvious to try” rationale (MPEP 2143(I)(E)), which the Examiner did not rely upon. The “obvious to try” rationale is not the same as a “routine optimization” rationale (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Second, Wu clearly discloses the apparatus can apply the recited negative pressure range of 200 mmHg to 600 mmHg (180 to 600 mmHg, see para. [0031]). Notably, Wu’s disclosure of 180 mmHg for targeting micro-trauma is very close to Applicant’s claimed 200 mmHg range. One of ordinary skill and creativity would be motivated to test a wide range of negative pressure because optimal results may vary from patient to patient.
Lastly, it is noted that Applicant also suggests a wide range of pressures as being suitable (“ pressure generated by the pump at the apertures is at least about 50 mmHg, and preferably less than 800 mmHg … [t]he pressure ranges in this paragraph are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage.” See para. [0118]). Applicant performed “testing” to determine 200-600 mmHg as being advantageous (see Applicant’s para. [0013]), so it is unclear why one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to perform similar testing based upon Wu’s disclosure.
Regarding the argument that Wu does not provide a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to optimize the suction time because it could be seconds, minutes, hours, or longer (see the first paragraph of page 24 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, it is reiterated that Wu does not need to identify “a finite number of identified, predictable solutions” to rely upon a rationale of routine optimization. Applicant appears to be referring to the “obvious to try” rationale (MPEP 2143(I)(E)), which the Examiner did not rely upon. The “obvious to try” rationale is not the same as a “routine optimization” rationale (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
Second, Wu clearly suggests that the negative pressure must be applied “over a sufficient time” to cause the micro-trauma of the vaginal tissue (see para. [0013]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize suction duration as a result-effective variable and be motivated to test various suction durations to determine an effective therapeutic duration. It is noted that Applicant’s claimed ranges such as 1 minute to 30 minutes are very broad, and there does not appear to be any evidence of unexpected results or criticality within this broad range.
Regarding the argument that Wu disclosed a broad design space with numerous variables, none of which were singled out or prioritized by the prior art … and because the prior art presented numerous possibilities and failed to provide a reasonable expectation of success, the Examiner has not established a prima facie case of obviousness and the rejection relies on hindsight (see the second paragraph of page 24 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Routine optimization can be applied to several variables. Wu specifically suggests that pressure, hole size, and suction time are result-effective variables for producing micro-trauma in the vaginal canal (see the last sentence of [0031], see para. [0026], and see para. [0013]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to test these result-effective variables (pressure, aperture size, and time) to determine the optimum combination for generating micro-trauma, using routine optimization. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Wu discloses the same type of suction-driven micro-trauma for the vaginal wall.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Here, Wu specifically discloses pressure, hole size, and suction time as result-effective variables for generating micro-trauma. Optimizing these result-effective variables does not require hindsight reasoning.
Regarding the argument that Wu describes microtrauma as occurring where tissue is drawn against the device surface and contacts the channels 22, with the microtrauma occurring due to compression against the channels, and taking the form of small tears and abrasions similar to contact-induced injury in contrast to the present application that draws tissues into the apertures under application of negative pressure presented at the apertures (see the last paragraph of page 24 of the Remarks through the second paragraph of page 25), this argument is not persuasive.
First, these are apparatus claims. It is reiterated that “[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” and a “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim,” see MPEP 2114(II). As shown in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, the prior art discloses or at least renders obvious the structural limitations of the claim(s) and is capable of drawing tissue into the suctioning apertures.
Second, it is noted that the present application specifically defines “mechanical microtrauma” as “small deformations to the vaginal wall due to physical interaction between the microtrauma module and wall … the micro-deformations may include micro tears, punctures, holes, stretches, and cracks in the vaginal wall” (see Applicant’s para. [0091]). Thus, both Wu and the present application create “mechanical microtrauma” where vaginal tissue is pulled against the device surface and contacts the aperture end(s) of the suctioning channels. Applicant appears to be arguing that when Wu’s suctioning apertures are brought into contact with the vaginal tissue, that none of the tissue would be drawn into the suctioning aperture at all. The Examiner disagrees. Wu’s device is arranged to allow at least a portion of the vaginal tissue to be drawn into the suctioning aperture(s) because the tissue directly contacts Wu’s suctioning apertures and Wu’s device is arranged to produce the same pressure range as claimed for the same purpose of producing vaginal micro-trauma. Thus, the prior art meets the functional limitation(s) as described in the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) above.
Regarding the argument that the deformations of the present application result from the tensile separation of tissue layers caused by negative pressure drawing tissue into apertures, and this tensile stress then leads to tissue elongation with an objective of avoiding cuts or abrasions, in direct contrast to the contact-induced microtrauma taught by Wu (see the third paragraph of page 25 of the Remarks and paragraph 34 of the Minogue Declaration), this argument is not persuasive.
First, these are apparatus claims. It is reiterated that “[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” and a “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim,” see MPEP 2114(II). As shown in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, the prior art discloses or at least renders obvious the structural limitations of the claim(s) and is capable of drawing tissue into the suctioning apertures.
