DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1-14 and addition of new claim 15. Claims 4-5 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Tani in view of Shimizu does not disclose mutual timing adjustment between a drive control signal and an assist control signal. Applicant contends that Tani only discloses adjusting the drive control signal. Applicant further contends that any attempt to adjust timing of assist control signal in Tani would disrupt the intended operation of the device + compromise performance (Remarks pgs. 13-16).
Examiner agrees that Tani in view of Shimizu does not disclose mutual timing adjustment. Existing rejection of claim 1, 11, 14 is replaced with new rejection incorporating Ikegami. Specific modification + motivation to adjust timing of assist control signal are outlined in claim 1, 11, 14 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto/"Tani" (JP-2001345691-A, machine translation "Tanimoto_English" cited and included herewith) in view of Shimizu (US-20210141069-A1) and Ikegami (US-20100074283-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tani discloses a laser drive device (fig. 1, lines 9-11) comprising: a drive circuit configured to drive a candidate light emitting element of at least one light emitting element based on a drive control signal (annotated fig. 1 drive circuit 6 drives laser diode 7 to emit light on basis of DCS, lines 86-91, see instant application 0041), wherein the candidate light emitting element of the at least one light emitting element comprises two ends (7 has two ends); an assist circuit configured to short-circuit the two ends of the candidate light emitting element of the at least one light emitting element based on an assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 assist circuit 9 short-circuits both ends of 7 on basis of ACS, lines 113-122, see instant application 0042); a timing adjustment unit configured to adjust timing of the drive control signal based on a timing adjustment signal (annotated fig. 1 timing adjustment unit 3+11+13 performs timing adjustment between DCS + ACS on basis of TAS, lines 130-149); a phase detection unit configured to detect a phase difference between the drive control signal and the assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 phase detection unit 10 detects phase difference between DCS and ACS, lines 124-128); and a timing control unit configured to generate the timing adjustment signal based on the detected phase difference (annotated fig. 1 timing control unit 12 generates TAS using phase difference result from 10, lines 130-149).
Tani does not disclose the laser being a VCSEL.
Shimizu discloses a photodetector/distance measuring device using a VCSEL as an optical emitter (figs. 1+2 VCSEL 1 used as emitter, Abstract, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a VCSEL as the light emitting element to take advantage of VCSEL narrow/precise light emission wavelength band, low temperature variation of wavelength, and potential for higher frequency pulsing/operation (Shimizu 0051).
Modified Tani does not disclose the timing adjustment unit configured to mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal).
Ikegami discloses a light source device and method of driving light emitting element with a delay circuit present within an equivalent assist circuit (fig. 4 310 used in assist circuit Q2, 0042-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a variable delay circuit within the second circuit + therefore mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal) with a first and second delay time to allow for more control over delay during operation + allow for continuous adjustment at all parts of operation cycle as opposed to only before or after emission.
Annotated fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 1, wherein the timing control unit is further configured to: generate the timing adjustment signal in one of a continuous manner, a periodic manner, or at a time of detection of an adjustment trigger.
Annotated fig. 1 12 generates TAS on basis of phase difference detection result of 10 when 12 detects predetermined adjustment trigger from 10, and 12 causes 3+11+13 to execute timing adjustment at this same time (lines 124-149).
Additionally, can be considered to occur periodically (i.e. during each pulse/cycle of operation).
def. periodically – from time to time (Merriam-Webster def. 2)
Regarding claim 6, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 1, wherein the timing adjustment unit (fig. 1 3+11+13) includes: a first circuit configured to generate the drive control signal based on an input signal, wherein the first circuit includes a first delay circuit (annotated fig. 1 3(QB) +11+13 generates DCS from input signal 1+2 and includes delay circuit 11+13, lines 78-91 + 119-122); and a second circuit configured to generate the assist control signal based on the input signal (annotated fig. 1 3(Q) generates ACS from 1+2, lines 81-84 + 119-122), and to mutually adjust the timing of each signal of the drive control signal and the assist control signal (claim 1 rejection/modification), the timing adjustment unit is further configured to set a delay time of the first delay circuit based on the timing adjustment signal (annotated fig. 1 3+11+13 performs timing adjustment by setting delay time according to TAS, lines 133-144).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 1, wherein the timing adjustment unit (fig. 1 3+11+13) includes: a first circuit configured to generate the drive control signal based on an input signal, wherein the first circuit includes a first delay circuit (annotated fig. 1 3(QB) +11+13 generates DCS from input signal 1+2 and includes delay circuit 11+13, lines 78-91 + 119-122); and a second circuit configured to generate the assist control signal based on the input signal, wherein the second circuit includes a second delay circuit (annotated fig. 1 3(Q) generates ACS from 1+2, lines 81-84 + 119-122, see claim 1 rejection/modification second delay circuit), and to mutually adjust the timing of each signal of the drive control signal and the assist control signal (claim 1 rejection/modification), the timing adjustment unit is further configured to set at least one of a first delay time of the first delay circuit or a second delay time of the second delay circuit (claim 1 rejection/modification), based on the timing adjustment signal (annotated fig. 1 3+11+13 performs timing adjustment by setting delay time of 3(QB)+11+13 according to TAS, lines 133-144).
