DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 5/27/2026 containing remarks to the claims.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10-14, 17-20, 22-24, 27, 29-30, and 32 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 17-20, 22-24, 27, 29-30, and 32 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
The following is the maintained rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dull (US2015/0344456) in view of Etscorn (US 4,597,961) and Nathan (US2016/0089343).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Dull teaches:
A method of making a nicotine material (abstract) comprising:
Providing a nicotine material-forming solution comprising nicotine, one or more coformer(s), and, optionally, one or more solvent(s) ([0107], a combination of nicotine and a coformer in a given solvent).
Wherein the nicotine is S-nicotine, R- nicotine, or a combination thereof ([0044], (L)-nicotine form, also known as (−)-nicotine or S-nicotine).
Evaporating at least a portion of the coformer(s), if the coformer(s) are a solvent or solvents, and/or solvent(s), if present, from the nicotine material-forming solution ([0112], the solvent can be removed (e.g., by evaporation)).
Optionally, rinsing the nicotine material ([0112], in some embodiments, the solid is washed).
Wherein the nicotine material is formed ([0107]).
Dull does not appear to explicitly disclose (I) optionally, drying the nicotine material and (II) wherein the evaporation step is performed in the absence of at least 90% of visible light.
In regard to (I), Dull further teaches:
Wherein the drying is carried out under vacuum and/or at a temperature below the melting and/or decomposition temperature of the nicotine material ([0194], the solid is…dried under vacuum at room temperature).
Although Dull does not appear to explicitly disclose drying the nicotine material after evaporation, the reference in general teaches drying after washing and thus it would be obvious to further dry the nicotine material under a vacuum after washing as Dull reasonably suggests to one of ordinary skill that drying a solid nicotine material is known in the art. Drying under vacuum at room temperature further reads on the claim 6 limitation of wherein the drying is carried out under vacuum and/or at a temperature below the melting and/or decomposition temperature of the nicotine material.
In regard to (II), Etscorn, directed to transcutaneous application of nicotine, teaches:
Liquid nicotine 16 provided in a cavity 14 (Col. 5, lines 15-20). As both Etscorn and Dull relate to nicotine materials, Etscorn is considered to be analogous art.
Nicotine 16 may breakdown a result of exposure to light (Col. 8, lines 5-10).
Further, Nathan, directed to formulations for delivery of therapeutically effective doses of curcumin, teaches:
The compositions described herein may further comprise nicotine or a salt thereof [0131]. As both Nathan and Dull relate to nicotine materials, Nathan is considered to be analogous art.
Preparation of the sample in the dark prevents its degradation [0141].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of making the nicotine material of Dull by preparing the material in the dark as taught by Nathan, and thus including the evaporation step being performed in the dark, as Etscorn teaches nicotine may breakdown as a result of exposure to light and Nathan teaches preparation in the dark prevents degradation from exposure to light, both Etscorn, Nathan, and Dull are directed to nicotine materials, and this merely involves incorporating a known way to prepare nicotine materials (i.e. in the dark) to a similar nicotine material preparation to yield predictable results.
It would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art that drying in the dark would have the absence of visible light near zero and therefore falling within the claimed range of in the absence of at least 90% of visible light.
Regarding claim 4, Dull further teaches:
Wherein the nicotine material is rinsed with a solvent chosen from hydrocarbon solvents, alcohols, ketone solvents, ester solvents, halogenated solvents, and combinations thereof ([0112], in some embodiments, the solid is washed, e.g., with THF, heptane, and/or EtOAc).
Regarding claim 7, Dull further teaches:
Wherein the solvent of the nicotine material-forming solution is chosen from organic solvents, water, and combinations thereof, and the organic solvents are chosen from alcohols, cyclic ethers, polar protic solvents, polar aprotic solvents, halogenated alkanes, halogenated aryl solvents, and combinations thereof ([0108]).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Dull does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the nicotine is present in the nicotine material-forming solution at its solubility limit in the solvent(s) or at 90% or more of its solubility limit in the solvent(s) or at a concentration of at least 0.01 M, and wherein the coformer(s) is/are present in the nicotine material-forming solution at 0.01 to 2 M. However, Dull further discloses:
The stoichiometry of the salts, co-crystals, and salt co-crystals described herein can vary. For example, in certain embodiments, where two components (i.e., nicotine and one coformer) are present, the nicotine: coformer stoichiometry can range in certain embodiments from about 5:1 to about 1:5 nicotine: coformer ([0049]).
The amount of a given nicotine salt, co-crystal, or salt co-crystal to be incorporated within a product will depend on the desired nicotine content of that product, and can be calculated based on the mass of the coformer and the stoichiometry of the salt, co-crystal, or salt co-crystal ([0130]).
As such, Dull is reasonably considered to teach that the amount of nicotine and the amount of coformer in the nicotine material-forming solution can be controlled by varying the nicotine: coformer stoichiometry. Therein, the nicotine: coformer stoichiometry is considered a result effective variable with affects the molar concentration of the nicotine and the coformer in the nicotine material-forming solution.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the nicotine: coformer stoichiometry would affect the amount of nicotine and coformer present in the nicotine material-forming solution and thus affect the molar concentration of nicotine and coformer present in the nicotine material-forming solution. As such, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the molar concentration of nicotine and coformer present in the solution since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to optimize the molar concentration of nicotine and coformer present in the solution by the desire to achieve the desired nicotine content of a specified product. As such this may include cases wherein the nicotine is present in the nicotine material-forming solution at its solubility limit in the solvent(s) or at 90% or more of its solubility limit in the solvent(s) or at a concentration of at least 0.01 M, as recited in claim 10, and wherein the coformer(s) is/are present in the nicotine material-forming solution at 0.01 to 2 M, as recited in claim 13. The burden is shifted upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed concentrations are critical and have unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, Dull further teaches:
Wherein the coformer(s) is/are chosen from organic compounds, mineral acids, and combinations thereof ([0092]).
Regarding claim 12, Dull further teaches:
Wherein the organic compounds are chosen from carboxylic acids, hydroxycarboxylic acids, alcohols, polyacids, sweetening agents, amino acids, and combinations thereof ([0092]).
Regarding claim 14, Dull further teaches:
Wherein the nicotine material is amorphous, polycrystalline, single crystalline, or a combination thereof ([0017], a pharmaceutical product comprising a nicotine salt or crystalline polymorphic form).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755