DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The limitation(s) "complementary" material in the claim 1, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants' by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. Specifically, the Examiner notes that this term is defined in claim 4, however, there is no specific material associated with being “complementary”. Therefore, the Examiner is taking the position any material would encompass as being “complementary” as long as its structural is defined as recited in claim 4.
The limitation(s) "concentrates" material in the claim 1, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants' by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. There is no specific material associated with “concentrates”. Therefore, the Examiner is taking the position any material that is in pure form would encompass as being “concentrates” and or broadly encompass chemical concentrates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation by-products and co-products of (steel making industry, thermoelectric power generation industry, ceramics industry, mining industry, and construction industry), and the claim also recites igneous rocks, metamorphic rocks, sedimentary rocks, metakaolin, clays, basaltic rocks, granites, sandstones, carbonates, phosphates, silicates, aluminates, blast furnace slag, bottom ash and fly ash of coal and/or biomass, rice husk has, glass, tailings, sludges, concentrates, and demolition waste which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Similarly with the broad limitation with a narrow limitation, the examiner is unclear the metes and bounds of 1) basaltic rocks and granite vs igneous rocks, 2) sandstones vs. sedimentary rock, 3) glass, etc. vs demolition waste. Clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites by-products and co-products of (steel making industry, thermoelectric power generation industry, ceramics industry, mining industry, and construction industry). The examiner the metes and bounds of what specific materials would fall under these industries. For example, would chip of a paint or soil that comprises trace amount of caustic soda (impurities) would fall under by-product of “construction industry”? Additionally, there appears to be an overlap of materials between the by-product or co-product of steel making industry, thermoelectric power generation industry, ceramics industry, mining industry, and construction industry. Clarification is needed what specific materials would classify under the by-product or co-product of steel making industry, thermoelectric power generation industry, ceramics industry, mining industry, and construction industry
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sin Xicola et al. (US 2017/0016500).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Sin Xicola discloses a process for manufacturing friction material, comprising at least the steps of mechanical activation of grinding of at least one inorganic precursor (claims 1 and 2, [0053]), forming a crystalline and/or amorphous structure [0047-0049], combination of the mechanically activated inorganic precursor with at least one solution with the materials as claimed [0053-0057], combining of at least one liquid binder with at least one complementary material, forming a mixture [0043, 0053-0057, 0062-0066], cold forming of the mixture at a predetermined temperature, pressure and compression time [0067], and curing of the mixture at a predetermined temperature and time [0084]. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “concentrates” as set forth above, the examiner is taking the position that the pure form of sodium hydroxide reads upon the claimed concentrates as the inorganic precursor.
Although Sin Xicola discloses the grinding step involving grinding inorganic precursor pellets or flakes into powder form ([0053], [0093]), Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the particle size is less than 500 µm as presently claimed.
Although Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the range of the particle size, the examiner contends that powder would overlap the broad claimed range. In the instance case, the difference between “powder” and less than 500 µm or less than 100 µm per claim 12 does not appear confer patentability to the claims in the absence of a showing of critically associated with the claimed particle size range.
Alternatively, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have arrived at the claimed invention by routine experimentation alone, without exercising undue experimentation.
A person having ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known option within his or her technical grasp. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the particle size of a powder, since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed particle size is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the size of the powder dependent on what the end use friction material was used for.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Sin Xicola discloses a process for manufacturing friction comprising of a liquid binder of a solution and/or suspension with a medium-high viscosity solution [0130]. Although Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the exact range of the viscosity, the examiner contends that medium-high viscosity would overlap the broad claimed range. In the instance case, the difference between “medium-high” and 10-100,000 mPa-s per claim 3 or 100-50000 mPa-s per claim 11, does not appear confer patentability to the claims in the absence of a showing of critically associated with the claimed viscosity range.