Regarding claim 11, Tani discloses a sensing module comprising: a laser drive device (fig. 1, lines 9-11) including: a drive circuit configured to drive a candidate light emitting element based on a drive control signal (annotated fig. 1 drive circuit 6 drives laser diode 7 to emit light on basis of DCS, lines 86-91, see instant application 0041), wherein the candidate light emitting element comprises two ends (emitter 7 has two ends); an assist circuit configured to short-circuit the two ends of the candidate light emitting element based on an assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 assist circuit 9 short-circuits both ends of 7 on basis of ACS to speed up fall time, lines 113-122, see instant application 0042); a timing adjustment unit configured to adjust timing of the drive control signal based on a timing adjustment signal (annotated fig. 1 timing adjustment unit 3+11+13 performs timing adjustment between DCS + ACS on basis of TAS, lines 130-149); a phase detection unit configured to detect a phase difference between the drive control signal and the assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 phase detection unit 10 detects phase difference between DCS and ACS, lines 124-128); and a timing control unit configured to generate the timing adjustment signal based on the detected phase difference (annotated fig. 1 timing control unit 12 generates TAS using phase difference result from 10, lines 130-149).
Tani does not disclose the laser being a VCSEL, a light emission unit comprising a plurality of light emitting elements; a laser drive device configured to drive at least one light emitting element of the plurality of light emitting elements of the light emission unit; and a light reception sensor configured to receive light emitted from the light emission unit and reflected by a subject.
Shimizu discloses a photodetector/distance measuring device using a VCSEL as an optical emitter (figs. 1+24 VCSEL 1A-1E used as emitters, Abstract, 0050) with a light emission unit in which a plurality of light emitting elements by a vertical cavity surface emitting laser is arrayed (fig. 24 light emission unit 1A-1E/26/21c/3 includes light emitting elements 1A-1E arrayed within, 0122); a laser drive device that drives at least one light emitting element of a light emission unit (fig. 1+2 drive device 2 drives laser 1, 0050, equivalent setup for fig. 24 embodiment); and a light reception sensor that receives and images light emitted from the light emission unit and reflected by a subject (figs. 1+2+24 light reception sensor 4 receives and images light emitted from 1A-1E/26/21c/3 and reflected by subject 200, equivalent subject setup for fig. 24 embodiment, EMITTED LIGHT and REFLECTED LIGHT, 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a VCSEL as the light emitting element to take advantage of VCSEL narrow/precise light emission wavelength band, low temperature variation of wavelength, and potential for higher frequency pulsing/operation (Shimizu 0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a light emission unit in which a plurality of light emitting elements by a vertical cavity surface emitting laser is arrayed; have the laser drive device drive the multiple light emitting elements of the light emission unit; and add a light reception sensor that receives and images light emitted from the light emission unit and reflected by a subject to add distance measuring functionality to the laser drive device in Tani (Shimizu 0001). Using multiple light emitting elements would allow for continued operation in case one of the emitting elements fails.
Modified Tani does not disclose the timing adjustment unit configured to mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal).
Ikegami discloses a light source device and method of driving light emitting element with a delay circuit present within an equivalent assist circuit (fig. 4 310 used in assist circuit Q2, 0042-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a variable delay circuit within the second circuit + therefore mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal) with a first and second delay time to allow for more control over delay during operation + allow for continuous adjustment at all parts of operation cycle as opposed to only before or after emission.
Regarding claim 14, Tani discloses a timing adjustment method of a laser drive device (fig. 1, lines 9-11) wherein the timing adjustment method comprising: detecting a phase difference between a drive control signal and an assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 phase detection unit 10 detects phase difference between DCS and ACS, lines 124-128), wherein the laser drive device includes a drive circuit configured to drive a light emitting element based on the drive control signal (annotated fig. 1 drive circuit 6 drives laser diode 7 to emit light on basis of DCS, lines 86-91, see instant application 0041), and an assist circuit configured to short-circuit both ends of the light emitting element based on the assist control signal (annotated fig. 1 assist circuit 9 short-circuits both ends of 7 on basis of ACS, lines 113-122, see instant application 0042); generating a timing adjustment signal based on the detected phase difference (annotated fig. 1 timing control unit 12 generates TAS using phase difference result from 10, lines 130-149); and adjusting timing of the drive control signal based on the timing adjustment signal (annotated fig. 1 timing adjustment unit 3+11+13 performs timing adjustment between DCS + ACS on basis of TAS, lines 130-149).
Tani does not disclose the laser being a VCSEL.
