DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments have been received on 7/18/25. Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 14-19 have been amended. Claims 20-23 are new. Claims 5, 11, 12 is cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted amended claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 17-22 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the newly submitted claims are now directed to a composition, however, the composition is much broader than the originally presented claims for a binder. There is no evidence that composition comprise adhesive components or adhesive properties for a binder, it may be for an electrolyte. Further evidence is provided in the amended claim 9 where the composition can be for a binder or for a battery that does not necessarily have to comprise adhesive properties.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 17-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (Fast Synthesis of Li2S-P2S5-LiI solid electrolyte precursors) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2007/0102039), on claims 10, 14-16 are maintained. The rejection is further clarified in view of the Applicant’s amendments
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (Fast Synthesis of Li2S-P2S5-LiI solid electrolyte precursors) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2007/0102039), on claims 11- 12 because the Applicant cancelled the claim.
Claim(s) 10-12, 14-16, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (Fast Synthesis of Li2S-P2S5-LiI solid electrolyte precursors) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2007/0102039).
Regarding claim 10, 14, the Nguyen et al. reference discloses a method of reacting a raw material compound comrpising PS4 and constituent lithium, and reacting with LiI compound (Li3PS4; Introduction, third paragraph). The Nguyen reference is silent in disclosing I2, however, the Kim et al. reference discloses that LiI and I2 can be used for the same purposes (P24, P26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate I2 disclosed by the Kim et al. reference for LiI component disclosed by the Nguyen et al. reference, since the substitution of known equivalent structures involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Fout 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Susi 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). When a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR v. Teleflex
Regarding claim 15, the Nguyen et al. reference discloses wherein the raw material compound and the oxidizing agent are reacted by one or more selected from the group consisting of physical energy, thermal energy, and chemical energy (Introduction, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, the Nguyen et al. reference discloses wherein the raw material compound and the oxidizing agent are reacted in a liquid (Introduction, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 23, the Nguyen in view of Kim et al. reference (herein referred to as modified Nguyen) discloses the molar ratio of the lithium constituent element and a PS4 structure and the elemental halogen is a 1:1 ratio.
Double Patenting
Claims 10, 14, 15, 16, 23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 14, of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims do not preclude one another. The claims are to a method of reacting a lithium sulfide phosphorous compound and a halogen of I2 in 1:1 molar ratio.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The arguments pertaining to an oxidizing agent has been considered but moot since the limitation does not comprise “oxidizing agent.”
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752