DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended claim 1 is directed to a solid oral composition comprising a synergistic combination of i) S-ketorolac or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in an amount of about 10 mg; ii) pregabalin or its pharmaceutically acceptable salt in an amount of about 316 10 mg; and iii) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and/or excipient, wherein the weight ratio of the pregabalin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the S-ketorolac in base form or salt thereof is approximately 31.6: 1. .
The originally filed specification generally provides a solid oral composition comprising i) S-keratolac or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and ii) pregabalin or its pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and iii) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and/or excipient. The concentrations of the drugs are provided in approximate ranges in mg (e.g., approximately 0.001 to approximately 5000 mg). Although specification discloses the ratio of the weight amount of S-keratolac or its salt to pregabalin or its salt to be 31.6:1, there is no support for the range “approximately 31.6 : 1. Thus, the specification provides no clear written description for the solid dosages form currently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochoa (MX 2013005378 A, published on November 21, 2014, cited in IDS).
Claim 1 is directed to a solid oral administration pharmaceutical composition comprising a synergic combination of:
S-ketorolac in base form or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in an amount of about 10 mg;
ii. pregabalin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in an amount of about 316 mg; and
iii. a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and/or excipient; wherein the weight ratio of the pregabalin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the S-ketorolac in base form or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is approximately 31.6:1.
Ochoa discloses an oral capsule for human use, the pharmaceutical composition comprising S-ketorolac tromethamine and pregabalin at the concentrations of 10 mg and 300 mg. See Translation, Example 8. The ratio Pregelatinized starch and talc added in the formulation meets the limitation for a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and/or excipient in present claim 1, iii. The reference teaches that the composition is useful in improving analgesic response speed for sever pain. See abstract. The reference specifically teaches that combining S-ketorolac with pregabalin produces more effective analgesia and longer duration. See translation, 4, second full paragraph.
Regarding the disclosed amount of pregabalin at 300 mg, it is well settled in patent law that where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The amount 300 mg is well within the range of “about 316 mg”,
Regarding the weight ratio of S-ketorolac tromethamine and pregabalin, the disclosed ratio of 30:1 is also well within the presently claimed range of approximately 31.6:1.
Regarding claim 7, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In this case, since the disclosed weight ratio between the drugs is so close to the claimed ratio of 31.6:1, it is viewed that the prior art composition is expected to have the same properties.
Similarly, regarding claim 8, the disclosed amount of 300 mg of pregabalin is so close to the claimed amount of 316 mg, that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the two compositions to have same properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on May 27, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the experimental evidence in the 1.132 declaration dated January 14, 2026 demonstrates the claimed composition exhibits unexpected results. However, an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979); MPEP 716.02 (e). In this case, the declaration merely compares the therapeutic effects of and the reduced damages by the combination of S-ketorolac and pregabalin as compared to the individual components. No comparative data are present to show that the claimed composition produces different effects from the disclosed composition.
Applicant’ further argues that Ochoa is silent to the synergistic properties of the claimed composition, but the reference clearly teaches and suggests a solid oral dosage form which is very close to the presently claimed composition. In view of the court decision Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, the Ochoa composition is expected to have the same, synergistic properties, unless shown otherwise.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617