DETAILED ACTION
Claims 14-18 are withdrawn due to a previous restriction requirement.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, and 19 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 is interpreted to include e) in the acoustic damping material.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
An acoustic damping material comprising:
At least one thermoplastic polymer P,
At least one hydrocarbon resin HR,
At least one solid particulate filler F,
e) optionally at least one plasticizer PL,
f) optionally at least one paraffin wax PW,
wherein the at least one thermoplastic polymer P is present in an amount of 1.5 20 wt. %1.5- 15 wt.-%of the total weight of the acoustic damping material,
the at least one solid particulate filler F comprises at least 35 wt.-% of the total weight of the acoustic damping material.
wherein the at least one thermoplastic polymer P comprises:
a1) at least one hard thermoplastic polymer P1 having a melt flow index (MFI) determined according to ISO 1133 (190°C/2.16 kg) of not more than 50 g/10 min, and
a2) at least one soft thermoplastic polymer P2 having a melt flow index (MFI) determined according to ISO 1133 (190°C/2.16 kg) of at least 75 g/10 min, and
wherein the at least one solid particulate filler F is selected from the group consisting of calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, talc, kaolin, wollastonite, feldspar, montmorillonite, dolomite, silica, cristobalite, iron oxide, iron nickel oxide, barium ferrite, strontium ferrite, barium-strontium ferrite, hollow ceramic spheres, hollow glass spheres, hollow organic spheres, glass spheres, mica, barium sulfate, and graphite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler (US 20130043091).
Regarding claim 1, Wheeler et al. disclose in Example 1 a damping layer comprising thermoplastic polymers Elvax 4310 and Excorcene ultra LD 720, having a MFI of 500 g/10 min and 1.6 g/10min respectively (as evidenced by datasheets provided in this Office Action and the Office Action dated March 17, 2025), an aromatic petroleum hydrocarbon resin Wingtack 86, and a talc filler Mistron Vapor R, and plasticizer Indopol H-1500 (see Table 1, [0027], see also datasheet for Elvax 4310 and Mistron Vapor R provided in this Office Action and Excorcene Ultra LD 720 provided in the Office Action dated September 10, 2025), thereby reading on P2, P1, HR, F, and PL as recited in the instant claim.
The paraffin wax PW is considered optional and therefore considered obvious.
Wheeler discloses the amount of thermoplastic P is in a total amount of 8.0 wt% and filler F is 24 wt% based on the total composition, thereby lying within the claimed range of P, but lying outside the range of F.
However, Wheeler broadly teaches the amount of filler may be present in an amount of about 10 to about 50 weight percent (claim 5), thereby overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Wheeler.
Regarding claim 2, Wheeler does not disclose the damping material comprises bitumen (Example 1), thereby reading on the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Wheeler discloses in Example 1 8 wt% of thermoplastic P, 16.0 wt% of hydrocarbon HR, and 11.5 wt% of plasticizer P (Table 1), equivalent to a sum of 35.5 wt% based on the total weight of the damping material and thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4 and 19, Wheeler discloses in Example 1, the damping material comprises 8 wt% of thermoplastic P, thereby lying within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 7, Wheeler discloses in Example 1 thermoplastic polymers Elvax 4310 and Excorcene ultra LD 720 which are both ethylene vinyl acetate copolymers. Excorcene ultra LD 720 has a vinyl acetate content of 18.5 wt% and Elvax 4310 has a vinyl acetate content of 25 wt%, thereby lying within the claimed ranges (as evidenced by datasheets provided in this Office Action and the Office Action dated September 10, 2025).
Regarding claim 9, Wheeler discloses in Example 1 Wingtack 86 as the hydrocarbon resin, which has a softening point of 87°C, thereby lying within the claimed range (see datasheet provided in this Office Action). The average molecular weight and glass transition temperature are considered optional and therefore are obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Wheeler discloses in Example 1, the damping material comprises 16 wt% of HR and 24 wt% of F, thereby lying within the claimed range of HR but lying outside the range of F.
However, Wheeler broadly teaches the amount of filler may be present in an amount of about 10 to about 50 weight percent (claim 5), thereby overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Wheeler.
Regarding claim 12, Wheeler discloses a talc filler as recited in the rejection for claim 1 above.
Wheeler does not teach additional solid particulates F2 and F3 are present in Example 1.
However, Wheeler broadly teaches one or more filler may be used such as calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, clay, silica, or mica [0026]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add additional fillers F2 and F3 to Example 1 as taught by Wheeler.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler (US 20130043091) and in view of Bai et al. (US 20180247632).
The damping material disclosed in claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 6 and 8, Wheeler is silent on the thermoplastic polymer further comprising a polyolefin P3 as described in the instant claim.
Bai et al. teach a damping hot melt composition comprising a poly alpha olefin (claim 1). Bai et al. further teach in Table 1 example 1 Vistamaxx 6202 was used, which has a propylene content of 85 wt% and an ethylene content of 15 wt% as evidenced by the data sheet provided in the Office Action dated March 17, 2025, thereby lying within the claimed range of claim 8. Bai et al. offer the motivation that the composition provides good sound deadening performance for the automotive industry [0001]. Wheeler is also interested in providing a damping material with noise reduction [0017]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polyolefin with the amounts of propylene and ethylene of Bai et al. with the damping material of Wheeler et al. with reasonable expectation that the sound deadening performance would improve.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler (US 20130043091) in view of Engels et al. (DE 102014226677).
The examiner will refer to the English translation provided in the Office Action dated March 17, 2025.
The damping material disclosed in claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 13, Wheeler discloses plasticizer Indopol H-1500 is present in an amount of 11.5 wt% (Table 1), thereby lying within the claimed range of PL.
Wheeler is silent on the acoustic damping material comprising paraffin wax PW in the amount recited in the instant claim.
Engels et al. teach the amount of plasticizer present is between 0 and 35% by weight [0027], thereby overlapping the claimed range. Engels et al. teach paraffin waxes between 0 to 30% may be added. Engels et al. offer the motivation that the viscosity may be reduced to a desired viscosity [0029]. Wheeler is also interested in modifying the viscosity of the damping layer [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the paraffin wax as taught by Engels et al. with the damping materials of Wheeler with reasonable expectation that the viscosity may be reduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-11, filed January 20, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made over Kishimoto et al. (US 5350793) in view of Wheeler et al. (US 20130043091) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made over Wheeler et al. (US 20130043091).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763