DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims included in prosecution are claims 1-6, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 43.
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed Sep. 28, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
New Rejections have been made in this office action that are not necessitated by amendment. Therefore, this action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “0.1N HCL” in line 8 should be recited as --- 0.1M HCL ---. Appropriate correction is required.
2. Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “0.1N HCL” in line 2 should be recited as --- 0.1M HCL ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recite the limitation " when the fill material is tested using UPLC and pursuant to USP4 lNF36 " in the penultimate line. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what this test is and what steps it encompasses such that one would be able to determine what amount of proton pump inhibitor was dissolved from the capsule and what amount remained. Said “test” does not appear to be a known method in the art such that one would know what the method encompasses. The instant specification does not appear to describe said “test” in such a way that one would understand what said “test” entails.
Claims 15-16 recite “conventional enteric polymers” which renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear what parameters render certain enteric polymers “conventional” while others remain “unconventional” and the instant specification does not provide enough guidance for one of ordinary skill in the art as to what defines “conventional”.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret “conventional enteric polymers” to be the polymers recited in instant claim 16.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-4, 15-16, 19-20, 22, 24, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) as evidenced by Haug et al. (US 2011/0045067, Feb. 24, 2011) (hereinafter Haug).
Fang discloses a soft elastic capsule that includes an acid resistant, capsule shell that defines an encapsulated space having a predetermined volume, a liquid or semisolid fill comprising a first active ingredient located within the encapsulated space (Abstract). The capsule shell can be formed of a film-forming natural polymer such as gelatin (¶ [0006]). The capsule shell can further be formed of a gastric resistant natural polymer in a concentration of about 2% to about 10% by weight of the capsule shell (¶ [0006]). The capsule shell can further include one or more plasticizers selected from the group consisting of glycerin, sorbitol, and combinations thereof (satisfies claim 43) (¶ [0006]). The capsule shell of the soft elastic capsule can be acid resistant. The term "acid resistant" refers to the enteric property of the capsule. Specifically, the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for a period of time and can therefore pass through the stomach without substantial release of the active ingredients inside the capsule. The term "substantial release" refers to a release of greater than 1%, such as 1-100%, of the active ingredient. In some embodiments, the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for at least 1 hour or at least 2 hours (¶ [0020]). Suitable active ingredients include anti-ulcerative agents (¶ [0031]). The active can be dissolved in an carrier such as glycerides, oils, sterols, phospholipids, and the like or in a self-emulsifying/microemulsifying drug delivery system (SEDDS) system. Optionally, the SEDDS system can include an oil, a surfactant, a cosurfactant or solubilizer, and the first active ingredient (¶ [0036]). Suitable surfactants to be encapsulated include nonionic surfactants such as Tween and suitable oils include cottonseed oil, groundnut oil, corn germ oil, olive oil, castor oil, and/or sesame oil (¶ [0044]). Tested examples contained more than 99% of the active after 2.6 months at 30 °C and 65% RH (Table 4) (¶ [0063]).
Fang differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein carrageenan is used in combination with gelatin in an amount of 2 to 4% by weight of the shell.
However, Ubieta discloses that appropriate gastro-resistant polymers to prepare enteric coatings include carrageenan (col 6, line 23-24).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Fang discloses wherein the shell comprises a gastric resistant polymer in a concentration of about 2% to about 10% by weight of the capsule shell. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the gastric resistant polymer of the composition of Fang to comprise carrageenan, since it is a known gastro-resistant polymer for use in making enteric compositions as taught by Ubieta.
Fang and Ubieta differ from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the active used is a proton pump inhibitor such as esomeprazole.
However, Thassu discloses that drugs such as esomeprazole, as well as complexes of drug bases and salts thereof, are acid labile and known as proton pump inhibitors. These drugs are used to treat, among other conditions, peptic ulcer disease and gastric ulcers (¶ [0011]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Fang discloses wherein the active agent used may be an anti-ulcerative agent. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Fang in view of Ubieta to comprise esomeprazole, or salts thereof, since it is a known drug to treat peptic ulcer disease and gastric ulcers as taught by Thassu.
The combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, and Thassu differ from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein about 60%/70% or more of the proton pump inhibitor is dissolved in about 30 minutes at pH of about 6.8.
However, Maciejewski discloses that the current standards for gastro-resistant dosage forms state that the sample should not disintegrate in 0.1M HCL in 2 hours, or not less than 1 hour (depending on the composition), which should be followed by disintegration within 1 hour at a pH of 6.8. (Pg. 7, Par. 1).
As evidenced by Haug, 0.1M HCL simulated gastric juice (¶ [0042]).
Accordingly, where the capsule shell of Fang in view of Ubieta and Thassu can be acid resistant, and the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for a period of time and can therefore pass through the stomach without substantial release of the active ingredients inside the capsule and “substantial release” refers to a release of greater than 1%, such as 1-100%, of the active ingredient, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta and Thassu to completely disintegrate within 1 hour at a pH of 6.8 motivated by the desire to conform to current standards for gastro-resistant dosage forms as taught by Maciejewski.
Regarding claims 1 and 3 reciting an enteric capsule and an enteric shell, as discussed above, the capsule shell of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski can be acid resistant, and the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for a period of time and can therefore pass through the stomach without substantial release of the active ingredients inside the capsule. Furthermore, the term "acid resistant" refers to the enteric property of the capsule. Accordingly, the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski satisfies an “enteric” capsule and “enteric” shell as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 1 and 3 reciting wherein the fill material comprises triglycerides, as discussed above, the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski may contain oils such as cottonseed oil, groundnut oil, corn germ oil, olive oil, castor oil, and/or sesame oil in the fill. Accordingly, a fill material comprising triglycerides would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 3 reciting wherein about 90 % w/w or more of the proton pump inhibitor remains after storage at a temperature of about 25 °C and 60% relative humidity for about 2 weeks, as discussed above, tested examples of the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski contained more than 99% of the active after 2.6 months at 30 °C and 65% RH. Accordingly, where the capsules of the prior art contained more than 99% of the active after being subjected to harsher conditions than the capsule of the instant claims, specifically a higher temperature (i.e., 30 °C vs 25 °C) and longer time (i.e., 2.6 months vs 2 weeks), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the capsule of the prior art would contain 90 % w/w or more of the active after storage about 25 °C and 60% relative humidity for about 2 weeks, as instantly claimed, since higher stability would be expected at lower temperatures and shorter storage times.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, the active used in the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski is esomeprazole or salts thereof. Accordingly, a capsule comprising such an active would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 15-16, as discussed above, the shell composition of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski does not require the claimed polymers. The composition merely requires a film-forming polymer which may be natural such as gelatin (¶ [0006]). Accordingly, a composition comprising less than 1% of such polymers would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 20 and 22 reciting wherein about 90 % w/w or more of the proton pump inhibitor remains after storage at a temperature of about 25 °C and 60% relative humidity for about 2 weeks or 4 weeks, as discussed above, tested examples of the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski contained more than 99% of the active after 2.6 months at 30 °C and 65% RH. Accordingly, where the capsules of the prior art contained more than 99% of the active after being subjected to harsher conditions than the capsule of the instant claims, specifically a higher temperature (i.e., 30 °C vs 25 °C) and longer time (i.e., 2.6 months vs 2 weeks/4 weeks), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the capsule of the prior art would contain 90 % w/w or more of the active after storage about 25 °C and 60% relative humidity for about 2 weeks or 4 weeks, as instantly claimed, since higher stability would be expected at lower temperatures and shorter storage times.
