DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application filed on 01/13/2022 claims priority from IN201921028370 filed on 07/15/2019, and PCT/IB2020/056641 filed on 07/15/2020.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendments and arguments submitted on 07/16/2026, have been received and have been carefully considered.
Claims 1, 22 and 24 were amended, claim 9 was cancelled and claims 2-3, 5-7 and 11-21 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, and 22-24 are pending.
Claim interpretation
Examination requires claim terms first be construed in terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. See MPEP § 2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.01. It is also appropriate to look to how the claim term is used in the prior art, which includes prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries. MPEP § 2111.01 (III). However, specific embodiments of the specification cannot be imported into the claims, particularly where the subject claim limitation is broader than the embodiment. MPEP § 2111.01(II).
Claim interpretation for “diluent”
Claims 8-9, 17, 19 and 21-22 recite that the composition comprises diluent.
Instant specification describes diluent as:
“The diluent can be selected from the group comprising of but not limited purified water, fruit juice, or syrup mixture thereof. The diluent can be used to reconstitute the powder form.” [Pg. 11, ln. 26-27].
As such, diluent is given the broadest reasonable interpretation as known in the art including water, juice, syrup, etc., or a mixture thereof, and it’s not limited to the recited examples.
Claim interpretation for “substantially free”
Claim 3 recites “the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the said composition is substantially free from any surfactant/stabilizer.”
The specification defines the term “substantially free” as:
The term "substantially free of surfactant / stabilizer" means the said pharmaceutical composition comprises less than about 1%, more preferably less than about 0.5%, most preferably less than about 0. 1% of surfactant/stabilizer by total weight of the20 composition. [Pg. 9, ln. 17-20].
As such, the term substantially free” will be interpreted consistent with the specification.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection to claims 1, 4, 8, 10 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P. Purohit et al. (WO 2019/016673 A2, 01/14/2019) in view of P.J Sánchez-Segarra, et al. Food Chemistry, Volume 70, Issue 1, 2000, Pages 85-89), is withdrawn in view of applicant’s persuasive argument that Crospovidone and Hypromellose are not functionally equivalents.
Rejection Maintained/Modified in view of the Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, and 22-24 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M. Pisak (US PG-PUB 2015/0125534 A1, 05/07/2015, “Pisak” provided in the IDS dated 01/13/2022) in view of P. Shivakumar et al (WO 2015/004556 A1, 01/15/2015, “Shivakumar” provided in the IDS dated 01/13/2022), Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients, 5th edition, 2006 (pages 369-371, 472-475, 765-766, 821), gmpua.com/RD/RD/HandbookPharmaceutical%20Excipients.pdf, cited in the PTO-892 dated 10/21/2025), and P.J Sánchez-Segarra, et al. Food Chemistry, Volume 70, Issue 1, 2000, Pages 85-89, “Sánchez-Segarra” cited in the PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
Pisak discloses a powder formulation of imatinib in solid form reconstituted with a diluent just before use. [Pg. 2, [0025]]. Pisak discloses that the formulation comprise at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient selected from the group comprising filler, binder, preservative, sweetener, flavoring agent, and coloring agent, wherein the filler is selected from a group including mannitol, binder include cellulose derivatives e.g., Hypromellose phthalate. [[0032], [0033]] and Example 1, [0062]]. Pisak teaches that sweetener is selected from the group comprising fructose, glucose, sucralose, lactose, maltitol, and the like, flavoring agent may be selected from the group comprising natural flavoring oils, vanilla, strawberry, and the like. [0043]-[0044]. Pisak discloses a powder formulation in Example 1 which comprises imatinib and excipients, including filler (e.g., microcrystalline cellulose) and binder (e.g., povidone). [Pg. 4, [0062]]. Pisak discloses that the powder composition is added to water, juice, or syrup as diluent. [Pg. 3, [0057]. Pisak discloses examples of the imatinib powder formulation i.e., Example 1, wherein the formulation does not include surfactants or stabilizers. [Pg. 4, Example 1, [0062]]. Pisak discloses that the imatinib composition is administered orally. [0030]. Pisak’s Examples (1-4) include strawberry as flavoring agent in an amount of 0.4% of the composition.
Pisak does not teach wherein the imatinib is present in an amount of 80% to 95% by weight based on the total weight of the composition, the amount of mannitol of 10-15% w/w, the amount of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose is about 0.5-3% w/w, and the amount of sucralose is about 0.07-2% w/w. Pisak does not teach that the flavoring agent is forest berry.