Alternatively, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have arrived at the claimed invention by routine experimentation alone, without exercising undue experimentation. Sin Xicola discloses that the viscosity of the liquid binder would overall affect the friction material [0131], thereby, the viscosity of the liquid binder is a result effective variable.
A person having ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known option within his or her technical grasp. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the viscosity of the liquid binder, since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed amount is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the viscosity dependent on what the end use friction material was used for.
Regarding claim 4, please see ([0043] and [0069-0083]).
Regarding claim 6, please see [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 7, please see [0084]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sin Xicola et al. (US 2017/0016500) in view of (Farahati et al. (US 2017/0261057) OR Li (Process and Equipment for Deep Processing of Kaolin Ultrafine Powder) OR Davis et al. (Large-Scale Continuous Attrition Grinding of Coarse Kaolin)).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Sin Xicola discloses a process for manufacturing friction material, comprising at least one inorganic precursor (claims 1 and 2, [0053]: Kaolin), forming a crystalline and/or amorphous structure [0047-0049], combination of the inorganic precursor with at least one solution with the materials as claimed ([0053-0057]: sodium hydroxide), combining of at least one liquid binder with at least one complementary material, forming a mixture [0043, 0053-0057, 0062-0066], cold forming of the mixture at a predetermined temperature, pressure and compression time [0067], and curing of the mixture at a predetermined temperature and time [0084]. Although Sin Xicola discloses that the kaolin is in powder form (claim 1), Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose how the kaolin powder was obtained or formed.
Farahati discloses friction material, which is an analogous art to that of Sin Xicola, comprising of kaolin, wherein the kaolin may be subjected to grinding [0024], thereby is mechanically activated.
Li discloses kaolin powder with the particle size as claimed is obtained by processing via grinding, thereby is mechanically activated.
Davis discloses grinding of a coarse kaolin to obtain particle size kaolin powder, thereby is mechanically activated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Sin Xicola’s kaolin powder is obtained via grinding, thereby achieving mechanically activating kaolin, since Farahahi, Li, and Davis discloses that it is known in the art that powder form of kaolin is obtained via grinding.
Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the particle size is less than 500 µm as presently claimed.
Although Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the range of the particle size, the examiner contends that powder would overlap the broad claimed range. In the instance case, the difference between “powder” and less than 500 µm or less than 100 µm per claim 12 does not appear confer patentability to the claims in the absence of a showing of critically associated with the claimed particle size range.
Alternatively, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have arrived at the claimed invention by routine experimentation alone, without exercising undue experimentation.
A person having ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known option within his or her technical grasp. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the particle size of a powder, since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed particle size is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the size of the powder dependent on what the end use friction material was used for. Nevertheless, both Li and Davis disclose the particle size of the kaolin as claimed.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Sin Xicola discloses a process for manufacturing friction comprising of a liquid binder of a solution and/or suspension with a medium-high viscosity solution [0130]. Although Sin Xicola fails to explicitly disclose the exact range of the viscosity, the examiner contends that medium-high viscosity would overlap the broad claimed range. In the instance case, the difference between “medium-high” and 10-100,000 mPa-s per claim 3 or 100-50000 mPa-s per claim 11, does not appear confer patentability to the claims in the absence of a showing of critically associated with the claimed viscosity range.
Alternatively, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention would have arrived at the claimed invention by routine experimentation alone, without exercising undue experimentation. Sin Xicola discloses that the viscosity of the liquid binder would overall affect the friction material [0131], thereby, the viscosity of the liquid binder is a result effective variable.
A person having ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known option within his or her technical grasp. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the viscosity of the liquid binder, since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not invention to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed amount is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the viscosity dependent on what the end use friction material was used for.
Regarding claim 4, please see ([0043] and [0069-0083]).
Regarding claim 6, please see [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 7, please see [0084]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Sin Xicola fails to disclose the materials of the inorganic precursor as presently claimed. As set forth above, the examiner is taking the position that the sodium hydroxide would corresponds to the claimed “concentrates” in light of the broadest reasonable interpretation. Alternatively, secondary prior art of record discloses powder kaolin is produced from grinding kaolin as set forth above.