Regarding claim 24, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for at least 1 hour or at least 2 hours. As evidenced by Haug, 0.1M HCL at about 37 °C is simulated gastric juice (¶ [0042]). Accordingly, because the range recited in the instant claims overlaps with/lies inside the range disclosed by Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski, the range disclosed by Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski meets the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding claim 43, as discussed above, the acid resistant (i.e., enteric) capsule shell can further include one or more plasticizers selected from the group consisting of glycerin, sorbitol, and combinations thereof. Accordingly, an enteric capsule shell composition comprising such components would have been obvious.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski render obvious claims 1, 3-4, 15-16, 19-20, 22, 24, and 43.
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2015/0366814, Dec. 24, 2015) (hereinafter Hu).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the shell has a pH of about 7.0 to about 9.0.
However, Hu discloses enteric soft capsules (Abstract). One embodiment is an all-natural enteric soft capsule shell composition comprising: (a) a gelatin composition; (b) an anionic polysaccharide; (c) a plasticizer; and (d) a solvent (¶ [0016]). The enteric soft capsule comprises a matrix fill that is liquid, semi-solid, or solid (¶ [0017]). The capsules do not dissolve in the gastric environment (pH. 1.2) but readily dissolve in the intestinal environment (pH. 6.8) (¶ [0072]). An amount of an alkali is added as a neutralizing agent to give a final pH value of the composition less than or equal to about pH 9.0 (¶ [0102]). Films of the enteric soft capsule shell do not dissolve or disintegrate in acids, such as 0.1 N hydrochloric acid or simulated gastric fluid (ca. pH 1.2) for at least two hours but readily release the contents upon shifting the pH of the solution to ca. 6.8, such as that of simulated intestinal fluid. (¶ [00120]). Suitable actives include anti-ulcerative agents (¶ [0163]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the enteric shells of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to have a pH of less than or equal to about pH 9.0 motivated by the desire to achieve shells which do not dissolve in the gastric environment (pH. 1.2) or in 0.1N HCL, but readily dissolve in the intestinal environment (pH. 6.8) as taught by Hu.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Hu render obvious claim 2.
3. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of Stabile et al. (US 9,688,658, Jun. 27, 2017) (hereinafter Stabile).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the active agent is esomeprazole magnesium dihydrate.
However, Stabile discloses that suitable salts of esomeprazole include esomeprazole magnesium dihydrate (col 6, line 64-66).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski disclose wherein suitable actives include an anti-ulcerative such as esomeprazole or salts thereof. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to comprise esomeprazole magnesium dihydrate, since it is a known salt of esomeprazole as taught by Stabile.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Stabile render obvious claim 5.
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of Ault et al. (US 2010/0330179, Dec. 30, 2010) (hereinafter Ault).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claim insofar as not disclosing the specific dosage of the proton pump inhibitor.
However, Ault teaches a pharmaceutical composition in unit dose form comprising naproxen, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and esomeprazole, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (¶ [0001]). An effective dose of esomeprazole to raise the pH of the gastric fluid of a patient to at least 3.5 is about 10 mg to about 50 mg (¶ [0010]). Suitable forms of the unit dosage form include a capsule (¶ [0011]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the capsule of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to contain about 10 mg to about 50 mg esomeprazole, motivated by the desire to achieve utilize a dosage that is effective in raising gastric fluid pH of a patient using a capsule as taught by Ault.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Ault render obvious claim 6.
5. Claims 11, 13, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of Hustvedt et al. (US 2016/0206585, Jul. 21, 2016) (hereinafter Hustvedt).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the fill comprises medium chain triglycerides and glyceryl monostearate in a ratio of 1: 1 to 50:1 or specifically disclosing wherein the fill comprises polysorbate 80.