However, in the same field of formulating powder imatinib compositions, Shivakumar teaches a granulate composition comprising 90-99.95 % w/w of imatinib mesylate, binder and disintegrant. [Pg. 4, 2nd para.]. Shivakumar teaches that the composition is up scalable, and stable and suitable for treating cancer. [Pg. 4, last para.]. Shivakumar teaches that many possible imatinib formulations have been reported including imatinib granules with an amount of about 80% or more, and that imatinib granulating formulations provide higher stability. [Pg. 2-3]. Shivakumar teaches that in one of the preferred embodiments, it provides a solid oral pharmaceutical composition of imatinib mesylate comprising Imatinib mesylate: 96-99% w/w [Pg. 10, 3rd para.]. Shivakumar teaches that the binder is selected for a group that includes Hypromellose. [Pg. 15, 2nd para.]. Shivakumar teaches the preparation process of the imatinib formulation which comprises blending imatinib with a filler, dissolving the binder excipient in a solvent, and mixing imatinib mixture with the binder and solvent mixture, then drying the produced mixture, followed by sieving to obtain the imatinib granules (powder). [Pg. 6, 1st para.].
The Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients provide recommendation on the excipient used in pharmaceutical preparation. The Handbook teaches that Hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose), is widely used in oral pharmaceutical formulation primarily used as a tablet binder, wherein concentrations between 2% and 5% w/w may be used as a binder in either wet- or dry-granulation processes. [Pg. 346, col. 1]. Handbook teaches that Hypromellose is widely used as an excipient in oral pharmaceutical formulations because Hypromellose is generally regarded as a non-toxic and nonirritant material and can be taken daily since the levels consumed were not considered to represent a hazard to health. [Pg. 348, col. 2 2nd para.].
The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients teaches that mannitol is widely used in pharmaceutical formulations as a diluent (10–90% w/w) in tablet formulations, where it is of particular value since it is not hygroscopic; with moisture-sensitive active ingredients; in direct-compression tablet applications; in wet granulations. The Handbook teaches granulations containing mannitol have the advantage of being dried easily, mannitol is commonly used as an excipient in the manufacture of tablet formulations because of its negative heat of solution, sweetness, and mouth feel. [Pg. 449, col. 1, last para.]. The Handbook teaches that mannitol is a naturally occurring sugar alcohol found in animals and plants; it is present in small quantities in almost all vegetables. [Pg. 452, col. 1, 1st para.].
The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients teaches that sucralose is used as a sweetening agent in pharmaceutical applications. It has a sweetening power approximately 300–1000 times that of sucrose and has no aftertaste. It has no nutritional value, is noncariogenic, and produces no glycemic response. The Handbook teaches that the concentration of sucralose 0.03-0.24% [Pg. 742, col. 1]. The Handbook teaches that sucralose is generally regarded as a nontoxic and nonirritant material and is approved. [Pg. 743, col. 1, 1st para.].