Second, the claim language does not preclude the microtrauma including cuts or abrasions. On the contrary, the present application specifically defines “mechanical microtrauma” as “small deformations to the vaginal wall due to physical interaction between the microtrauma module and wall … the micro-deformations may include micro tears, punctures, holes, stretches, and cracks in the vaginal wall” (see Applicant’s para. [0091]). Wu’s device is arranged to allow at least a portion of the vaginal tissue to be drawn into the suctioning aperture(s) because the tissue directly contacts Wu’s suctioning apertures and Wu’s device is arranged to produce the same pressure range as claimed for the same purpose of producing vaginal micro-trauma. Thus, the prior art meets the functional limitation(s) as described in the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) above.
Regarding the argument that the experimental work of the Applicant sought to identify the pressure range, hole size, and treatment time range which would give such a vacuum microtrauma without tissue rupturing (see the third paragraph of page 25 of the Remarks and the Minogue Declaration at paragraphs 50-55), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu specifically suggests that pressure range, hole size, and suction treatment time are result-effective variables for producing micro-trauma in the vaginal canal (see the last sentence of [0031], see para. [0026], and see para. [0013]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to test these result-effective variables (pressure, aperture size, and suction treatment time) to determine the optimum combination for generating micro-trauma, using routine optimization.
Regarding the argument that Wu teaches microtrauma is generated at regions where tissue is drawn towards and contacts the device surface, due to contacting the channels, and a person of ordinary skill in the art following Wu would therefore optimize parameters to enhance this contact-based compressive stress and to look for microtrauma characterized by small tears and abrasions … and in contrast, the present application operates by inducing tensile deformation of tissue drawn into apertures, resulting in vacuum microtrauma formation that is optimized to be without any rupture, tears or abrasions (see the penultimate paragraph of page 25 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, the claim language does not preclude the microtrauma including tears or abrasions. On the contrary, the present application specifically defines “mechanical microtrauma” as “small deformations to the vaginal wall due to physical interaction between the microtrauma module and wall … the micro-deformations may include micro tears, punctures, holes, stretches, and cracks in the vaginal wall” (see Applicant’s para. [0091]).
Second, Wu provides microtrauma through the same mechanism as the Applicant. Wu states that “when inserted into the vagina for treatment, at least a portion of the body 12 forms an annular seal against the walls of the vagina, and … as negative pressure is applied, the surface 14 of the body 12 increasingly contacts vaginal tissue … by pulling the vaginal tissue inward and against the body 12” see lines 11-19 of [0023]. With the negative pressure pulling the vaginal tissue inward against the body 12 the tissue contacts the aperture end(s) of the channels 22 and “micro-traumas are formed primarily at regions where the channels 22 contact the vaginal wall” see the third sentence of [0024]. Thus, Wu’s device is arranged to draw at least a portion of the tissue into the suctioning apertures to apply microtrauma. The present application also forms micro-traumas where the suctioning channels contact the vaginal wall (see Applicant’s Figure 25A, the microtraumas are induced by drawing tissue into the apertures. The tissue will contact these apertures when drawn in).
Regarding the argument that Applicant’s experimental investigation showed that high vacuum levels, such as those preferred by Wu (i.e., 1 to 180 mmHg) led to tissue disruption which may have been considered acceptable microtrauma by Wu’s definition, but such tissue disruption would be considered an adverse outcome by the Applicant (see the second paragraph of page 26 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, the claim language does not preclude the microtrauma including tears or abrasions as disclosed by Wu. On the contrary, the present application specifically defines “mechanical microtrauma” as “small deformations to the vaginal wall due to physical interaction between the microtrauma module and wall … the micro-deformations may include micro tears, punctures, holes, stretches, and cracks in the vaginal wall” (see Applicant’s para. [0091]).
Second, Applicant’s own disclosure states that vacuum levels ranging from 50 mmHg to 800 mmHg “are generally suitable for providing negative pressure at the vaginal tissue, but without causing tissue damage …” (see Applicant’s para. [0118]).
Third, it is unclear which experiment Applicant is referring to that suggests pressures such as 180 mmHg of Wu would provide rupture.
Regarding the argument that the Declaration of Conor Minogue demonstrates that changes to any one or combination thereof of negative pressure, hole size, and time for which the pressure is applied produce unexpected results, and that a person of ordinary skill would not have reasonably expected the claimed ranges to yield the observed advantages (see the third paragraph of page 26 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
The Minogue Declaration demonstrates that routine experimentation was performed to test three result-effective variables (pressure, hole size, and time) to determine optimum micro-trauma results. The overall conclusion of the experimental work showed the pressure range of 200 to 600 mmHg “seemed to encompass the therapeutic window” but “only small samples of subjects have been tested so far, [so] it is not possible to be more specific at this stage” (see para. 50 of the Minogue Declaration). The experiment concluded the range of 200 to 600 mmHg could be safely used with hole sizes in the range of 1 to 4 mm, but noted “not all extreme combinations within these ranges are recommended” (see para. 53 of the Minogue Declaration). The experiment concluded the durations “need to be at least 1 minute and less than 90 minutes …[but] the resolution of these remaining uncertainties will require large scale randomized controlled studies across multiple sites” (see para. 54 of the Minogue Declaration). “The parameters finally selected for the first clinical study appear to work, however other parameter sets within the ranges described above may also be safe and effective” (see para. 54 of the Minogue Declaration).