Applicant presents ANNEX I in the applicant’s arguments to establish the criticality of the kind of inorganic precursors and the importance of size particles.
However, it is noted that "the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record", In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). It is the Examiner's position that the arguments provided by applicant(s) regarding the alleged unexpected results should be supported by a declaration or affidavit. As set forth in MPEP 716.02(g), "the reason for requiring evidence in a declaration or affidavit form is to obtain the assurances that any statements or representations made are correct, as provided by 35 U.S.C. 24 and 18 U.S.C. 1001" (emphasis added).
Nevertheless, the examiner did a cursory review of ANNEX I as a courtesy.
It is not clear to the examiner which component of the ANNEX I, I) effect of the particle size in the viscosity and reaction Kinect is the comparative examples. This is because all of the particle sizes fall within the broadly claimed limitations. There appears to be no showing of unexpected results. Thereby, it is not clear that the claimed final particle size of the inorganic precursor of less than 500 µm after grinding with the broadly claimed material is critical.
In addition, ANNEX I, II) Base Formulation using inorganic precursors, the graphs are unclear to be able to determine and evaluate the experimental results, specifically the x and y axes. Furthermore, it appears that the comparative example phenol (reference) does not establish the criticality of the broadly claimed inorganic precursor. This is because phenol resin established a compressive strength of 115 MPa, which actually falls within the compressive strength range in the specific inorganic precursor examples. This thereby does not establish the criticality of the claimed inorganic precursor materials. Examiner respectfully notes that MPEP states that “to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range” (see MPEP § 716.02(d).II.).
Applicant(s) are reminded that a detailed description of the reasons and evidence supporting a position of unexpected results must be provided by applicant(s). A mere pointing to data requiring the examiner to ferret out evidence of unexpected results is not sufficient to prove that the results would be truly unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re D'Ancicco, 439 F.2d 1244, 1248, 169 USPQ 303, 306 (1971) and In re Merck & Co, 800 F.2d 1091, 1099, 231 USPQ 375, 381 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In addition, the evidence of unexpected results is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the claimed limitations. In the instant case, claim 1 is immensely broad:
Basically BROADLY CLAIMED INORGANIC PRECURSOR WITH A WIDE RANGE OF PARTICLE SIZE (< 500 µm)
Basically ANY KNOWN SOLUTION OF ALKALI METAL/ALKALINE EARTH (METAL HYDROXIDE OR METAL SILICATE)
Basically ANY KNOWN “COMPLEMENTARY” MATERIAL
Basically ANY PREDETERMINED TEMPERATURE, PRESSURE, COMPRESSION TIME DURING COLD FORMING
Basically ANY PREDETERMINED TEMPERATURE AND TIME DURING CURING
This immense breath is not supported fully by ANNEX I, noting that the examples appear to use specific materials, its concentration and particle sizes as well as specific temperature, pressure, and duration during the process of manufacturing the friction material. Applicants may have additional data (or can present additional data) to broaden the scope or provide evidence that certain classes of materials would behave similarly in the composition, but presently no such evidence exists of record. It is not clear that every material as claimed with a particle size of less than 500 µm as claimed would behave the same as the ones employed by Applicant in ANNEX I.
Although Applicant appears to argue an unexpected result of improve reaction kinetics, the issues with the data as highlighted above illustrate that such unexpected results have not been persuasively demonstrated.
With regards to claims 3 and 11, applicant’s argument has been found unpersuasive as applicant has not established the criticality of the claimed viscosity for the reasons set forth above.
With regards to claims 6 and 7, applicant argues that Sin Xicola discloses a much broader claimed ranged, thereby, contends that one of ordinary skill in the art would not able to choose the claimed specific temperatures and pressure in determined time as claimed. The examiner respectfully disagrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549. Applicant has not established the criticality of the claimed parameters.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785