Sánchez-Segarra teaches using wild berry (forest berry) as flavoring provides nutritional benefit. [Abstract, page 87, Table 2]. Sánchez-Segarra teaches that out of different flavors tested, wild berry flavor provides higher levels of iron [page 87, col. 1], and increases the manganese content.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of instantly claimed invention to formulate Pisak’s imatinib powder formulation with more than 80% to 90% wt./wt. imatinib and with about 10-15% w/w mannitol, about 0.5-3% w/w Hypromellose, a about 0.07-2% w/w sucralose and about 0.01-1%w/w forest berry as flavoring agent in view of the teachings of Shivakumar, the Handbook pharmaceutical excipients and Sánchez-Segarra.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate Pisak’s imatinib formulation with more than 80% to 90% wt./wt. imatinib and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients i.e., filler, binder, sweetener and flavoring agent with reasonable expectation of success because Pisak teaches high stable imatinib powder formulation with filler, binder, sweetener and flavoring agent and about 21% imatinib, and Shivakumar teaches imatinib granules (powder) formulation with excipients (filler and binder) with also high stability and more than 80% imatinib, which would motivate one of ordinary skill to increase Pisak’s imatinib amount to more than 80%. Moreover, Shivakumar teaches many imatinib granulating formulas with more than 80% imatinib and teaches that the granulating formulation provides more stability, which enables scalable imatinib formulation for treating cancer. Furthermore, MPEP 2144.05.II.A explains: “Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to specifically select mannitol (10-15% w/w), Hypromellose (0.5-3% w/w), and sucralose (0.07-2% w/w) as filler, binder and sweetener respectively from Pisak’s and Shivakumar list of excipient to formulate Pisak’s imatinib formulation with reasonable expectation of success because the Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients teaches that Hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose) is widely used as binder in oral pharmaceutical formulation at a concentration between 2% and 5% w/w, it’s the known binder in granulation processes, its safe, tolerable and can be taken daily; Mannitol is widely used in pharmaceutical formulations as a diluent (10–90% w/w) because its sweetness and mouth feel, it’s not hygroscopic, it’s the excipient for moisture-sensitive active ingredients and that granulations containing mannitol have the advantage of being dried easily; and Sucralose is selected as the sweetening agent in pharmaceutical applications at a concentration of 0.03-0.24% because it has no aftertaste, is noncariogenic, produces no glycemic response, nontoxic and nonirritant. The amount taught by the Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients encompasses and overlaps with the claimed amount of mannitol, Hypromellose, and sucralose, and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP § 2144.05. Moreover, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the Pisak’s flavoring agent, strawberry with forest berry because Sánchez-Segarra teaches the benefit of selecting forest berry as flavoring over strawberry and other flavoring tested by Sánchez-Segarra. Sánchez-Segarra teaches that forest berry provides nutritional benefit such as increasing level of iron and manganese.
Regarding reconstitution time of less than 5 minutes, it is recognized that the prior art of Pisak Shivakumar, the Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients and Sánchez-Segarra teach substantially identical components of the claimed composition. As such, it is reasonable to assume that the prior arts composition will also be reconstructed in less than 5 minutes. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to determine the reconstitution time of the imatinib powder formulation. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on applicants to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Therefore, the combination of Pisak, Shivakumar, the Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients and Sánchez-Segarra meet the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 22 is met because Pisak discloses that the powder composition is added to water, juice, or syrup as diluent [Pg. 3, [0057]] to form an imatinib composition that is administered orally. [0030].
Claim 23 is met because Pisak discloses examples of the imatinib powder formulation i.e., Example 1, wherein the formulation does not include surfactants or stabilizers. [Pg. 4, Example 1, [0062]].
Claim 4 Pisak discloses that the pharmaceutical formulations are for the treatment of certain types of cancer. Pisak discloses that imatinib is used for adult patients. [Pg. 1, [0005]]. Note that this limitation is given little patentable weight because Applicant is claiming a product and not a method of use. As a result, the recitation of the intended use in a patient that is an adult or pediatric patient does not modify the structure of the claimed product. See MPEP § 2111.
With regard to the preparation of the powder imatinib composition of claim 8, Pisak discloses a preparation process of the formulations comprising the steps of: a) dissolving a certain amount of a binder in purified water; b) sieving imatinib mesylate, microcrystalline cellulose (i.e., filler) and remaining part of the binder with vibrating sieve; mixing them; and loading the mixture into the fluid bed granulator with vacuum; c) wet granulation by spraying the povidone solution obtained in step a) into the mixture obtained in step b); d) drying the granules obtained in step c) in dry granulator; e) coating the dried granules with Hypromellose phthalate, castor oil, water, ethanol and acetone in fluid bed granulator. f) sieving enteric coated imatinib mesylate granules and other excipients with fine granules with vibrating sieve; and mixing them; g) filling the final mixture into the bottles. [Pg. 3, [0047]-[0056]]. Pisak discloses the claimed steps of a) Blending imatinib with filler, b) Preparing the granulating fluid by mixing the excipients with solvent (ethanol and acetone). c) Granulating the dry mix material using the granulating fluid. d) Drying the granulated mass, in an order different than the claimed order. However, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) and Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP 2144.04 IV C. Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) and Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). See MPEP 2144.04 IV C. Therefore, claim 8 is obvious over Pisak.