Thus, the experimental results are preliminary, with many uncertainties that require additional testing. No particular combination of pressure, hole size, and time has been identified as being unexpectedly advantageous compared to other possibilities.
Overall, the results are not unexpected because Wu specifically suggests that negative pressure, hole size, and time for which the pressure is applied are result-effective variables for producing micro-trauma in the vaginal canal (see the last sentence of [0031], see para. [0026], and see para. [0013]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to test these result-effective variables (pressure, aperture size, and suction treatment time) to determine the optimum combination for generating micro-trauma, using routine optimization.
The burden is on Applicant to establish that the results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, such as through direct and indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims (see MPEP 716.02(b)). “Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected” … and “a difference of degree is not as persuasive as a difference in kind – i.e., if the range produces ‘"a new property dissimilar to the known property,’" rather than producing a predictable result but to an unexpected extent” (MPEP 716.02). “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range.” (MPEP 716.02(d)(II)).
Here, Applicant has not demonstrated what the expected result would be, and has not clearly defined what the “result” is, and has not compared a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range, nor compared the results to the closest prior art. Is the unexpected result just that a combination of negative pressure, hole size, and time yielded “observed advantages”? Why would this be “unexpected” when Wu already discusses providing varying degrees of negative pressure, hole sizes, and suction time to provide micro-trauma to vaginal tissue? What are the “observed advantages” compared to the prior art? Additionally, even if the results were “really unexpected,” were they producing a difference in degree, or a difference in kind? It is reiterated that the burden is on Applicant to establish that the results are both unexpected and significant.
Regarding the argument that the claimed invention does not represent routine optimization of Wu, but rather the discovery of a distinct operational regime producing a fundamentally different type of tissue response, as the microtrauma described by Wu is completely different in character from the microtrauma of the present claims (see the last paragraph of page 26 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, the microtrauma described by Wu specifically falls under Applicant’s own definition of mechanical microtrauma (“mechanical microtrauma” as “small deformations to the vaginal wall due to physical interaction between the microtrauma module and wall … the micro-deformations may include micro tears, punctures, holes, stretches, and cracks in the vaginal wall” see Applicant’s para. [0091]).
Second, Wu specifically suggests that pressure range, hole size, and suction treatment time are result-effective variables for producing micro-trauma in the vaginal canal (see the last sentence of [0031], see para. [0026], and see para. [0013]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to test these result-effective variables (pressure, aperture size, and suction treatment time) to determine the optimum combination for generating micro-trauma, using routine optimization.
Regarding the argument that since the microtrauma described by Wu is completely different in character from the present claims, the selection of structural parameters would be different, and Wu does not teach, suggest, or motivate a person of ordinary skill to arrive at the device claimed by Applicant (see the last paragraph of page 26 of the Remarks, through the first paragraph of page 27), this argument is not persuasive.
As stated above, the microtrauma described by Wu is not “completely different in character,” and Wu specifically suggests that pressure range, hole size, and suction treatment time are result-effective variables for producing micro-trauma in the vaginal canal.
Regarding the argument that Lei does not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claim 12 (see the last two paragraphs of page 27 of the Remarks, through the first paragraph of page 28), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claim 12 are taught by Carava and Lei (see the claim 12 rejection above).
Regarding the argument with respect to claim 15 that the Examiner incorrectly assumes the liquid trap and hydrophobic filter taught by Weston would improve the operation of Wu’s vacuum pump, but that its operation is not interfered with by liquids (see the second paragraph of page 28 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Wu would not want bodily liquids to be drawn into the vacuum chamber 20 or any other part of the vacuum pump, as it could interfere with proper functioning of the piston and vacuum pump.
Regarding the argument that Weston does not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claim 15 (see the third paragraphs of page 28 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claim 15 are taught by Carava and Weston (see the claim 15 rejection above).
Regarding the argument that Bridges does not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claims 17, 18, 20, 21, 24, and 25 (see the first two paragraphs of page 29 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claims 17, 18, 20, 21, 24, and 25 are taught by Carava and Bridges (see the claim 17, 18, 20, 21, 24, and 25 rejections above).
Regarding the argument that Bridges and Lei do not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claim 22 (see the last paragraph of page 29 of the Remarks, through the first two paragraphs of page 30), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claim 22 are taught by Carava, Bridges, and Lei (see the claim 22 rejection above).
Regarding the argument that Bridges, Lei, and Cao do not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claim 23 (see the last paragraph of page 30 of the Remarks, through the first two paragraphs of page 31), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claim 23 are taught by Carava, Bridges, Lei, and Cao (see the claim 23 rejection above).
Regarding the argument that Carava does not cure the deficiencies of Wu with respect to claim 31 (see the last two paragraphs of page 31 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Any apparent Wu deficiencies with respect to claim 31 are taught by Carava, (see the claim 31 rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Langell et al. (2017/0281231) discloses a probe that is inserted into the uterus and has an array of suctioning apertures to draw the uterus towards the probe.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785