DETAILED ACTION
The rejections under section 103 are withdrawn in view of the following new grounds of rejection adding Xiao et al., Molecules. 2018 Mar 29;23(4):787, cited in the IDS dated 8/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 11, 15, 18, 55, 62, 64-66, 68, 70, 73, 75, 76, 78, 79-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Zheng, et al., 2011, Cellular Signalling. 23 (9) (Zheng); or 1415–23; Ye et al., 2015, International Journal of Oncology (Ye); 46 (2): 757–63; and Zins et al., 2013, Journal of Translational Medicine, 11: 295 (Zins); Stengel et al., Cellular Signalling, 2011, 23 (9): 1415–23 (Stengel), or Qadir et al., 2015, Biol Drug Des, 86: 432-439, newly cited (Qadir).
in view of:
U.S. Publication No. 20110020274 based on an application by Zheng (Zheng II); and Xiao et al., Molecules. 2018 Mar 29;23(4):787, newly cited (Xiao); and
Nguyen et al., The Journal of Immunology, Volume 200, Issue Supplement_1, May 2018, (Abstract) Page 123.8, downloaded 27 Sept. 2016 from https://academic.oup.com/jimmunol/article/200/Supplement_1/123.8/7976288
(Nguyen).
Cdc42 has been shown to actively assist in cancer progression. Several studies have established the basis for this and hypothesized about the underlying mechanisms:
Zheng teaches that Cdc42 is overexpressed in non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal adenocarcinoma, melanoma, breast cancer, and testicular cancer. Elevated levels of the protein have been correlated with negative patient survival. Cdc42 has also been shown to be required for both G1-S phase progression and mitosis, and it also modulates the transcription factors SRF, STAT3, and NFkB:
Ye teaches that the role of Cdc42 in cervical cancer, immunohistochemistry was used to detect Cdc42 expression in three types of tissues: normal cervical tissues, cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN) I or below, CIN II or above, and cervical cancer tissues. Cdc42 expression was gradually increased showing significant difference and was significantly higher in HeLa cells than in regular cells. The migration ability of HeLa cells transfected with Cdc42 was higher than that of non-transfected cells. It was proposed that the overexpression of Cdc42 can promote filopodia formation in HeLa cells. Cdc42 overexpression significantly improved the ability of cervical cancer cells to migrate, possibly due to improved pseudopodia formation:
Zins teaches that the small molecular inhibitor AZA197 has been used to inhibit Cdc42 in the treatment of KRAS mutant colorectal cancers. There was evidence that Cdc42 inhibition by AZA197 treatment suppresses proliferative and pro-survival signaling pathways via PAK1-ERK signaling and reduces colon cancer cell migration and invasion. In mice, systemic AZA197 treatment in vivo reduced primary tumor growth and prolonged survival. Therapy targeting Rho GTPase Cdc42 signaling pathways can be effective for treatment of patients with advanced colon cancer overexpressing Cdc42, and particularly those with KRAS-mutant disease.
Moreover, Stengel teaches that Cdc42 is overexpressed in non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal adenocarcinoma, melanoma, breast cancer, and testicular cancer. Elevated levels of the protein have been correlated with negative patient survival. Cdc42 has also been shown to be required for both G1-S phase progression and mitosis, and it also modulates the transcription factors SRF, STAT3, and NFkB.
See also Qadir (“Cdc42, an evolutionary member of Rho GTPase family, is responsible for switching on variety of cellular responses such as cell polarity, cytoskeleton remolding, proliferation, migration, cellular transformation, filopodia and invadopodia formation, invasion, enzyme activity, adhesion membrane trafficking, and transportation. Deregulation of Cdc42 may lead to the development of oncogenic condition. Therefore, it can be concluded that inhibiting the overexpression of Cdc42, cancer progression can be controlled. Hence, deeper knowledge about the mechanism of cancer progression involving Cdc42 can lead to a new era for the development of Cdc42 inhibitors in favor of cancer management at molecular level.”)
The difference between the applied references and the claimed inventions is that the references do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, the references teach the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Moreover, one or more dependent claims cover effective amounts. However, the amount of a Cdc42 inhibitor in any therapeutic composition would be a result-effective parameter that will affect the pharmacological and pharmacokinetic properties of the final composition. In this manner, the amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result-effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize.