Claims 10 and 24 are obvious over the combination of Pisak, Shivakumar, the Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients and Sánchez-Segarra for the following reasons. Pisak teaches that the imatinib salts are unstable and, the imatinib powder formulation display good stability to imatinib, [Pg. 2, [0027], [0029]]. Pisak teaches that based on the studies, the imatinib powder formulation displays good stability to imatinib granules. [Pg. 3, [0046]], and have not met any stability problems during long term stability studies performed at 25±2° C. and 60±5% RH across a 0-, 3- and 6-month follow-up period; and accelerated stability studies performed at 40±2° C. and 75±5% RH across a 0-, 3- and 6-month follow-up period. [Pg. 3, [0059]]. It is recognized that the prior art of Shivakumar, the Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients and Sánchez-Segarra discloses substantially identical components of the claimed composition, and teaches that formulations display good stability to imatinib granules, and have not met any stability problems during long term stability studies performed at 25°C, 60% RH, 40°C and 75% RH across a 0-, 3- and 6-month follow-up period. As such, it is reasonable to assume that the prior art’s composition will also not have more than 3% w/w of total impurity of imatinib and assay of imatinib is in range of 90-110 % after being stored at 400C / 75 % RH for at least 3 months. However, Pisak is silent with respect to the degree of stability and the amount of impurity of imatinib. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to determine the stability of the imatinib powder formulation. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on applicants to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Even assuming, for purposes of argument, that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the imatinib content of Pisak's formulation in view of Shivakumar, Pisak attributes stability of its formulation to enteric-coated granules containing imatinib Form a. Pisak expressly associates its enteric-coated granule system with preventing moisture absorption by Form a imatinib mesylate and achieving the desired stability and solubility characteristics. Shivakumar, in contrast, is directed to a materially different formulation platform. Shivakumar's preferred high-imatinib-content granulates are directed to solid oral dosage forms, including tablets and capsules. Shivakumar therefore does not merely teach increasing the amount of imatinib in Pisak's enteric-coated formulation while retaining Pisak's remaining formulation strategy and properties. Applicant asserts that a person skilled in the art would not be motivated to increase the amount of imatinib in Pisak based on Shivakumar, as a person skilled in the art would not have reasonably expected the resulting composition to maintain the claimed reconstitution profile. The Office Action does not identify evidence establishing why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that result. Similar aqueous solubility does not establish identical reconstitution behavior, as reconstitution behavior depends on multiple variables. Moreover, Pisak's teaching regarding aqueous solubility is limited to Forms a and 3. Pisak itself explains that solubility depends on factors including crystallinity and the nature of the crystals. See Pisak, paragraph [0027]. Shivakumar likewise teaches that different imatinib polymorphs exhibit different hygroscopicity, morphology, flowability, and stability characteristics. Accordingly, the proposed combination requires selectively extracting Shivakumar's high imatinib-content disclosure while disregarding the distinct crystalline-form and dosage-form strategy on which Shivakumar relies, and simultaneously assuming that Pisak's enteric-coated formulation will retain its reconstitution behavior despite a substantial increase in drug loading and other coordinated formulation changes. Pisak's formulation is an enteric-coated, low-imatinib-content powder formulation. Shivakumar is directed to high-imatinib-content Form-SA granulates intended for solid oral dosage forms. The Handbook provides general descriptions of conventional excipients, rather than teaching the claimed coordinated formulation. Thus, the cited references do not appear to disclose substantially identical formulations from which the claimed reconstitution time can reasonably be presumed. The Office Action's reliance on Sanchez-Segarra therefore rests on hindsight reconstruction rather than an articulated rationale grounded in the cited pharmaceutical references.