However, Hustvedt discloses self-emulsifying drug delivery systems, such as SEDDS, SMEDDS, or SNEDDS comprising an active (Abstract). These systems comprise the active, a triglyceride, and a surfactant (¶ [0002]). The composition contains from 15% to 60% by weight of medium-chain triglyceride (MCT) oil and from 10% to 60% by weight composition of a nonionic surfactant (¶ [0009]). The compositions may be administered in a capsule (¶ [0011]). In one embodiment, more than one surfactant is used (¶ [0074]). Suitable nonionic surfactants include Tweens or polysorbates, specifically polysorbate 80 (Table 4) (¶ [0084]). Further, exemplary nonionic surfactants include glyceryl monostearate (¶ [0087]). The wherein the SEDDS, SMEDDS, or SNEDD compositions form emulsions in an aqueous solution such as gastric or intestinal media (¶ [0097]). The compositions form emulsions which are stable in both gastric and intestinal fluid. Therefore, the compositions may be used in a pharmaceutical formulation with enteric capabilities (¶ [0102]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski disclose wherein the active can be dissolved in an carrier such a self-emulsifying/microemulsifying drug delivery system (SEDDS) system where the SEDDS system can include an oil, a surfactant, a cosurfactant or solubilizer, and the first active ingredient. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the fill of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to comprise 15% to 60% by weight of medium-chain triglyceride (MCT) oil as the oil, from 10% to 60% by weight composition of a nonionic surfactant such as glyceryl monostearate, and polysorbate 80 as the co-surfactant, since these are known oils, and surfactants for use in a SEDDS system for filing a capsule with enteric capabilities as taught by as taught by Hustvedt.
Regarding the ratio recited in instant claim 13, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(A). As discussed above, Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Hustvedt disclose wherein the composition comprises 15% to 60% by weight of medium-chain triglyceride (MCT) and 10% to 60% by weight composition of a nonionic surfactant such as glycerl monostearate. Accordingly, the claimed weight ratio would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of medium chain triglycerides and an amount of surfactant (i.e., glyceryl monostearate) from the above ranges and the ratio thereof overlapping with the claimed ratio.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Hustvedt render obvious claims 11, 13, and 28.
6. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of ICF for the USDA (Technical Evaluation Report - Carrageenan, Oct. 3, 2011) (hereinafter ICF).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the gastric resistant carrageenan is iota carrageenan or kappa carrageenan.
However, ICF discloses that carrageenan is a generic term referring to a family of linear polysaccharides (i.e., complex carbohydrate chains) that are extracted from species of red seaweeds (Class Rhodophyceae) (Pg. 1, Par. 1). There are several different carrageenans with slightly varied chemical structures and properties where different Rhodophyceae species produce carrageenans in varying nonhomologous polysaccharide mixtures (Pg. 1, Par. 1). The three most prevalent, and of highest commercial interest, polysaccharides of carrageenan are iota-, kappa-, and lambda-carrageenan (Pg. 1, Par. 2). Carrageenan is used in nonfood applications such as pharmaceuticals in pill coatings and drug capsules (Pg. 4, Par. 2).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski disclose wherein the gastric resistant polymer is carrageenan. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the gastric resistant carrageenan of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to be in the form of iota or kappa carrageenan since these are the most prevalent polysaccharides of carrageenan, and those of highest commercial interest, and known forms of carrageenan for use in capsules as taught by as taught by ICF.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and ICF render obvious claim 18.
7. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) in view of Ubieta Gomez et al. (US 9,205,130, Dec. 8, 2015) (hereinafter Ubieta), Thassu et al. (US 2007/0036851, Feb. 15, 2007) (hereinafter Thassu), and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski) and further in view of Hackett et al. (WO 2004/062695, Jul. 29 2004) (hereinafter Hackett).
The teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski differ from the instantly recited claim insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises magnesium oxide.