Specifically, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve a desired result. For any compound, the therapeutically effective dose can be estimated initially either in cell culture assays or in animal models, usually rats, rabbits, dogs, or pigs. The animal model also can be used to determine the appropriate concentration range and route of administration. Such information can then be used to determine useful doses and routes for administration in humans.
Therapeutic efficacy and toxicity, e.g., ED50 (the dose therapeutically effective in 50% of the population) and LD50 (the dose lethal to 50% of the population), can be determined by standard pharmaceutical procedures in cell cultures or experimental animals. The dose ratio of toxic to therapeutic effects is the therapeutic index, and it can be expressed as the ratio, LD50/ED5o. Pharmaceutical compositions which exhibit large therapeutic indices are preferred. The data obtained from cell culture assays and animal studies is used in formulating a range of dosage for human use. The dosage contained in such compositions is preferably within a range of circulating concentrations that include the ED50 with little or no toxicity. The dosage varies within this range depending upon the dosage form employed, sensitivity of the patient, and the route of administration. The exact dosage will be determined by the practitioner, in light of factors related to the subject that requires treatment. Dosage and administration are adjusted to provide sufficient levels of the active ingredient or to maintain the desired effect. Factors which can be taken into account include the severity of the disease state, general health of the subject, age, weight, and gender of the subject, diet, time and frequency of administration, drug combination(s), reaction sensitivities, and tolerance/response to therapy. Long-acting pharmaceutical compositions can be administered once or twice daily every 3 to 4 days, every week, or once every two weeks depending on the half-life and clearance rate of the particular formulation.
Normal dosage amounts can vary from micrograms to 100,000 micrograms, up to a maximum total dose, depending upon the route of administration. Guidance as to particular dosages and methods of delivery is provided in the literature and generally available to practitioners in the art.
In this way, optimization of these parameters is a routine practice, and consequently, would be prima facie obvious, absent factual evidence demonstrating an unexpected benefit of the claimed amount(s).
The applied references do not teach the recited compounds as Cdc42 inhibitors. However, Zheng II is combined for the proposition that the recited compounds are identified as Cdc42 inhibitors:
see definitions at paragraphs 0143+.
In this way, Zheng teaches that the particular known technique of using the recited compounds as Cdc42 inhibitors was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to those methods that use Cdc442 inhibitors, such as the methods of treating cancer, as disclosed in the primary references, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using the recited compounds as Cdc42 inhibitors for the purposes of treating cancer would have been prima facie obvious.
Nonetheless Xiao teaches that there is ample evidence to suggest that Cdc42 is an attractive therapeutic target in cancers and that Casin is a preferred small molecule in this regard:
See also Nguyen (“Here we report that CASIN, a Cdc42 GTPase selective inhibitor, significantly inhibited cell proliferation and survival of both melphalan/bortezomib-sensitive and melphalan/bortezomib-resistant MM cell lines. Intriguingly, while CASIN was less efficient than melphalan/bortezomib in killing melphalan/bortezomib-sensitive cells, it was much more potent than melphalan/bortezomib in killing melphalan/bortezomib-resistant cells. Combined CASIN and melphalan/bortezomib treatment revealed that CASIN sensitized melphalan/bortezomib-resistant cells to melphalan/bortezomib”).
Therefore, those of ordinary skill would have yielded a reasonable expectation of treating cancer with the recited compounds since the recited compounds have been shown to inhibit Cdc42, which has been implicated in oncogenesis and cancer proliferation.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Zheng, et al., 2011, Cellular Signalling. 23 (9) (Zheng); or 1415–23; Ye et al., 2015, International Journal of Oncology (Ye); 46 (2): 757–63; or Zins et al., 2013, Journal of Translational Medicine, 11: 295 (Zins); or Stengel et al., Cellular Signalling, 2011, 23 (9): 1415–23 (Stengel), or Qadir et al., 2015, Biol Drug Des, 86: 432-439 (Qadir) in view of:
U.S. Publication No. 20110020274 based on an application by Zheng (Zheng II) and Xiao et al., Molecules. 2018 Mar 29;23(4):787, newly cited (Xiao) and
Nguyen et al., The Journal of Immunology, Volume 200, Issue Supplement_1, May 2018, (Abstract) Page 123.8, downloaded 27 Sept. 2016 from https://academic.oup.com/jimmunol/article/200/Supplement_1/123.8/7976288
(Nguyen); in further view of:
Yan et al., Front Immunol. 2018 Jul 27; 9:1739 (Yan).