Examiner response:
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons. Pisak teaches a powder formulation of imatinib in solid form reconstituted with a diluent just before using [0025], the composition comprising imatinib in an amount of 50mg to 800 mg. Pisak also teaches composition comprising 400 mg imatinib (23%). Pisak teaches that the composition includes filler, binder, sweetener, and flavoring agent. Shivakumar teaches a stability of imatinib salt in a granulate composition comprising high amount of imatinib mesylate, binder and disintegrant. [Pg. 4, 2nd para.]. Shivakumar teaches that having high percentage amount of imatinib is well-established and discussed numerous arts disclosing more than 80% imatinib granules in various type of compositions, wherein these compositions include high amount of imatinib and maintain high stability, see Pg. 2-3. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase Pisak’s imatinib amount to more than 80% with high expectation that the resulting composition will also provide stability to the imatinib. MPEP 2143.02 states that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but a reasonable expectation of success, and Shivakumar teachings provide reasonable predictability that increasing the amount of imatinib in Pisak’s composition to 80% and more while maintain the stability. In response to applicants’ argument that Shivakumar is directed to a materially different formulation platform, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Shivakumar teaches a composition that provides polymorphic stability to imatinib mesylate, which would provide motivation to utilize the amount of imatinib of Shivakumar in Pisak’s composition. Since Shivakumar provide skilled artisan with the requisite motivation to increase the amount of imatinib, the fact the Shivakumar teaches “different crystalline form of imatinib” would not discourage skilled artisan from incorporating Shivakumar’s imatinib amount. Please note that there is no clear teachings that the form of imatinib is nor the same in the two references. Also, Shivakumar composition does not Soley directed to the form-SA, see page 5. as provided in 2145 (D. 1.), the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 692, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ("a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.") (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009)); and Schwendimann v. Neenah, Inc., 82 F.4th 1371, 1381, 2023 USPQ2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2023). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the Pisak’s flavoring agent, strawberry with forest berry because Sánchez-Segarra teaches the benefit of selecting forest berry as flavoring over strawberry and other flavoring tested by Sánchez-Segarra. Sánchez-Segarra teaches that forest berry provides nutritional benefit such as increasing level of iron and manganese.
Rejection - New
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P. Purohit et al. (WO 2019/016673 A2, 01/14/2019, “Purohit” cited in the PTO-892 dated 10/21/2025) in view of FDA prescribing information, Drug, The Wayback Machine - https://web.archive.org/web/20160317023007/http://www.drugs.com:80/pro/imatinib.html), Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients, 5th edition, 2006 (pages 369-371, 472-475, 765-766, 821), gmpua.com/RD/RD/HandbookPharmaceutical%20Excipients.pdf, cited in the PTO-892 dated 10/21/2025), P.J Sánchez-Segarra, et al. Food Chemistry, Volume 70, Issue 1, 2000, Pages 85-89, “Sánchez-Segarra” cited in the PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
Purohit teaches a stable dispersible pharmaceutical formulation comprising imatinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, wherein the formulation comprising an effective amount of imatinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, a flavoring agent, a sweetener and a one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients [Abstract]. Purohit teaches that the imatinib pharmaceutical formulation comprises diluents, binders, super-disintegrants, polymers, sweeteners, flavoring agents [0042], wherein the composition is in the form of powder for reconstitution for oral administration. [0055].
Purohit teaches that the binder can be cellulose derivatives, povidone, etc. and the binder presents in an amount from about 0.01% to 20% by weight of composition, preferably from about 3% to 15 % by weight of composition. [0045]. Purohit teaches that the preferred excipients for reducing sedimentation rate are hydrophilic polymers. They increase the viscosity of the medium and maintain the wetted particles of the active substance(s) in homogeneous suspension, leading to reduction in their sedimentation rate, wherein the preferred hydrophilic polymers are hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, etc. present in an amount from about 1% to 75% by weight of composition [0053].
Purohit teaches that the concentration of imatinib in the composition is from 1% to 80% [0061]. Purohit teaches that the composition comprises polymer to enhance the solubility of the active, imatinib, wherein said polymers are selected from the group consisting of hypromellose, methyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, etc. [0047].
Purohit teaches an exemplary composition including filler (mannitol), binder (crospovidone), sweetener (sucralose) and flavoring agent (cherry flavor):
The above Purohit’s composition of Example 2 reads on claim 1 wherein the composition comprises imatinib, 35.5% filler (mannitol), 0.4% sweetener (sucralose) and 0.4% flavoring agent (cherry flavor).
While Purohit teaches the importance of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Hypromellose) as polymer to enhance the solubility, decrease sedimentation rate, increase the viscosity of the medium and maintain the wetted particles of the active substance in homogeneous suspension, [0047, 0053], Purohit does not include hydroxypropyl methylcellulose in the above Example 2, and the amount of imatinib in Example 2 is 50% which differs from the instant claim 1 amount (80-95% in the instant claim). Also, Purohit does not teach that the flavoring agent is forest berry.
