DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 1/15/2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 1-5, 7, 11, and 14-21 have been canceled. Claims 6, 8-10 and 12-13 are currently pending, Claims 8-10 and 12 have been withdrawn, and Claims 6 and 13 are pending and have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of Lactobacillus gasseri CP2305 strain (accession number: FERM BP-11331). All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections of Claims 6 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al (Journal of Functional Foods. 2017;36:112-121. Cited on IDS) in view of Kluk (https://drjustinekluk.com/notebook/acne-and-the-menstrual-cycle/. 2018;1-2.) and Bagatin et al (An Bras Dermatol. 2019;94(1):62-75.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the premenstrual” on line 1 is suggested to read “the at least one premenstrual” to be consistent with claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuelsson et al (US 7,312,067 B2; 12/25/2007.).
The instant claims recite a method for regulating a female hormone secretion, comprising: administering Lactobacillus gasseri CP2305 strain accession number: FERM BP-11331 or a composition comprising the Lactobacillus gasseri CP2305 strain accession number: FERM BP-11331 to a woman, wherein the woman has menstrual cycles, and the woman has at least one premenstrual symptom selected from the group consisting of apathy, anger, and an increase in leucorrhea, to regulate the female hormone secretion of the woman.
Samuelsson teaches a method for treating bacterial vaginosis comprising administering Lactobacillus gasseri (col.4 line 1, col.5 line 45-50) to women (col.9 line 15), wherein the administration started during the first menstrual discharge (col.8 line 66-67). Samuelsson teaches during menstruation, women often have complaints of increased vaginal discharge (increased leucorrhea) and irritation, a condition called bacterial vaginosis, and is the most common condition associated with irritation and increased amount of odorous vaginal discharge (col.2 line 13-17).
Samuelsson does not teach the claimed Lactobacillus gasseri strain (claim 6).
However, Samuelsson does teach Lactobacillus gasseri is useful for treating bacterial vaginosis, symptoms include increased amount of odorous vaginal discharge. The reference strain would have rendered the claimed strain obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the clear, close relationship between the strains as evidenced by their belonging to the same species as well as its ability to improve leucorrhea.
Limitations of “for regulating a female hormone secretion” and “to regulate the female hormone secretion of the woman” in claim 6 do not recite any additional active method steps, but simply states a characterization or conclusion of the results of process step positively recited (e.g. analyzing). Therefore, these limitations are not considered to further limit the method defined by the claim and has not been given weight in construing the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that cited references do not teach or suggest “the woman has at least one premenstrual symptom selected from the group consisting of apathy, anger and an increase in leucorrhea” as recited in the amended claims 6 and 13. However, these arguments are moot in light of the new rejections above in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759