Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice to Applicant
Claims 17-32 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 9/17/2025.
Drawings
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheets
Drawing changes must be made by presenting replacement sheets which incorporate the desired changes and which comply with 37 CFR 1.84. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). A replacement sheet must include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing figure(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified.
Identifying indicia, if provided, should include the title of the invention, inventor’s name, and application number, or docket number (if any) if an application number has not been assigned to the application. If this information is provided, it must be placed on the front of each sheet and within the top margin.
Annotated Drawing Sheets
A marked-up copy of any amended drawing figure, including annotations indicating the changes made, may be submitted or required by the examiner. The annotated drawing sheet(s) must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheet” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings.
Timing of Corrections
Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.85(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
If corrected drawings are required in a Notice of Allowability (PTOL-37), the new drawings MUST be filed within the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period set for reply in the “Notice of Allowability.” Extensions of time may NOT be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136 for filing the corrected drawings after the mailing of a Notice of Allowability.
The drawings are objected to because they appear to be the exact same Figures 2 and 4 submitted 2/27/2025, and no explanation of changes made has been provided. If applicant is attempting to amend the drawings, Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 9/17/2025 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a marked-up copy of the substitute specification has not been supplied (in addition to the clean copy).
Claim Objections
Claims 17-32 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are labeled as (New), but should be labeled as (Currently Amended), as there was already a version of claims 17-32 previous submitted. The claims also do not show what has been amended from the previous version of the claims. As best as the examiner can tell, the claims appear to be identical to the previous version of the claims filed 10/25/2024. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “also carrying out another transport” renders the claim indefinite because “carrying out” typically refers to a step, so it is unclear if this is another physical transport vehicle, or a transport step, and further if it is a physical transport vehicle, it is unclear what distinguishes this vehicle from the previously claimed aircraft flight devices.
Regarding claims 18-32, the claims are indefinite because they are all dependent on canceled claims. It is thus unclear what exactly the scope of these claims are. These claims have therefore not been further examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 2006/0208136 by Cook in view of US Patent Number 3,011,742 to Gross.
Regarding claim 17, Cook, as bets understood, discloses an air transport device comprising: the fact that, in the space of the atmosphere of a planet (paragraph 5 discloses “tows an intended space load close to the stratosphere”) a flight is being formed simultaneously with other minimum of 3 aircraft flight devices (Figure 1E shows 3 towing aircraft and 1 towed aircraft), towards and from the outer space of dense atmospheres (paragraph 100 discloses “a space launch method”), suitable for space flight devices with aerodynamic load that are connected to each other to feed each other (claim 2 discloses “A method of transferring oxidizer in liquid form or other fuels from an aircraft or an attached towable structure to a space vehicle using centripetal force, comprising: a hose, pipe, or flexible tube of sufficient internal diameter and of up to tens of kilometers in length”) by conical hoses, also carrying out another transport (see Figures 1A-1F).
Cook, as best understood, does not disclose the space flight devices being connected to each other to feed each other by conical hoses. However, this limitation is taught by Gross. Gross discloses an aircraft refueling and tow line 28 having a conical hose supply 21 with a larger base (see Figures 5 and 6) as a counter weight, with a house and drogue funnel (Gross describes the drogue throughout the disclosure), and column 1, lines 31-39 further teaches the use of booms for this refueling connection. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cook using the teachings from Gross to use known types of refueling lines for aircraft.
Response to Arguments
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642