The imatinib FDA prescribing information teaches imatinib mesylate tablet for recontinuation with water or apple juice, wherein the tablet comprises Hypromellose. [page 2, 25, and 40]. Moreover, The Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients provides recommendations on the excipient used in pharmaceutical preparation. The Handbook teaches that Hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose), is widely used in oral pharmaceutical formulation primarily used as a tablet binder, wherein concentrations between 2% and 5% w/w may be used as a binder in either wet- or dry-granulation processes. [Pg. 346, col. 1]. Handbook teaches that Hypromellose is widely used as an excipient in oral pharmaceutical formulations because Hypromellose is generally regarded as a non-toxic and nonirritant material and can be taken daily since the levels consumed were not considered to represent a hazard to health. [Pg. 348, col. 2 2nd para.].
Sánchez-Segarra teaches using wild berry (forest berry) as flavoring provide nutritional benefit. [Abstract, page 87, Table 2]. Sánchez-Segarra teaches that out of different flavors tested, wild berry flavor provides higher level of iron [page 87, col. 1], and increases the manganese content.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the above Purohit’s Example 2 composition by increasing the imatinib amount from 50% to between 80-95%, for example 80%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation of success because Purohit teaches that the amount of imatinib is between 1 to 80%. The Purohit’s amount of 1-80% imatinib overlapped with the claimed amount 80-95%. As provided in MPEP 2144.05 “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” Furthermore, “generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Note that the instant specification does not provide definition to the relative term “about”, however, Purohit teaches that the term “about” “refers to any value which lies within the defined range by present inventors from a variation of up to ±10% of the claimed value. [0028].”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to specifically include Hypromellose in Purohit’s composition with reasonable expectation of success because Purohit teaches that hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Hypromellose) enhance the solubility, decrease sedimentation rate, increase the viscosity of the medium and maintain the wetted particles of the active substance in homogeneous suspension, FDA approved imatinib composition include Hypromellose, and the Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients teaches that Hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose) is safe, nontoxic, and widely used as binder in oral pharmaceutical formulation at a concentration between 2% and 5% w/w, it’s the known binder in granulation processes, its safe, tolerable and can be taken daily.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the Purohit’s flavoring agent, cherry flavor with forest berry because Sánchez-Segarra teaches the benefit of selecting forest berry as flavoring agent over the other flavoring agents tested by Sánchez-Segarra. Sánchez-Segarra teaches that forest berry provides nutritional benefit such as increasing level of iron and manganese.
Regarding reconstitution time of less than 5 minutes, it is recognized that the prior art of Purohit discloses substantially identical components of the claimed composition. As such, it is reasonable to presume that the prior arts composition will also be reconstructed in less than 5 minutes. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to determine the reconstitution time of the imatinib powder formulation. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on applicants to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Therefore, the combination of Purohit and Sánchez-Segarra meet the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 22 is met because Purohit teaches that the invention is directed to a sachet formulation which is reconstituted with a diluent just before administering to a patient, wherein the diluent can be juice. [0041] Purohit also teaches that the composition is in the form of powder for reconstitution for oral administration. [0055].
Claim 23 is met because Purohit’s example 2 above, does not include surfactants or stabilizers. [Pg. 4, Example 1, [0062]].
With regard to claim 4, Purohit teaches that the patient is pediatric or adult [0009], for treating cancer. [0031].
Claims 10 and 24 are drawn to the stability of the claimed imatinib powder formulation that does not have more than 3% or 1% of total impurity of imatinib. It is recognized that the prior art of Purohit discloses substantially identical components of the claimed composition, and teaches that formulations is a stable formulation and remain stable for a long period of time without compromising the therapeutic efficacy [0015], wherein the term “stable” means a drug substance and/or pharmaceutical composition for pharmaceutical use which remains stable as per ICH guidelines (“ICH guidelines” means composition remains stable for longer period of time at 25° C/60%+5% RH, 30° C/65%+5% RH, and 40° C/75%+5% RH conditions for a time period of at least 6 months) [0029]. As such, it is reasonable to assume that the prior art’s composition will also not have more than 3% w/w of total impurity of imatinib and assay of imatinib is in range of 90-110 % after being stored at 400C / 75 % RH for at least 3 months. However, Purohit is silent with respect to the degree of stability and the amount of impurity of imatinib. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to determine the stability of the imatinib powder formulation. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on applicants to show that this property is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
With regard to claim 8, Purohit teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is prepared by a process comprising the steps of – preparing a blend of imatinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof with fillers/diluents; mixing said blend with a one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients specifically super-disintegrants; subsequently lubricating the blend and at last either directly compressing the lubricated blend into tablets or filled into sachet dosage form [0062]-[[0066].
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, and 22-24 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/M.M.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622