Shimizu discloses a photodetector/distance measuring device using a VCSEL as an optical emitter (figs. 1+2 VCSEL 1 used as emitter, Abstract, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a VCSEL as the light emitting element to take advantage of VCSEL narrow/precise light emission wavelength band, low temperature variation of wavelength, and potential for higher frequency pulsing/operation (Shimizu 0051).
Modified Tani does not disclose the timing adjustment unit configured to mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal).
Ikegami discloses a light source device and method of driving light emitting element with a delay circuit present within an equivalent assist circuit (fig. 4 310 used in assist circuit Q2, 0042-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a variable delay circuit within the second circuit + therefore mutually adjust timing of the assist control signal (+drive control signal) with a first and second delay time to allow for more control over delay during operation + allow for continuous adjustment at all parts of operation cycle as opposed to only before or after emission.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Shimizu, Ikegama, and Shen (US-20200363506-A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 7.
Modified Tani does not disclose wherein the timing adjustment unit is further configured to: set the first delay time of the first delay circuit in a non-operation period of the laser drive device; and set the second delay time of the second delay circuit in an operation period of the laser drive device.
Shen discloses a goal of minimizing delay variation within a laser driver circuit during operation (0026-0027).
Tani discloses maintaining an inverted phase relationship of 180 degrees between assist signal and drive signal (lines 35-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the delay time of the delay circuit of the first circuit adjusted in an adjustment period that is a non-operation period, and then the delay time of the delay circuit of the second circuit variably adjusted in an actual operation period (i.e. vary assist circuit delay instead of drive circuit delay during operation) to minimize delay variation and phase instability in drive circuit at pulse ON and improve device performance during operation (Shen 0026-0027). Variable adjustment is still needed to ensure 180 degree phase difference, and phase stability of pulse OFF via the assist circuit is less significant for distance measurement accuracy, therefore, assist circuit delay can stay variable + on during operation period.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Shimizu, Ikegami, and Sakura (US-20020036630-A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 1.
Modified Tani does not disclose further comprising a switch configured to cut off current supply to the assist circuit and the candidate light emitting element of the at least one light emitting element.
Sakura discloses a light-emitting diode driving circuit with a switch that cuts off current supply to an equivalent assist circuit and to a light emitting diode (fig. 1 switch 2 cuts off current to assist circuit 6 and diode 1 (not simultaneously), 0023-0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a switch that cuts off current supply (fig. 1 current supply 8) to the assist circuit and the light emitting element to further limit power consumption when device operation not needed.
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Shimizu , Ikegami, and Oka (US-11240894-B2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tani discloses the laser drive device according to claim 1.
Modified Tani does not disclose wherein the at least one light emitting element includes a plurality of light emitting elements, and the drive circuit is further configured to drive each light emitting element of the plurality of light emitting elements.
Oka discloses a drive circuit and distance measuring apparatus that a uses a plurality of light emitting elements driven by drive circuit (figs. 6+7 light source 11 has plurality of light emitting element groups 111-n each with plurality of VCSELs, col. 6 lines 10-25, col. 7 lines 25-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add additional light emitting elements driven by the drive circuit to allow for continued operation in case one of the emitting elements fails.
Regarding claim 12, modified Tani discloses the sensing module according to claim 11.
Modified Tani does not disclose further comprising: a light emitting element chip and a laser drive chip , wherein the light emitting element chip is on the laser drive chip, the light emitting element chip comprises the plurality of light emitting elements, and the laser drive chip comprises the laser drive device.
Oka discloses a drive circuit and distance measuring apparatus with VCSELs mounted on a package substrate and then the package substrate mounted in the drive circuit (fig. 9 Common-Cathode VCSELs mounted on package substrate and then in drive circuit 31, col. 8 lines 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light emitting element chip and a laser drive chip , wherein the light emitting element chip is on the laser drive chip, the light emitting element chip comprises the plurality of light emitting elements, and the laser drive chip comprises the laser drive device to provide a base for the light emitting element and to conserve space in a horizontal planar direction/reduce footprint of device.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Shimizu, Ikegami, Oka, and Allouche (US-20200185875-A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Tani discloses the sensing module according to claim 12.
Modified Tani does not disclose wherein the assist circuit is at a position immediately below the light emitting element chip in the laser drive chip.
Allouche discloses an optoelectronic assembly with a VCSEL directly above an IC substrate and the IC substrate directly above a PCB substrate (fig. 4 VCSEL 106 directly above IC substrate 104 directly above PCB substrate 101, 0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the assist circuit arranged at a position immediately below the light emitting element chip in the chip on which the laser drive device is formed to conserve space in a horizontal planar direction/reduce footprint of device and allow for use of conductive pillars/shorter wires to reduce conductive path and/or parasitic inductance within device (Allouche 0044).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art does not disclose level-shifting assist signal voltage above first voltage level then level-shifting assist signal voltage back to first voltage level.
Claim 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art does not disclose level-shifting assist signal voltage above first voltage level then level-shifting assist signal voltage back to first voltage level.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828