The rejected claims cover combination therapies with immune checkpoint inhibitors. However, Yan discusses that these regimens are part of anti-cancer strategies:
Therefore, those of ordinary skill would have reason to combine combining Cdc42 inhibitors with immune checkpoint inhibitors to see if there is a synergistic or added therapeutic benefit, and therefore, such combination therapies would have been prima facie obvious.
Applicant argues that the references do not provide a reasonable expectation that CDC42 inhibition could treat cancers.
However, the references provide a foundation that cdc42 is implicated in oncogenesis, progression and metathesis. For example, Zins explicitly teaches that targeting Cdc42 with the small molecule drug AZA197 suppresses primary colon cancer growth and prolongs survival in a preclinical mouse xenograft model by downregulation of PAK1 activity. Specifically, Zins teaches that the small molecular inhibitor AZA197 has been used to inhibit Cdc42 in the treatment of KRAS mutant colorectal cancers. There was evidence that Cdc42 inhibition by AZA197 treatment suppresses proliferative and pro-survival signaling pathways via PAK1-ERK signaling and reduces colon cancer cell migration and invasion. In mice, systemic AZA197 treatment in vivo reduced primary tumor growth and prolonged survival. Therapy targeting Rho GTPase Cdc42 signaling pathways may be effective for treatment of patients with advanced colon cancer overexpressing Cdc42, and particularly those with KRAS-mutant disease.
Moreover, Stengel teaches that Cdc42 is overexpressed in non-small cell lung cancer, colorectal adenocarcinoma, melanoma, breast cancer, and testicular cancer. Elevated levels of the protein have been correlated with negative patient survival. Cdc42 has also been shown to be required for both G1-S phase progression and mitosis, and it also modulates the transcription factors SRF, STAT3, and NFkB:
(“The acquisition of an invasive and motile phenotype is critical for tumor progression and mestastasis. Metastasis is a complex process in which cancer cells must migrate out of the primary tumor site, invade surrounding tissue, intravasate into the blood or lymphatic system, survive while in circulation, and extravasate and initiate metastatic outgrowth at distant organ sites. A number of studies have implicated Cdc42 function in the regulation of multiple steps of this process. Consistently, studies in human cancer models have identified Cdc42 as an important regulator of metastasis… The mechanisms by which Cdc42 activation contributes to oncogenesis, including what signaling pathways activated downstream of Cdc42 are essential for the induction of cellular transformation, have been under active investigation. In yeast, Cdc42 is known to be required for cell division. Similarly, Cdc42 has been shown to be involved in mammalian cell cycle progression. In fact, Cdc42 seems to be required for both G1-S phase progression and mitosis. In addition to promoting cell proliferation, Cdc42 has been implicated in regulating cancer cell survival, as well as modulating the transcription factors such as SRF, STAT3 and NFkB, which are further involved in the cell growth and survival. These proliferative and survival roles of Cdc42 in cancer biology have been extensively reviewed elsewhere”).
See Qadir (“Deregulation of Cdc42 may lead to the development of oncogenic condition. Therefore, it can be concluded that inhibiting the overexpression of Cdc42, cancer progression can be controlled.”).
Therefore, the references provide a reasonable expectation that CDC42 inhibition could treat cancers.”
Again, conclusive proof that the recited compounds can treat cancer is not required, see MPEP 21434.02 (“Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019) ("To be clear, we do not hold today that efficacy data is always required for a reasonable expectation of success. Nor are we requiring ‘absolute predictability of success.’"); Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute")).
Here, those of ordinary skill would have yielded a reasonable expectation of treating cancer with the recited compounds since the recited compounds have been shown to inhibit Cdc42, which has been implicated in oncogenesis and cancer proliferation. Specifically, the applied references provide the reasonable expectation that Casin, a preferred embodiment of the claims, can treat cancer.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 8/12/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646