However, Hackett discloses that the use of a proton pump inhibitor (PPI) and a multivalent alkali metal oxide (MAMO) minimizes any hydrophilic properties of the PPI and thus minimizes the possibility of it partitioning out of the carrier such as an oily phase into the acidic aqueous environment in the stomach, which would result in degradation and possible destruction of some or all of the PPI before the therapeutic target can be reached. Minimizing the PPI's hydrophilic properties renders it more compatible with the carrier such as an oily liquid carrier, enabling a stabilized formulation to be prepared (Pg. 4, Ln. 16-22). The composition may utilize a oily liquid carrier for filling into capsules (Pg. 7, Ln. 12-15). Preferred pharmaceutically acceptable multivalent alkali metal oxides (MAMO) magnesium oxide (page 10, line 28-31).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Fang in view of Ubieta, Thassu, and Maciejewski to comprise magnesium oxide, a known multivalent alkali metal oxide (MAMO), motivated by the desire to minimizes any hydrophilic properties of the PPI active thus minimizing the possibility of it partitioning out of the carrier such as an oily phase into the acidic aqueous environment in the stomach, which would result in degradation and possible destruction of some or all of the PPI before the therapeutic target can be reached as taught by Hackett. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since such components are taught to be included as a fill for capsules by Hackett.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Fang, Ubieta, Thassu, Maciejewski, and Hackett render obvious claims 31.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-6, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,232 in view of Fang et al. (US 2013/0280323, Oct. 24, 2013) (hereinafter Fang) and Maciejewski et al. (Polymers, Feb. 15, 2019, 11, 338) (hereinafter Maciejewski).
Both the instant claims and the patented claims disclose an enteric soft gel capsule comprising a fill material and a shell composition comprising a pharmaceutically active ingredient and overlapping amounts of carrageenan that is stable at 25° C and 60% relative humidity. The difference between the instant claims and the patented claims lies in that the patented claims do not specify wherein active pharmaceutical ingredient in the fill material comprises a proton pump inhibitor. However, the claims of the ‘232 patent recite the broad recitation of “at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient”, which would encompass active agents not recited by the patented claims. Further the patented claims do not exclude proton pump inhibitors from being encompassed by the patented claims. Another difference between the instant claims and the patented claims lies in that the patented claims do not recite wherein the fill material further comprises triglycerides.
Fang discloses a soft elastic capsule that includes an acid resistant, capsule shell that defines an encapsulated space having a predetermined volume, a liquid or semisolid fill comprising a first active ingredient located within the encapsulated space (Abstract). The capsule shell can be formed of a film-forming natural polymer such as gelatin (¶ [0006]). The capsule shell can further be formed of a gastric resistant natural polymer in a concentration of about 2% to about 10% by weight of the capsule shell (¶ [0006]). The capsule shell of the soft elastic capsule can be acid resistant. The term "acid resistant" refers to the enteric property of the capsule. Specifically, the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for a period of time and can therefore pass through the stomach without substantial release of the active ingredients inside the capsule. The term "substantial release" refers to a release of greater than 1%, such as 1-100%, of the active ingredient. In some embodiments, the capsule is resistant to dissolution in stomach acid for at least 1 hour or at least 2 hours (¶ [0020]). Suitable active ingredients include anti-ulcerative agents (¶ [0031]). The active can be dissolved in an carrier such as oils (¶ [0036]). Suitable oils include cottonseed oil, groundnut oil, corn germ oil, olive oil, castor oil, and/or sesame oil (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated oils (i.e., triglycerides) into the claimed invention since they are a known carrier for actives in the fill material of an enteric soft capsule comprising a shell and fill material motivated by the desire to dissolve the active as taught by Fang.
The patented claims further differ insofar as not explicitly reciting wherein the about 60%/ or more of the active is dissolved in about 30 minutes at pH of about 6.8 or wherein the shell does not rupture for at least one hour in 0.1M HCl.
However, Maciejewski discloses that the current standards for gastro-resistant dosage forms state that the sample should not disintegrate in 0.1M HCL in 2 hours, or not less than 1 hour (depending on the composition), which should be followed by disintegration within 1 hour at a pH of 6.8. (Pg. 7, Par. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the capsule of the claimed invention to not rupture for at least 1 hour in 0.1M HCl and to completely disintegrate within 1 hour at a pH of 6.8 motivated by the desire to conform to current standards for gastro-resistant (i.e., enteric) dosage forms as taught by Maciejewski.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 43 have been considered but are moot because new rejections NOT necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made. The cited teachings of the prior art were applied to address the recitation of “enteric” soft gel capsule and “enteric” shell.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 43 are rejected.
Claims 48 and 59 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612